Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Fermes de Marie 5 stars

Chemin de Riante Colline, 74120 Megève, France

#2 of 51 hotels in Megève

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A perfect stay from start (the news that we had been upgraded) to finish (when our bags were packed into our car while we enjoyed lunch in the village). The service was impeccable, with all staff going out of their way to attend to our every need. We were there with our two-year-old daughter, so highlights included the Hameau des Enfants (including face-painting and a magician), and the Easter Egg Hunt. The food was excellent, the room perfect (with a magnificent view of the snow-laden mountains). Of course it’s not cheap, but we had a wonderful, restful long weekend and our daughter was treated like a princess - it was worth every centime. (And we didn’t even make use of the spa.) Thank you to all of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our junior suite was very impractical as wardrobe area was designed for very little people as had to get down on hands and knees to hang clothes and get to shelf’s under eaves

    Very good staff, good food and very dog friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but some may find it limited, I'm sure if you had asked for selections missing they would of been happy to provide, but the buffet was small. There is no ski in ski out but the shuttle service works well

    Hotel is an amazing restored farmhouse, great character. The food in the restaraunt is outstanding. The service and attitude of the staff is highly commended with a nothing is to much trouble attitude! Rooms are spectacular although the junior suite was similar to a room with a lounge. Over all a great hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no noise protection, so you can hear people talking in the neighbouring room. Another thing that upset us was the fact that we were refused to be served a dessert at 18.30 when we wanted to have a cup od tea upon our arrival. You could order some small snacks and tea, but not a dessert. The most annoying thing is not that they didn't have the desserts, they did, we saw a big plate with cookies and eclaires. But they have this rule to serve the dessert only till 18.00, and not later. Not a surprise for France where all the meals are timed and good luck if you are late. But a very strange rule for a 5-star hotel.

    The place is amazing. Very old authentic farm with a modern level of comfort. The ambience is very relaxing, the service is great. Located in a very quite area, very close to the village centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rochebrune Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOTHING IN REALITY; ONLY CONCERN FROM MY PARTNER IS RELATED TO THE BATH ROOM. WE WERE IN A SUITE ROOM WITH A GORGEUS BATH BUT NO SHOWER.

    ONE OF THE MOST EXCLUSIVE AND QUITE AND VERY LUXURY BUT SUPER COMFORTABLE PLACE WHERE I HAVE EVER BEEN. HERE THE LUXURY SERVICE IS JUST A NATURAL APPROACH AND YOU ALWAYS FEEL COMFORTABLE AND PAMPERED. THE RESTORANT IS SUPER WELCOMING AND ALL THE HOTEL IS A TRUE SURCE OF THE MOUNTAINS SPIRIT. THE SPA IS SIMPLY PERFECT! THE CLIENTS TOP AND VERY EDUCATE AND RESPECTFUL

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    didnt like the location (next to a graveyard) and far from the lifts and unfortunately during our stay the snow was very bad, not enought snow at the slopes so didnt enjoy the skiing

    nice hotel, very warm decoration, loved the breakfast, great concierge

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast ends too early, particularly when trying to have a weekend get away.

    We thought the staff were very friendly and helpful, in particular the restaurant waiting staff and the concierge. We also liked the view from the room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only recommendation to the hotel is to have a few more light and heathy options on the menu. Also, €20+ for some green leaves and dressing was a bit rich.

    The staff are super friendly and helpful. The facilities are great. One little hiccup was the leak in our bathroom but we did not have much nuisance from it. The food was good, especially the breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to point out.

    The food was amazing, delicious. Breakfast is moment of truth too - passed with distinction! The facilities are wonderful. The staff was very kind, available and proactive. The concierge was amazing. The SPA facilities are also wonderful and the therapists are really really good. All about details!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super friendly, especially Ben from the concierge. You just tell Ben what you want and he will make it come true!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bedroom with Lounge Area
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transport that was arranged to collect us from Geneva was not there and we had to re-arrange when we arrived. Very anoying.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room at all.

    Very good restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bedroom with Lounge Area
    • Stayed 6 nights

    too far from the town, noisy cleaners in the middle of the night - they stopped when we asked them

    very nice staff, amazing food, comfy beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bedroom with Lounge Area
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need more power outlets in the rooms, including usb outlets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mont Blanc Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing was too difficult. The staff accommodated us for every whim.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall ambience unparalleled and fresh mountain air and superb service! Slept like a baby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms outdated

    Excellent food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was too hot

    Excellent ski shop Superb food and service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rochebrune Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    worn down facility. bad communication via mail. price performance is ridiculous

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service is excellent! It is my favorite hotel in French Alps.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bedroom with Lounge Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    spa v busy

    the atmosphere and design is amazing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Facilities excellent and accommodation extremely comfortable. A real treat

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is amazing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely comfortable and clean accommodation in a peaceful setting. Delicious food. Charming staff. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...everything great

    Luxury in a stunning location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bedroom with Lounge Area
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms might need more light.

    The best hotel I stayed for kids. The concierge was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too far - but it is part of the Fermes' charm...

    The place is a feel good luxurious retreat in an idyllic setting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mont Blanc Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    sauna... and pool

    The traditional chalet style ambience

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms could do with a refurbishment- some have clearly not been redone for ca. 20 years and e.g. don't have enough lighting or electricity points. Some rooms have a shower but no bath, which is a shame in a 5* ski hotel, and some rooms have a bath but no shower, which is just outdated. Also like many other hotels in Megeve you need to drive to the ski lifts and into town, no easy access to the slopes and quite a long walk into the centre of town, although the hotel shuttle service is very efficient and this hotel is still relatively well located compared to many others in the resort.

    Amazing service, good atmosphere, proper French kitchen making its own bread etc, good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be nice to have hair conditioner among the toiletries. The spa area is not in par with the rest of the hotel, but rather common, with the steam bath being particularly noisy and spoiling the experience a bit. The breakfast was nice, with fresh waffles, nice pastries, made to order eggs; However, no fresh vegetables (tomatoes, cucumber, etc) at all in the selection.

    Beautiful setting, unique design, excellent food, attentive staff. A great experience overall

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the loudest bedrooms I have ever stayed in. You could hear people moving around and using the loo in bedrooms surrounding 402. No soundproofing. You could also hear all coming and going in hallway through bedroom door. Dated and flaking bathroom - more 3 star than 5. Not acceptable.

    Friendly attentive staff. Great relaxed feeling in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room very expensive for value. Would really need a bit of modernising, even if it is supposed to be 'farm style'. Lightbulbs in room from another era, that take time to heat up and actually let you see properly. How about investing in classic led bulbs? Lights could not be controlled centrally but had to go hunting for each light's switch instead, sometimes behind furniture. A touch of domotics could be nice for the price. Furniture looks not that classy rustic but more like grandma's second hand old stuff, with old water stains on the table, old carpet, etc. But maybe it's intended? Not such an easy walk to the center of Megève.

    Excellent service. Very polite and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. The main restaurant looks stunning. Car park included.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a junior suite and although comfortable it had the smallest WC we have ever seen! Our sitting area only had one armchair. The main restaurant disappointing and wine outrageously expensive. The common areas and our suite very dark with no bright places to be found.

    Impressed with their driver on call at all times. Very comfortable bed. Ski shop convenient just under our room with great new equipment. Enjoyed the fondue in the alpine restaurant. Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough choice of food and totally overpriced for France. The wines also too expensive. No attention to détails and this place could be even much better with more little touches. Not enough light in the room and in the dining areas.

    I did like the location and the Spa. Nice rooms and nice public areas.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No ari conditioning we can forgive in the mountains, but not lack of fans when it was hot. Bit distant from ski lifts to use in winter.

    Separate swimming pools for adults and children

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only stayed for 4 nights and will definitely be returning next year! It was a fantastic hotel, with a wonderful spa, beautiful atmosphere and fantastic staff. I never usually leave reviews but this is a hotel worth telling people about!

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed 3 nights midweek on a special offer. The hotel is built out of 8 traditional chalets connected by a warren of passages and stairs. These, on the first day, can be a little confusing but the lack of conventional hotel signage does make the place feel less like a hotel and more like the home of an old friend. The big fireplace at the heart of the building seems to spread its welcoming warmth everywhere and the place feels comfortable and cosy, from my room with warm wood, hairy carpets and fur throws, to the deep sofas which you sink gratefully into after a day outdoors and even to the large dining area with discrete pools of light. There are several very pleasant public areas to relax in; the service is faultless; the quality of the breakfast is outstanding (just try that butter!) and the food in the traditional dining room (there are two restaurants) where I ate twice is extremely good; as a single traveler I appreciated the method of offering wines by the glass; a small selection but different each evening. I didn’t try the spa, but it looked very inviting.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    All

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Athmosphere

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Is very expensive.

    Rooms very comfy. Great service. Really helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional facilities, staff and attention detail. this hotel provides everything you could wish for to enjoy a perfect stay..

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awesome hotel!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything... Espacially all these cocooning places...

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa and the four restaurants available for dining

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: