Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CGH Résidences & Spas Les Granges Du Soleil 4 stars

Plagne Soleil, 73210 La Plagne, France

#3 of 16 hotels in La Plagne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 58 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of apartment complex was badly designed. CGH claim this was due to it being built on a steep hill, but I have been to similar complexes and the layout has been better. You cannot access most of the rooms via reception and instead have to walk through underground car park, use a single 4 floor lift which you often have to wait 1-2 mins for as it is demand, then climb ~30 steep steps and then another lift to your room. Ski lockers and ski in/out also require some navigation. Additionally, access to swimming pool and spa from blocks, B and C involves a walk outside across a narrow, slippery snowy ‘gully’ on the roof of the complex or a very long walk / lift journey. Best block for ski in/out is block C. Only 2 WiFi codes per apartment. Spa and pool shut at 8pm but they start draining the hot tubs and shutting off the sauna and hammas etc at 7:30pm.

    Apartment large, warm and well equipped. Huge double bed. Shower always hot. Spa facilities excellent. Underground car park served its purpose during the heavy snow we had. Fast and no queue ski access to Plagne Bellecote via a drag lift. Other apartments slightly further down the hill need to ski down to Bergerie lift which has a huge queue on many mornings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi. Cool water in the pool. The management could easily sort both these out.

    Location Good value for money accommodation. Better value than you would get in Val d’isere. Lots of variable skiing, from the Glacier down through the forest. Great link to Les Arcs. We will be booking this area again for 2019. The kids loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. On arrival, we were required to fill out an inventory of everything that was in the room (including counting spoons etc) and return it to reception within 24 hours of arrival. I'm really not sure why this can't be done in advance and was really quite a strange process (and one we didn't really enjoy after a long journey) 2. He wifi was terrible - very intermittent and incredibly slow 3. The receptions staff (it may be just that I got the same person most times though) were incompetent - generally confused and a bit rude (at one point he told me he couldn't speak to me if I was holding my child). 4. We requested 3 times (twice by mail and once in person on day of arrival, several hours before rooms were given) for a room next to our friends. We were told that was the case. It wasn't - we were a lift ride and a flight of stairs away. This was very important to us and was completely ignored (despite assurances otherwise). 5. They ignored 2 emails I sent asking for advice on how to transfer from the train station - the email definitely worked because they responded to a mail about a baby cot (and the incorrect response about the room location). 6. The layout of the complex is bizarre - we were at the top and getting the room was quite a mission (especially with bags/skis) - definitely not recommended for a young family 7. The heating is controlled centrally and can not be changed in the room - for some reason, some of our heaters came on in the middle of the night and was off in the evening and morning. To be fair, they fixed this (by bizarrely turning on the heat to 25 degrees constantly) quite quickly. 8. We asked for clean towels and were told we had to wash them ourselves (for €5 cost of using the machine). This wouldn't have been so bad but there were no towels in the pool area so we had to use 4 towels for 4 people all week for all activities. 9. On departure, we had to empty all bins and clean the apartment to avoid a €100 fine.

    Decent location in a family friendly part of the resort (Plagne Soleil). The swimming pool area is nice and in very good condition. The rooms themselves also were not too bad, although not very 'cosy', they were functional

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lack of reception is a big negative, especially if like us you arrived late in the evening. You just don't have enough information from the outset e.g. separate code for spa area, location of ski lockers, how appliances work etc. Spa water temperate was COLD (even the hot tubs!!) although steam room and sauna were fine. If you're used to an American style customer service ethic you'll probably be disappointed and find a number of niggly little faults and frustrations that add up to a feeling of poor value for money. That's how we felt at the end.

    The apartment was well equipped and spacious. If there had been enough snow the proximity to the slopes would have worked very well too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was rubbish.

    Comfort of the beds and the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi, lots of stairs and escalators to get to apartment. Especially not good with suitcases!

    Spa facilities were good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of proper internet connection

    Fine, it is just a pity the wifi does not work ... forget about internet,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    I did like almost everything except wifi wich was very poor

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    De welness is super

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The restaurant was fine but not superb.

    Really nice apartments with a beautiful view over the mountains, and good sunsets. In the complex of chalets, there is a great swimming pool, sauna and steam room which is just what you need after a day out skiing. There are rooms to look after skis and boots and you can ski home and ski out.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couple of things: We were staying in part of the building Amelie( don't remember correctly , but similar) and let me tell you: it was a veeeerrrrrryyyyyy loooooongggggg way to get to our apartment from reception- you have to take 3!!!!!! Elevators and open countless doors! If anybody have trouble walking( older people) - please specify right away!!!!!!!!! Took us a while to find way in and out:(... Not mentioning taking luggage😱😱😱😱😱 Only 2 wifi codes for 6! People, the rest have to buy extra 30 euro each. Half of the heaters for the boots were not working( in many ski lockers, not just ours)so some of us had to take boots to the room

    The apartment was very nice with a great view on the mountains. We been 5 people in 2 bedroom app for 6 people. It was a pleasant surprise that one of the bedrooms had an extra bathroom with shower. Nice, helpful staff. Clean beds and utensils. Parking is in the building and plenty of parking space outside too. Good swimming pool with saunas and steam rooms . Ski in ski out Overall very good hotel:)

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Extractor fans not working must cost you a fortune with people opening Windows for fresh air ,crockery all chipped ,no view ,could do with comfortable sofa and chairs

    Size of apartment ,decor ,cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I find the property way too expensive for what it offers.

    Location is good although not practical to have to walk down the stairs with the skis to get on the pistes but you do get used to it.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were told tax would be €1.31 per person per night and it was actually £2.48- this should be updated on the website or at least say it is subject to change.

    Location was great, we literally skied from the balcony! Great skiing for all levels. Great facilities, ski hire shop outside the front door, free shuttle bus service around towns

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I didn't find a ski room, so we kept them in our apartments.

    Best value for money. Three room apartment is suitable for 4 adults max. Living room is small but very comfortable with a perfect view. If you are to reside in Dolphin building choose the upper (4th) floor with rooms facing mountains (we know for sure 13-14 rooms do face mountains). These rooms have a roof ceiling which is high and gives the second light (there are windows on the roof). Perfect !!!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Living room furniture not comfortable or sufficient for an 8 people apartment, even with only 6 people. Could have done with more choice of restaurants in complex. Compared to CGH Kalinda. Reception opening hours too limited.

    Quiet, family-friendly, dog-friendly resort. Great to have pool and fitness/spa on site for after-ski or for those not able to ski.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They charge almost everything as extra, not much but annoyingly so - robes to go to the pool, towels for pools, even extra toilet roll!

    Great ski in and ski out to La Plagne Soleil, with good connecting free transport to other La Plagne villages. The room we had was very comfortable, but there was only 3 of us in an apartment for 6.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi maybe free but it never remembered devices and wasn't always accessible so often turned off wifi and just paid roaming charges ...was less hassle and more reliable !

    modern apartments in a nice location with doorstep skiing was great for us as a family. Swimming pool was a great draw for the kids after a day of skiing too.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The single sofa & one cushioned chair are not only inadequate for an apartment designed for 8 persons but are singularly uncomfortable. The false economy of switching off one hamman & one sauna resulting in myself over 8 others waiting for more than 20 mins. Large scale abuse of the small print rules regarding babies in the hot tubs. Wifi coverage in 4th floor bedrooms found to be very flakey

    The location at Plagne Soleil is excellent for access to all the La Plagne area with options for avoiding bottle-neck queues. Hotel facilities provided are generally first class Comprehensive kitchen appliances and utensils Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Reception is closed between 11 and 4 . We had to wait outside in the cold for 3 hours for reception to open . When we phoned for assistance the staff were not very helpful .

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    it would have been nice to have a few more English TV channels to watch

    the staff were so happy and friendly, the location is great

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The WiFi was poor.

    Fantastic place with a great pool.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: