Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Hirondelles 2 stars

44 Rue Des Corderies, 85100 Les Sables-dʼOlonne, France

#6 of 37 hotels in Les Sables-dʼOlonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 537 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel welcome and our cycles stored safely in a garage of their own. Pleasant modern decor and a comfortable room . Small sunny courtyard to sit and enjoy the sunshine. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Private parking is a bit pricy, but there is not much on street space in this older part of town

    A very welcoming hotel with a very generous breakfast. The patio would be a lovely place to relax in better weather and the beach and port are both very close. Not so easy to locate if you don't have a satnav, but the old streets and area are worth it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room decor and facilities were a bit "tired" but perfectly comfortable.

    The hotel is ideally located between the harbour and the beach and the garage was very convenient and worth paying extra for as parking is difficult in Les Sables. The staff made us very welcome and the breakfast is superb with lots of choice of good quality ingredients. Great value. We have stayed here before and would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room rather small and tea and coffee making facility would be appreciated, but that doesn't seem to be available anywhere today.

    Great location in this lovely seaside resort, hotel is one street back from the seafront and we had a sea view through a large gap in the front rank. Secure garage parking, €10, but worth it. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is in no way a criticism of the hotel. There is a flight of steep steps from the road into the hotel, but there is then a lift to the bedroom floors. However infirm guests can access the hotel via a side entrance. It is advisable to book garage parking as on the road parking outside the hotel is limited and is payable.

    The hotel was a short walk from the sea front/shops/places to eat, so it did not matter that the hotel was only bed&breakfast. The staff were very helpful and friendly. This was our second year running that we have returned to this hotel. We were very happy to do so.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was terrific

    Wonderful friendly staff, two streets from the beach, walkable to many different neighbourhoods such as the old harbour, charming healthy breakfast with terrific croissants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit hard to get around by car with all the one way roads. But there are plenty of signs pointing in the right direction of the hotel, so its not a real problem.

    We only stayed for one night, but everything looked nice and clean. The staff was helpful with all of our questions. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped. We didn't have breakfast on the premise but it looked good when we walked past it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room as a bit small but manageable.

    The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good. Added bonus a lovely secluded garden full of roses and jasmine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night.

    A quiet room, close to the fabulous beach, promenade ,old port, marina and town centre. Undercover, secure parking. An excellent stopover on the way to the channel ferry from the south of France.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast and great to be able to park in the garage. Ideal location between the port and the beach. We liked Les Sables-d'Olonne and plan to stay at Les Hirondelles again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There cleaners threw our presents in there rubbish bin one was a picture we had done they said they would get another done we are still waiting weeks later also lost some earrings we had bought for my daughter and other things which we didn't notice till we got home we totalled about 150 plus euros feel really let down by the staff there most were great but when the owner says they will get a picture re done for you we believed them pitty it was the day of leaving we noticed they were gone found some in the bin but not all we wanted wont be going back there to stay but les sables itself is lovely

    Close to the beach and shops

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price isn't quite the same as written in booking.com (on booking.com it was 561 euros for the 4 nights, I ended up paying 764 euros!!), I know that parking charges, city taxes and breakfast weren't included in the original price) but nevertheless, 200 euros more than the original price given on booking.com is quite a difference,

    Location: less than 1 minute walk from the beach, at the center of the lovely sandy beach of les sables d'olonne Clean and tidy rooms Staff are brilliant Breakfast is delicious, fresh and superb Bathrooms are clean and always smelling fresh My 9 y old twin boys had their soft toys with them, and room service was always nice to tidy them in a nice way on the bed (a very nice gesture)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Patio Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose to sleep with the windows open as it was a hot night but the seagulls make very strange schreeching noises most of the night. Been so close to the beach however was a huge bonus, a minor moan !!

    Breakfast was really good, with plenty of choices of breads, cooked meats and egg. Also cereals, yogurts and fruit. Access to the promenade was close and there were plenty of good restaurants to eat minutes two to twenty minutes away. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Our room was comfortable and big enough for a triple room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms dont have air conditioning so if you open the windows to cool the room at night sometimes it can be a bit noisy because of the proximity to the promenade. However this is a small downside to a great little hotel.

    Really friendly family run hotel. Very relaxed atmosphere. Lovely patio garden and so close to the beach and restaurants. Free wifi. Very clean and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on busy periods could be dodgy but spaces available .

    Location was right near the beach.our room was in a lovely courtyard and lovely breakfast .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water could escape from under the shower door making bathroom floor wet

    Fantastic breakfast and a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of adequate WiFi a major problem for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, very friendly and extremely helpful staff . We were made to feel most welcome Very charming. Great location .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit cramped

    Staff helpful, clean hotel and breakfast very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast and car parking in secure garage was expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Centrally located, 2 minutes from the shore, lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard of service and cleanliness and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Breakfast was very good. Bed comfy and garden area very pleasant and private

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi hotel did what it says on the tin !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room was very comfortable - breakfasts excellent. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small for 2

    Friendly welcoming staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Staff, cosy hotel. Location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was totally cramped for a family room and only one small cupboard for storage space

    Close to town and beach. Manager very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for beach, port and shops. Staff really helpful and friendly. Very clean. Underground parking was ideal as very busy in town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is exceptional friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Patio Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    Very convenient for the beach, promenade and old port. Excellent car park. Good to have access to freezer.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms Very Hot & A Fan or Air Conditioning Would Be Very Beneficial.

    Superb Breakfast & Excellent Service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tricky to find - narrow one-way streerts - so need good sat. nav.

    Excellent Breakfast, and secure (with Dog) courtyard area. Excellent location for Beach and Town centre. Locked underground car park, worth the money for security.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing other than a Monday night is difficult to find somewhere to eat but the hotel owner was most helpful.

    The location was perfect in a quiet street with free parking opposite. The family who run this hotel were friendly nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good value with plenty of choice. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the hotel was blissfully quiet.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location. The friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff was excellent. The breakfast was great and my children loved the whole experience. Although the rooms are a little tired ours was clean and very comfortable. We stayed for a few nights en-route to the South of France and I slept well knowing my car (and full roof box) were safe in the secure car park.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Public parking will always be an issue.

    Good position, modern airy, pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the bath prefer a shower.

    Location very good near to everything

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the staff, made to feel very welcome. The facilities, room and breakfast were excellent will definitely be returning

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location close to beautiful sandy beach and good selection of restaurants and bars

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None at all

    Everything, but especially the bteakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful managers and staff. Central

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A loading Zone and Free parking would be a plus. Outdated carpet in the hallways.

    The breakfast is outstanding for the value.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff, The rich breakfast, Very clean.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Les Hirondelles traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: