Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'Île Ô Château

11, rue des Douves, 85330 Noirmoutier-en-l'lle, France

#13 of 17 hotels in Noirmoutier-en-l'lle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 615 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Bed comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were early arriving and understood that could not go into room until 15.00 hours, however, not to be able to keep luggage in secure cupboard/room was inconvenient. Sink plug trapped in plug hole - No wifi in room

    Bed comfy Breakfast sufficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed in hotel although staff were fairly friendly; position excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room With Castle View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Flooring in bathroom breaking up. Price of breakfast had gone up. Bar closed at 8p.m. Front door often closed at 5.30p.m System for retrieving keys long winded and annoying. We were in superior room ( on special offer fortunately) but definitely not superior quality.

    Beds comfy and room spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Really enjoyable stay in a well situated hotel with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - good all round hotel.

    Central location with a good variety of restaurants close by. Heated swimming pool a real bonus. Parking could be a problem in busier times, we were fortunate to find a space just outside the hotel which was not chargeable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.0
    Adequate - we were worried about the parking and the bikes all the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper parking or facility for bike storage - we had to keep them in our room even though we saw bikes in a storage room by the pool

    The cleanliness and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location, very clean and comfortable bnb, with friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect!

    Lovely little bnb, very comfy beds, delicious breakfast, warm pool. Very central, right next to castle and lots of restaurants. We loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, generally good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the flush didn't work properly and the bathscreen had a significant leak which detracted from the service experience. Limited breakfast on the third day with different member of staff (not so helpful).

    The interior décor was very contemporary and the location was very good. With outdoor pool included which was very welcome. We were on a cycling holiday and the staff were in general very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, , pity about the language barrier!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, but the location means they can't do anything about that! I would have loved if someone spoke a little English or even made a bit of an effort for English speaking visitors. ! We nearly ended up getting locked out at 10pm because although I had been given the entrance code,there was no explanation in English as to what it was for. I thought it was for the internet,ang just luckily had the bit of paper in my bag!

    The breakfast was lovely. The decor was lovely too and it was very clean with comfortable bedding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Small charmer in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With window open, you can hear everything coming from the pool and terrace area. Not much privacy but this didn't bother us. It was quiet at night which is what counts. The partial shower door did not do its job and water sprayed all over the counter next to the sink. Anything left there gets soaked.

    We were upgraded to a room overlooking the pool with a little terrace. Being right next to the castle was wonderful. The hostess didn't speak English but she couldn't have been nicer. The hotel is very cute and a little quirky which we like

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Public areas newly decorated and were excellent - reception,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little dated and worn around the edges.

    Public areas newly decorated and were excellent - reception, pool and dining area. Breakfast at €10 was excellent - I've seen some bad reviews about this price and I simply cannot agree - it was well worth it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    L'ille o Chataeu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't have breakfast as in common with most hotels in France it is expensive at around 8/10 euros per person. We generally just have a coffee and croissant in the morning so would stroll down to the cafe in the dock area for our breakfast.Parking is also a lottery. The street outside the hotel is used by a number of restaurants so everyone wants to park there and space is limited. We were lucky and got a space and then did not use our car for the whole length of our stay. Just be aware that some scuffs are inevitable as people try and park in the smallest of spaces. You compromise location over parking! If you don't mind walking then spaces away from the hotel are easier to find.

    The hotel is set up like a boutique hotel, small and decorated in a contemporary style. Its location is also good in that it is situated opposite the Chateau and close to the town centre, its fine restaurants and bars etc..As well as clean, comfortable and light rooms there is a pool incorporating a jacuzzi function in one corner. The area around the pool was decked with a number of loungers available for relaxing in the sun and with access to the bar area. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the whole atmosphere relaxed. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet seat in the bathroom was loose as was a door handle - minor quibbles. No English spoken but hey it is in France. No one around later in the evening when reception shutter comes down.

    Great family room with mezzanine for our two kids. Comfortable beds. Pool although not large was nice to have at the end of a hot day. Good outdoor seating area and the hotels location was great and central. Would definitely stay again - was our second visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was part of an all around great weekend, without drawing attention to itself, which is goo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time in France we have paid extra for twin beds, didn't like being told about this until after the booking had been made. Still can't get used to French habit of locking up and leaving you in hotel without staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.5
    Friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here 4 years ago and the fittings etc. are getting a little tired

    swimming pool compact but handy helpful staff - donated own parking space for our use due to full car parks

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    The location next to the chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location next to the chateau

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug in the bath and the shower was broken, not great for 150 euros a night, not worth the cost

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was rather narrow

    Quirky decor and charming hostess

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Convenient for centre quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on road very few spaces worried about leaving bikes overnight

    Convenient for centre quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    The place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Privé for the room we had

    The place The Arès ,restaurants The swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Lovely location and décor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking on the road so a bit of a lottery.

    Lovely location and décor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Great crepes with tasty caramel in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great crepes with tasty caramel in the morning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit hit and miss

    Simple understated decor, good location within easy walking distance of restaurants and the sights of Noirmoutier.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    A very enjoyable break at this town centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was dated and needed upgraded.

    The breakfasts were excellent and the pool was appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    great hotel, great location, will return........
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    curtains did not close properly

    location pool fantastic, coffee, balcony, bath and shower,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely 4 night stay and would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could do with more sunbeds and umbrellas

    We liked the quirkiness and the friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Location for amenities and restaurants excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location for amenities and restaurants excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    5.4
    Staff friendly and tried their best to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Costs too high for what you got. Facilities basic, there was a bar, but no one to staff it. Need expert staff to warrant a return

    Staff friendly and tried their best to help.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    6.3
    Delightful lady serving breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic sod-the-customer attitude of evening 'staff', who it transpired was actually the proprietor. Work on swimming pool was going on. All it needed was a 'sorry, but . . .' and we would have accepted and forgiven the 8.15 a.m. digger. No-one there to let us in at the time we said we'd arrive: should have been the proprietor but she was collecting kids from school. No apology, and all the time she was on duty she didn't remove her outdoor coat. S.P. works knocked out lighting circuit in our room. No apology, plus owner said she didn't know where fuse box was and there was no electrician on call . . . at 5p.m. on a weekday?? Bedside lights and heater in our room worked and we couldn't be bothered to change rooms, so agreed to stay put but use shower room next door where the lights worked. No information on breakfast times etc. Breakfast would have been OK at 6 euros: at 10 it was not good enough. No-one on front desk from 8.30 p.m. onwards. Room smaller than expected . . . and so on. Disappointing.

    Delightful lady serving breakfast. If everything else had been to her standard, we would have been very satisfied. Brilliant free Wifi.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, centrally located with rooms imaginatively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have been a little tidier - vacuum cleaners left in corridors. Tiny swimming pool.

    Friendly staff, centrally located with rooms imaginatively decorated. Swimming pool to cool off.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were minimalist. No nightstand. Old mattress. Almost no furniture. No ventilation except for windows.

    Great location. Reasonably quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.9
    I like the location because it is central and many places of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was very difficult on arrival day because an event completely removed most of the local parking

    I like the location because it is central and many places of interest can be reached on foot. There is an excellent collection of restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    7.9
    Joli décor, personnel agréable, chambre confortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Le wifi ne marchait pas (il n'acceptait pas le code, qui était pourtant le bon). Le sèche-cheveux ne marchait pas.

    Joli décor, personnel agréable, chambre confortable. Petit déjeuner correct avec crêpes maison.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    Brilliant location to visit the town of Noirmoutier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brilliant location to visit the town of Noirmoutier. Hotel is surrounded by a myriad of restaurants. Free parking in local car park (out of season). Nice décor in a modern driftwood sort of way. 10€ breakfast good value.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was over bath

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    7.9
    Staff very friendly & A+ location for centre ville.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We expected a swimming pool, but it was being re-furnished which was disappointing.

    Staff very friendly & A+ location for centre ville.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    7.5
    maintenance globale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    maintenance globale

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.9
    Close to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit noisy in the morning

    Close to town centre. Balcony.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from pool filter throughout the night

    Location. Ambience. Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi in room carpet hard coir

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location, simple but nice and quiet room, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, simple but nice and quiet room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    Location right in the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, hot so had to leave balcony door open. Pool not available and noisy pumps.

    Location right in the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bed and hot room

    Location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    Location, very friendly staff, breakfast was a treat with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, very friendly staff, breakfast was a treat with freshly cooked crepes along with the usual breakfast fare.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    We drive two electricial cars and the staff fixed charging...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We drive two electricial cars and the staff fixed charging for us at the hotel. The children got to use the private pool.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.1
    Comfy clean rooms and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small pool with cramped outside space

    Comfy clean rooms and pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic view, stylish, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Castle view rooms right on the limit of wifi range.

    Fantastic view, stylish, helpful staff.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse L'Île Ô Château traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: