Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Saint Georges 3 stars

14, Rue Poterie, 41100 Vendôme, France

#9 of 9 hotels in Vendôme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    The problems with booking in disappointed us greatly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a late booking however we had expected there to be someone on reception not to have to find a number in the Logis book to ring. Also our French s not that good but we did eventually get into the room although the card key did not appear to be authenticated initially. The door was open and the upstairs door so security zero. It was a Sunday and we know from past experience most restaurants are shut but with "Booking.com" we expected someone to be there.

    Nice dining room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.7
    Limited choice of hotels in Vendome. Room was cold breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold, no one at check in, did not book taxi as requested , although said they had the previous evening and only by luck of getting a lift from someone very kind did I catch my trAin

    Good breakfast, staff were pleasant, good sized room, good wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location in interesting village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The French might like eating out on a Sunday lunchtime, but travellers are driving all day and want to relax and eat in the hotel in the evening. Not much good having 3 casseroles in Logis book if they are all empty on Sunday evening! Perhaps this is why there was an immaculate kitchenette in the bedroom, not something I look for in a hotel room.

    Decor interesting - leftover 60's hippy. Made a change but one wondered how clean everything was, though the shower room was spotless. Breakfast good,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nobody at reception, just key left on table, our room was up 4 flights of stairs, no offer of help with bags, bathroom blinds did not work, no toilet roll holder, felt very impersonal

    central position in town, quirky décor, very good shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Super staff & brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant hotel & super location. Mini kitchen in the room for anyone wanting to do some mini catering. Could park my motorbike opposite the hotel & absolutely no issues.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    Hotel in centre of town but no air conditioning is a big minus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) No Air Conditioning was a disaster ( in fairness I knew this before I arrived but did not think it would be as bad ). 2) The room was small & dark ( and extremely hot ) making it impossible to stay in for resting purposes. 3) Vendome doesn't offer much from a tourist perspective. 4) There was no one there when we arrived at about lunchtime with a note saying when staff would be available. Lack of staff was noticeable during our visit.

    1) The hotel was in the centre of town. 2) It was relatively inexpensive. 3) The car park was about a 200 metre walk & free.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds were a little small.

    There was plenty of closet space. The bathroom was very roomy.we ate at the bar which was very nice and the food was very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    4.6
    Memorable for the wrong reasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy decor and bad ambience, smell of stale tobacco in room, no door on bathroom (all rooms have just a curtain), no light in shower area, traffic noise, no air-con, no fresh croissants at breakfast - all of which make it overpriced at 116 Euros. And Booking.com offered no saving over regular price. You'd do better staying at a motorway motel.

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel for a stopover. Without kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed. Nothing seemed to be open. The hotel is on a very busy road so not very safe to sit on the terrace with children. The bar was open for only two hours. Think lack of staff.

    The rooms were fab for a family and breakfast was lovely. Really friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work everything covered in dust

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Very small hot room,busy street to noisy to open windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small hot room,busy street to noisy to open windows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    We were disappointed at the poor customer service and low standard of facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff to meet us or help us. Public areas cramped and dark. Carpets need replacing. Bedding needs washing.Window blinds need mending.

    It was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Very
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not very practical

    Large room .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of air conditioning

    excellent food in restaurant, wide choice at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room made for a sleepless night

    Excellent breakfast great selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.9
    Good stopover on way back to UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower. Lack of tray meant bathroom floor got wet.

    Location near centre of historic town. Provision of kitchenette.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    Short stay on the way home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of low frequency noise (aircon fan somewhere?) made getting to sleep a bit difficult.

    Imaginative presentation of restaurant food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    8.3
    The location was perfect for spending time in Vendome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one at the check in desk when we arrived. A sign with instructions in French. No problem for us. we were visiting our daughter who is fluent in French, made the contact and person returned in minutes.

    The location was perfect for spending time in Vendome. In midst of downtown, walking distance to many eateries, shopping, and sites. Parking short distance and a laundry a few doors away. Plenty of room. Staff pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was good and included meats and boil your own egg. Facility looked true to pictures. Kitchenette was a convenience.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    4.2
    The bedrooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bar area and rest. were very dingy and might have been clean but appeared not so. It was in the middle of a busy town yet was advertised as being much more sedate. It was very overpriced.

    The bedrooms were clean....so too the baths.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    8.8
    Hotel was easy to locate in town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing, nada

    Hotel was easy to locate in town centre. We were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful gentleman. The hotel had a beautiful bar, one of the nicest I've seen in a provincial town. Our room was small but quiet adequate for an overnight stop. The kitchen hub was amazing -great for a short break.Had a nice meal in the restaurant. food very good.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    Loved the location and all was welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only wish is that we had upgraded to a larger room, for 2 friends in a twin, it was a tight squeeze. We should have asked!

    Loved the location and all was welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    6.3
    I booked a twin bedded room in advance of our arrival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I booked a twin bedded room in advance of our arrival (2males) and was given a room with a double bed. I pointed out the error- little English was spoken- we were moved to a twin bedded room, but were quickly moved back to the double room. I later discovered from a guest that she and her male partner who arrived at the same time as us, who had not pre booked, but requested a twin bed room was allocated the one we were shown. No apology was given.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    6.3
    Location, WiFi was reliable and fast, parking secure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room for 3-4 people had NO DOOR on the TOILET/BATHROOM... so NO privacy at all. No curtain on the shower meant a wet floor in the bathroom. Ladder (not stairs) to loft is a bit odd, we were told it was 2 floors but not that the toilet/bathroom were on the 2nd level. I would stay here again only if I could get a room with a door on the toilet/bathroom.

    Location, WiFi was reliable and fast, parking secure

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.2
    The restaurant is excellent, as are the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con meant that we had to choose fresh air over noise. Too hot and airless to not have windows open, but traffic and people on street interrupted until early hours of the morning.

    The restaurant is excellent, as are the staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    The excellence and the ideal location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    The excellence and the ideal location of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    situation
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    situation amabilité

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy Inaccurate billing Bizarre decor

    Good location Useful facilities

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.9
    Clean Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Room Was Really hot, No AC

    Clean Room Nice Staff

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.3
    Bedroom was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy

    Bedroom was good

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: