Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Balcons Village 3 stars

Belle Plagne, 73210 Belle Plagne, France

#2 of 17 hotels in Belle Plagne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 120 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average

    Warm welcome, ski in and ski out, good facilities (restaurant, spa, sauna, ski looker room), room was cleaned daily, jacuzzi bath tub was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor. Very limited choice. For hotel guests it's a pity to walk outside to get to the pool and to the gym.

    The restaurant for having dinner is definitely worth it. The slopes next door are perfect. Also to buy the ski pass in the hotel is a great service.I loved the lockers for the skis. Especially, Jean, is a super friendly guy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had difficulty in finding the entrance to the hotel because it was from the under ground car park which was inaccessible until we checked in. Unfortunately the lift broke down twice when we were there

    Good position for accessing the slopes, omfy bed, large bathroom, plenty of storage space, balcony, underground car park

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms small ( but as advertised ), breakfast quite basic and repetitive, swimming pool in a different hotel with limited access ( clearly advertised though), access to drawing room ,hotel garage access or stairs access ( always covered with snow and ice).

    Cleanliness very good , staff politeness, location very good , quiet room, very well sound insulated, good temperature in the room . Very nice staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff and ski in ski out options.

    Great location for ski in ski out. Hotel exactly as described. Very good staff and very good food for a half board setting. Couldn't fault anything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not really reliable unfortunately. Sometimes the water in the bathroom was not really hot.

    Very tidy. I actually saw the cleaning team checking the dust on top of the door linings. And the people at the reception desk were very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room are a little small - beds are a little small, but it was OK friends in my group said the WIFI was a little unstable but I had no particular problems

    really nice little hotel (about 50 rooms), super friendly staff, excellent location just next to piste, nice restaurant with good honest food the whole family enjoyed; good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No full size mirror.

    Room/bathroom are a decent size. My room overlooked a ski slope so excellent views. I had breakfast once and it was a good selection of Continental and English foods.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Adults didn't really have a chance in the Spa because so many kids in there - luckily we had a sauna on our floor so used that instead.

    Overall it was a good facility and nicely situated at the resort.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only let down was the restaurant which was a bit grubby and the food very average. We wished we had not gone for half-board.

    Hotel was excellent, ski in ski out, clean room, big bathroom, lovely view, parking under the building. Swimming pool & sauna was also fab with great staff (though as we were in the hotel we did need to go through the car park outside to get to the pool in the adjacent building).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a ski locker for each room was very welcome, the actual room was far too small for more than 2/3 people to get gear on or off. Also if you needed to get to lessons it was a fair way to nursery slopes carrying skis! But that's not hotels fault!!!

    Food option was excellent. Staff welcoming and helpful. Location perfect overlooking and immediate access to piste. Hotel was always warm and room had a balcony and stunning views

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked via booking.com and I paid for half board. But, I forgot that I'd done this and reception didn't remind me, so I went out to another restaurant one night so ended up paying twice. My fault I know, but it would have been nice if I'd been reminded when I arrived that I'd paid for evening meals.

    Location is great. The hotel is right by the piste and right by the ski hire shop. I like the way you can arrange your ski hire and lift pass via the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Covered parking is €10/night but probably to be expected.

    Comfy room with an amazing view. Would definitely recommend Belle Plagne over the other villages in the resort. Genuine ski-in/ski-out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel felt a little tired.

    Piste side location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "bar" was just a sitting room. Bedrooms small

    Great location for skiing. Underground parking very easy and good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very friendly staff,especially the hotel-manager. Friendly and competent waiters,esp.the head-waiter. Good,interesting and changing cooking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A five minute walk to restaurants.

    it is a great location very close to the slopes. Great staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very understanding staff and manager

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding your way around the rabbit warren could have been aided with a map !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed a good clean round the loo and a new shower head

    Very helpful staff - my 01:00 checking was no problem!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and the corridors need renovation

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    service in the restaurant for the evening meal was rather poor

    RAS

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing a

    Everything about the Hotel, staff superberb & friendly,food excellent, ski in/ski out, couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid and narrow parking.

    Convenient location; possibility for a shower after a checkout and a skiing day is over.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really not much. Maybe slightly better ski lockers but that really is being very critical.

    Excellent position with ski in/out. Good food in restaurant. Rooms comfortable and bathrooms clean and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely warm cosy feel about the hotel and a gorgeous smell everywhere like a spa as if the wood had been essential oiled. The staff were really friendly and helpful in every way. The room was always warm & clean and with a sunny balcony on the piste. Loved it here and would deffinately stay again if I was in the area.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More variety at breakfast.

    Very good swimming pool especially in the mornings when it was so peaceful. Although compact the bedroom was comfortable and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    All round atmosphere and service was excellent and you were made to feel welcome at every occasion. The location was perfect and the staff were very helpful when I needed a late check out on departure day. Would recommend it to anyone

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel in general was quite cold including our bedroom and the heating wasn't very efficient. Our room was incredibly small and hardly anywhere to put our suitcases. You could only sit on the bed basically with one chair squashed into the side of the room. The food albeit good was a little repetitive and quite a limited choice for the half board options. The chill out room/ lounge was also quite cold and very smokey from the fire on the first night so didn't sit in there much. Which made us only really confined to our room which was not great considering the size of it. Not would not go back considering the price we paid for it.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. The beds were also quite comfortable and the food was good. The location was also very handy for everything.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel is in the Belle Plagne resort. It is a bit limited when looking for restaurants and other facilities.

    Very good position for Skiing. All what is needed. Great views.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was run separately from the hotel which, as breakfast only guests, did not allow us to book a table unless we did so first thing in the morning. They would tell us they were fully booked but they weren't. It says it's a ski in/ski out hotel. You can only ski out if you are a competent skier and happy with a challenging blue run. Definitely not for novice skiers.

    It had a very cosy lounge and was close enough to the centre of the village. The staff were friendly. It was clean and tidy. When I booked directly through booking.com I received all the booking forms for ski pass/equipment/lessons which was fantastic and made it very easy as a new skier.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lighting in the bedroom was quite dark and made it hard to find things in the wardrobe. No mirror in the bedroom - a must for ladies! There is one in the bathroom. Maybe pre warn people that the hotel entrance and reception is not accessed directly from the road but via the car park underneath the hotel as this was a little confusing. Nothing to do with the hotel but skiset shop - Whilst ski shop next door the guy who served us did not seem knowledgeable. We pre ordered and paid for our skis before arrival and yet he asked me what skies & size skis I wanted and there was very little in stock. at least two of us needed to wax our skis.He also gave 2 people the wrong size skis and poles! It also shuts for 2 hours at lunch and at different times different days of week so just be aware.

    Location was superb.Ski in and out. Great boot room that was heated. Hotel staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Room was big with great views of the mountains and piste. It was warm and lots of hot water. Ski Set shop right next door. Hotel food, both the breakfast and the evening meal were excellent. Quiet hotel and location but has a great Italian next door but easy walk to shops and restaurants and club if you wish to party.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They didn't clean the high chair which was pretty revolting. The evening meal was OK, but nearby restaurants were better. It wasn't cheap but it was Feb half term.

    Fab ski lockers, one per room. Convenient underground parking. Decent breakfast. Ski in, ski out. Friendly staff. Nice swimming pool. Good (free) Internet. Daily Mail in reception!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is Les Balcons Residences, which are 4 * and Les Balcons Hotel which is 3 * - and very much so. But you shouldn't grumble, as it is on par or even better than other places in Belle Plagne. Give yourself 30 minutes to find the reception. We had half board - it will fill you but do not go for it if you are vegetarian. Also feeding a 5 year old from half board menu proved a bit of a task. Good luck. The pool is in a separate building - so going there with a 5 yr old is quite an ordeal when it is -3 outside. Also no hot water in the showers in the pool - so can't wash there - you have to go through it all again back in the room! There is also only two changing cabins with light at the pool - so the whole experience of using the pool is a bit much. Also being next to the piste - piste bashers can keep you awake from 22:00 to 05:00 if you are unlucky... In spite of above I think I'd come back.

    Staff were all very friendly, helpful, spoke English and made one feel welcome. Room was spacious and there was access from the hotel to the piste. We had a family room with a bunk bed! The children's Piou Piou club is just outside, which was a big bonus - for that last minute toilet break etc... Rented skis from Intersport (great, but right in the village, so a bit of away from the hotel, so may want to try Skiset or ask the hotel for advice). Do email the hotel they are very helpful if you only ask. Wifi in the room / hotel was good quality for skype etc - that alone is an ace!

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - it met all our needs

    Cosy hotel with very helpful staff in a great ski-in/ski-out location. Double rooms for single room price with early booking

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Half board was a mixed experience - the first night ok with good choice but the second we were offered a disappointing and tired buffet. We were about to go elsewhere when a pierrade was offered instead - and very good it was! Getting out of the car park is a challenge - very tight manouevre required.

    Excellent ski in ski out location (though perhaps not for beginners). Comfortable bed. Well equipped bathroom with jacuzzi bath that worked! Lovely view from our windows.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    However there was no lounge to sit in if the weather was too bad for skiing. Breakfast advertised until 10am but by 9.30 the hot food was looking very tired.

    Friendly staff. The rooms were really comfortable and it was nice to have a jacuzzi bath. We were given our own lockable cupboard for skis. Food in the restaurant was delicious. Ski in ski out worked well. Ski hire bang next door to hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Swimming pool for the whole residence. Not hotel only. More like a public bath - Separate sauna for the hotel but no relaxation area. - Bandwith of wlan too slow - Don't get me wrong: The hotel is ok, but 90€ per person is just not worth it. We have seen better places for less money.

    Direct access to the pists

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very inconvinient, tiny, badly organized garage costs 10 EUR per night. The swimming pool is too small, chlor-smelly and overcrouded, better not to attend at all. The saunas are too tiny. Badly organized place to change shoes in the skiing room. Too strong smell in the whole house of air fragnance. WiFiis very weak, serves only one device per room and often not functioning at all.

    Perfect location on the slope ski-in, ski-out. Very nice restaurant and food. Very friendly and helpful stuff. Wonderful jacuzzi bath-tube in the room. Nice balcony with the view.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast choice was ok. Adequate.

    Nothing too much trouble for staff who were all friendly and helpful. Menu changes for dinner were never a problem and general assistance from reception was excellent. Would certainly recommend the hotel, and will return - in fact we are planning to go to another Les Balcons hotel in VT too.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bit too high prices during the season

    Good location, good WiFi connection, easy access to swiming pool and sauna, additional place to leave your luggage during the day of departure once room is vacated, perfect location next to ski slope

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The eggs were sometimes under cooked and/or a bit cold at breakfast.

    The view from out room was nothing short of spectacular. The hotel was very quiet at night so allowing for a good night sleep. Chef was very accommodating if you don't like the set menu.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi not great, connection issues with iPhone/iPad.

    Couldn't fault it - amazing location, friendly staff, great food (we payed for half board, well worth the extra!) and a spectacular view of the mountain!

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Expensive for the quality At far end of Belle Plagne - fair bit of a walk from the village center in ski boots Turned off wifi before checkout - who does that? just a crappy thing to do. Impossibly tight parking garage entrance and exit with intercom that didn't work Skip the restaurant - there are better choices not far away

    Good location - can ski right out the front door Ski room available with good heat and air flow Acceptable breakfast Friendly, helpful staff Lots of heat and hot water

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Swimming pool in another building and very busy at times. Suggest not going at 5pm but fab mid day

    The balcony and view were wonderful. Breakfasts very good Parking excellent

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absence of. English TV channels Need More variety in breakfasts

    Close to ski slopes Early check-in

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI very poor in room. OK in public areas.

    Location to village and slopes

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and very helpful, made us feel welcome

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Check in time too late - 5pm

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is fantastic, staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Half board menu very limited, 4-5 dishes plus 3-4 dish with a supplement. Bar was poor.

    Location was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location (ski in/ski out), staff and food. Loved the sauna too

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food was too rich and menu limited as not changed daily. However presentation and service was excellent.

    Location, comfort, staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very narrow parking entrance, single big sheet on the bed and no way to change it to two standard single ones

    Location, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Intermittent wifi, no English to channels

    Lovely rustic hotel, friendly staff, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi can only be used by one person in the room. The corridors and bedroom were quite dark and need a renovation

    Great location on the piste

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi and the TV (only French channels)

    The location, the room, the food

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    easy booking, friendly staff, comfortable stay

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, food and location and cleaning of the room

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: