Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Violettes Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Route de Thierenbach, 68500 Jungholtz, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Jungholtz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 718 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Overall a fantastic experience in a completely new area for us: a wonderful adventure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our stay was too short :-)

    Absolutely everything was superb! Most of all the Staff were great, beginning with check in and ending with check out. The dinner in one of the bubbles outside was spectacular. The oysters were out of this world as was the dinner menu. And the omelet for breakfast was delightfully creamy and incredibly tasty :-) !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice room and pool/ spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service when we arrived for our evening meal was very slow ( we waited 30 minutes for a drink) but this appeared to be due to staff shortage and was rectified during the meal.

    Very nice room and pool/ spa area.Beautiful flowers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderfull, excellent hotel ! IT is really a pity that servants behave like this
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had diner and breakfast in the hotel. Unfortunately the people who serve have an attitude that is very hautain. At diner we were shown a table at the beautiful terrace by a very friendly young man. Once seated, we were “chased” away by the main servant who told us in a very unfriendly way that the table was reserved by people with a dog. We had to find ourselves another table. The same thing happened to other people. At the end the people with the dog didn’t even show up. At breakfast we were told only to use tables with a purple nap. Again we had to search ourselves to find a table, but there was no such table available. When we returned to the man above to tell this, he reacted disturbed, but at last prepared us a table. We want to emphesize that the man at the receptioniste did an excellent job !

    Excellent hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    A superb location to reenergise you and your loving one
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I didn't stay longer

    Les Violettes is a superb hotel in the middle of the forest; you can walk around but also just stay there and enjoy the Spa and the fantastic place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful room, balcony view fantastic, and location of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, balcony view fantastic, and location of hotel surrounded by tress and the church was so peaceful. Would definitely come back. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Better than any resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the location, the place, the food and specialty all the staff, everyone was very friendly and accommodating to all our needs and requests. It wad the perfect place to spend on my birthday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Great location, great straff i general, you get a lot for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude woman working at the breakfast did not like my shoes. Not ok to comment.

    Great location, great straff i general, you get a lot for your money here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good - will definately return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The two restaurants were a big disappointment. The Brasserie has a very limited menu and is only open in the evening. At lunch you can eat in the "Violettes" restaurant, which offers you the same menu as in the Brasserie, plus a buffet with the option between two main courses (the vegetarian option coming from the Brasserie menu). In the evening, the "Violettes" offers a set menu and it is not at all clear that you can use the menu as "a la carte", and have to request the prices. Fresh produce is used in both restaurants, hence the limited menus, but the quality of the cooking left a bit to be desired for a 4* hotel (over-cooked fresh pasta drenched in sauce on the first evening and an over-cooked steak the following lunch). The restaurant staff are welcoming and efficient. Due to the limited choice, after 3 nights at the hotel, the menus became very boring. There is an excellent choice for breakfast, but the fresh orange juice is not chilled and not regularly stirred. The scrambled eggs and bacon were inedible, but the freshly cooked omelettes were very good. It would have been nice to have a parasol on our terrace, since it was far too hot to sit outside (we were lucky with the weather)

    The hotel is in a wonderful location and is very peaceful. The staff are excellent, very welcoming and efficient. Our superior room in the Romantica Annex was very spacious and the small terrace overlooking the well-maintained gardens and valley was much appreciated. The spa facilities are very good and access was included in the price of our room. My husband and I also used the paying spa facilities (massage, etc) and were happy with the service. The hotel is very clean and well- maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Over-all again a nice experience for cycling and Spa fans(Le grand Ballon area)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining experience was not the same as during our previous stay last year.

    Great location, very friendly people at the reception, Great parking area, Nice room and balcony(remark:the lights in the bathroom are not well located), very nice spa and swimming pool, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is a little tired. The room was ok, little smelly (musty) on arrival and the balcony and windows had not been cleaned. We used the spa and had the most expensive massage I have ever had but it was literally the worst. The staff I met in the spa did not speak English at all which could be a problem for some guests. We ate in the brasserie and again, very expensive for ‘ok’ quality. My partner’s meat was actually served cold and we had to send it back. Check-in and check-out was fine and the waiting staff in the restaurant were very sweet.

    The location is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location and great spa facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room furnishing was somewhat outdated and could do with a refresh of style. There was no milk provided for the coffee over 3 nights and no sugar on last night.

    The location and spa were fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    If you want to relax, it's great - no nudity in sauna though
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "Balloon" to sit and have a good time for dinner outside was no hot enough for winter degrees. These 20€ extra were not worth it. I felt uncomfortable in the SPA/Sauna area, because everybody was wearing textile which should not be usual for Sauna-areas.

    Nice Rooms and comfortable beds. Beautiful SPA area. Friendly staff. The Hotel is great for hikes ans as a very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Little piece of luxury in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the dishes in the brasserie - second restaurant are very local and for me an acquired taste.

    It's a Spa retreat hidden in the foothills of the Vosges, with fantastic scenery, walks and roads close by. The rooms are excellent as is the dining opportunity on site. The perfect relaxing end to a long day on a motorbike.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro menu was limited although the food was delicious if pricey. Breakfast was nice but really not worth 25euro pp. We were there over a long weekend and it was quite crowded both in the spa and breakfast room.

    The location was gorgeous and the pool and spa wonderful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Heaven is a place in the Alsace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad about the stay.

    Everything about the stay was perfect! The room clean and spacious. The staff really helpful, the hotel, the spa and the grounds exquisite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    Hope to come back here soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative experience really. Maybe advice: would be great to have cigarettes/cigares available to buy.

    Helpful and friendly staff, chillful relaxing atmosphere. We have only spent a day and night here, but it was already enough to switch off from stress and charge up our batteries. Gastro - extraordinary, delicious. Champagne and wine sortiment: superb. Room: spacious and super comfy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    Food in the brasserie poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the brasserie poor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    We loved this hotel, it has a nice spa area and it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved this hotel, it has a nice spa area and it is located in a beautiful area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great staff, tranquil getaway in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in the rooms was poor

    Great staff, tranquil getaway in the middle of the countryside. Spa facilities are top class.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Great value!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a hidden jewel of a spa. Wonderful location with a great staff. Spa was one of the best we have visited. Well worth the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    spa week end
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast a little expensive. I eat only eggs and ham for breakfast. maybe different breakfast alternative ?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Perfect in all aspects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave ... :-)

    I loved everything , this is one of the best places I've been. Everything was simply perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    SPA WAS AMAZING THE ROOM WAS LOVELY JUST A IDEAL PLACE FOR A...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA WAS AMAZING THE ROOM WAS LOVELY JUST A IDEAL PLACE FOR A ROMANTIC WEEKEND !!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    5.4
    The location of this hotel and the hotel including the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in this hotel for one night. The expierence with the staff is bad. The people acted unprofessional and rough. It was almost impossible to talk in english. The menu from te restaurant was available on there website, unfortunately this menu wasn't the current menu, the staff replaced the menu a year ago! This change was an absolute deterioration of the menu. Likewise the winelist, this was also modified and detariorated. After ordering the wine we got the wrong year. We had to ask for some bread on the table and the starter came after one hour! This was in contrast with the french people who where helped directly. It was unfriendly, expensive and unpleasant.

    The location of this hotel and the hotel including the swimming pool are okay.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.1
    Great location, food is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over crowded and wifi and air conditioning in the main block is poor but to be fair it was a heat wave when we stayed.

    Great location, food is good

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    The general ambiance is general luxury and all is taken care...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - It is costly, - the beds are realy hard

    The general ambiance is general luxury and all is taken care for in details

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: