Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Les Templiers 3 stars

21 Et 23 Rue De La Republique, 30220 Aigues-Mortes, France

#3 of 12 hotels in Aigues-Mortes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    Beware the week and weekends when they are running bulls...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware the week and weekends when they are running bulls through the town. Parking is possible and the town is packed with heavy drinkers. Music until 2 or 3 am and people urinating in the streets. Very medieval! The bull running is not very impressive either so I thoroughly recommend you check her this is happening and avoid it like the plague! Hotel is really lovely though and super friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay very much. The region has a lot going for it both inland at the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower/bath could do with a curtain. Parking is outside the city walls which means that these charges can build up - the nearest parking is very close to the hotel, but over Euro 30 a day. Maybe a discount could be arranged with the authorities? (There is free parking, but it is less close and inconvenient especially when arriving/leaving.)

    Nice friendly atmosphere. Very helpful staff. The hotel location is perfect for the town and things to see/do.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    It's OK, friendly but too expensive for what it is, but then it is the South of France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool access is hopeless as they have doubled their rear garden as a restaurant that other people run, so it's not easy to go for a swim when there are people being served. There are no recliners or comfortable chairs. They should explain this when they advertise. It was extremely hot and the air con was inadequate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Coupled with great 4 x 4 Land Rover trip to explore Camargue & an area we had not explored before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of hotel bedroom had hard bed & was noisy. Hotel readily changed room.

    Good position for walking exploration, quirky & tasteful decor. Easy access to walk to good choice of restaurants & to ‘eat out for breakfast. Lovely clean & walled medieval town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of character. Beautiful lounges filled with historical artefacts and interesting art with comfortable seating for relaxing. A beautiful sheltered courtyard with a small pool to cool down after a hot day in the sun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing....beautifully decorated in a personal and quirky style. Gorgeous courtyard with a fantastic restaurant attached! Perfect location away from the touristy streets!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden had restaurant seating so didn't feel that we could swim on the pool whilst get people were eating.

    The best hotel we have stayed in France. The building was amazing, really old beams and the decor was superb. The garden was stunning and the pool very nice in the hot weather. Very close to many restaurants and shops. Aigues-Mortes us a wonderful place to visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel in a top location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing negative to say, I had a wonderful stay and will definitely stay there again.

    Charming hotel, friendly owner and tastefully decorated rooms in typical Provence style. The location is top, it's located within the city walls and just steps away from shops, restaurants and outdoor activities. Parking is outside the city walls but the hotel provides you, upon check-in, with a courtesy parking card which is a nice bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    A very charming comfortable hotel in an unbeatable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cluttered, linen left on armchairs, water draining wrong way from shower due to tiling slope.

    A lot of character, very large room, enormous bathroom, very pretty courtyard

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    The hotel gem of Aigues-Morted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautifully styled building with lots of rooms to relax in and a lovely enclosed garden with pool. Room was huge and very well furnished. A stunning place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Funky/bohemian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason, the room with the toilet (the shower and sink were separate in another room) reeked of urine. It smelled better after housekeeping came the next day, but as soon as I used the toilet, the room smelled like urine the rest of the day. The staff (1 or 2 people) could usually be found on the property, but there were times when I didnt see any staff and there usually wasn't anyone at the front desk. The internet connection was very poor. I inquired about this and the woman (possibly the owner/manager) said that she had a good connection at the front desk and that I needed to walk around the property until I had a strong enough signal to connect. The internet would frequently disconnect and I had to keep trying to connect. Since I was traveling alone and didnt have anyone to talk to and I don't speak French, I was relying on wifi on my cell phone for entertainment during downtime when I retired for the night so this was disappointing. I wish the hotel had had an elevator. I was given a room on the 3rd floor and I had 2 heavy suitcases to carry up the stairs. Luckily, the owner/manager helped me carry them up to my room.

    I loved the location of the hotel inside the fort walls and very close to the town center! I also loved the funky/bohemian way the hotel was decorated! There were large rooms with a warm/cozy feel where guests could hang out in on the first floor. Books and magazines could be found throughout the hotel for guests' pleasure. The housekeeper that I had contact with was very friendly. I really enjoyed watching the resident turtle roam around in the garden/pool area of the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    Misleaing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was advertised as having a street view room with a shower. It looked out onto a wall. This coupled with the fact there was no overhead light, only several lamps with dark shades meant the room was very dark. As for the "shower" it was a bath with a shower cord attached to the taps so you couldn't actually have a shower unless you crouched down in the bath to avoid water soaking the entire place. When I booked this room on booking.com there was a picture of the room but it wasn't the room we stayed in. When I then looked at each of the rooms advertised on booking.com they all had the same picture of this eminently larger brighter room. I feel this is very misleading. All in all if you pay £123 a night for a hotel you expect the basics at the very least to be right. Sadly at this hotel they are not.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful building, beautifully transformed into a hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit heavy on the bread side, as is frequently the case in France, but also, as is almost always the case in France, excellent breads

    Wonderful building, beautifully transformed into a hotel, decorated with taste and interest, owner a fine person, like the hotel she created

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Quiet rooms in a lovely and relaxing old house.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation is awkward but prevents the town from being overrun. If you have a lot if bags you might spend some time checking in. Plugs in the rooms could have been more plentiful and better located.

    Lovely and beautifully decorated old house with a nice view of the garden. Enjoyed a bottle of wine in the public rooms. Good recommendations for dining in the area. Nice room with a separate toilet and bath area adjoining. Quiet and lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.1
    Fabulous location and atmosphere but no restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were expecting a restaurant, as shown on the website, and that was one of the reasons we booked the hotel. Unfortunately there wasn't one!

    We liked the location and the liberal, trusting atmosphere geared towards comfort with a number of lounging areas with books and magazines.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Superb position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb position Great ambiance Place with charme

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, lovely courtyard and pool, spacious rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, lovely courtyard and pool, spacious rooms and quaint sitting areas. Parking is provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full of character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff, like being in someone's beautiful apartment - strongly recommend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff, like being in someones' beautiful apartment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    I would
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very peaceful And very nice. Quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    A totally beautiful charming hotel, like staying in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    A totally beautiful charming hotel, like staying in someone's perfect home

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.4
    Nice place, go there with little or no luggage, parking zero, do not come with a luxury car (Porsche
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrival experience, parking, help with luggage

    The good feel inside the hotel and the restaurant in the evening

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    A must at least once !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A new shower head !

    Beautiful medieval property with a charming inner courtyard. Owner also paid our parking !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of carpets in the rooms

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Our stay in Aigue Mortes was great because of exceptional accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic atmosphere and extremely helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed this part of our holiday because of the nice region and because of the hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing not to like

    The nice decoration of the venue, and the beautiful patio with the swimming pool. Very friendly house owners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little basic

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Great place very romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place very romantic

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is located in an attractive old building within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located in an attractive old building within the walls of the famously walled town, which is a semi-pedestrianised area. You need to park outside the walls if you have a car, which was not difficult and free in January but may not be in summer. We loved the ambience of both the town and the hotel. It is clear that the hotel building is historic though has been thoroughly renovated. It has retained its elegant and ancient atmosphere, though from the photographs seems to have lost some really outstanding former decoration - inevitably I suppose given the state the building seems to have been in before renovation. Our room was beautifully presented, if a little small and the same could be said of the bathroom. We were well looked after and there is a historic and artistic atmosphere to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    The decor was authentic with a fun touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bedrooms on the street side are a bit noisy at night, but other rooms face the courtyard and should be quieter.

    The decor was authentic with a fun touch. The courtyard for dinner or breakfast has a lot of charm.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Have stayed here before and liked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very poor breakfast, no fruit,eggs cereals, etc only coffee and carbs even the croissants were a disappointment. My fiancé is intolerant to gluten so only had coffee that cost 13euros

    Have stayed here before and liked it.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful old building -full of character with imaginative...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful old building -full of character with imaginative decor Peaceful atmosphere -lovely outlook over courtyard garden Has a 'best kept secret' feel about it

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    We loved the decor and the homely eccentric style of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a room on the street side, so there was some noise and guitar music from the restaurants in the evening, but to be honest it didn't go on beyond midnight and we found it very atmospheric - if you're sensitive to noise, you may want to book a courtyard room.

    We loved the decor and the homely eccentric style of the hotel - it's very beautiful and full of character. The room was immaculately clean and the staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    7.5
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    Full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stone steps after a boozy meal! Living it up

    Full of character

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    this old mansion is a perfect place to be in the atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    this old mansion is a perfect place to be in the atmosphere of the city

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: