Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel du Soleil Le Terminus 4 stars

2 Avenue Maréchal Joffre, 11000 Carcassonne, France

#35 of 36 hotels in Carcassonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 828 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This formerly grand hotel is somewhat faded in decor.

    Wonderful old hotel, full of character. We can't praise the staff highly enough in helping us during a difficult time. Very comfortable bed in large bedroom. Full of atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups in room for coffee, no glasses for water. Room very dated for a 4 star hotel, some furniture broken. Balcony view over square is now a building site.

    Location excellent, nice size room and bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just when I saw it online it seemed as if it would be a lot better rooms/finish (especially for the price).

    It was a nice location, nice building, very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive for what it was, the outside of the hotel was a building site for the duration of our stay, the guy who checked us in was pretty unpleasant & charged us upfront

    Bedroom was nice, was very original

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extensive ground works immediately in front of the hotel and the fact we were not informed The scrambled egg soup for breakfast, the lack of choice and stale bread. I could go on

    The room was elegantly in its day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terribly basic for a 4 star hotel; Ever present smell of sewage on the 2nd floor corridor; All decorations and fittings best described as 'very tired'; Huge building site right outside the front door;

    Staff very friendly; Breakfast was convenient; the lobby gave a clue as to what the Hotel was once like.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent. It was a few meters from the railway station (where the airport bus drops off), and a 15-20 minute walk from the Old City (walking through town). The hotel was comfortable, the room was sizable with free wifi, and the breakfast was very good indeed. The staff were warm and very helpful. I was given a map, and the receptionist took the time to recommend what to see in town, as well as information on visiting the old city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of the room was poor, tiny bathroom. There was an issue with the water pressure which meant we couldn’t have a shower in the morning. The hotel took no ownership of the issue and refused to compensate in any way which was disappointing , a free breakfast was easily a way to show they were listening and cared but was repeated told I have no authority to do anything you need to go through booking.com, very disappointing for what is meant to be a 4 star hotel.

    Close to train station and reception area looks like faded grandeur of the past, but good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The expensive breakfast which unfortunately spoiled by the rotten whole fruit (all the apples were rotten) and the acidic fruit salad - inedible

    Fabulous old hotel with wonderful original features retained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very convenient to the train station as well as the sites of Carcassonne. Beautifully maintained hotel from yesteryear. Staff very friendly Choice of breakfast foods were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheeky staff to the extent that the woman taking our order reduced my partner to tears. She was abrupt, rude and very disrespectful. A language barrier was used as a way to justify her behaviour and attitude even though we both spoke French to her. There was also definitely something in our room because we’re full of bite marks. We had a wonderful time in France however choosing Hotel Du Terminus as our accommodation was a bad move as it put such a dampener on a great holiday. We won’t make the same mistake twice.

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A Proper shower enclosure would have been very useful and appreciated.

    Rooms were above superior compared to normal, average rooms in other European hotels. Crown molding on all walls, large ceilings created speciousness. Shower was haphazard though as water lines carrying water to the shower head emerged up from under the tub fixture with no rubber capping of the entrance aperture allowing loads of water to return down the opening and potentially creating a veritable jungle of black fungus and other health concerns. They really need to plug the pipe traverse hole and consider using a shower curtain or glass doors to retain shower water in the shower. The reported air conditioning amenity was a "token" system which failed to provide any coolness. Fortunately, opening windows was able to provide cool air from the outdoors available during the fall season. Staff was really accommodating and location was really convenient across from the train terminals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was pretty disorganised with shortages in several areas, probably due to too few staff on duty

    Splendid fin de siècle building and still retains that atmosphere. Reception very pleasant and competent. Rooms large and airy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dreadful restaurant service, dismal and stained carpet, lack of tea kettle, broken coffee machine.

    Proximity to the train station, information at the reception desk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was absolutely nothing I did not like. Everything was very, very good.

    Breakfast was served in the restaurant, so you could people-watch while you munched. There was a good choice on offer, but you had to queue for the one and only coffee machine. the pastries were as fresh as they could have been, but over-all is was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior of the hotel is more than a little worn & faded. The hotel needs a complete overhaul which would help to return it to the splendid building that it once was. The room was pokey and poorly decorated. The square outside is undergoing refurb and makes the whole area look like a building site, though I'm sure it will be very nice when finished.

    Hotel is ideally located with a pleasant walk to the Cite through the main shopping streets & square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    A wonderful old hotel with a huge entrance hall. Old fashioned and anbit run down now, but still full of character. Position to canal and railway station perfect. At the entrance to town. Quite a walk up to the Citadel but one can take a tourist little train up or a bus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom shower head would not stay on hook kept falling off but thats it !

    Liked the style of the hotel quirky, clean, staff were friendly and obliging, great position for the train, canal midi, free bike hire, ect. Walk to the old city 20 mins but easy to find and felt safe at night walking back. Our first room wasn't great no view and a bit musty so asked to move higher up to 3rd floor, much more airy and had a view of the old city and this was done straight away its old French railway hotel so high ceilings , beautiful marble double staircase to reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In 1762 this hotel was the tits...!

    Do you know you can stay at the castle or directly around it for a comparable cost ? In a facility that is far superior, rather than at the opposite side of town. Oh, at daybreak you are at one end of a walkable shopping street

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough space to list everything - incredibly overpriced for the standard it offers, fraying brittle towels, poor quality/selection at breakfast, peeling paint on the walls. For context, this was a treat for my mother's 60th, I'm fairly widely travelled - this is the 10th hotel I've stayed in so far this year and this is the first time I've ever been driven to give a negative review.

    The location and façade are the only good things about this horrendously overpriced and under-maintained hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was soooo dirty! Piles of dust around the edge of the room and skirting. Coffee and tea stains on tops of furniture that hadn't been wiped. Peeling paint and generally very old decoration. No milk of any kind for the tea and coffee

    Staff on the front desk were really helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly this Hotel is past it's best now! It probably was grand in it's day, but It's not been updated for some time. It's original Art Decor interior, has been poorly decorated a long time ago with 1990's wallpaper and paint colours. Reception with it's original Art Deco staircase is a dusty looking, untidy dilapidated area now. We couldn't adjust the taps in the shower which were stuck on scolding hot, which was very dangerous! We called reception who came to fix it for us straight away. There was also a cheap plastic toilet seat in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet had a poor selection of breads and cheese. It was a pit stop for a couple of days before our flight, but we paid far too much for this accommodation based on it's ratings but I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a luxury hotel. This is not a four star hotel!

    From our bedroom Juliet balcony we had a lovely view of the Castle and the towns rooftops. The room had two very comfortable king size beds, a wardrobe, TV and dresser, but no room to walk about the floorspace. The Hotel is situated only a short walk from the central train station and the bus stop, which is across the road and will take you up to the Castle. There is also a jetty for a choice of relaxing canal trips. The hotel still has its original Art Deco staircase and lift fittings in the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old not only in a good way, though. Everything inside is old, too — the furniture, the facilities, the room design and planning.

    The location is great, just walk through old city to the castle (~20 min) and back and that's already a good enough city sightseeing. The hotel is old in a good sense — enormous hall, large stairs and all. Also, opened 24 hours, which is a valuable feature in France :P We got there on Bastille day, so the parking was full, but the receptionist gave us directions to the nearest underground parking (7 euro/day) and also supplied with an access code for late night entrance into it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and corridors are tired looking...need refurbishment but in keeping with the charm of this old building. Great to have a Nespresso coffee machine in the room: paper cups provided but no teaspoons to stir the sugar.

    Location is great. The Staff is polite. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, a good value for money stay over.

    Good value day menu meal on late arrival, Art Deco everywhere was nice, very spacious and room everywhere, location by the canal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor hotel for price we paid..was probably in good condition in 1934 but by now 2017 the whole thing is falling down..ceiling tiles in room missing.doors broken.no bottled water in room.staff unhelpful.really worst hotel we stayed in out of 2 weeks in France

    Very poor hotel for price we paid..was probably in good condition in 1934 but by now 2017 the whole thing is falling down..ceiling tiles in room missing.doors broken.no bottled water in room.staff unhelpful.really worst hotel we stayed in out of 2 weeks in France

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel decor

    Location Location Location. The restaurant La bristro was fav. Excellent options on the menu. A gem of a real french local restaurant with wonderful presentation of food. This is the best tourist eatery in the area ......with the exception of La bonne Demeure which is located inside the citadel. The starters especially the seafood fritters and the foie gras were delicious and the lamb and frogs legs...ummmmmmm. The hotel is run down and shabby and needs a face lift but most important there was plenty of hot water, clean towels , fresh bed linen (room staff were great) room air conditioning and a plentiful breakfast menu. The pool in the lower level was much needed as the temperature reached 40 celsius...(average was 35 celsius for our stay but a lovely cooling breeze abounded especially in the citadel)...a must when you want to cool down in the afternoon after a visit to the citadel or a local chataux

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody on reception when we arived. Bar staff had to finish serving before we were registered. Very dirty bathroom. Mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. Immovable hot/cold tap on the shower. No offer of immediate compensation. management apologised but did not seem very concerned. I cannot believe that these items were not know about before. This is not a 4 star hotel. I do not . often complain but this the poorest service I have had anye in the world. I do not exaggerate

    THe room was quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a very old building large and the rooms were not sound proofed.

    The hotel was a historical building in the centre wonderful entrance and must have been an amazing place but now the rooms needed updating looked a bit tired and grubby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the picture of the hotel is not a true view of this property. I walked by the entrance first without realising and then had to almost climb a mountain to get into the hotel via a very steep step - would not be easy for the elderly or infirm. The decor was 'tired' and again the pictures don't show this. At one time it was probably a very grand hotel but unfortunately a lot of investment is needed to bring it back to it's former glory.

    Good location and the breakfast was very enjoyable with plenty of choice. We liked the little extra touches ie slippers and sweets in the room. The pool was lovely but small.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Owners need to spend on re-decoration.

    Location is very good. Very close to the station, bus to the Cite, Canal du Midi and Place Carnot. Beautiful building first opened in 1914.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything, although can't rate the food as we didn't eat at the Hotel.

    Conveniently lose to the railway station and about a 20 minute walk to the fortress. We loved the ambience of the Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is dated. Like stepping back in time. Bathroom needs updating.

    Lovely young receptionist. Very helpful with good English. Excellent breakfast. Waiter in dining room very pleasant. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, location and the Belle Epoque shabby chic. Although not a 4 star hotel it had a bizarreness and a feel of days gone by that I loved. So many hotels are formulaic and could be anywhere in the world. This is definitely France! I wish more money could be spent on this wonderful hotel to bring it back to its former glory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs updating. This is not a 4star hotel. Breakfast was poor, didn't eat at the hotel as selection was poor, limited menu for evening meals. Mirror in the bathroom was broken and fixed with tape. Could not let water out of bath as the plug got stuck.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom towels etc tired Very squeaky boards

    Proximity to city centre Great for walk along Le Canal du Midi 20 min walk to castle Breakfast not bad No help with luggage

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the top price we paid 99€ we think we were allocated the wrong room. It was small and basic and disappointing.

    Location and Art Deco entrance hall very impressive but unfortunately it was downhill from there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired, particularly the bedrooms and bathrooms. But all were very clean and we felt the price we paid fairly reflected these shortcomings.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some healthy , sugar free breakfast options. Perhaps some fresh flowers in the foyer to brighten up reception.

    Nice old style comfortable hotel very close to Train Station

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly, had to pay for refills of coffee and no milk. When arrived and wanted food was told restaurant full no offer of other options.

    Comfortable bed, hot shower

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were two broken windows, the outer balcony windows would not close, and so the room was cold, and were dirty and paint peeling too. The bed was uncomfortable, the duvet was thin and the central heating was not sufficient (and there was no thermostat to change it. We paid for a Superior room, but it was not worth the money. Photo's of the room are misleading.

    The meal in the restaurant was reasonable, but not very much choice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room did not really come upto a 4 star rating . It was plenty big but you do expect a bit more for the price .

    1 minute walk from the railway station , 50 yards from main shopping street and opposite a small park which had a Xmas fair on it . Lovely entance hall and attentive cleaning staff . The hotel felt like a small palace .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room is looking a bit tired, but it would not put me off staying there again.

    The bed was very comfy, and the shower was lovely and hot. Although the hotel was on a fairly busy street, I did not get disturbed by any outside noise. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at reception were not very friendly and were not prepared to get us a drink while we were waiting. For a four star rated hotel I thought we could have had better.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of lighting in the corridors in the event of an emergency. Its a bit dated but OK for a one night stay. Coffee very expensive, best to have breakfast out plenty of cafes nearby.

    Ideal location for the train station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need an infusion of money, and a lot of it. They are comfortable and nice, but very dated. This isn't a deal-breaker, at all.

    It's an awesome place, reminded me of the grand Budapest hotel! The lobby is a big grand elegant space, with extraordinary tile floors.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were small, no shelves or dressing table therefore nowhere to put toiletries, no shelves in bathroom.

    Easy to find, friendly staff. Impressive building

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dreadful hotel, room was horrible and we could hear everything from the next room. had to listen to their tv for hours. The breakfast the next morning was a fiasco. huge queue for coffee only one machine and no cups.

    only stayed one night

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other than the reception area the whole hotel is 'tatty ,and in need of renovation. (even a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss.).There seemed to be a shortage of staff and those that were there had an attitude problem.eg: when asked if it was possible to buy a fizzy drink was told:- no I'm busy, come back at 6 o'clock The breakfast at 15 euros was poor value, the cooked food was cold orange juice not replenished, tables not cleared. Reception failed to book us a taxi and didn't bother to tell us even though we were sitting in reception waiting for an hour. No apology given,even though we almost missed our flights as a consequence. Bins in the loos and public areas not emptied. The hotel is more like a 1 or at best 2 star, certainly not 4. An expensive but not a good experience. Sorry but never again.

    The location was good and was the reason I booked. Reception area was lovely, very old suggesting a far gone era of elegance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby decor. Bathroom unappealing. Lunch in the brasserie was terrible (as if re-heated from the day before). Not many smiles or courtesies from the staff.

    Breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For that price, breakfast should be included. The temperature of the pool was cold. The carpet has a strange and unpleasant smell. The bed is not comfortable.

    The architecture is awesome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4* experience. The rooms are small and tired and the bathroom was so small that it was a challenge for my 6'2" husband. I didn't feel like a welcome guest - there was a sign in the bathroom to remind us they knew exactly how many towels there were ( as if we'd steal the tiny things) and if we wanted more coffee we could purchase it from reception.Really disappointing experience.

    Looks like a grand building and there's a secure car park across the road. Good coffee for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would love to see.the foyer restored to its original state including furniture stykes

    The fantastic view of the medieval city, the Belle Epoch design of the hotel and the very comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No on site parking but nearby paid public underground.

    Great location near to the railway station, canal and the wonderful walled city of course. Old colonial style hotel with all the grandeur which goes with it. Looking a bit tired but otherwise a great character hotel. Would be happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were initially allocated rooms that were sub-standard to original booking and which had an appalling stench of damp/rotten organic material.

    Friendly efficient staff. Great location for train station and Bastid town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electric sockets in my room wouldn't charge my iPhone. I had to charge from a socket on the landing & sit & wait . At least it charged! Beware!

    Amazing hotel, contemporary standards in 1930's setting. Just like in the movies. Authentic Art Deco Hotel. Pool in basement is very nice. Location can't be beat!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little walk from the castle, it doesn't do bike hire as indicated but thats across the road.

    The hotel was as close as possible to the train station, right in the middle of town. The breakfast was wonderful. It caters for large groups and we were lucky enough to get a front room with views over the park and canals.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This a a beautiful city but from OUR window, we couldn't see it.

    This place had a touch of class. The lobby is huge and striking. The location is central and there was free parking within a short walk.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt musty and also a whiff of cigarette smoke. Some re-decoration would help restore appeal.

    Its location so close to the railway station was the reason we chose it. Nice breakfast and helpful staff. The old style deco is interesting and makes one feel like being in an old movie.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet door handle hanging off, grubby shower curtain, and very thin walls- major snorer next door restricted sleep

    Large room and comfy beds and closeness to town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room, although large, was very basic and had very poor light. Two of the lights did not work and the coffee, tea etc was not always replenished. We were two friends travelling together. We asked for twin beds. We got a single and a double. Not really very equal in terms of comfort. Although the staff were friendly, they were very overstretched and not inclined to help.

    The hotel was very central with easy access to trains, buses and the little train. The room had excellent air conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very shabby and dusty in places, I was seduced by the grand-looking photos and was very disappointed when we arrived and saw the quality of the hotel . The breakfast was basic and uninspiring.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the art neauveau detailing within the Hotel Terminus. Also the tall ceilings and really quiet ac were appealing. The hotel is adjacent to the canal du midi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of cleanliness was poor especially the bedroom,the carpet was well past its life. The decor was dirty,it has revived its basement pool But only one shower for all and services very limited. Breakfasts was busy and run by one person.

    Lovely old art nervou building, Well the main entrance and stair well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Longer term, the hotel needs decorating. As with many hotels the bathroom lighting good be better for applying makeup or shaving.

    Style of the building. Good bathroom & comfortable room.Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was signs in the bathroom stating the staff does an inventory before and after a stay to check that the guest hasn't stolen their towels really annoyed me. I fully expect a hotel to check such things, there's no need to make a guest feel mistrusted by putting up a sign. (And the towels aren't that special) Same with the complimentary tea and coffee - saying that you can buy more if you run out. For a hotel in this price range I'd expect coffee/tea to be complimentary throughout a stay, not a one time thing (I didn’t use any of it). The reception staff wasn't overly friendly. No noise reduction whatsoever, but I wasn't really expecting it from this type of building.

    I liked the breakfast selection and the dining hall. The breakfast staff was nice. The property is located close to the train station and downtown Carcassonne and it's beautiful. It has an old elegance feel to it and it was probably spectacular in its early years. For French hotels in this price range, it's what can be expected.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot food for breakfast was not good. Poorly cooked and not hot enough. The dinner menu was in french only and would have helped to have it in english as well. Few french people seem to have any knowledge of any englsh even though a huge amount of english speaking people visit France. We only found one restaurant with a menu in french and english !!!!!

    We loved our bedroom - bed extra comfy and a lovely quiet room. Near railway station and bus stop. The weather was beautiful which was a huge plus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building, very old everything, room was tiny, dirty. I saw mold on the wall. The bed was sink in the middle, it's just too OLD!! They should have changed everything!! I definitely hated it! Terrible wardrobes and dirty floors. The worst 4 star hotel in my life. Everybody should avoid it. This hotel will give you a nightmare. The staffs were nice, but the owner should feel shame about the hotel. And the price is very expensive, it's cheaper to book the hotel from the hotel than booking.com. Booking.com didn't show the real price on the website. I'm very angry about it! Just don't book!!!!

    Location was ok, but Carcassonne is small.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the pancakes at the breakfast buffet were each time cold.

    This hotel has a good situation in the new city and is only 25 minutes walking of Carcasonne old town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night but it was a great central location, within walking distance of the shops, bars and cafés, as well as the Cité de Carcassonne. Hotel has an old world charm and you can imagine that it would have been a very grand place to stay when it first opened. It was useful having an on-site car park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid for a Superior room and were first given a room on the 3rd floor - I literally walked in and straight out again. The bathroom resembled a Bedsit I once lived in age 18, tatty broken tiles, sink cracked, no bath just a shower with curtain. The toilet was located next to the bed in what can only be described as an old cupboard! The second room allocated was on the second floor, a slight improvement on cleanliness and decor although I don't think it had had a re-fit since the 80's. I picked the hotel because it had an indoor pool/sauna. The floor in the changing rooms and shower areas were so filthy I didn't even want to walk in there barefooted. So we never bothered using this. The hotel has the potential of being something grand and unique but nothing short of a few £million will sort out! Save your money and book the Great Western instead - far better location and much cleaner hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of updating tiles , grouting etc in shower room? Overall decoration, as a tad tatty. Would not give 4 stars, as my priorities are not swimming pool, but general decor. €129 B and B per night , expected more.

    Lovely foyer.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning very poor, no fridge in rooms, way too expensive at 110 euros per nite for room.

    Location superb for restaurants bars shops and train station also for bike hire

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has a real good feeling but is let down by some of the aging decor.

    A good hotel but needs some upgrades to the rooms (paint etc) staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Not far from the Citadel. Great for town centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was "hostel" standard not the advertised 4 Star. I had to rearrange the chipboard furniture to allow the wardrobe door to open. Bedrooms need a make over.

    Location and sense of arrival in the grand reception hall

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: