Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Palatines 3 stars

19, rue Amouroux, 42100 Saint-Étienne, France

#28 of 37 hotels in Saint-Étienne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 701 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Very clean and mostly comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment up to 6 People
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom does not have extractìon fan so bit smelly. Also need to be careful in shower as water goes everywhere. Shower head did not stayed in place either

    Very clean and mostly comfortable place to stay. Good for family group.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    3.3
    Do not stay here! Too expensive for what they offer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst place I have ever stayed in. In other cities you get 4* for this money. Worst bed, terrible pillows, insulation, dirty hot tub. And at the end they ask you to clean the appartement before leaving. Would not return!

    Parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant stay in a modest but comfortable and practical residence.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be appreciated if one had covers (couvercles en français) for the pots! Finally, a bit of maintenance would make this pleasant residence a real gem.

    This is my second stay at the hotel. Although I arrived on Sunday, when the reception was closed, I had no problem entering with the codes I had received from the proprietor. The only problem was that this information is sort of hidden on the confirmation page, and one has to read very carefully to learn about what need be done when the hotel closes on Sundays. I like very much the neighborhood, town is easily accessible on foot or by tram, and the parking was actually for free in front of the hotel. The kitchenette is very useful, and the Wi-Fi works quite well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    basic, solid place to stay, off center, with outdoor parking on the street
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast too basic, basic facilities, a bit too far to walk to town center

    two rooms with kitchenette, very basic but OK. walking distance to the university

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Convenient accommodation, more functional than inviting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place could be more inviting in styling and treatment of customers. The bathroom ceiling showed mildew spots. Matching paper filters for the coffee machine, or a permanent washable filter would have been very useful.

    Spacious apartment on top floor with view over park in our case. Lots of storage space and possibility to hang clothes. No problem to find parking in the vicinity. The accommodation is a bit outside but public transport is very close and runs very well. While not a posh quarter, we liked the surroundings. Shops and, e.g., a nice bakery are very close.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice, but have stayed in better apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment up to 6 People
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from city to explore on foot - need to get to tram / drive in. Plus the area is residential so very little of anything for shops etc.

    Well sized apartment. Comfortable beds. Kids play park right outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Few days in Saint Etienne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy neighbors, the kettle causes power cuts.

    Location is good. Staff is nice even if the opening hours are not quite well respected (maybe due to holiday time). The apartment is big enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Large comfortable and amply furnished apartment. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment up to 6 People
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much save the fact that it is located in the middle of what appears to be a rundown estate.

    Went in a self catering basis. The location let it down a bit. A bit of a stretch from the city centre. Looked run down but once inside the apartment, you realise you had value for your money. The receptionist was very amiable. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.2
    Ok for a one night stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment up to 6 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a bit of updating. The walls were very thin so could hear everything going on in the hallway. Breakfast was very expensive for what you got, wish we'd bought some croissants from the patisserie across the road. We left a wash bag behind and contacted the hotel to see if they found it. We never got a reply which was annoying.

    Clean bedding and towels, big enough for 6 of us. We stopped for one night on our way to the south of France. Very basic accommodation not many shops or restaurants near by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.4
    An apartment outside the city, not a very nice neigborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment up to 6 People
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody worked in the reception at night, no light outside the "hotel", lots of garbage outside. We had to call to ask how to get the key to the apartment, and all the information was only in French. We got the key from a box on the wall, and we got (at last) a kode to open the box. Not a very nice neigborhood.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Local transportation (trolley) was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find a parking spot.

    Plain, and noise in hall was noticeable but not excessive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.3
    reasonable for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    location - no facilities nearby

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    3.3
    Wifi
    • Couple
    • Apartment up to 4 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was hiked way above the rack rate due to a sporting event. The accommodation was poor for the price.

    Wifi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.1
    Good base for the 6 of us for a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment up to 6 People
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photographs we saw beforehand were clearly not of our apartment.

    Apartment was spacious, very well priced compared to what else was available.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.1
    Good stagf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment up to 4 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise

    Good stagf

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.4
    There was a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check in time on the booking confirmation was inaccurate. The location address was inaccurate and we had difficulty finding it. We arrived at 6pm and there were no staff at the location to give us access to the building or our room. We did however receive a text in French, giving us instructions eventually, and thankfully one of the residents helped us. Next morning [Sunday] , although breakfast was advertised on the booking confirmation and in the residence itself - there were no staff, no breakfast room open - so no breakfast!! we had trouble finding anywhere to eat in close proximity. This experience has put us off visiting St Etienne again.

    There was a lift. the room was large [but very small balcony]. Comfortable Bed. A very helpful member of staff came and opened our room for us when we inadvertantly locked ourselves out of the room!!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    Very reasonable nice place for overnight on the way from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything is fine.

    Very reasonable nice place for overnight on the way from Marseille to Orleans. Easy to find by gprs. The staff contacted us before our arrival and gave all the instructions how to get in for our late arrival.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    The staff at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a little bit far from the city center.

    The staff at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    8.3
    Very kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very narrow garage

    Very kind staff Good option to stay for 5-member family

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    7.9
    It annoyed the noise from the elevator.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It annoyed the noise from the elevator.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    2.5
    Very bad
    • Couple

    Very bad

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No A/C or fans in the apartment

    Nice location

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    kitchen, room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air conditioning

    kitchen, room

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    The convenience and the ability to cater for ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Can be a little noisey as its in a built up area.

    The convenience and the ability to cater for ourselves.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    9.2
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.1
    Easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very noisy people staying next to us and the lift was very noisy and descriptions of rooms poor would say it was for 2 people not 4

    Easy access

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    9.2
    everything met my expectations, quite cheap
    • Business trip
    • Group

    breakfast was a bit expensive

    everything met my expectations, quite cheap

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    6.7
    reasonably priced;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    only basic kitchenware; located in not a nice neighborhood

    reasonably priced; helpful staff

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: