Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Dunes 2 stars

48 route nationale, 62231 Blériot-Plage, France

#3 of 4 hotels in Blériot-Plage

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cramped room, miniscule bathroom, broken shower hose making it unusable, the tick-tick-tick through the wall from an adjoining property, poor meals including an aging fruit salad at breakfast. Booked a superior room, but realised we had been given a standard room. When we pointed this out, the bill was rectified to reflect this.

    We had been down to the Loire for a short break; this was a convenient overnight stop for the Channel port, and was close to the beach for a breezy walk after the long drive back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just about everything! The proprietor was most unwelcoming; the food, which is rated 3 casseroles in the Logis de France Guide was poor - the fruit salad at breakfast had obviously been in the fridge for more than 24 hours. The bathroom floor had not been properly cleaned. We would not recommend this hotel and have no intention of returning. Very poor value for money.

    Proximity to Calais & ferry port

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable, with plastic underneath sheets. One of our booked rooms smelled of sewage. The restaurant was very expensive for tiny proportions.

    The proximity to the beach. Also pet friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit dated Shower a bit temperementall

    old fashioned french restaurant superb ambiance Small quiet community would have been nice to walk around if weather had been okay !!!! Wifi good but need to ask for seperate code if have more than one device Will go back when in the area again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property a little 'down at heel'. Room was very basic. Bathroom was not clean. Breakfast was average at best. The same price as the other properties we booked on this trip but by far the poorest value for money.

    Location was ideal, easy to get to from Calais port, beach very close by for dogs to stretch their legs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem was that there was a street lamp outside the room which came on and switched off intermittently all night. The curtains were not blackout sort so couldnt shut it out. We had two rooms and both had the same problem, although the rooms themselves were comfy and nice.

    Very friendly, with lovely delicious evening meal. They even cooked my steak exactly as I like it, which most chefs hate to do because it is very well done.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty toilet, corridors and restaurant had an odd smell, food not a great choice. Nothing to do locally. Room hot no air con, couldn't leave window open due to flat roof.

    Cheap, free secureish parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hours of reception could be a little more flexible, we left at 8.15 am and there was no one to give our room key to as the reception was closed and no way to access so we left the keys in the room.key drop would have been good. bags of linen stacked at our door behind a curtain kept falling over.

    clean pleasant restaurant bar on site , secure gated parking and windows that could be opened allowing a good temperature to be created. room was at the back so no road noise and was very quite. no hotel noises at all to say we were the first room at the top of the stairs. helpful pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing that I was not overjoyed with the street light was faulty and came on and off every 5 minutes.

    Friendly staff,close to facilities,excellent restaurant,food was very good and a very varied choose.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little disappointing for the price. Rather carbon heavy.

    Wonderful owner who gave us lots of local tips...particularly relevant buying wine and where to eat.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is looking a bit tired and showing its age; room and en suite both very clean.

    Very handy Location to the ferry and lovely restaurant. Owner very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower water flow was not well regulated: went from cold to very hot. TV was not functioning. WiFi was quite erratic. Breakfast was minimalist. One cup of coffee. Bread and croissants were not fresh. They came heated. The document clearly stated that access was from 17.00 The manager eventually came after two telephone calls at 17.15 and said he was being kind to come early because Reception did not open until17.30 There was another notice in Reception saying that it opened at 18.30 All very inconsistent. But the worst feature was the Manager's attitude and manner. He seemed to think he was doing us a favour. To crown it all the information sheet in the rooms stated that if we were leaving the hotel we should hand in our room key on leaving. I didn't want to do that because we would have to wait until 1700 or 1730 or 1830 in order to get access. Then I saw that in fact the keys were out on the table in the Hotel Entrance which was never manned and anyone could have picked them up and gained access. For some reason keying in the info given on the print-out from Booking.com GPS failed to take us to the Hotel. My reviews for Booking.com in the past would bear out that I am not hard to please but this was a very bad experience. All because of the Manager

    It was difficult to be positive after our initial encounter with the Manager / Owner. The lady who serviced the rooms was very pleasant as was the waitress in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprieter told us we had arrived early! It was after 3.30pm when we arrived. He said it wasn't a problem, but said we should have seen the arrival time was after 5.30 on the booking site. He also failed to mention that the car park area behind the hotel would be locked after 8ish, which meant we were unable to collect a couple of items left in the car.

    Proximity to channel ferry terminal.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I did not like actually.

    Great restaurant and the room was fair and functional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift, small shower unit

    evening meal was very good, pleasant statt, OK generally

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in room, however we asked for boiling water and got a flask full to make our own hot drinks

    Very helpful staff, comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities for drink making in room

    Convenient for port and tunnel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The General tiredness of the hotel. The faulty door lock and the odour in the room on arrival.

    Staff, and evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    location to the ferry terminal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gate to the car park was broken

    Fine good breakfast good for the dogs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms/bathrooms are very small.

    The beach is a 3 minute walk away! The included dinner is great. The hotel has a very familiar atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly helpful staff, secure easy parking, great food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not open for evening of arrival.

    Breakfast was good but arrival was difficult as no one there - just left key and a brief note.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food in restaurant and helpful staff. A great place to stay before a crossing or on arrival. Lovely breakfast. Good safe parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff, excellent food and pretty wiatress

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad stale smell in entrance and stairway. Over priced wines for standard of hotel Breakfast croissant over baked.bel

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine

    Clean, quiet, good breakfast, very secure free parking, very nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved this hotel ideal location would stay again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be good to have a kettle or coffee maker. But we always take our own, so didnt inconvenience us.

    The location was great, with a nice walk via the beach into Calais and its facilities. Clean. Secure parking. pleasant host. warm. comfy bed. easy check in. quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Group

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room would have been a nice touch.

    Staff were extremely polite, the room was spacious, modern and the cleanliness cant be faulted.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the morning the showers of the entire hotel didn't have warm water due to a break-down of the boiler. I hoped that the hotel owner would give us a small discount on the room (I staid one night) or the breakfast for free, just as a gesture. Unfortunately he only said : Sorry.

    cheap

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pin on the map is in the wrong place. It's actually on the main road.

    Clean, friendly.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: