Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Gens De Mer Le Havre by Popinns 2 stars

44, Rue Voltaire, Perret, 76600 Le Havre, France

#34 of 46 hotels in Le Havre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 951 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were amazing and very helpful, but one of their staff (woman with short blonde hair and glasses) was impolite, rough, and horrible to deal with.

    Had the vibe of a guest house with short term rentals, and felt more like an apartment than a hotel. The breakfast was good with an array of options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were down for breakfast at 9.35am but only 15 minutes later they started clearing stuff away and huffing and puffing as if they wished we weren't there. I just leapt up and grabbed this and that before the food disappeared.

    Great location ! Great receptionist from Guadaloupe ! Room and bathroom suited us, the best on our one week trip across France. Great full breakfast for a hungry Englishman. - And we much appreciated the easy and convenient parking !!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old. The room was a disaster. Bed. Blankets. Pillows really old. Toilet was not fixed, door not closing, Shower really disgusting. Never again. I was shocked Normandy has better 2 star hotels. This one should have 1 star...

    There is a nice restaurant close to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn't have a hairdryer and doesn't have enough power soket.

    It was quite a comfortable room. The hotel has got a convinient location. If you plan only to spend a time at night it will be a good decision.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At city centre. If u arrive by train, u have to take tram A direction `le plange` and drop off at stop `hotel ville` and walk 8 mins to hotel. Hotel nearby a indoor market (include one supermarket) and a lot of restaurants. Gare Le Harve just opposite of a very big shopping mall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bedspreads and blankets on the beds. No duvets. Poor eletric supply in the room. One plug serving three wall mounted bedside lights. No plug for personal use. The room keys hanging in reception were very available to passing opportunist hands whilst the reception staff were not constantly behind the desk.

    Friendly staff. 24 hour reception. Good breakfast. Free for children, however, expensive for an adult. Had it not been free for the children we would all have eaten outside of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very rude, they did not help with the luggage and were very ironic to our request. They charged us for taxes that are not mentioned on the booking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel entrance is up a steep flight of stairs; a problem for elderly incapacitated people. 3rd floor lift button was permanently broken, necessitating further use of stairs. Tiled Wet room shower floor dangerous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I read a parking for guest was provided, but I had to park my car on the street. My room was on the street side so I had some noise of the street. I couldn't close the curtains completely, so there was a gap of half a meter through which the light came in the morning.What I paid is maybe just a bit too much.

    The room was plain but comfortable. The bathroom was more modern and clean. The staff was friendly. I thought The bed was comfortable. It was very cold outside but the room was warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking was not adequate, we had to park on a public paying car park across the road. The breakfast was limited and expensive for what was available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you had to walk the stairs with all the luggage, it is not friendly for people who are old, disabled or have physic problems. The bathtub was loose at the front, the curtains let in light at the end of the sides. You could tell the rooms were old

    The staff was nice, we were offered drinks, private parking and the room was big and neat

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Try to stay in a room facing the "backyard". We had a room on the first floor towards the market place. Starting very early morning, we had to close the window due to delivery noises from trucks. No fun at all.

    We could recommend this place. Simple as we like it. Close to everything. "Real" seamen stay at the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was okay, a bit on the hard side, but doable. At night there were some loud noises outside which could be heard a little bit too well inside the room.

    The location is good. Close to the centre with shops and close to the beach. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The compound of the house could have been better with things like children's pay area and more flowers etc....

    The interior of the rooms have a great personnel touch. All colors are pastel and look earthly. Great tranquil ambiance in surrounding and is quiet close (4KM) from the Month St. Michel. 2 KM you need to walk on the riverside / through the commercial road of the village and then you can get free shuttle to Mont St. Michel. Over all great place and great host. Though slightly high priced due to the lost Easter holidays in 2017. I rate this property as safe and good stay for family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike . Everyone had a comfortable stay

    We were a party of 12 persons and we found the location perfect for our purposes - a sailing regatta at the Le Havre Yacht Club close by. It was also ideally situated for Restuarants and Pubs and entetainment in the evenings, as it was close to the centre of the town. Staff were fantastic and helpful with excellent english language to make things easier for us

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer they keep the price offered by booking, not adding extra for breakfast, although the breakfast was worthwhile.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all a little rundown and the toilet was uncomfortable

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was ideally placed for the beach, town centre and ferry port

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing in the room to tell us what time breakfast was on a Sunday and we almost missed out. The decor is a bit dated.

    Although we were late for breakfast staff made the effort to prepare fresh hot pastries .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy rooms very clean very quiet love the ship design from inside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV station was only in French

    Sizes of the room and bathroom was just fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.. It was perfect for me.

    Simple, clean and comfortable. No frills..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were really friendly and provided inputs of surrounding places to visit and to eat. It was value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A big hotel, well located but a little bit old.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi not working

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost was higher when we came to pay than stated on booking.com.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor room, matrass very old so we felt every spring, breakfast was not worth the money, for us not again...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lousy checkin and 30 minute wait at the end of a very long day. The hotel is very basic and out of date

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bathroom, shower getting a little old.

    location, staff, bed, price rate

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was good. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staffs are not helpful, and all of them were in a hurry to just check in and out the people. Very little information provided about the city and the worst case was they did not tell us about not parking our car in front of the hotel on Sunday even though I already ask about the hotel's private parking. In result, our car picked up by police, and I had to pay 130 euros for that. That is awful

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A spot of redecoration in hallways & corridors would be more inviting perhaps?

    Basic, yes, and a little worn in public areas, but a warm welcome, fabulous self service breakfast and a perfectly convenient location for sightseeing around Le Have. Bedroom and ensuite were very clean, and we slept well both nights. We're already planning a return next Spring with our daughter, who I'm sure will love Le Have, and we will definitely book to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The decoration of the room deserve to be updated. It looks old, mostly the quilt and the curtains. - The terrible noise of wind a night. I know the hotel can't do anything cause it depends on weather...but maybe a better isolation of windows?

    Good relation price/quality.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the pillows could have been a bit better but besides that it was a nice hotel despite it looking a bit old.

    the staff here is very friendly! The hotel itself is quite simple and cute with everything you need! It's in an amazing location as well!

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have had more variety.

    Convenient from the ferry, easy walking distance to the town. Wonderful market right opposite. Parking was easy.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience at all but hotel looked quite shabby.

    Hotel was adequate for overnight stay and location suited us for ferry crossing the next day. Staff were helpful and breakfast was buffet style.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception desk can be v busy !

    Near to ferry terminal. good food in restaurant , breakfast OK. Parking across the street is free overnight, move to main ( small ) car park behind hotel at 9am !

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The street was loud. The coffee at breakfast was really bad. WIFI weak in the room. The bathroom had a smell.

    The location was nice and they had a market outside Monday morning.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt that the hotel would benefit from improvements to décor and infrastructure. For example: The plastic backing to the curtains was peeling off creating the unpleasant impression that they were torn. The room had no decoration apart from a crudely daubed, indistinct mural on one wall. One bedside light did not work. There was no plug for the bath (fortunately we brought our own). The bath was very slippery with no shower mat provided; in our opinion very hazardous. Thread-bare stair carpet and gloomy, long corridors.

    Our room was spacious with plenty of space to store clothes. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The reception staff were most helpful as were those in the breakfast room. The buffet breakfast was certainly adequate and featured the smallest croissants in France! The hotel is well-placed to drive to the car ferries.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal was nowhere near as good as the breakfast. Our advice would be venture out to other establishments for evening fayre

    Ideal for overnight stop in Le Havre - Clean Comfortable and Central

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you have had time to explore the town, you may perhaps be found in a better place for breakfast.

    Great location next to the city center. Privat parking. Claen room. The hotel is yes already old and worn, but if you can live with it, so a good place to sleep. Attractions near the hotel and a lot of different styles of food.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Far too bright in the ro at night, curtains wouldn't close properly and window was really stiff to open/close.

    Good location, close to the port.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    You can see mold in the bathroom. There is no hairdryer.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very close to car ferries. There is a car park directly at the back of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fridge for drinks and medications Need one english TV channel if possible Spare pillows summer weight duvet Tea/Coffee making facilities

    size of room shower WiFi great Nice walk to beach

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful staff - lots of nearby parking - good breakfast selection and dinner menu was varied. It's pretty basic and the bedrooms were dated, but given the price we weren't expecting any more. For an overnight stay it's absolutely fine.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connected but didnt work. @ the reception there were 6/7 Indian like guys hanging @ couch, no reason what they where doing..in the morning they were still there!

    Nice basic room

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel not aware of booking despite confirmation

    Room size and cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good breakfast. Good nearby locations.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I thought that the hotel was showing signs of age, very run down.

    location was very good

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Sullen, unhelpful staff. The hotel is adequate, nothing more.

    Great location, central for everything in le havre

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very simple hotel, bed, TV, bathroom no fuss: just what you need.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel was very tired looking could do with updating(makeover) limited secure parking

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were going to stay two nights but changed our mind. The staff is really nice but the hotel is shabby. Not much to say for LeHavre either.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit outdate and it doesn't give the sense of cleanness.

    Nice location near the port.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    Value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    outdated interior & no place to hang the shower head, had to hold it in your hand

    Price

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lift was very small and slow

    Sammy in reception. The parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having to leave

    Excellent hotel bigger than I thought food was great right in the centre and close to ferry port could not find any fault with it

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

    Location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs refurbishment

    Location to seafront

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Uncomfortable bed -No internet in the room

    -Nice location very close to the city center and the beach -Clean -Spacious room

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    staff, location, cleanliness, nautical motifs and overall comfort

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mail night receptionist was rather miserable but helpful.

    Rooms were large, clean and very modern. Privathe car parking only €4.00

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    decor is rather pushing off. place reminds me students hostels with only freshly exchanged carpets.

    Big room, clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    free wifi not available, line not stable at all.

    the price is affordable, large room size

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - good location - nice "ship" style of hotel

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: