Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Moulins Du Duc 4 stars

Route Des Moulins, 29350 Moëlan-sur-Mer, France

#5 of 10 hotels in Moëlan-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 139 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Great end to our holiday in France and Spain before ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather pricey wine list!

    Welcoming staff and beautiful setting. Pool very clean and easy to use. Calm and peaceful in beautiful surroundings. Attractive room and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Comletely overpriced and old-fashioned hotel but with a nice location and great cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Completely overpriced. Not up to 4-star quality standard. Old rooms in cottages scattered over the property. Damp and mold smell in the room. Old, passée bathroom with electric socket for the hairdryer and an old-fashioned timer-heater, no paint anymore on the doors and windows. Poor service at the restaurant and reception. Very weak wifi. Disappointing wine selection for the all-in with wine menu. Poor breakfast, completely overpriced.

    Great cuisine. Quiet and romantic location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    Just the ounce thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bookings should send directions!!!!, TomTom just no idera spent over one hour past the square, well we lost count. The furnishings, very little attention to detail, the budget, what budget ??? bed must be army surplus, sorry for the negatives we were so looking for ward to our stay. It is a interesting building but ounce through the doors that ends shame.

    Dinner v good front of house staff very helpful and the manager? As good as you will find!! Who held it together and they need to keep keep that Chief or they are doomed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    The location is pure fairy tale, the room was unsatisfactory and the restaurant overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom (room 20) and en-suite needed a good overhaul. In fact the bathroom needed gutting and bringing up to date. The room is seriously overpriced in spite of it's lovely surroundings.

    The surroundings are stunningly beautiful. Superb restaurant, but not cheap. This was apparently it's main selling point and purpose in life.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    A very good hotel but full price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Package Emotion
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food good but not as exceptional as on last visit - despite gaining Michelin recognition and not cheap.

    Super location, friendly and welcoming, room excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service for breakfast was a bit clumsy ( no side plates to butter your bread for example) although the staff was most pleasant and willing

    a very confortable room. The outside environment is very pleasant and quiet except for the pleasant noise of the river

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Arriving at the property, we were really impressed as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Package Emotion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we had very mixed emotions about our stay here. It honestly felt that despite the beautiful setting and the very hard working staff, the owners need to inject some money into bringing some of the out buildings up to scratch. Our room was away from the main buildings and had an overwhelming damp smell, so much so that on our return home our clothes still smell musty and unpleasant. The general state of our room was poor with cracks in the plaster, patches of unmatching paint where touch ups had taken place, cracks in the bathroom tiles, missing grout and cobwebs throughout. We visited the pool which was equally unkempt and looked as if it had been abandoned, the water was freezing and the tiled floors were dirty. This was really disappointing and left us feeling totally bewildered at why the owners would let this happen; this could be a great place if they paid attention to what is happening beyond the main building.

    Arriving at the property, we were really impressed as the setting is very beautiful; there are old converted stone buildings peppered around the main water mill and a lake with ducks paddling. The staff were all very polite and obliging especially the receptionist and our waitress. The food at dinner was exceptional and on our second night, we met the chef who came to chat with his guests, I think that this was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing in the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower needs either a glass door or a shower curtain to protect the bathroom from flooding during showers, it's a minor problem, easily resolved by throwing some towels on the floor, it just shouldn't be like that.

    The location is gorgeous, inside and outside the place is peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed the walking trails on the domain, where regular stops can be made to read little signs carrying words of wisdom. The rooms are nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. If you have a busy and hectic life, then this is the place to go to recharge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    We would definitely return, we didn't want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished there had been a less high end choice of menu, 3 expensive courses per night was a bit too much for us to eat and pay for

    The quiet and peaceful parkland surrounding hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Beauty, tranquility and gastronomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast would have benefitted with tastier marmalades and more crockery and cutlery.

    Everything except the breakfast was excellent. I really delightful place: peaceful, beautiful, friendly with brilliant service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    An unforgettable vacation stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi wasn't working properly.

    The viennoiserie & baguette served at breakfast table was fresh and fluffy! Dinner was excellent. Love that chef came out to chit chat. Walking around the grounds of Les Moulins du Duc was a surreal experience. The property is secluded, breath-taking. Inside the gorgeous mansion and individual stone houses dotted the grounds are meticulously maintained. Les Moulins du Duc far exceeded my expectations. Staff was very personable and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable scenery, overpriced breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was expensive and not what one can expect in a 4-star hotel. It comprised a selection of sweets but for any other choice (which was rather limited) you have to pay a supplement.

    Beautiful surroundings, magical environment, welcoming and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.9
    A very special one night treat - for my birthday 😀
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our door to outside would not shut properly, it kept springing open.

    The setting was beautiful. The character of the renovated buildings, and that you could see otters in the river whilst dining!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    A good place for a romantic weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a magnificent setting. Our room in a stone cottage was large, charming and comfortable. We enjoyed being followed by a friendly duck and having the hotel cat sit on our laps. There is secure parking and a gourmet restaurant on the premises.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful setting and food but the annex bedrooms were a tad too shabby in pursuit of "character"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much of the shabby in the shabby but chic style.

    Beautiful setting and excellent restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Restaurants wine on offer was very, very expensive !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May be offer a house wine, more affordable.

    Restaurants wine on offer was very, very expensive !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The silly groups of fairies etc. in the gardens

    The setting and the food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful park like setting, comfortable bungalows and very,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful park like setting, comfortable bungalows and very, very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Les Moulins Du Duc traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: