Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Hauts de Montreuil / Le Patio 3 stars

21/23 Rue Pierre Ledent, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France

#8 of 13 hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, lovely restaurant, great breakfast and Madame Anne who runs the hotel is SUPERWOMAN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our ground floor bedroom windows opened directly onto the road which meant we had no privacy or security and anyone could have climbed in during the night. In the high temperatures we were not able to open our windows at night and we did not sleep well. You need to have bars at the windows.

    The staff were excellent. Madame Anne was amazing and works so hard. Nice restaurant, good food, nice position, surrounding lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Great, just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't think of a thing. (Perhaps a few more hangers in the wardrobe)!!

    We loved everything, The friendly staff, our room was fantastic, super restaurant with great food. There was also a lounge where you could sit and read which you do not always get in French restaurants. They even put the TV on specially for us so we could see the World Cup football matches

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable with lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor parking facilities.

    Excellent breakfast with hot bacon and eggs. Excellent coffee and croissants. Ate dinner at local restaurant so cannot comment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great restaurant - but room quality varies hugely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all rooms are the same!!! My brother stayed three weeks earlier and loved the room - however we had attic rooms with skylights so no look out - and no fire escape except the main stair way that was old wooden and steep. Also you will be CHARGE EXTRA booking through booking.com or other agencies - 5€ or more per night - more than booking with the hotel direct!!!

    The restaurant was superb but you need to book in advance of your arrival. Friendly staff - happy to help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location in Montreuil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small and cramped. Towels were threadbare. Not what I would call a comfort room accessed by a narrow steep staircase on the second floor. The hotel operate a two tier pricing structure by using Booking.com. The published price direct is €10 cheaper

    Good location in Montreuil. The room was clean with a good bedding. Fridge and tea making facilities provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay in picturesque surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful town. The room was adequate, the bed very comfy and the cleanliness first rate. The breakfast was good value with plenty of choice. Le Patio, the restaurant, was excellent and the meal fabulous - a wonderful experience with lots of care and attention to presentation. They work very hard and deserve to do well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    We will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fittings in the bathroom were loose and could have been quite dangerous.

    Dinner was delicious and the service was friendly and competent. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant overnight stop, should have allowed for a 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from the room above, steep stairs for my aging legs!

    Comfortable room, excellent dinner, adequate breakfast. Enjoyed a relaxing drink in the sunny patio courtyard, secure parking, easy walking distance to the town, citadel and ramparts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Montreuil sur mer (not by the sea😃)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor fault - our bathroom did smell of drains, but I did not feel so strongly about it to complain.

    The Hotel was centrally located, and full of old world charm, private parking was good 9€, had a lovely courtyard garden area to relax. Restaurant was good had a lovely evening meal. We were made very welcome upon our arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    A hotel with lots of history and character with an excellent adjoining restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very large with 2 double Beds and a single but the bathroom was tiny and would not be suitable for a group of people or even a family.

    The restaurant Le Patio was lovely. The staff very happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Excellent as always
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfortable room in the older part of the hotel. Pre and post dinner drinks in the sunny courtyard and a fabulous breakfast outside, plus an absolutely superb meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    The food in the restaurant was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we entered our room there was a very strong smell of smoke. The owners sprayed the room but the smell persisted. They said we could change rooms but the only available options were totally unsuitable.

    It was a very old property that had been modernised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Change of restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The new showers do not have anywhere to hold soap The shaver socket does not warn that the voltage is four times normal The fountain is in a state that is not up to the standard Televisions - one did not work at all despite one of your staff correcting(?) it and the other did not have all of the programs that you listed in your brochure

    Change of restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful old building, great location, lovely town to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The Hotel is right in the town centre and parking was easy. Our rooms were spacious, bed very comfy and although the bathroom was old it was very clean. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect break near Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We always stay here after the crossing to Calais. V convenient, old picturesque hotel. The town is interesting, historical. (It is not "sur mer"!!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Good central location with warm welcome from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was basic but OK for one night. Over looked a road and traffic noise in the morning.

    Good central location with warm welcome from the receptionist. We liked the restaurant atmosphere and the food was very good. As we were early season the inside bar was empty after dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely old characterful hotel right in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were initially shown to a room in an annexe, up two steep flights of stairs, which we did not like - as it only had a skylight, no windows. However, on speaking to the receptionist we were shown to another room which we were much happier with.

    Good service - dinner in the Le Patio restaurant was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing but we only needed the one night. Wouldn’t go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor is dated and badly needs updating. The bathroom too needs a complete update. The shower head wasn’t very efficient. The hairdryer was hopeless. The toilet needs replacing. Breakfast was ok but compared to similarly priced hotel breakfasts in Montreuil not good value. No choice of pastries no fresh fruit.

    The bed was comfortable. Location good and parking ok I got decaf coffee when I asked for some.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    A lovely weekend catching up with friends at this gem of a hotel in Northern France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Love the Le Patio restaurant - the food is fantastic and the service is attentive but not ott. The bar area in the hotel is great and the roaring fire on a damp April evening is very welcoming!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    A great hotel, lovely food and ideally situated for a stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here a few times over recent years. Montreuil is a beautiful small town and the hotel is great. Lots of character and a restaurant to die for. On annual trips to France the best food is always here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely old manor type hotel with great courtyard and...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really dismal. Poorly decorated. Bathroom shower over plastic bath Minimal towels . 9 Euro charge to park in a waste ground ridiculous

    Lovely old manor type hotel with great courtyard and excellent food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant le patio closed on Thursdays. Hotel did book us in to tgeir sister restaurant though

    Location very near to town centre so easy to walk anywhere. Superb breakfast with great selection of French goodies. Warm welcome. Cosy bar. Large and comfortable room. Sunny patio area. Love the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    REALLY enjoyed it and would definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked some sort of milk for morning tea. Duvet too hot for us. Would have liked a flat top sheet so that we could have used blanket which was available in wardrobe.

    Breakfast was outstanding. Didn't have coffee so no comment. Bed lovely and big as at home and extremely comfortable. Room nice and warm. TV excellent all channels we required.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    As before the staff are always very helpful, polite and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room this time upstairs was a lttle 'tired' especially the bath front. Also there was something under the carpet that made a sort of crackling/rustling sound under your feet which was odd. Nice to have fridge and tea and coffee making in room.

    Croissants were very nice as was the cereal bread and good selection at breakfast, squeezing own orange juice is a bonus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    An excellent place for a short break - within easy reach of the Shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were offered was rather dark and cramped, but when we spoke to the reception they moved us without any problem.

    The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was superb with a large walk-in shower. The evening meals were first class and we found all staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Cuddling up on Valentine's day !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked great but unfortunately the heaters were not up to the job and on a cold Valentine's Night, we had to cuddle up to keep warm- no bad thing really, I s'pose! Seriously though, the room , which was large, needed an additional heater.

    very friendly and welcoming staff, clubby type bar with real log fire. Restaurant was excellent, atmospheric, great service and quality and cost of food- as my wife remarked- 'So fresh - you can even taste the sea on the oysters !'

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    We have stayed several times before and would do again but would be wary of appliances
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room looked fine but on opening the small frig there was an overpowering smell of ammonia. We were able to open the main door to the room and we went to reception to report. A new room was offered to us which was fine but the dreadful smell of ammonia was with us on our clothes and up our nostrils for the rest of our stay. No further mention of this was made by the staff and I sent an email on our arrival home. In their reply they said the frig was put into the trash. There was no mention of regret or any sort of offer for a further visit. Beware, always check the frig!

    The breakfast was excellent with great selection and excellent croissant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    The evening meal was wonderful, the wines were a bit over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom/bathroom were cold when we arrived but we put the heating on & it warmed up quickly. Apart from that everything was great.

    The evening meal was wonderful, the wines were a bit over priced but overall it was a great evening. The room was very nice & the bathroom adequate. The breakfast was exceptional 😀

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not warned that parking wasn't free. when I booked price included vat . when place confirmed, VAT was added. I enquired with the hotel but never received a reply.

    very nice room & very nice bar. good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful weekend in a lovely hotel. Montreuil sur mer is a really nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The hotel is really nice, very friendly staff. Our room was clean, a comfortable big bed. Room had tea/coffee making facility. The bar area is nice, lovely open fire, very welcome on a snowy evening. Breakfast was good, bacon, eggs, croissants, usual cereals, cold meats, yogurts, fruit etc. We had young children in our party and they were made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Character property with great food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature in the bar and restaurant was too low.

    THe staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Food in Le Patio very good. Rooms were basic but clean with very hot water in the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely comfortable hotel with great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are friendly and helpful. Love the courtyard in the summer and the lounge when the weather is not so good. Le patio restaurant is excellent. We have stayed many times and will again of course.!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.3
    I would go again if only for the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was cold but so was the room and bathroom, The bar was fine but again heated by a log fire which had a sofa with guests in front of it thus stopping the heat warming the rest of the room. Also very little atmosphere.

    The Patio restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    We've stayed at this lovely medieval hotel many times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've stayed at this lovely medieval hotel many times over the last 15 years, and although we've always liked it, now that they have redecorated, refurnished and completely revamped the bathrooms, it's even better. The choice and quality of food for breakfast is superb and their 'Le Patio' restaurant is also very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful old town , lovely little non chain shops. Loads of restaurants. Perfect for a stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice of breakfast, but all the hot food was cold, greasy bacon , uncooked eggs, cold croissants. Unfortunately that's the choice we made, as there was plenty of other things. No assistance in the dining room as to where things are like tea from a machine not bought to the table etc. The waitress only seemed bothered with clearing tables and asking our room numbers and chatting to someone else in the kitchen. A bit of a welcome and explanation would have been good. Maybe some lessons from the receptionist about hospitality wouldn't go amiss. I didn't expect her to speak English and I get by in French, but it was very rapid maybe some concession to foreign visitors could be made. I'm sure we make up a lot of their clients.That said it wouldn't stop us from returning. But maybe have breakfast out somewhere.

    Receptionist 1st class. Room excellent, drenched shower plus hand held. Newly decorated spacious room at the back. Very quiet. Tasteful decor. Excellent heating system on a cold November day. One more armchair would have been nice. Lovely lounge bar, perfect for curling up in front of the log fire with a book and drink. Right in the heart of this lovely medieval town.secure parking (10 € ) per night. Would definitely recommend to friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    location ideal in an interesting old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location ideal in an interesting old town. have stayed there before, staff helpful and friendly. Clean comfortable room, not too hot. Super resturant. Will return again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Great, we will be back in 2018!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our second time staying here and it was excellent yet again - on the Saturday afternoon the roaring fire and games available in the bar (scrabble/cards etc) allowed us to wile away an hour in the warmth enjoying a glass of fizz and playing scrabble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Dreary and pricey given its lack of atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dreary - curtain was hanging off it fixture. Vanity unit underneath basin had crude 'cut out' in it. Hotel car park was derelict.

    Reception staff were pleasant. Patio restaurant had nice atmosphere and food was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing and friendly stay in a superb location with outstanding food and plenty of areas to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet cubicle was a bit on the small size.

    Great Hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. The accommodation was comfortable, the room warm and pleasant and the lounge really pleasant. We thought that the food, breakfast and dinner was excellent. The menu for dinner was superb and the quality of the cooking outstanding. We'd definitely recommend this accommodation for the food alone. The location was ideal for exploring the Pas De Calais region and the Hotel Manager was extremely helpful in recommending places to visit. We had a great time as a consequence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Reception was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in the new build huts at the back. The toilet didnt have a sink! It was separate from shower whose door I needed to fix in the morning before showering. I felt at this price level the rooms could have been slightly larger. I dont understand why charge €5 extra for parking which is abundant in the safe village square.

    Reception was great. Check out lady had no English, but maybe thats my fault for not speaking French. Everything was well organised. Quite location and close to everything. The Patio next door was fabulous with a wonderful waitress. She just sorted everything and gave the impression that she enjoyed her job. Food good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    A stop over on route from Normandy to Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel with first rate service and food. The parking is accessible and secure. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and are happy to suggest what to visit in the locality. The bedrooms are clean and provide all essential amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent hotel for seeing montreuil .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was newly refurbished and very clean. Comfortable bed and good quality sheets but towels threadbare. We asked for a quiet room and it was quiet at the back of the property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Perfect Overnight Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Lovely spacious room. Comfortable bed. Pretty courtyard for pre and post dinner drinks. Friendly welcome on arrival and throughout the stay. Superb dinner in the hotel restaurant and excellent breakfast. Easy walk to the main square with bars and restaurants etc. All in all a delightful and relaxing stay on way home after a trip to Spain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Great location, pretty town, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly ... nothing to dislike!

    Excellent location and very friendly staff. Cosy lounge with fantastic log burner when it was cool one day and yet a beautiful patio and fountain area for when the sun shone the next. Great breakfast choices. Would definitely visit again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    We spend a couple of days at the Les Hauts de Montreuil, which was very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needs a shower curtain round the bath, because when you have a shower the water goes everywhere, all over the floor which could be quite slippy .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    We loved this hotel, which we had used about 20 years ago. I was excellent then also
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to find the property due to local road closures for a local sporting event. A road map showing the best way to the hotel would have been very useful.

    The facilities were excellent, and the restaurant food was superb. The room was of high quality, although it was reached via an outside stairway. This would have been impossible for handicapped people. Access to the small outside car park at the rear of the property was difficult, and the surface was not very good. It would have been very easy to scrape the car body on the old, partly demolished walls there. Space in the car parking area is limited.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Love staying at the Hauts Montreuil
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Stayed here many times and it is always excellent. The rooms are clean and the beds are amazing, never seen such big comfortable beds! The Staff are friendly and helpful, and the Restaurant is wonderful. I would always recommend this lovely little Hotel and of course it is in the middle of beautiful Montrieul sur Mer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drinks a bit pricey in the bar. Not sure whether the price list in the Bedroom was up to date compared to the prices in the Hotel Restaurant.

    Room was small but bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Cleanliness excellent. All of the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    It is a great hotel for an overnight stop, in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are a light sleeper, you may prefer a room away from the front of the hotel and the main, cobbled, street through the town!

    It is a great hotel for an overnight stop, in the centre of a lovely town. There is a wide range of restaurants for an evening meal, but not a lot of choice for breakfast if you don't want to eat at the hotel. We settled for a bar that suggested we return with croissants from the local patissierie and buy a coffee at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Montreuil itself has fallen a little on hard times it seems...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Montreuil itself has fallen a little on hard times it seems and has a few boarded up shops etc, however it remains a charming small town. The ramparts are worth a visit but be careful as you walk round - don't do tin the dark! Les hates de Montreuil is partly in a beautiful old building and partly more recent but the transition from one to the other is pretty seamless. The rooms we had were reasonably spacious, well equipped and clean with very comfortable beds. The bar area was really charming and the lady serving, named Madison was very good, cheerful and very helpful. After having a wander around the town we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant and were not disappointed. A beautifully decorated and ornate room, good service and a fine meal. A good selection of decent wines by the glass helped with keeping the cost down too. If you're in the area both the hotel and the restaurant are worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel with friendly helpful staff in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unlike previous stays the room was a little tired. Whole room needs redecorating and toilet and shower room which need a complete revamp.

    Love the location and general feel of this hotel. People are really friendly and helpful and service is always top notch. Parking provided for my motorcycle was superb. Room was quite and comfortable although a little tired.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Too many stairs! No help!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on second floor. We were left by the reception staff member on the ground floor. No help with suitcase which was only an overnight one so light. The young man left leaving an almost 80 year old to carry it himself. It definitely seems like a porter service hotel but without the service!?

    Location. Nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Logis in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    There was a warm welcome and the room was comfortable and clean. A good breakfast at an extra cost. Location was central. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    An great place to stay at the start and finish of a holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An great place to stay at the start and finish of a holiday, within easy distance of Calais. The Patio is an excellent restaurant for dinner with really good food and service, the rooms are clean and comfortable, a good choice for breakfast, and all the staff are super.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Walking around the ramparts is beautiful, whatever season...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patio room we were allocated smelt strongly of damp we were given a new room immediately when I complained which was fine,

    Walking around the ramparts is beautiful, whatever season you choose to visit. Hotel staff very friendly, I enjoyed an hour relaxing in the sunshine with a drink by the fountain in garden , breakfast in hotel is interesting always something different . We were revisiting this hotel after staying there a few years ago , new reception area is tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect family stay in a hotel oozing with French charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing we didn't like.

    The family room was spacious and we didn't feel as if we'd been crammed in. The room had recently been redecorated and was spotlessly clean. Whilst they seemed a little understaffed the personnel we met were incredibly charming and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    A good meal to be had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought for the price the room could have been larger. The car park was across and down the road. An extra levy of £10 was made for parking facilities.

    The dinning room was very atmospheric and comfortable to eat in . Staff was attentive and the service was not rushed. This is an establishment where food is taken seriously.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Little treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all !

    we enjoyed the whole experience: the accommodation, the garden, superb breakfast, the night cap!.. and the location is perfect... a very stylish hotel, indeed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't open the bottle of shower gel but perhaps that's just me. Towels rather small but that I'm afraid tends to be how it is in France. However I think we will return.

    The bed was large and comfortable. The room was quiet and coffee/tea-making facilities provided though we didn't use them. A bottle of water was provided in the minibar. Breakfast was a bit pricey at €10.50 but was good, even including oranges to squeeze for juice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    This small hotel is full of charm and extremely well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting the car parked first time was a little difficult but after that not a problem

    Excellent accommodation if little tight on space. The restaurant was outstanding and the owner and staff could not be better. I tool ill during our stay and the staff quickly arranged for a doctor to visit. No lasting ill effects. We shall certainly visit this hotel again and unreservedly give it top marks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a clean and modern hotel. Montreuil is a nice place to stay especially as a stop over on way to/from Calais. Enjoyed the walk around the town ramparts.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Charming hotel, charming staff, charming location :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The décor in the hotel rooms is a bit outdated - especially the bathroom - but very clean :-)

    The bed was extremely comfortable - had excellent sleep :-) Above all, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel's restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    Very comfortable ambience in lounge/bar area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable ambience in lounge/bar area, restaurant was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. All staff were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable with heating easy to adjust. Private parking available even if not strictly necessary.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    A perfect place to relax and enjoy good food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi coverage is poor but not a major problem as the hotel and place more than make up for this.

    The room is large and well laid out. The restaurant is fabulous: the food, the staff and the ambiance..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.5
    we will be coming again (in fact we already did!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    runny (and I mean runny) scrambled eggs. Had breakfast at the PMU up the road the next day which was far better value.

    Lovely bar with log fir. Fantastic meal in restuarant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.8
    Room not really suitable for dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not really suitable for dog. would prefer ground floor Parking arrangements not good as we had an early start and were unable to have breakfast. Previous visits room much more suitable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    Just the place to spend a short stop over with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shaver point in bathroom!

    Bed very comfy. Lovely bathroom. Fantastic selection for breakfast at a very good price. Staff delightful. Cosy fireplace in bar to warm us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Super relaxing short break in classic Montreuil-sur-mer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything!

    The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. The whole ambience of hotel and its restaurant was warm and comfortable and very welcoming. The food and wine were excellent. We've stayed in a number of places in the region and this is exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.6
    Friendly comfortable little hotel in this attractive small market town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From our room the view to the rear was of a fairly grubby back street.

    Characterful little hotel: our rooms were in the annexe at the rear and were modern very comfortable and clean. Super efficient and friendly reception staff. Easy parking in an enclosed courtyard across the road at the back. The bar/lounge was great for sitting out in leather armchairs by the wood burning stove.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location near the centre of Montreuil and easy...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs updating.

    Excellent location near the centre of Montreuil and easy access to the fabulous walk that goes around the town, offering stunning views of the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Nice and friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good value for money, rooms spacious for a family with young baby. Hotel provides baby cot for free. Staff very friendly and helpful.. Would stay again if we go that direction.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very welcoming. Room was comfortable and spacious. Food in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was plentiful and catered for a wide range of tastes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    An excellent stopover on the way back to Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The bed was super comfy, the bar was cosy and the staff were very welcoming and smiley. The restaurant was welcoming and the food was superb. The breakfast was plentiful - much more choice than your average french hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say. The town was quite quiet, but we stayed in September which was a little out of season

    Really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was very good, and the evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.6
    Glad it was only for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (11) was in the eaves with one velux window, it was dark and one had to stoop to avoid the low sloping roof. There was a lot of road noise and it was very noisy when it rained. The bathroom sink was cracked, the bath had a chip out of it and there was a bodged repair to the tiles by the bath.

    Breakfast was really good with a wide range of food available.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: