Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Calanques 3 stars

RN 98, Nid Au Soleil, 83380 Les Issambres, France

#1 of 8 hotels in Les Issambres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 294 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Very clean location, extremely nice view, next to the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very clean location, extremely nice view, next to the hotel it's a nice store (épicerie) where you can find food and drink and it's opened until 11 pm and also a nice bistro where you can eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location between Saint -Tropez and Frejus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location between Saint -Tropez and Frejus. The owner was friendly and very helpful, beautiful sea view from the window, the room was clean, 2 min. to the beach, good parking access.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    This is an excellent base to see the villages on the coast. A calanque was steps away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A mini fridge would be nice.

    Frank, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. Location was great. This is exactly the type of hotel we like to stay in..quaint and small. I liked that there was parking access and private entrance to their calanque. For me this was a 10/10. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Owners are nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Road Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The passive-aggressive note in the information booklet saying something like "Hotel management forbids consumption of food and drinks bought outside of the hotel" completely destroyed the good first impression that the owners gave (you can't find information about breakfast hours, but this bold, read message is translated to 4 different languages) - I know that hotels frown upon eating your own food, but if the hotel doesn't serve food apart from breakfast - are you supposed to starve in the evening? Quite small shower.

    Owners are nice. Hotel is located between Saint Tropez and Cannes, so it's a good place if you want to visit both towns. Private beach (although close to the road, so quite noisy).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    The owner Frank was friendly and helpful and the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View and Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Frank was friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a great location. The room was spotless with a beautiful sea view from the small terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The outstanding view from the balcony, comfort of the room, quality bathroom and shower, friendliness of the owner, next door to really good independent food shop that sells fresh bits. 2min walk to the beach/coast. Really close to lots of restaurants but in a quieter location compared to other areas of the coastal road in les issambres.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is conveniently located between Frejus and St...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View and Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is conveniently located between Frejus and St Maxime. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room with sea-view terrace. The rooms are relatively small, but cozy, clean and in very good shape. There is a variety of beaches nearby, the closest pretty small with a patch of sand and otherwise rocks, larger ones a bit further. There's a little shop just next to the hotel and a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance. Overall, Les Calanques is a great choice and we were super happy to stay there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, nice home made breakfast, especially banana jam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Road Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, especially for people who's traveling from one city to another @frenchriviera. Nice, quite and clean rooms. Very friendly staff. Home made breakfast and home made banana jam was just amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    View and cleaness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price paid compared with other othel and accomodation

    View and cleaness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    The nearby beach, the staff, calm rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The optional breakfast was a bit expensive

    The nearby beach, the staff, calm rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Sunny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra breakfast was not cheap

    Sunny room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendliness of owner-manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of owner-manager

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    nice stay!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice stay! location very nice and also the staff is very friendly and helpful. Certainly to repeat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Correcta y agradable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    falta de amenities

    balcón con vistas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower,but this is planed for improvement during the winter closure.

    Staf,location,the alover experience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely part of the world. I love the Mediterranean please keep it clean take you rubbish home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room Road Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, tastefully decorated, very friendly staff nice breakfast with homemade produce

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All needs met

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    A bigger shower, there was hardly any room to move...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Road Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger shower, there was hardly any room to move especially for a man.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    very nice little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very nice little hotel. relaxed little beach nearby. pleasantly detached from the tourist hubs nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Not a memorable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Road Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was not as we expected and the pictures of the rooms were deceiving.

    The proximity to a tiny beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Chilled out, all so clean, a friendly couple, they deserve to succeed in this venture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All was great, no complaints at all Another few days would have helped

    Breakfast was wonderful Evening meal was absolutely fabulous

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    The VERY friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work always

    The VERY friendly Staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.4
    Bed and shower very small Staff and location fine
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room Road Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and shower size very small

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    We recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View and Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wonderful ocean view from the balcony and gorgeous little beaches within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    6.3
    We had some problems with booking the room as we were 3 and...
    • Family with young children

    We had some problems with booking the room as we were 3 and the booking booked the room for 2. So we had to change to three persons room which was more expensive as we expected. Overall evaluation of the room is good, the room is nice and comfy

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    New owners since our last stay (November), but equally as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    New owners since our last stay (November), but equally as friendly. It's just the perfect place to stay to explore the surroundings, enjoy the weather (we were lucky!), and eat good food. We didn't eat at the hotel (there are so many other places nearby) but this was probably a mistake judging by the excellent home made pastries. And there was gluten free bread for breakfast too! Our room had a terrace facing the sea so we could listen to the waves at night... Just lovely.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    9.2
    The staff is very forthcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is very forthcoming and friendly. We could move into our room early, dropping our belongings just after arrival. The breakfast is very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    9.6
    Mme was very friendly and welcoming, the rooms lovely, view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mme was very friendly and welcoming, the rooms lovely, view and location fantastic. Plenty of good restaurants nearby, too.We decided to stay an extra night, and also hope to return, maybe in spring.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    The staff was very helpful and kind. The lady lent us a hairdryer, a couple of umbrellas, a road map. We were also offered a welcome drink. The view from the balcony was very romantic and the bedroom, with its pastel colours, very cosy and pleasant

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    - very close to the coast (sea view)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - no elevator

    - very close to the coast (sea view) - very friendly and helpful staff - clean and comfortable room - close to the bus stop for St. Tropez - free private parking site

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Lovely place close to the sea, placed directly at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely place close to the sea, placed directly at the roadside which doesn't disturb at all. Very friendly acceptance, cosy airconditioned rooms. No sandy beach but entrance to the sea possible. We had a great time and will come back.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not clear that the hotel is right on the roadside and so is the small sitting out area so not the haven of tranquillity we dreamed of

    The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Everything :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything :-) We were greeted and treated with such genuine hospitality in a property that is clearly well-looked after and with much attention to detail. We had booked a room with balcony and panoramic ocean view. The view was simply breathtaking, hence we enjoyed drinks (from the downstairs bar) up there and gladly accepted the offer of having a superb breakfast served on our balcony too! Unfortunately, we didn't have enough time to make use of the sun lounges on the balcony. Conveniently, a number of dining options and a small shop are only a few steps away. Hotel Les Calanques is 30 minutes from St Tropez and has access to a beautiful, rocky beach.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    The staff couldn't have been kinder or more welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem was that the hotel is out in the sticks on a busy road so we did not find going for a walk very pleasant.

    The staff couldn't have been kinder or more welcoming and breakfast in our room overlooking the sea was simply amazing.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    Obviously the service was outstanding receptionist spoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Obviously the service was outstanding receptionist spoke English and did everything possible to make sure I was comfortable and happy. Spacious room for price with sea views.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    See view, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No mini bar.

    See view, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    staff exellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room a bit tiny

    staff exellent very warm people i will come again

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff (owner)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from the main street

    Friendly staff (owner)

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    The owner was charming, welcoming and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was charming, welcoming and very helpful. The hotel was perfectly positioned and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    great staff, great interior - like this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great staff, great interior - like this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.3
    Near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Near the beach. Excellent restaurant close by, beautiful view from our terrace, parking facilities and informal, friendly atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    small and friendly and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no hair dryer

    small and friendly and very clean

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: