Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Gens De Mer Brest by Poppins 2 stars

44, Quai De La Douane, 29200 Brest, France

#39 of 46 hotels in Brest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 705 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi connection is diabolical. My smartphone wouldn't connect at all and the signal kept dropping for my laptop.

    Although the decor is dated and in some cases worn, the hotel is comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly at check in and when I left something behind in the room, the cleaners made an effort to get it back to me. However, there was no one on the desk during breakfast, and so I checked out without speaking to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome. Room basic but fine. Looking out onto another building, would have liked net curtain for day-time privacy. Excellent breakfast, plenty of choice and fresh products. Great location for Brest port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in shower. Refugees pounding on my door at night to try to break in. Female staff laughed at me when I called for help. "It is my last room. Too bad for you." After I said I would call the police, other phones rang and I did not hear a sound rest of night. Not .1 mile from harbor. It was a working fish dock. Locals told me the harbor, nice area was too far to walk to and I needed a car.

    Parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was dirty, smelly and noisy. When arriving at the property the receptionist was so arrogant,any question ask was answered with a question. This is the worst place I've ever been to.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the hotel, the lift doesn't arrive on all floors. It isn't so close to the city center.

    The breakfast is very good. A beautiful place around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple room with Connecting Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wifi did not work for 3 days out of 5, marmelade and bred was of industrial quality, dark corridors

    good coffee machine, nice restaurant room, small croissants ever day

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff doesn't speak English

    good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, messy inner navigation

    It's very very close to the ferry. Fine early breakfast and helpful and welcoming stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amibience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. And I found this hotel is a chain hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was not working and the bed was very hard.

    The room was cheap and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was not internet in the room available, only at the entrance. The Hotel is extremely noisy. The other guests tried to come in my room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to my route. Quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room - 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Weak wi-fi signal in the room - Language issue with the workers

    - Hotel Location - Breakfast - Restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location ideal. Old port. Restos bars right there. Simpatico atmos.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for restaurants and bars

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location as we we travelling to the Ile d'Ouessant. The boat was leaving only a few hundred meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.Close to all bars and restaurants.Very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Internet working, sink flooded, no soap for shower

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall a good experience, except when it came to checking out. The receptionist insisted that I have not payed for my room, even after showing her the Booking.com and Paypal printout showing the accommodation was paid in full.

    Convenient location. Well priced. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    This is easy, the blackout curtains - believe me this simple and cheap feature has been sadly missing from almost every hotel I have stayed at in the last 30 years. They ensured a good nights sleep, unbroken by daybreak, if that's what you want - I did. The location entailed a walk of over a mile into the centre of Brest but that was compensated for by a number of decent bars, restaurants and free parking - busy to the point of buzzing in the evening. The historic castle/museum was nearer than the town centre and led on to the 'Siam' area with more restaurants, bars and shops. The room was fairly simple, but spacious with a double for single occupancy and a good shower with decent pressure. The best bit was paying 72 euro for two nights. Recommended for a visit to Brest on a budget. The only downside for a 2 star hotel was the lack of a hairdryer.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the distance from the town centre but this was offset by the restaurants close by. Staff could have been informative about bus timetable into town or have info to hand

    Hotel staff were very friendly and keen to help

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small rooms and uncomfortable beds.

    Great location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant closed in the evening, no bar available, no Wi-Fi available in the bedroom, translation from French to English was poor.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is ideal for onward travel to the islands. I stayed before and after visiting Ouessant for four days. Car parking very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rien

    Flexibilite, location near the waterfront, good room size.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi fi poor bending arrangements average

    Price

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy high libido nieghbours (well but this is no fault of the hotel)

    Very helpful guys at the reception desk

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff , location and hospitality were amazing!!!!

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: