Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel-Chalet de Tradition Les Gentianettes 4 stars

Route de Chevenne, 74360 La Chapelle-dʼAbondance, France

#3 of 20 hotels in La Chapelle-dʼAbondance

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 156 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    restaurant was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No gluten free bread in such a place and no possibility to order some. I was told "you can buy them at the grocery store in the village" which did not have any. 1 bathrobe per room? No slippers (we have ordered them, but they have not arrived... No hamman/sauna during most of the day

    restaurant was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was well appointed in its accommodation and its facilities and well located for skiing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If there was not a question that asked what we did not like we would not make any negative comment. However, in order to answer your question, the only slight negative was the length of the delay in the arrival of the lift from other floors.

    We liked the friendliness of the staff. We liked the quality of the menu in both restaurants and we liked the overall design and styling of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chambre Quadruple Communicante
    • Stayed 4 nights

    could take 20-30mintues to get to the main ski area in Chatel depending on buses

    not cheap but worth the money very good all round, excellent food and spa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Staff was lovely and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed by the fact that I booked a superior room and received a standard one which was not looking as the one from the web site as half of the hotel was not refurbished . Was surprised not getting what I have paid for. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi very cold ... dressing gown not provided to us but was to some other guest.

    Staff was lovely and professional. Food was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel in the heart of the Abondance Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    From the outside of this hotel to the inside, every detail has been thought out. It is absolutely gorgeous, from the chalet style common area, to the cozy, clean and modern rooms, this is definitely a hotel you must visit - stunning. The spa area is clean and modern with many features - 4 seasons shower (which was a treat!), great pool, jacuzzi, hammam, sauna, resting area, etc. Unfortunately, we were unable to secure a spot for dinner as it was fully booked up, however, we did enjoy the breakfast the following day and can understand why the restaurant is popular. Freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, pastries, bread with local jam and honey, artisanal yogurt, great coffee......such a treat! Our stay was during the Summer, so the hikes in the surrounding valley was beautiful. We are already planning our return this winter for the ski season!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Must experience this once
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant meals were pricey and the plate had less food than we hoped for. Restaurant profiles for the more luxourious experience. The BIGGEST minus of this hotel is the moment you leave it. We headed to Italy and boy we got bit depressed with our next Italian stay.

    FORMIDABLE!! The experience in this hotel was like in the fairy tale and it begins right away as you step in to the lobby. We are from scandinavia and we enjoy the wooden and refreshed looks of the buildings. The room we got apparently was recentlu under the hammer and OH BOY it was amazing!!! The room was not big, but more cosy. Long windows from the floor to the ceilings, the view on the mountains, the exquisite design of the rooms and bathrooms were all amazing. The facilities and the restaurant were superb! Good finnish sauna (oh yeah, we tested), nice and most importantly warm hammam, refreshing pool and not that cool salt room got us super relaxed. After long journey through Switzerland the facilities were more than welcome. The restaurant looked very cosy. Open fire and mountaineous atmosphere were excellent. We don't travel much, but in our 7 years journey, this hotel was the best we experienced comparing to the price/quality value. Hopeful the hotel will not spoil this value in the future. We have probably over 50 stays at different hotels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.9
    Family friendly, beautiful French resort with excellent, caring staff in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chambre Quadruple Communicante
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are small, very little storage space, but tasteful. Wifi- poor, only worked in reception area. staff smoking in front of the ski storage room,... unpleasant. Parking can be a problem, not enough space to park up if you get back late from skiing,... You need a car to ski anywhere in the valley.

    Hotel in a very beautiful village. Friendly staff, nothing was a problem to ask. nice bathroom, comfortable beds, well heated rooms. Excellent interior design with old , traditional items, very tasteful. Breakfast and all food is very good but highly expensive. Ski rental - 10% discount if you use the shop that has the same ownership!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, great reception staff, restaurant staff need work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast serving staff were rude and moved my wife and I from a table we were sitting at. We had been told to sit anywhere we wanted by reception, but the waitress in the restaurant later decided she wanted us to move after we had been siting. The wait staff made it feel like we were taking food from their mouths as we looked over the buffet. Need work on their customer service and the atmosphere the staff generate.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel and restaurant to visit and explore the Chablais region
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are nice and quiet but somewhat smallish.

    Nice location to explore the surroundings mountains, very quiet and cosy hotel, nice and helpful staff. Excellent restaurant for diner, excellent breakfast too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Stayed four nights for a skiing trip. Very convenient for slopes and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with attention to detail. Great food. And small spa pool kept clean and warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room, stunning location and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, stunning location and excellent food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    We will return! Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing. I expect this is what royalty have 😀 the staff could not help us enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Great time in the summer - Really enjoyed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Attic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great time in the summer - Really enjoyed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.1
    food was excellent, décor in general areas interesting on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    room cluttered and small, sauna and steam room not switched on

    food was excellent, décor in general areas interesting on site car parking,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel rooms lovely mountain village setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Good food. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    A well-run, popular family hotel in the beautiful Val d'Abondance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was too small ( a single room or two children size) ...tiny bathroom.

    Good food , friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.2
    - SPA and swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - La Chapelle d'Abondance is not as modern and developed as Chatel - Transport between villages was crowded - Restaurants on the piste in La Chapelle serve poor quality food.

    - SPA and swimming pool - Clean and comfortable hotel - Terasse with beautiful view - Ski storage room - Two restaurants and a bar in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    2.5
    everything (except the restaurant) - room too small, my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything (except the restaurant) - room too small, my bathroom is bigger, than the standart room for 180 euros, hairdryer broken, hamman didn´t work.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    View, proximity to workplace
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Other bookings we made you are able to cancel without penalty 24 hours before. My husbands work required us to move to another ville and it costs us to break the reservation.

    View, proximity to workplace

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable if compact rooms, good food in attractive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need a car or the bus to get to the lifts; no problem for us.

    Comfortable if compact rooms, good food in attractive surroundings and with a good quality of service. Generous self service breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    10
    An attractive hotel with free parking and situated just off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An attractive hotel with free parking and situated just off the main road, so quiet. The meals are delicious, with a choice of 2 restaurants. After a hard day on the ski slopes, it's a real pleasure to have a swim and relax in the sauna and hammam, at no extra cost and with towels provided.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.9
    Cute, clean rooms, nice swimming pool, restaurant in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They asked us to check out at 10:30 am - the earliest I have ever seen in a hotel. The sauna and hamam are available for free only for a short time, otherwise you have to pay. The restaurant in the hotel had mini portions, not a good value for the money paid. We had to wait to be served for a very long time.

    Cute, clean rooms, nice swimming pool, restaurant in the hotel. Very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    7.1
    The hotel is great, good facilities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is a great place to stay, but if you are French, or you speak French regularly! If you don't speak it correctly, you will understand that you are not welcome. The breakfast service is inexistent and the quantity is poor.

    The hotel is great, good facilities and location.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    5.0
    Staff unfriendly and while they promised one thing, the next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff unfriendly and while they promised one thing, the next day the did otherwise.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.1
    Natalie and staff are very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is not ski in ski out

    Natalie and staff are very nice

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Brilliant
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Brilliant

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room and small double bed. Breakfast, a bit expensive.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately no air conditioning in 35' temperatures made the room very hot.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    9.2
    Great family run hotel in a very french part of the alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Childrens menu was limited.

    Great family run hotel in a very french part of the alps.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was superb, easy access, rooms were good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was superb, easy access, rooms were good and skiing was great,

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    8.8
    The decor of the hotel, swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi doesn't always work. Breakfast should be improved.

    The decor of the hotel, swimming pool.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: