Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Jardins de Saint Benoit by Popinns 4 stars

Avenue De Talairan, 11220 Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse, France

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom Superior House
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The overall property (except for the villa) was poor. The grounds and gardens were not well kept. The pool area was dirty and a haven for flies. The facilities lacked adequate maintenance. The restaurant was closed for our entire stay due to other functions including a seminar and a wedding. Even the pool was closed for the wedding! This was not communicated prior to our booking or arrival.

    We rented the 2br superior house. The space was good for a family of 4. The house was clean. The furnishing was good in keeping with the French Farmhouse décor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sadly, from the moment we arrived there were disappointments. When booking we understood that there was Kids club and restaurant on site. There was one folded sheet of paper given to us, to provide all the necessary information, not surprisingly insufficient. On day 2, no kids club and told no restaurant till the end of August. Day 3, after being given different information by different people, no kids club. No bar by the pool. A Seminar is hosted, so all staff are attentive to that. They we're well entertained, we could hear it going on till after 1 in the morning, about 15 metres from our windows. Day 4 we found out from a neighbouring guest that we could have taken the children into the Spa pool before 10, too late. Booking .com need to look into this holiday accomadation and ascertain whether they actually want to provide family holidays. Despite pleasant staff they seemed to be totally uninterested in our needs. I would like a response to these complaints and some indication of your actions.

    A beautiful location and perfect weather. We spent very pleasnt days on the beach, by a river and eating out at locations near by. The accomodation was clean, with sufficient equipment for reasonable self catering.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom Superior House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The facilities were very poor - dirty swimming pool, broken parasols constantly falling over in the wind, no table tennis table (which appeared to have been broken for months according to reviews), and there was very little interest in providing customer satisfaction. £1,800 for one week accommodation only for a family of 4 is far too expensive based on this and the onsite restaurant was both very poor value and not good (partly microwaved) food! We were told the owners never visited the property despite many complaints.

    The house itself was clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our first night somebody entered our house and took whatever they could find downstairs. The following day we talked to the staff at the reception, they were surprised and told us the manager will contact us...nothing happened.. Nobody called us, nobody apologized and nothing changed...it was a terrible feeling to know somebody entered our house while we were sleeping ..specially because we had a little kid with us and we had 2 more nights ahead.....terrible that the manager didn't care and didn't even bother to contact us...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could've been a bit happier. There was not enough of them so breakfast was a shambles.

    The 2 bedroom cottages are ideal for a family of 4. The pool area is good although a little chilly! The location is beautiful and makes up for any shortfalls elsewhere!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff poor, unhelpful, disorganized, too few of them.. This property in my view is having a problem coping with turnover of the 180 houses on it on changeover days. There is either not enough staff or cannot keep staff, both concerning.We arrived at 3.30pm, to be told that our room would not be ready until 5pm. At 5pm they advised us that they had no idea when it would be ready. They advised us to stay at the pool and they would call us when ready. Finally at 7pm we could take it no longer and returned to reception to be advised the room was ready. No apology, no call to say room was ready , nothing. On the second night we booked a table at the property restaurant for dinner. It was a disaster and took three hours to complete. When paying for the meal one of the staff explained that the chef had quit during dinner and they had to carry on without him. I was sorry only that we had not quit during dinner too!

    Nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was often a long wait at reception. If a member of staff was tied up helping another guest there was no second member of staff to assist. The reception staff were not very friendly.

    The accommodation was fabulous and the pool area great & never too crowded. The restaurant staff were friendly and the snack menu although small was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Toilets didn't flush properly. Air conditioning was only on the top floor and had only one speed - super loud. Plus it cut out after two days. People brought their dogs and never picked up after them. There was poop everywhere. Pool is not shallow anywhere; it starts at 150cm.

    You can bring your dog. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the restaurant on our first night was slack. Several staff ignored us. Air conditioning was noisy, needs upgrading.

    Family orientated, friendly and relaxing. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We entered in the room at 6pm. No lunch (only snacks). Breakfast very limited. Air conditioning in the rooms very noisy and not cooling enough.

    Good pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive Very poor breakfast Internet not working TV not working Maintenance service not provided as they were in a break Pool not clean Restaurant closed Do you want me to continue?

    Kitchen full equipped

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was a buffet and full of mosquito. No food carte. No wine carte. There is no canteen and no wine degustation.

    The apartment was ok. Clean and confortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great swimming pool and spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two - Bedroom Superior House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All round perfect place for a relaxing family holiday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two - Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    Nice hotel in the village. Very comfortable for stay with children.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only negative was the unheated pool which made it difficult for our kids to spend sufficient time enjoying the water

    Lovely villas and grounds and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The cleaning of the house wasn't done and the fact that they didn't say that children swimingpool wasn't open.

    The house with the small garden and the big shared swimingpool. The kids club.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of finishing touches and information. no full length mirror, and no mirror at all in bedroom. Ad hoc bed making on just a few days, but no other cleaning - seems weird to come in and make bed and nothing else, plus it was just odd days ( about 4 out of our 11 nights) the sheets were never changed and the towels were never replaced either - we washed our own! This frustrates me as you pay the same per night whether you stay 1 or 11 nights. No information or clear price lists available - we were told a price for a meal for children €11, and adults €16, which was reasonable but was only soup, grilled lamb and couscous, no veg, melon slices for dessert; at the end they billed €30 per head including children, one of whom was 5! We eventually convinced them to change it, but it leaves a very unpleasant feeling of being ripped off! This is all unnecessary and down to lack of clear management. Plus I think it should the marketing should be upfront that this is a timeshare/ownership property as well as an "aparthotel"

    Convenience of self catering with the option of dining. Good little house, generally well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    beds were a little too firm and as it was very hot air conditioning was a priority. However the air conditioning units in the bedrooms were very noisy and ineffective and downstairs no air conditioning at all so it was a bit of a sweat box! The pool could have been a bit cleaner too! The sides and bottom could have done with a scrub! the little gardens in the houses were in dire need of some attention and as for the wi-fi? Well every time you wanted to use it you had to type in the password even if you just left your iPad for 2 mins and it went to sleep. Quite annoying!

    Fab location! Out in the sticks surrounded by vineyards and gorgeous countryside! nice house with good self catering facilities. Plenty of parking

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad wifi. If it's cloudy or raining pool becomes very cold! No children's channel on TV or DVD if it does rain.....

    Pool, spa, lovely 'villa'. (Terraced house) in purpose built traditional village...river below with pools and fish. Fun for children with car free streets....

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Over price, the swimming pool was so busy that we never got a chair to seat or space to lay down on the sun. The food at the restaurant is expensive and very bad food, we could not finish it. and we were a bit upset when we arrived the first day as they first told us that our apartment wasn't ready and it was 7.30pm !!! Not fun, after 5 hrs of driving and having two kids .. They should have the place ready by 4-5pm the latest ... I complained and. I was very angry, and they were able to find an apartment... But they should not receive you telling you that the flat is not ready at 7.30pm at night!

    The appartments are very nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The restaurant has not got any variety and does not have a children's menu even though it seems like a family hotel.

    Very good for families, and child friendly. Nice accommodation for self catering .

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our room wasn't ready until after 6pm. The breakfast was overpriced and quite basic for 18 euros. I felt like I was in a service station

    The spa. Clean accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dishwasher did not work and after technician failed to fix it, he never returned despite numerous requests for service. Same with phone which was unusable because it hAd. No dial tone.

    Swimming pool and comfortable facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The last day before we left I cought a bacterial infection in the Spa. I went in the hamman with a little open wound. Was very ill and still have to take antibiotics. Don't know who s fault this is.

    Terrace and Bbq, each day another theme, excellent service, while children could meet and play.. Thursday s wooden games. Beautiful situated pool. Spaceful houses with lovely gardens. Very nice abd calm Spa.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a good short stay here. The swimming pool was great. We enjoyed the authentic French self catering villa in combination with hotel facilities. The village was just a short walk away so convenient for the morning boulangerie visit.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gardens of private houses on the river side are in very poor shape

    Our best stay in this area.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were amazing, extremely helpful. Location was perfect for travelling around.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Late check in (apartment not ready til 8pm) Noisy air conditioning.

    Lovely apartment, well equipped and good size for 2 adults and 2 teens.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Lovely location, Good self catering facilities.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location with lovely staff, indoor spa and large outdoor pool, a very nice restaurant. The villas are a good size with comfortable furnishings.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: