Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Messugues 3 stars

Allée Des Lavandes - Impasse des Messugues, 06570 Saint-Paul-de-Vence, France

#4 of 10 hotels in Saint-Paul-de-Vence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 338 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast very good and afternoon cake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could be cleaned more often and was described as heated but was very cold. Need more English speaking TV channels.

    Breakfast very good and afternoon cake. Free transport to Alain Llorca restaurant useful. Bar set up easy and good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    I rather do not tell it further, since it might get more customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be of higher standard. However it is less important.

    It is a very pretty property. Very quite and relaxing. Close to all “attractions” in the area. It is home away from home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect break, in a beautiful, peaceful setting, with plenty to do in the surroundng area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was expensive for what was on offer.

    Location was peaceful and not too far from amenities. Food at the Bistro was delicious and the staff there were friendly and helpful too. Pool area was clean with plenty of bed chairs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    escape, luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small leak on water system, but able to turn off overnight and report in the morning

    Everything was perfect. Liked the 'trust' self service system, and access to facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful pool, rooms and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the bus stop was quite a trek with bags from the actual village of Saint Paul de Vence. Recommend packing light or taxing.

    Beautiful pool, rooms and gardens. Wonderful French experience. Our room overlooked a garden and vineyard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Very cozy and private hotel, intimate setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cozy and private hotel, intimate setting. Pool was super-relaxing, we particularly liked the various small groups of lounge chairs. Breakfast exceeded standards for hotels of that quality, dinner and lunch by the pool were simply outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hospitality! All servers were kind and helping. I would like to thank Bastista for the lovely dinner. Especially, the steak - Alain Llorca - was the best! I would love to visit here once again in the future. Thank you for everything :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    The poolside restaurant is a great location and the set menu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No English channels on TV

    The poolside restaurant is a great location and the set menu is good value and maitre d is delightful. Breakfast buffet offered lots of choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable, lovely garden and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly delightful staff except one woman who was quite obstructive and dampened the spirit of the hotel. Outrageous prices for self service tea and coffee. Most hotels these days provide it at no extra cost. Breakfast should be included . The sister hotel is Alain Llorca and they have full restaurant facilities. It would have been nice to be able to order salad/sandwiches as les Messugues has no food available in May.

    Clean, comfortable, lovely garden and pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant & comfortable but nothing special
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant A little isolated and no bars/cafes/restraurants within easy walking distance. Exacerbated by the fact that no food or snacks available at the hotel except at breakfast. Honesty bar expensive.

    Staff were friendly & very helpful Pretty setting Lovely pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find.

    Lovely hotel, a bit off the beaten track, but this is what we were after. Perfect for a relaxation break. Lovely garden, outside pool and splendid lounge area. Room very clean. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    A place would go back to.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, just one comment...our room was very nice, could not fault it, but felt that instead of that tiny corner built-in desk, which so did not complement the room, a proper writing desk, just a small one, as there’s plenty of space along the wall...with a chair would complement the room!

    It’s a super place to stay, but you need a car, as it’s a bit far to walk to the village, but fir sons that would be OK. While we were there they put on a gourmet breakfast on the Sunday...wished we could have eaten some more...😉

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Sweet little hotel away from Côte d’Azur Noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sweet little hotel away from Côte d’Azur Noise. Very personal. Room was big, comfortable and clean. View to the vineyard was great. There is a hotel parking which is closed in the night, so no need to worry about the car. Price / quality relation is veryyyy good for French Rivera.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    It was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great. The pool was heated and we relaxed and swam in the afternoons wile sightseeing mostly in mornings. Good quiet setting with friendly staff. The only drawback-which we knew about before we booked -was that there was no restaurant apart I'm breakfast and it is much too far up a very steep slope to access a restaurant without driving..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    location perfect ....however stop doing add ons it P
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed in September which was not ideal as we would have spent more time at the hotel especially in the evenings the breakfast was not included in the room rate and was expensive and very mediocre...the honesty bar was very old school and cheap in my opinion especially being charged for a coffee or bottle of water...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Would definitely recommend this property if you don't mind it's remoteness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's remote location forces you to buy snacks and drinks out of town. A map of where you can hike to would have been a good idea at the reception desk.

    This property felt like home - comfortable, airy, vineyards to look at during an incredible breakfast and walking distance to St. Paul de Vence's medieval city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    A disappointing and Expensive mistake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed the weekend of 23rd September. The hotel was a big disappointment from the moment we arrived. First of all the reception had no record of our reservation and we were made to feel this was our fault. We were repeatedly asked if it was a recent booking and even if we were sure we had the right Hotel. When the booking was eventually found the Receptionist kindly offered us an upgrade. Prior to booking we had studied the facilities on the web which included a pool bar and Bistro as well as a restaurant during the summer months. We were surprised to be told that both had closed almost 2 weeks previously as summer had finished. We were thus required to drive out of the Hotel for lunch and dinner something we originally had not intended. We also wanted to lie by the pool but all the sun bed cushions were in storage. What was meant to be a relaxing weekend turned into a disappointing waste of time and money.

    The location was good and the property and grounds were attractive. The bedroom and small terrace was nice and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous small hotel with easy access to St Paul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to provide complimentary tea and coffee as all drinks an extra charge.

    Friendly helpful staff. Pool a bonus. Breakfast perfect sat overlooking a vineyard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant base from which to explore a beautiful and interesting town.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all pretty good - honesty bar was a nice touch, though E2.50 for a tea bag seemed quite a lot!

    Pleasant and helpful staff, good pool and restaurant, good breakfast, decent room, nice location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    An elegant adult retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water temperature was a slightly low when we stayed but not a major problem. We enjoyed swimming, relaxing and dinning at poolside.

    Elegant Provençal atmosphere throughout the property with Alan Llorca's cusine. Close by St Paul de Vence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Perfect, peaceful, friendly, beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A slightly bigger bed and room would have been great but we booked late and maybe this was the last room and possibly the smallest. We saw pictures of huge rooms. But not too much of a problem as it had a balcony and a good bathroom. There was nothing we didn't like really. Smoked salmon was mentioned for breakfast when we booked but there was none. And I understand the restaurant isn't always open for lunch and supper, but it was for us. But these are all small niggles - really too small to mention. Overall it was perfect.

    Peace and quiet and kindness of the staff - they were polite and pleasant the whole time and anywhere you went in the hotel. Beautiful gardens away from it all. Lovely peaceful pool area with restaurant which had a limited menu but excellent food and wonderful friendly service. You feel like you're in the middle of nowhere but you can walk to Fondation Maeght in 10 minutes and St Paul de Vence in 15 minutes. And if you're flying you're 30 minutes drive from Nice airport. So you've got the best of all worlds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults) with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st minute at the property and you feel at home. Great relaxed & informal service. Staff are extremely naturally friendly & helpful. The property is quietly located, with everything you need in site.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, poor restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication on arrival regarding breakfast & restaurant arrangements. Food in of a supisingly low standard with food badly prepared and in one instance not cooked. Had upset stomachs after eating the one & only evening meal we managed to get. The restaurant made no provision for hotel guests who have to book before the limited menu is published to be able to get a table. There seemed to be a strong preference given to non guests.

    Room was great with double aspect windows. Kept really clean & excellent fittings etc. Pool area really nice bar the armies of ants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fairly long walk into St Paul de Vence. Wifi very poor.

    A beautiful hotel. Very friendly staff. Breakfast selection very extensive. Beautiful pool to relax by. Great parking on the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    My definition of paradise!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't work for us during the whole stay, but we didn't mind it at all.

    Charming place with lovely people working there. It was pleasure to have a chat with Jodie or Nathalie at the reception. They helped us with everything, including booking tables for dinner and checking if local shops are open on Sunday. Location of the hotel is amazing - next to the vineyards. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, free parking spots are available in front of the building. Breakfast is very nice, you can buy Alain Llorca's wines to take away. Would love to come back to this place, this is the best Provence experience you can imagine and perfect starting point to many of your car trips in Cote d'Azur region: vineyards, beaches and small cities are just there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Awesome cozy & familiar atmosphere, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - For some it may be inconvenient that the front desk is open only until 20:00, but for us was not at all a problem.

    It is worth mentioning that rating of this hotel is more subjective than usual. The hotel has a very familiar/cozy atmosphere, which we enjoyed very much. It is located 1km North of St. Paul de Vence, surrounded by nature - so if you're looking for fresh air, quiet, calm & comfort - this place is perfect. Following is a list of things we liked: - The staff is very welcoming and amiable - Since this is a hotel owned by a single family, the decorations are unique, but very detail-oriented. From what the concierge was telling us, there are no 2 rooms decorated alike. - The leisure area is awesome - the pool, with a small bistro just near, perfect for a day of laziness in the sun - The parking is free and accommodating - The food at the bistro is quite alright - The breakfast was much better than most 4 stars hotels we've visited lately - Great value for money - the facilities in my opinion classify it as a 4 star hotel, it's just that there are minor stuff like no 24hr service which prevent it i guess... - which all for the best, because it's cheaper ;) We will surely come back here for relaxing weekends!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast for 14 Euro????
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast 14 Euro per person is not good. Fresh orange juice, please, better bread please, better yogurt please. Remember the last thing you remember of your visit is breakfast.

    Stayed there 2 years ago, when it was owned by the previous people. Now it is owned by a "renowned" chef. The rooms are still lovely. The property is still nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Peaceful & pretty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful & friendly. The pool area & gardens were gorgeous! Also a great location for exploring this beautiful part of the world.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was outstanding in every way: gorgeous room/bathroom as well as breakfast room. The staff provided exceptional customer service in a warm and friendly manner. At night we wrapped ourselves in blankets and enjoyed a late night glass of wine by the pool/fountain.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Déjà vu revisited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proposed bistro has not as yet been built. When completed it will be a welcome addition. If only it was a shorter walk to the medieval village. The return uphill walk gets tough for 69 year olds.

    We stayed here 13 years ago and loved it then. The property has undergone many subtle changes and is even better now.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Brilliant Resort Hotel at St. Paul de Vence- unbelievably good!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needed better directions once at St Paul de Vence to actually find it. it was well worth finding!!

    Beautiful resort type Hotel. Wonderful surrounds, pool, guest facilities, breakfast etc. Room was super. Staff were extra helpful. Hotel has a special arrangement with the Alain Llorca Michelin Restaurant nearby- simply superb and affordable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel - we will return agsin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The walk up the hill on arrival could have been tough but they picked us up!

    Beautiful setting - about 20 minutes walk from Saint Paul if you use the short cut. Lovely big room with large bathroom. Staff very helpful. Peaceful setting. Second time here and we will be back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.5
    Very nice hotel near St Paul de Vence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs a shower curtain.

    Pretty hotel with a beautiful pool, good breakfast and walking distance from Maeght Museum and Saint Paul de Vence. Nice private balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.3
    Very good but with limitations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location - too far from St Paul de Vence for casual stroll - 20 minutes down to village and 25 mins up - steep hills & non-existent footpaths - dangerous at dark. You really need a car. So ideal as a touring base but not really for staying without transport. No eating facility in hotel itself (apart from breakfast) and during our stay poolside restaurant actually closed during a rainy day (both lunch & dinner) until sun came out next day! So had to go to village to eat.

    Very helpful pleasant & attentive staff. Hotel itself very clean and well looked after - plenty of laundry changes. Excellent buffet breakfast. Poolside restaurant good although limited choice. Nice gardens and pool - plenty of loungers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful and huge pool but definitely not heated so nobody...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful and huge pool but definitely not heated so nobody used it even at the warm beginnig of September... big disadvantage,,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! The staff,the pool,the bistro,the location!We definitely want to return at some point!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was amazing. Surrounding facilities also top.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Grest staff at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city center

    Grest staff at check in. breakfast amazing. Great if you have a car since you have parking in site. Nice ahower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The honesty bar and lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Such a hidden paradise spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a hidden paradise spot! Very helpful staff, perfect breakfast and just beautiful in every detail!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great room, beautiful garden, close to St Paul.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    I wish it hadn’t rained quite so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything about Les Messugues was above expectation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    The space telescope built by Olivier and his knowledge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The space telescope built by Olivier and his knowledge and passion about astronomy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    PERFECT
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a room upgrade, perfect service, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable with helpful and friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The choice of hot and cold food for breakfast was extensive and the quality very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more variety of food at breakfast make it more than perfect

    the grounds are beautiful and the people and very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    quiet rest in the busy travel season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fantastic breakfast and room right beside vineyard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool was not heated and a list of pathetic excuses were given for this, despite it being advertised as heated on the website.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room and bathroom.

    quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Great way to start a holiday in South of France - less than 1 hr drive from Nice Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic Michelin Star dinner poolside provided by Alain Llorca! A real surprise treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    One of the most beautiful places we stayed in France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most beautiful places we stayed in France. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic, friendly, perfect place to stay in St Paul des Vence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was incredibly helpful with a problem that we had. She went out of her way to help us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    This is a must go to Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every thing but especially the warm welcome. This is a must go to Hotel with a stunning pool and peaceful ambiance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Elegant hotel, in the old style of a French country house, Fine Dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants small Fruit salad wasn't luciouus. I guess I spoilt.....

    There were lots of games in the TV room. That was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    No possibility to have food except for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility to have food except for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Loved it and will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults) with Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You have to have your own transport as you are in the hills.

    Wonderful friendly staff. Beautiful setting. Lovely breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Welcomed by attentive staff . Wonderful property with beautiful gardens & pool. Nice quiet room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Loved the property, breakfast, & breakfast room overlooking the vine yard!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Cute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely environment and friendly people! Shame I had to spend only one rainy day there :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    10
    The grounds are fantastic and you feel surrounded by nature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The grounds are fantastic and you feel surrounded by nature with birds singing and flowers in bloom. A wonderful spot just a short drive from the beautiful St-Paul-de-Vence. An unexpected bonus was a discounted meal at a Michelin rated restaurant with great food and service.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Every morning the view across the vineyard with fresh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have a restaurant at the hotel, although we had Demi-pension at the nearby Michelin star Alain Llorca.

    Every morning the view across the vineyard with fresh croissants, bread, fruit, cheese was an excellent start to the day. In the evening delicious rose by the pool. When we went out for dinner we were driven to the restaurant and back. JoJo was always there with his friendly smile.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    8.8
    Rooms basic but comfortable and pool area and grounds are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Changing towels/linen. Car essential.

    Rooms basic but comfortable and pool area and grounds are lovely. Very helpful and friendly staff and dinner package at Chef/owner's restaurant great deal at 30 Euro.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    The room, the grounds and pool, the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A shame they don't do evening meals - but there is a large choice of restaurants a pleasant 20 minute walk away.

    The room, the grounds and pool, the owners.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    A super hotel set in a lovely location above St Paul de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A super hotel set in a lovely location above St Paul de Vence. We had a lovely large room with an enormous bed overlooking a vineyard. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice including smoked salmon and freshly squeezed orange juice. Very convenient for Fondation Maght which is just down the road. Not cheap but well recommended if you want to feel spoiled.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    The beds were extremely comfortable, the pool area was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Although we were aware that the hotel was situated a walk away from the centre - and we do enjoy walking, we felt that the twenty minute uphill walk in intense heat was a little too much and also took the edge off a pleasant evening out

    The beds were extremely comfortable, the pool area was beautiful and it was lovely that we could purchase a light lunch, which was very good and value for money, And we also thought the honesty bar was an excellent idea.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    7.9
    Lovely swimming pool area, ideal to rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel shows little signs of deferred maintenance but nothing serious.

    Lovely swimming pool area, ideal to rest. Small meals are served around noon. Airconditioning in room was very nice. Hotel interior is authentic and pleasing. Towels available to use around swimming pool. Various drinks are offered 24/7 (self-service).

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    a lovely hotel in a fabulous setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything lovely although it would have been good to have breakfast outside - although I accept there wasn't much space. Also it was quite a walk to the village.

    a lovely hotel in a fabulous setting. Owners very friendly and rooms excellent. our room looked onto a vineyard.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Everything, very relaxed family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Twenty minute walk to town centre but this did not cause us any problem.

    Everything, very relaxed family run hotel. Beautiful room, view and pool area. Breakfast was one of the best we had. Serve yourself bar a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    A really nice place in an excellent location, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have nothing to complain here, the stay was just perfect. Maybe some sun shades in the breakfast area, becomes very hot under the glass roof.

    A really nice place in an excellent location, close to the old town of St.Paul and to the Fondation Maeght. Calm and relaxing atmosphere, nice garden, beautiful rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast served in the patio. I can only recommend this nice little family run hotel and I will definitely choose it again if I should come back.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    we were on the ground floor and in addition to a balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only real regret was booking one night here instead of more lol. If we had to change one thing it would have to be the bedding. Most of the better places we stayed at in France use a comforter instead of the old blanket and sheet setup. (yuk) The problem for us is that the comforters are too warm and so it becomes a battle to stay asleep.

    we were on the ground floor and in addition to a balcony (which all rooms seem to have) there was a little patio that was very private. The setting, the pool, the grounds were all outstanding as were the people and the food at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.2
    A beautiful pool, rooms were comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful pool, rooms were comfortable and clean. Though the location was away from the old city, it was only a 20 minute walk. Ten minutes to Fondation Maeght sculpture gardens. Self serve bar on main floor a nice surprise.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    Friendly,very clean, full of character,good wi fi, efficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly,very clean, full of character,good wi fi, efficient air conditioning, characterful furnishing. Breakfast excellent,freshly squeezed orange juice,delicious breads and viennoiserie

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Imagine being asked to stay at your charming artistic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uphill walk back to hotel after hours of sightseeing in St Paul - but doable.

    Imagine being asked to stay at your charming artistic relatives’ home for a few days. We thought this hotel was simply beautiful. Is in a quiet cul-de-sac 5 mins by car (or 20 mins downhill walk) to the entrance to St Paul de Vence. It is stylish, very French and creatively decorated inside and out. The staff were welcoming and friendly; unobtrusive but there if needed. There is a small honesty bar – just jot your room number down on the paper provided and help yourself. Our room was delightfully decorated, quiet and light. Outside the gardens and pool are peaceful and stylish. The variety for the continental breakfast was excellent and served in a light and airy conservatory next to the vineyard. There’s no restaurant but that’s not a problem as there’s loads of choice nearby. It’s a gem, I’d definitely recommend this hotel and want to go back.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    This hotel is very relaxing, a bit outside the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    This hotel is very relaxing, a bit outside the town. The view from our room was lovely, trees, vineyards, and a glimpse of the pool. The pool area was gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.3
    Well located in terms of nice views/surroundings from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A general facelift in the bathroom would be good. Some odd decor, but not unpleasant.

    Well located in terms of nice views/surroundings from the bedroom balcony and the 15 minute walk to the village was fine by us. Nice pool area which will be really nice when it is the season to be heated. Friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend and would like to return. Free wifi good. Honesty bar a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Staff extremely welcoming and friendly - perfect quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff extremely welcoming and friendly - perfect quiet location with stunning pool

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: