Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Esclargies 3 stars

L'Hospitalet, 46500 Rocamadour, France

#3 of 16 hotels in Rocamadour

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 596 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more spacious room would have been good but we didn't actually ask for a larger one and I feel sure every room here would be clean and comfortable so no complaints at all. Next time we shall request more space I'd possible.

    In very hot weather this was a shady retreat. We were so glad to be a little out of town. Best of all was the peace and calm. Very Zen! After just two days we felt rested and fresh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water temperature fluctuated and at times there was a slight, unpleasant smell emininating from the bathroom.

    The staff were very helpful and obliging and the location is peaceful and convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is ideally situated for the town and other areas of interest. We really enjoyed our stay. The bed was really comfortable. A lovely hotel. Parking was ideal as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was central but quiet. Nice view on garden. Would have liked to stay longer. Good recommendation for restaurant nearby. Very short distance to Rocamadour site.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly, they booked a restaurant for us becaue we coudn´t manage to speak french! The hotel is very nice and confortable and breakfast a bit expensive but worth it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both hotel name and address cannot access by car navigation.

    Free private parking. Few minutes walk to the Chateau et Ramparts. We visited Rocamadour on November that most restaurants were closed, the staff checked and booked a table for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small. Good breakfast however you have to pay. WIFI wasn't working however that is no fault of the property...it would be difficult getting a technician out at short notice. Owner compensated us with a free breakfast. Just be aware evening meals at ALL the restaurants don't start until 19:00 hours. That includes the restaurants down the hill...easy walk down. You MUST be a taxi if you would like to see the surrounding villages.

    Modern accomodation however rooms are on smaller size. Centrally located at the top of the hill to the Rocamadour village. Handy to the restaurants at the top of the hill. There is a taxi that does day trips to the surrounding villages and caves...drops you off for a couple of hours then picks you up again...good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No disappointments here.

    Ideal, quiet location with convenient on-site parking. Easy walk to the main area of town and restaurants as well as to the chateaux. The staff is friendly and helpful. Clean, modern facility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful peaceful oasis just a few steps from the chateau at the "top" of Rocamadour. Sophie provided an amazing welcome when we arrived, and was so helpful in telling us about nearby restaurant options and providing other tips to enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a delightful hotel! The photos do not lie. This is a gorgeous place, well decorated, comfortable, modern, in a peaceful setting. The staff were helpful and the breakfast is more than worth the cost. It was the best we had in our 30 days in France.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking of the hotel far away from the hotel. Its was Friday that we came to the hotel and next day when we had to leave, it was the market day (every week) near the hotel. So we can't bring the car to take the our baggage.

    Location in the center. Nice room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room amenities where a little bit lacking. Only a very small cup was provided for drinking water. The bedding provided was not particularly comfortable.

    The property had nice and easy access vehicular access and was in a quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor in range and quality. I normally just eat muesli and have a bit of tinned peaches our oranges - not available nor was a cooked breakfast for my son. I had to make do with croissants and coffee, which for 12 euros each is really expensive.

    The hotel rooms were large and comfortable, the decor modern cosy and pleasant, The location is ideal for exploring the Dordogne and Rocmadour itself. Bear in mind that there is no restaurant so you will need to walk 10 mins to the local restaurants. eating out locally is expensive and also poor value for money. Unfortunately there are no cheap options!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location on top of Rocamadour, in the quietness of a private garden with trees. From just outside the hotel there's a fabulous view of the old town of Rocamadour from the top. Typical french restaurants reachable in less then 10 min walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on a great property, with lots of space and relaxing spaces. The rooms are nicely designed and comfortable. It's only a short walk to to the chateau and ramparts. A slightly longer walk to get to the upper town's restaurants and shops. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Plenty of parking on property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. They helped us finding the best restaurant according to our taste and budget. The room was completely quit. The main touristical points of interest are easily accessible by foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located at the top of the cliff and away from the main shops and restaurant but is within easy walking distance. We've stayed here before and will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serene setting with trees and bush around. Pool a bonus on hot day as it was in mid June. Perfect location for walking both into village and old town. Extra nice reception area with couch books computer and Nespresso machine. We paid for breakfast which was ample and sat outside under trees. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious and clean. Beds heavenly. Would have loved to stay longer and relax more as gorgeous setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was expensive at €12.50/person and charged separately.

    Amazing garden to sit in and nice swimming pool. Beautifully situated next to Rocamadour. Well furnished, bright, air-conditioned rooms. Plenty to choose from at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mad owner

    The hotel is clean, tidy, comfortable and in a good location to explore Rocamador which is a stunning town and well worth a visit... The hotel has two receptionists, one who is lovely and cannot do enough for you, and another, (the owner), who is like Basil Fawlty on drugs. She started ranting and raving at us on one evening about a water mark left on a table, by a wine cooler, wasn't even our table but we got the brunt of her frustration. Was quite funny to look back on...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfast more than enough. Pleasant owner and staff. Close enough to visit Rocamadour, far enough away for peace and quiet. Restaurants nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the bed couldhave been better though I like a firmer mattress. Actually, I sleep pretty well on the cheap beds at Ibis (at least the new system they have).

    The personnel were great. Tranquil location with real trees! Wonderful design with a small balcony and floor to ceiling glass. Lovely lobby area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really- it was perfect for a one night stay.

    Very warm welcome,excellent friendly staff,lovely breakfast,great location & secureparking.Nice restaurants within easy walking distance too Would recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast addition sounds expensive in isolation but I just look at overall cost of staying.

    Good location. Staff friendly helpful. Room was adequate for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was somewhat limited, for the price.

    By requesting a 3-person room, we got a bathtub, which was comfortable and greatly appreciated! Coffee availability (for 1 Euro) in the common area was also a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Set i a peaceful, superb location the hotel surpassed expectations. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. the breakfast was excellent and well worth the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    Everything was perfect for us. The room size was big, with a very nice view to the garden, bathroom also very good size and the breakfast excellent. Liz was very kind and speaks excellent spanish and english so it was very easy for us to communicate each other. I really recommend it!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have included more choice especially for the money. A restaurant on site would also have been of benefit.

    Location, peaceful yet within walking distance to the restaurants and tourist sites. Parking on site. Very friendly and welcoming staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is modern and beautifully designed. It is located in a park with the breathtaking view nearby. The well kept big swimming pool is big and quitly placed. The breakfast is lovely. We were sorry to leave this wonderful, friendly hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a lovely ground-floor room overlooking the shady gardens. Very clean swimming pool and surrounding area. Great selection at breakfast. Very attentive staff. Excellent position for exploring the amazing village of Rocamadour and surrounding area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was wonderful!

    The location is beautiful- quiet and serene. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast hostess was especially kind- she even remembered what we drank after being there only one morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Incredible location in a park-like setting - amazing staff - great room with a private terrace and entrance - great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a perfectly acceptable hotel. What it lacked were charm and a view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    We were upgraded, that's really nice, but then difficult to say what an ordinary room looks like...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard.

    The ambiance and setting was delightful. The staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't love.

    Wonderful hotel!!! I loved it and wish we could have stayed longer!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely warm room, comfy bed, hotel staff really helpful. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WiFi had problems during our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A touch overpriced.

    Good for a short stay. Quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice staff, comfortable room, good food in restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you very much for helping.^^♡♡

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner/ manager went the extra mile to accomodate a last minute request. Delighted with our stay there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive!

    Great location with easy access to Rocamadour. Friendly reception. room was spacious, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent with only a short walk to the church.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite Hotel. Relaxing Grounds.. Great pool..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful and relaxing environment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an Amazing oas hidden in the France. The calmness and close to nature feeling of the hotel is breathtaking. We'd love to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all.

    Very quiet room. Perfect location. Great restaurant recommendation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive

    The situation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hard to not get water on the floor when showering,could hear other guests in their rooms

    clean room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    clean facility surrounded by forest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice bath and big bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Cooked breakfast was stone cold.

    Location was excellent. A 5 min walk to amenities. Lovely setting of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, very comforatable and cosy. Walking distance to all the places around town. Parking was so easy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Parking in hotel grounds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly and the location excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice friendly people, relaxed atmosphere, welcoming to folk with pets. Imaginative and fresh breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was very nice and clean and the breakfast was good and staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exelent location, fine pool and a deliceus breakfast. The large private park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No downside really

    Friendly, helpful, peaceful - and marvellous location in beautiful grounds. Great breakfasts too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely large room with a separate wc and a king size bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was perfect!

    The peaceful location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location walking distance to historic Rocamadour. Friendly informative and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Modern, clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful staff - who also rang me shortly after we'd checked out to let me know I'd left some belongings in the room. Very kind. Great location, easy parking, wifi, nice gardens, very sweet resident cat!, location perfect for walking to the chateau, the sanctuary and down into the old town. We had a lovely stay and were sad to leave.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Lovely hotel set in woodland. Peaceful location but only ten minute walk to Rocamadour. small but well appointed room. Much appreciated kettle in room. Very friendly staff both on reception and during breakfast. Good variety for breakfast. No restaurant, but the hotel recommended and reserved two very good local restaurants during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We're not tall and even we found the shower a bit on the short side and the shower screen did not protect the rest of the bathroom. The washhand basin was a bit high and we didn't like having the toilet separate with no basin.

    All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the choice more than sufficient. Hotel in lovely surroundings and the room was comfortable if a little bare. The air conditioning was very good just a bit noisy for us at night but we were able to turn it off easily.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed two nights, they asked us if we would have breakfast the day we arrived, we said yes. We took the breakfast the first day, the second day we didn't want to take breakfast. They were surprised and quite upset, which surprised us. They didn't charged us the breakfast of that day, but they let us know they were not happy because of that.

    The personal is very kind, the hotel is one of the best around Rocamadour! Very happy to stay in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one restaurant open in Roacamadour on a Sunday evening in November (obviously not the hotel's fault!)

    Lovely peaceful location, situated above the village of Rocamadour. Very comfortable room and pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was fantastic and the staff were very friendly and spoke good English. Only stopped for a night as a break from the drive to the south of France

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking area is amongst trees, I managed to reverse out of my space into a tree, causing £300 of damage resulting in an expensive overnight stop.

    Very nice hotel, owners delightful and helpful. Location good, but 15 min walk to centre.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, close to Rocamadour, good local restaurants, parking. Hotel quiet and peaceful, rooms clean and comfortable. b Breakfast well presented and good choice. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The position was excellent as it was a 5 minute walk to lovely eating spots in the quaint village. Also very close to the amazing Church and village that has been built in a cliff face. Magical!

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We travelled with a dog. Hotel very helpful giving a ground floor room with direct access to large garden. Peaceful environment, walking distance from restaurants overlooking Rocamadour.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the peaceful setting of this hotel, set on the plateau of this beautiful town. Our room was spotless, our host was very welcoming and helpful, and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning. We loved our stay and would recommend.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: