Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Jardins de Bakea 4 stars

Rue Herri Alde, 64700 Biriatou, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Biriatou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful boutique hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Absolutely loved this hotel! Beautiful garden, superb dinner,lovely room and even allowed our per Collie in the dining room for both dinner and breakfast,which was also delicious! We travel to Spain each year and we intend to include the hotel as a future stopover. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable. Chris and June Roden

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    One night was enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly for us, it was a little too near the motorway, and we love to have our windows open and fresh air, but that was impossible because of the noise levels from the traffic.

    Delightful staff and hotel, food excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Lovely quiet location ,scenic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet location ,scenic views.staff were very friendly and welcoming.we had dinner one night of our stay and the food,the service and wines were all excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Very clean hotel, nice facilities in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is kind of in the middle of nowhere which requires you to take the car if you want to go out for food or whatever.

    Great bed, but shower, premium channels in TV.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Te tomo ver y beautiful and te gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not pay te dinner when i asked for it . Rey said y hay te ojo y opción esa paying room and dinner altoghether...

    Te tomo ver y beautiful and te gardens

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and convenient, excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful gentleman at Réception when parking with a motorsport trailer We had one night here at the beginning of our trip to Spain and Portugal and one night at the end, both nights were very comfortable with excellent dinners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Happy to book again. A delightful stay, and will return when possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frankly, hard to think of anything.

    Staff: great, bilingual although not necessary for us. Food: outrageously good and local. Wine: Irouleguey; a real eye-opener and can be drunk with a knife and fork. Typical of Pays Basque and Les Landes. Room clean, well-furnished, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    A gem of a place, well situated beside the French/Spanish border
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner might have been a bit quicker but who is looking at the watch.

    Although the hotel is situated in a lovely village surrounded by mountains less than a mile from the French/Spanish border (Irun), there is no hint of the endless traffic a mere 5 minutes away. We liked the staff instantly, the room in the new annexe was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was a cut above the normal croissant and apple that one gets in so many hotels in France and Spain, and dinner was good - well cooked steak, and not over-vegetabled. Good, safe car parking arrangements. In all, a lovely place that we came across just by chance - luckily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely garden & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very kid-friendly place. No fridge to store food nor water boiler to prepare milk or for a tea. Corridors and some rooms still smell a bit like fresh painting

    Staff very kind and available for all sorts of requests (particulary for babies) Lovely garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We disliked nothing.

    A luxurions family-run hotel. Beautiful modern room with wiews across the hills of Spain. A beautiful garden. Excellent food. Attentive, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Ticked every box for us - close to the main motorway in our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Or - may be having tea and coffee in the room but not a deal breaker!

    Ticked every box for us - close to the main motorway in our drive down to Spain. Beautiful garden, lovely bright, fresh bedrooms and a superb restaurant. Very friendly and welcoming staff. An absolute gem of a place to stay with our dog.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    A wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the bedroom

    A beautiful setting and rooms were very nicely decorated. The dinner was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired and expensive for what it was.. Food was very disappointing and over priced.

    Setting, staff size of the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The restaurant is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is superb. Real 5 star cuisine. The ambience of the place is great. The garden is very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Good location .Excellent staff with clean and very comfortable accommodation. The decor was pleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Food was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and excellent meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff and excellent meals. The hotel is very comfortable and relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    We will be returning in 6 weeks
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didn't stay longer than 1 night

    Excellent friendly staff made us most welcome Pet friendly and an excellent menu

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    it was a pleasure.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,but tea and coffee in the room would have been nice.

    There was nothing bad to say.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    The restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The restaurant. Best warm oysters ever.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    A very well presented hotel with a very warm friendly welcome by all.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for traveling from Spain to U.K.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    The food in the hotel's restaurant is delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the hotel's restaurant is delicious! Make sure to get a room with a mountain view because waking up to that is heaven!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Setting,location and ambience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good expensive post brexit

    Setting,location and ambience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful discovery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceptional food in a picturesque setting with a friendly, attentive staff at reasonable cost. What else is there?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    The only minus was the light paint smell due to renovations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus was the light paint smell due to renovations that took place a week ago. It was difficult to sleep with closed windows

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.8
    Great staff, very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly it overlooks the motorway although the gardens hide it slightly. No real shower only a shower head over attached to bath taps and no curtain.

    Great staff, very friendly and accommodating. Food is excellent if a bit pricey.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    7.5
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything.

    Easy to find. Friendly, helpful staff who speak English. Lovely property in a semi-rural setting with lovely views, especially from the restaurant looking out onto the gardens. Clean and comfortable. Very good food and wine. A restful night after a hard day's driving. Would return.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    The scenery was beautiful, the old town just a few steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds could be improved, but comfy none-the-less.

    The scenery was beautiful, the old town just a few steps from the hotel front door was interesting, great location for stop over France - Spain, and the meal was first class.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    8.8
    the food was very good but a little expensive when compared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bedroom rather small but new extension being built, very quiet location and not far from motorway/border

    the food was very good but a little expensive when compared with some other hotel menus with same stars but breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.2
    I don't usually feel compelled to write a review but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't usually feel compelled to write a review but when I saw there was a 1 star (in Spanish) review on Google I felt the need to redress the balance. The staff were just so nice and accommodating. We were going to arrive very late and they made sure that we had food and looked to take care of us completely and even upgraded us to a bigger room for no cost. There is parking outside and the gardens are picturesque. They were happy to let our little dog stay with us. We really enjoyed our stay. The bathroom was very nice for a 3 star hotel too.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    3.8
    Scenery is really nice and balcony and garden were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy (highway is really close). Dirty: there was a spider, mosquitoes and flies, bed uncomfortable.No curtain in the shower. Faulty wifi. Pricey for what we got and expected as per the price.

    Scenery is really nice and balcony and garden were nice. Staff was also kind and attentive, but failed to impersonate when we requested something. Food was ok, if pricey.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.1
    beautiful old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    could hear the motorway watch out for the Restaurant!! it´s completely overpriced (Starters at 15 - 30€; Mains at 25 - 40€, glass of wine at 7-9€!!) make sure you get to eat somewhere else!

    beautiful old building right in the countryside

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    We usually have to leave for a job before breakfast room is...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    We (usually 4-5 rooms) stay in this hotel since 2009 in average during two weeks and once per year. The kitchenette facility is declined. We expected to have something to boil water for a tea or coffee and to make fried eggs. This year this simple facility was not available in each room. However, we did not find nothing better in the vicinity of the airport.

    We usually have to leave for a job before breakfast room is open. The refrigerators and kitchenette in the room is very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    The room was very comfortable with a certain olde worlde...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very comfortable with a certain olde worlde style. The dinner on the terrace and agin breakfast in the morning... Tasty food, well prepared and presented. The stff were friendly and most helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.5
    lovely gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food and wine very expensive for very average food and no food available on arrival after a long journey in the mid afternoon.

    lovely gardens. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    7.5
    restaurant very good, hotel staff friendly and courteous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In an almost empty hotel, we were placed at the far end of a series of corridors, having seen some of the other rooms in passing, our room would seem ready for refurbishing. On mentioning that we thought our mattress needed changing, I was told that all the mattresses had been recently changed!!

    restaurant very good, hotel staff friendly and courteous

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    6.7
    Very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very expensive

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable and excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    Food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Great gardens and remoteness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great gardens and remoteness

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Professional staff, beautiful room and an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Professional staff, beautiful room and an excellent restaurant in a charming village. We will def. stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Food, service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food, service

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Great location in quiet village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in quiet village. Close to Motorway so useful for overnight stop. Relaxing area with opportunity to walk on GR10

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    The country aspect of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit of noise from the motorway. Pillows not comfortable.

    The country aspect of the hotel. Very relaxing and soothing

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful garden Very nice restaurant Rooms spotless clean and comfortable, if modest

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    Eating on the terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service was rather slow but we did receive an apology for this

    Eating on the terrace

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.3
    The staff were extremely professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were extremely professional.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Location,atmosphere and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location,atmosphere and food. Plus very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly and very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff were very friendly and very helpfull

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    9.2
    Great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    10
    Nice local feel in a mountain village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Nice local feel in a mountain village...helpful staff and lovely atmosphere, we will return.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: