Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Gens de Mer La Rochelle by Popinns** 2 stars

20, Avenue du Général de Gaulle, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#27 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1728 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Loved the town and our proximity to it, but needed a few more comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no fridge, tea and coffee making, safe or air-con in the room. Air-con we can live without, but the others are not expensive to supply and should not be optional at any level.

    Position was great, close to the station, the port, and the old city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved the hotel and the location, didn’t stay long enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for parking at the front of the hotel even for limited time whilst offloading luggage which was very efficiently policed by over zealous parking wardens. No air conditioning in the room on one of the hottest days so far although there was a fan and a balcony with a good view of the main street.

    Super location, a few minutes walk to the centre of the city and an abundance of bars and restaurants very close by. We opted to pay for parking for our motorcycles although it was not a locked garage only an open car park which was accessible by pedestrians which meant removing anything which could be stolen easily, not that we thought this was likely but a preventative measure. We ate in the city and only had breakfast at the hotel which was buffet style typical continental food but good anyway and a reasonable finish time of 10am. The hotel is located only about 200 metres from the rail station which makes it easier to find, we didn’t hear any trains so no downside there. The staff we met all spoke English much better than my French which was very useful when asking for information on the best places to visit, we will definitely return and would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Despite short comings, this hotel deserves three stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit on the cramped side, with two adults and two suitcases. Don't drop the soap in the shower as there is no room to pick it up.

    Bed was very comfortable (rm 104), lovely balcony with seating for the smokers amongst us, quiet street, easy walking from both station and town, breakfast was great, with indoor and outdoor seating. Liked the maritime theme and cheerful decor. Friendly staff made it all worth while.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location close to the centre, very friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn’t like, good value for money, basic and clean, no issues

    Great location close to the centre, very friendly staff, although a two star I was very impressed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The score I give is 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. Best choice.

    The score I give is 10. The most important thing in winter for Chinese especially for my mother is we could drink hot water. This hotel offers hot water. Which was very convenient for us and the stuff were all friendly. I should say thank you so much. We left our luggage there twice Then we could travel in La Rochelle more. I left my cup in the bathroom when we checked out but I found my cup was just in my luggage when we picked up our luggage to leave. All these things were nice to me. I will still choose this hotel if I go to La Rochelle again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Dogs are permitted but at a cost of 7.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little need of TLC. Parking is not free 6 euro a night and street parking you also have to pay for. Surprise payment for my two little dogs. 15uros. cost more with the extras.

    Dogs are permitted but at a cost of 7.50 euros a night per dog. Parking on premises but 6 euros a night. Wish this was made clearer on Booking.com, Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient for the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire safety was limited. No smoke detectors in room and evacuating the mezzanine bedroom in a fire would be sufficient

    Very convenient for the station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellant location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very clean and nicely decorated, balcony a bonus, hot shower. Hotel has a good attached car park at 6 euro a night, a few steps to the port and old town and from the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    3.8
    BAD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door has no peephole, and there were four drunk guys kicking and yelling outside our room the whole midnight, we contacted the hotel reception but since there's only one guy and he did his best but still didn't work, so we called the police at last, But still, we haven't got sleep for the whole time. So it was totally a bad experience!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location and value.....shame about the parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking available.....not mentioned on web-site at time of booking. I would have reserved a space had I been aware

    Very good location for La Rochelle centre. Good value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By some reason the light switch is located on a wall panel just above the pillow, and it is very easy to switch on the light by accidentally moving your head or hands just an extra inch up when sleeping. After accidentally switching on the light and waking up because of that the second time, I moved the bed away from the wall panel. Maybe it is just a bad layout in a single room, don't know. It was room 222. Looks like the room was designed for a double bed, but then it was replaced by two single beds that don't fit well (power socket is also almost under one of the beds).

    Everything was great. Located in-between the train station and the touristic city center. Friendly staff. Clean and nicely decorated rooms. Good breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Hotel Gens de Mer is a haven of peace in a very vibrant, yet relaxed town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely no complaint

    Staff were pleasant beyond the bounds of duty. Hotel, unlike many of those close to the Vieux Port, was tranquil ...... good sleep, therefore, was freely available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Close to station and the old town, makes this an ideal spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower stall is rather small and may not suit people of size.

    Close to station and the old town, makes this an ideal spot. The rooms are a good size, WiFi is strong, and the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    One comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The environment of the hotel is quite good, near the train station and all other main tourist spots. And it's silence, the equipment inside the room can more or less be satisfied for one two stars hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    This is our second stay at this hotel - it is very convenient and has everything you need. Rooms are a little small but will certainly not look elsewhere on our next visit to La Rochelle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Relaxed ambience yet close to everything .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about , we would stay here again.

    Great location near to station, bus, restaurants, Old Port etc. Comfy bed, room on small side but more than adequate. Lots of little places to sit and relax around the hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly. The welcome was a great introduction to La Rochelle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattreses were lumpy and uncomfortable, a pity for a hotel we liked everything else about

    Lovely positioned, large windows letting in a lot of light, fun maritime theme.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable and perfectly situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking spaces minute and awkward to get in too.

    Very clean pleasant room. This was our third time staying there. It was only an overnight stop but we will probably return yet again as for us it is the perfect driving time from Roscoff ferry. We do not have breakfast as there are so many nice places to eat down by the quay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Really great location, easy to walk out to the harbour area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is fine if you book in advance and it is available. Beware sat-nav directions taking you the most direct route (small streets, many one-way and closed off when we visited).

    Really great location, easy to walk out to the harbour area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    If you want a relaxing holiday, this is it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at La Rochelle airport around 8pm along with about 12 others to find no taxis and couldn't phone one. Phoned the hotel who managed to get one for us.

    Room was very clean. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertised bicycle storage, a small cupboard cheekily priced at 3 euros per bike per night, was a little limited and we could only fit in 5 out of 7 bikes. The other two were accommodated in the hotel but not as securely.

    Location was our priority here. Less than 200 metres from the railway station, ideal after a long journey, and handy for the old port of La Rochelle. Helpful staff tracked down an item of lost property and phoned us after we checked out so we could pop back to pick it up before moving on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced but great location for the town centre and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiny main bedroom, smaller bathroom and the ridiculousness of the stairs to climb into the second bedroom. At 133€ this was well overpriced even for 4 people ( 2 adults/2 kids) We then also had to park ( and pay) on the street. Really disappointed and we would never return

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel staff went the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately no view.

    Staff were extra helpful as I had lost my phone and are helping me to get it back. Breakfast was more varied and had more choice than usual continental.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, would use the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit cramped, especially the bathroom. Shower cubicle was tiny.

    Loved the balcony. Great view of the station which is a beautiful building. Excellent location, short walk to the aquarium and the old town. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, good breakfast and staff very helpful. Parking for small cars only but it does have parking which is a bonus. Hotel rooms are small, but clean and the hotel is a little shabby!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    lovely town , shabby hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    management should really consider ,that in this day a property in that state needs updated , shabbiness is not really what anyone wants on a holiday, did not want to stay in the room any amount of time or use the bathroom horrible hotel, especially after staying in a great hotel in spain the evening before for the same cost ,

    location was very good for visiting the town, easy to find, staff fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location & value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From reading previous feedback, we also found it much better to seek breakfast at the nearby harbour - rather than the canteen style small buffet they offer at the hotel.

    The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Parking our Touring motorbike safely for 11 Euros per day in their private car park was well worth the peace of mind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money central hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst there it was very hot, a fan would have improved sleeping, but it was good having a balcony.

    Location excellent for everything in city centre Hotel staff very helpful and generous Clean and comfortable and secure Looks attractive from the outside, pleasant sitting out area and internal downstairs seating area. Good bathroom and balcony a bonus. Plenty of storage in compact bedroom, housekeeping each day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    A great location and a comfortable, friendly hotel for spending some time in La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have had some fresh cheese, not cheese in packets, for breakfast. The room was rather airless (it was hot weather during our stay). We booked for 4 nights and it would have been better if we could have been given a room with a balcony or a large window; these rooms were available during our stay, as we saw people come and go. NB There is a good shuttle bus to the airport. We arrived at 8 in the evening and so too late for the bus. There were no taxis. We had to wait for some time with a lot of others and eventually shared a taxi. On our return trip, we took the bus from the station (very close to the hotel) and the the shuttle (from La Place de Verdun), which was very cheap and convenient. This is something the airport could improve for those arriving after 19.30, who would just miss the last shuttle.

    The staff were friendly and the location was very good being close to the old port and town centre. Breakfast was fine. The room was comfortable and quiet at night, with the window closed. The hotel is secure with someone at reception day and night. Behind the hotel is a very nice restaurant, with tasty fish and seafood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    La Rochelle is perfect for a few days away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend that you pre book a taxi for your return to the airport. We had to wait for an hour at the taxi rank although there was no queue.

    I booked a triple room for myself and two friends. We had 3 single beds which were very comfy and the room was spotlessly clean. In addition to a large window we had two balconies with furniture. We enjoyed sitting out with a bottle of wine before going for dinner. Perfect for our few days away. The staff were very friendly. Would stay there again. Arrived home yesterday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location close by the old port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the hotel in January for 4 double/twin rooms with emphasis on the twin as there were initially 8 single men travelling. Received notification two days before book in and one day before departure from Dublin that only double rooms were available. Not nearly enough time to search for alternative accommodation on a bank holiday weekend....

    Location so close to the port with parking available for the seven motorbikes at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    Location is great for walking access the port area of La...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location near the train station/down town I would not have been 100% happy walking around here by myself late at night. Little noisy in rooms facing the street late at night - given location is very central this comes with the territory.

    Location is great for walking access the port area of La Rochelle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ROOM WAS RATHER SMALL FOR TWINS BED AND WINDOW WAS EXTREMELY AWKWARD AND DANGEROUS ALSO VERY SMALL CAR PARK

    STAFF WERE FRIENDLY, EXCELLENT LOCATION AND VALUE FOR MONEY GOOD BREAKFAST CHOICE

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant nautical theme, personal touches.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything that bothered me. Perhaps the shower cubicle is a little small, but I am larger than average.

    Pleasant nautical theme, personal touches. Nice spread of breakfast choices. Convenient parking. Have stayted here several times as it is my preferred overnight in La Rochelle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.2
    Close to the station, quiet and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good to have a kettle in the room but I was told that 2stars hotels in France don't offer that.

    Very close to the train station, good for after a long trip. Breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    The location is excellent.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. No English speaking channels on TV.

    The location is excellent. Close to port, restaurants and shops but situated just far enough away not to be bothered by noise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    One night stop-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking only by reservation the same day as check-in - €5 per day. Bedroom rather small Shower 80cm - too small

    Clean and pleasant hotel. Good breakfast Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Top place, great staff, great room, excellent breakfast! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brass lamp on bed headboard. Absolutely lethal if you lean back to watch television. I know! Remove it before it seriously hurts someone!

    Everything except...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall distribution of the building is a bit weird with half floors, stairs and lifts...

    Croissant, "chocolat-in" and bread were just like I love them with salted butter and apricot jam. The hotel is extremely well located to take advantage of the port and city life while remaining a peaceful area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    No complaints regarding the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an injury after a visiit to the beach but there was limited first aid available, and the night porter was not interested

    No complaints regarding the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent basic hotel, GVFM, very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Tea making facilities in room. Thats it really!

    Lovely fresh croissants every day, good coffee, comfortable beds. Very good staff, polite helpful and friendly. Position is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.7
    Pleasent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no air condition. Room and en suite very small.

    Pleasent staff. Great location close to all amenities. The hotel is dated but very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    4.2
    Location was good but very disappointed with Hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking facilities when we arrived even though we had been told parking had been reserved when we called in the morning.Spent over an hour trying to find somewhere to park.Asked if we wanted breakfast which we said yes to..when we went down for breakfast were told we hadn't paid for breakfast. Found some of the staff on duty very unhelpful .

    The location was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    Great little find in centre of la Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to mezzanine were very steep. Breakfast price a bit steep.

    Spacious beds for family of four. Great location. Private secure parking. Value for money just 3 mins walk to harbour.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.3
    Very good stop over for a night or 2. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Down side it was a very hot night, and there was no air condition, only a fan not adequate enough.

    the position was very central, for Bars and Resturants, and the Staff were very helpful. The Breakfast was good and plenty of it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    5.8
    One night stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was stained, the bathroom floor tiles were awful and slippery as it was a wet room. The hotel needs investment for upgrading.

    The hotel was centrally situated, the gentleman on reception was helpful and pleasant and the linen was clean. I would not recommend this hotel and a few more Euros would have achieved a far superior hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    We were able to leave our bags after checkout and so were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift wasnt working

    We were able to leave our bags after checkout and so were able to go to the beach for the last few hrs of sunshine before we took our flight

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    6.7
    Convenient location, quiet, but just about good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet selection was poor - plus coffee machine wasn't working so only filter coffee was available - don't bother having your breakfast there and go in a café instead.

    The little terrasse at the front of the building was pleasant enough.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    4.2
    loca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sad that what potentially has the look of a good hotel has got run down and poor facilities. Our room was small , stuffy and the bathroom tight with very flimsy fittings. In the main room the heavy glass covering over the light suddenly crashed down on the bed on our legs...had we been sitting on that end of the bed we could have been badly hurt. The response of the manageress the next morning was pretty poor..seemed unconcerned , didn t send anyone to check or make any significant apology. The breakfast we took the first morning was uninspiring and not worth the 9 euros ..we didn t eat there again. We had to ask for toiletries to be replaced along with the towels and the cleaning was pretty basic and didn t include the glass shelf in the bathroom. I would exempt the tall slim girl on the desk from our criticism of the manageress - she was warm and helpful. We could not recommend the hotel at present to other guests given the facilities and attitude we encountered ..a shame given its location and interesting 1950s exterior

    The location close to station surrounded by trees and near the harbour , restaurants and views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    3.3
    Does not meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked parking in the car park the space I had booked was full as was the entire car park upon arrival. The room was small and the beds were not particularly pleasant to sleep on.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.9
    The shower water was hot, and proper flow not a silly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower size was tiny. The bathroom door almost caught the edge of the loo on opening.

    The shower water was hot, and proper flow not a silly dribble. The staff helpful, friendly and happy to help out in English when I ran out of French! Great location to where we had arrived as crew on a yacht. Also good for markets, town, aquarium, & station. Bedroom size adequate. Balcony fine. Tv which we did not use. Hair dryer from reception. Clean and tidy all round earned its 2 star rating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was closed on Sunday and Monday which they didn't tell me when I checked in

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Not my first choice in La Rochelle
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed linen, slamming doors, poor quality bed, tiny tired shower.

    Location, windows, tranquil view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    If I am used to go to this hotel it's for all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I am used to go to this hotel it's for all the reasons I answered above

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.3
    Tragic!!!!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was smelling awful!!!!

    Nothing was nice!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room

    Close to train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice quaint hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although advertised as rooms with balcony, no balcony available

    Friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location to see the lovely La Rochelle. The town centre is just a short stroll away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was parking but it had not been made clear that there was a charge of 6€ per night.

    Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Parking and breakfast extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking and breakfast extra

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Staff is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot is small for big cars.

    Staff is nice. Location is ideal. Rooms are clean and comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Ah
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ah

    Ah

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    excellent location near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very limited parking facilities; street parking only free on Sundays

    excellent location near city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Bathroom a little tired, could do with some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little tired, could do with some TLC.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Short but pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location. Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels very thin

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenience comfort staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    OK for one night but not any more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned - needs significant investment to modernise.

    Very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower quite small, old fashioned

    Near old Harbour and aquarium

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Was fine for one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Beds were comfortable did not have breakfast so couldn't...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds were comfortable did not have breakfast so couldn't comment overall would definitely stay here against

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean good size room, balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Clean good size room, balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    We had a comfortable stay and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I liked the hotel as it was.

    Good location, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location. A few minutes walk from the lovely port.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Restaurants in the are expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive surrounding facilities

    Restaurants in the are expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Location was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was wonderful. The room was a small and a little outdated however the balcony more than made up for that. Staff helpful. Wifi good.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: