Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Ursulines 4 stars

14 rue Rivault, 71400 Autun, France

#8 of 12 hotels in Autun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 457 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decor was outdated and didn't feel like a Chateau unless you looked across the courtyard. No shower but a handset on the bath.

    The walled town is very attractive with good restaurants and shops. Easy street parking near hotel but they also have a garage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price they are charging it is expensive for the type of amenities provided. The bathrooms need updating. On arrival the staff member was not warm and welcoming, she was quite abrupt in her attitude.

    Good location. Pretty from the outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rain ....... not the hotels fault

    Absolutely beautiful old convent building, still shows off its charm, staff so nice & friendly, we arrived after the dinning room closed & they insisted on making us food & it was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a strange smell. I think a previous guest had smoked in the room and an air freshener had been used. The smell was very unpleasant.

    Secure parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    My wife and son and I, on a motoring trip through Burgundy thirty years ago, stopped for lunch in Autun. We were taken with the town, and made a mental note that we must return for a longer stay. It took 30 years, but we spent 6 days there this past October: my wife and I plus our (now adult) son. It was an idyllic holiday. The town, with its wonderful 12th century cathedral, is captivating. For lodging, we could not possibly have done better than the Hôtel Les Ursulines (which I found on Booking.com). It is a converted convent, first built in the 18th century. Our room was stylish and very comfortable, with wonderful views over the countryside. The hotel garden is just captivating. The restaurant is top-of-the-line. The breakfasts are superb. The cathedral is a stone's throw a way, along with a clutch of good small restaurants. Two excellent woodland hikes start virtually at the door of the hotel. In these various ways the hotel is A++, but what really stood out above all that was the quality of the service: efficient and friendly, solicitous and kind. Frankly, I just can't imagine a better hotel holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horribly renovated in the cheapest, tackiest way possible. Awful to see this done to such a beautiful building with an incredible history.

    The building is gorgeous from the outside, and the location is ideal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice old and it was a very nice hotel you feel walking through history

    Every thing was great Staff was very nice very friendly especially Mr maxim

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks a bit dated and in need of some repair - carpets were worn and floors uneven. The bed was not comfortable and there was noise from the room next door, including a slamming door at 4am. There was also loud music until after midnight!

    Good location for hiking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The barman informing the paying guests @ 2230hrs that he was of to bed and would not be serving anymore drinks!!!!

    Amazing room and front of house staff, I would definitely stay again.....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints - pleasant and professional staff. Reasonable value for the quality of the accomodation and beautiful setting.

    Just stayed one night on a walking tour of Burgundy. Very pleasant well equipped hotel in excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BREAKFAST

    ROOMS ARE MODERN AND CONFORTABLE , THE HOTEL TERRACE IS BEAUTIFUL WITH A PANORAMIC VIEW , REALLY NICE , TO BAD NOT TAKING MORE ADVANTAGE OF THE STORY OF THE PLACE IN THE DECOR ( 17 C CONVENT ) THAT WOULD GIVE A MORE SOPHISTICATED TOUCH TO THE PLACE , BEAUTIFUL CHURCH USE UNFORTUNATELY JUST FOR SPECIAL EVEN WOULD HAVE BEEN WONDERFUL TO USE AS MAIN RESTAURANT ROOM INSTEAD A STEREOTYPE DECOR PLACE FOR RESTAURANT , BREAKFAST POOR AND IN A VERY UNPLEASANT SETTING

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, quiet room, with a wonderful view over the garden and the hills beyond. No sound but birdsong. Delightful evening meal taken on the terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one very unfriendly and rude Woman at the reception. She talked to me like i am a nasty little girl!! I'm would never dare to talk to a guest like that!!

    The loved beautyful view the terasse. it was also very quite and peacefull. very friendly waiters

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could do much better for **** hotel Tasteless work has been done in the past to this beautiful monastery - horrid!

    Great location in 17 century monastery. Very close to old town/cathedral of Autun.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably our fault, breakfast was until 10h30 on the Sunday morning. We were there at 10h00 but there was very little left (and it looked as if it was a great breakfast, with bacon and eggs etc.) so just sorry we never got to taste it all.

    The proximity to the old town. The garden for relaxing. The modern bedroom, complete with tea/coffee making facilities, the iron in the cupboard. The gentleman on night duty who came out to help us get our car into the garage when we couldn't make the system work. It was 2 o'clock in the morning and he was so polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being restored slowly, but even so, there were details which suggested a lack of management grip. dead flowers in our table posy vase; Tv system changed but not the instructions, so TV didn't work. There were several other similar unacceptable details.

    Great setting, interesting 18C convent buildings, good restaurant. Autun is also an interesting town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is being refurbished so not the best presentation at the moment. Only 3 rooms with a shower in the entire hotel. Our room was tired and only had a half sized bath with hand held shower.

    Beautiful building. Lovely terrace. Quality restaurant with lots of local options.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is definitely not a 4 star hotel. I have travelled around the globe and have visited many hotels in my life, from backpackers motels in Ho Chi Minh to 5 star hotels in New York. This hotel can be qualified as a 2 star hotel, nothing more nothing less. Please do not expect comfort or even a clean hotel. Don't let price and 4 star promise fool you!

    Only the garden outside looks wonderful (especially on the pictures). This is basically the only positive thing I can mention with regards to this hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located up the hill with parking available underneath. We have stayed here before and find an upgrade to a superior room is q better option for us as it gives more space in the room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the town center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The courtyard is a lovely setting with an amazing view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I disliked.

    Very quiet location. Short walk to town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views. In the heart of the old quarter. Helpful staff. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation very poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was “cold” and a crap-shoot on the type of room you can get as not all rooms have been renovated

    Good location near historic area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiter Vincent was extremely nice, fun & informative about the wine. Food was really wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were well worn !

    Staff were excellent ..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    I left my watch behind and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful in returning it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff rather formal.

    Very good hotel,though not easy to find.Secure underground parking.Ten min. walk downhill walk into centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the renovated rooms were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty, breakfast was expensive

    Beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds very comfy, the breakfast very good and the location very picturesque.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice staff, very professional, lovely hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty outdated bathroom.

    Amazing location, beautiful restaurant terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wet weather

    The food was excellent Large bedroom, and full wet room for my disabled mother. Excellent Parking underneath the hotel Great wines

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was "compact".

    My wife loved the garden. The private subterranean garage was a real boon in a town where parking would otherwise have been a nightmare.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms little tired but that is reflected in the price paid and gradual improvements clearly being made.

    Excellent location, views from our room and the sunset terrace. Food and service in dining room excellent, better than nearby Michelin recommended restaurant. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Empty mini-bar (1water and 1 coke)and tea/coffee making in the room very poor ( 1 teabag and 1 coffee, no biscuits)

    Excellent restaurant/breakfast very good. Rooms nice with lovely comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness in the room on arrival bad. Also the town it self was quite boring and partly depressing. All old nice buildings not being maintained at all. Town looks like dying.

    Hotel building nice, historical , old convent.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't know why they put the toilet in a separate remote room from the shower and sink.

    Rooms were very modern and comfortable. There is underground parking available. Location was very good, and had a few good restaurants within walking distance

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all interior badly needs refurbishment shower splashes entire bad room they say to be 4 stars, but is really 3 or even 2

    nice location with great view

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent position to explore older part of town but rooms probably need a make over. Staff may have been having a bad day but there were at best business like and at worst disinterested.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be nice if they encourage more use of the lovely outside grounds

    Position to old town centre Excellent dinner in the restaurant and friendly staff Nice room decor

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no air-conditioning in room. Poor shower facility. Restaurant refused our request to dine outside when weather was fine.

    Location. Very comfortable large bed

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some staff were far from friendly - maybe they were not comfortable speaking English, but a smile and acknowledgement of our presence would have helped. No lift to our floor. Chipped crockery in breakfast room.

    Occasional positive response from staff

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite pricy for a hotel that is in need of a renovation in a number of respects (our terrace was barely safe)

    Great location, amazing view, great restaurant, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We forgot to mention this, but the Wifi didn't extend to the room we had. Bed rated middling because of quality of pillows. It was a bit odd that the bedroom was provided with plastic goblets rather than real glasses.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Wonderful location with peaceful gardens to relax in. Would be a great place to bring your secretary. Very friendly staff and good food. Secure parking on site.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is being gradually renovated, but the effort is a hotchpotch without a central theme. The restaurant is highly rated, but we found it very poor; our (3) scallops were served on a bed of parboiled unsalted grated carrots. The garage is a messy cellar. The surrounding town was depressing (in May) and gave, like the hotel, the impression of being in decline.

    The hotel has an excellent location and substantial potential. The garden could be lovely and the view is magnificent. Our room (106) was excellent, newly-modernized and clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was one of the more expensive nights on our four week tour of Europe. Room was in need of renovating to match price charged compared to many others we experienced on this trip.

    Nice location on the hill near the cathedral.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    First class service from friendly staff. Room was clean and very comfortable. Resturant was excellent for both food and service. I stay in at least 30 different hotels globally per year and this hotel is one of the best.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room withouten a view

    Big bed

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    first class venue close to the centre near the Cathedral - normally out of our price bracket but we had a special deal

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room cramped, no aircon, uncomfortable bed

    Excellent restaurant with superb food

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Std room was very small and bathroom very basic and dated. Bar did not have basic beer. Hot breakfast sparse in the extreme!

    Location and views.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stunning venue

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff were rude and ignorant.

    Polar ion and dinner on the Terrace.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Seemed very tired. Institutional. Needs a bit more love.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi too slow to be useful.

    Nice and calm!

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you could not shower had to sit in the bathtub. No ventilation in the bathroom.

    location, the building

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hôtel Les Ursulines traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: