Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'herbier d'Orange 2 stars

8 place aux Herbes, 84100 Orange, France

#8 of 28 hotels in Orange

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 366 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and shower room were both small, the decoration and furniture felt cheap - purple walls! Our room was a long dark walk from reception up and down stairs through doors and narrow corridors. Felt a bit like a youth hostel. It did'nt get in the way of our enjoyment of the stay though.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not well ventilated. Bathroom small and the shower with water w/o pressure enough at 2nd floor. The decor of the room does not honor la France. Too bad having such space et location without investing in all rooms equally. The floor carpet not clean. I won't repeat this experience. The parking is not so handy but it is understandable being in an old city.

    The position closed to Theater Antique.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not onsite if you have a car but it is only a short drive away

    Friendly staff, comfortable clean room in a good location to walk everywhere you want to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice decor in comfortable, very clean room but next time would choose a superior double to have a larger window on pretty square! Exc breakfast in cheery room! Helpful and friendly owner!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was great

    Super location in the heart of town. No parking on site but for 5 Euro you can park in a nearby garage. 2 minutes walk from the roman theatre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is strictly bed and breakfast, but there are plenty of places to eat close by.

    The breakfast was typical of France and quite good. The location could not be better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was all good. Just be aware of the front desk not being open all the time when you make your travel arrangements

    nice location in a small sqaure at the centre of the town right next to the arena. bit of a hike from the station but not to far and a simple route. Staff were friendly and let us check in early because of our train times although some days the hotel was closed until 3 (as it says) so I am not sure if we were just lucky. Very close to the roman theatre and lots of good eating places. A small town so all locations would be good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property would be absolutely tops if car access were more manageable. The GPS could not find the hotel, and then access was very narrow. We had to unload our necessaries and then drive the car to a car-park (well arranged by the hotel) and walk back. To leave we had to trundle our luggage back to the car park, re-park the car somewhere and take the access fob back to the hotel!!

    Spacious, comfortable, interestingly old, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    We were delayed on our arrival, so we communicated with Nathalie, who went the extra miles and let us in after the long-overdue check-in hours (for only a little extra charge but for a huge sacrifice on her end). So a big thank you to her and the support team from Booking.com The hotel is located in the old town of the city of Orange, with an easy access from the parking. Great restaurants, great city to spend the July 13 / 14 festivities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit awkward. You need to park your car about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. This is not the fault of the hotel, rather the layout of the city.

    This is a wonderful hotel. Large comfortable rooms, excellent staff and great breakfast - the crepes were really special. The location is perfect, with all sites and restaurants in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chic in the " France profonde". Useful attention to needed details: light, connection, comfy sleep, silent ventilation, enough space for 2 persons, good breakfast, pleasant, helpful owneress. Perfect cleanness. Adjacent to the impressive Roman theatre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this facility in the town was great, but by car it's a bit of a hassle. We were directed to drive to the property to pick up the parking pass we had reserved. We arrived after 7, and at that time they raise barriers in the road to make it a pedestrian-only area. We didn't know that, and found it very difficult to get to the hotel, with either blocked or one-way roads. We ended up parking a few blocks away and walking in. I was thankful that I had looked at the location from street view in Google Maps or I never would have found it. The hotel was very clear that you can't check in after 9pm, and since we were there for an event, we had to leave early to check in.

    We were visiting Orange for a wedding and wish we had booked more time here. It is such a cute town that we could have wandered through for a couple of days! The staff here is very friendly and kind. We loved that the rooms had electric shutters to block out all light for the morning. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It's an old building, but the rooms are modern. The town feels very safe. There were three couples attending the wedding all staying here. We had to check in by 9pm, and it was great that they allowed one couple to pick up the keys for all three, so the others could stay at the event.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic hotel, no real facilities but great value for money

    A great little hotel in the middle of town quite basic and not luxurious but is great value for money Staff were very helpful and friendly breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was relatively small and the shower booth was not spacious. We had to wait a few minutes to have hot water.

    The property was very close to the Roman theater. Street parking is possible nearby. There are lots of restaurants around the hotel although prices are relatively high.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sloped just a little to the middle. It was not a major problem though.

    Our hostess was lovely.She was extremely welcoming and helpful. Her advice on local restaurants was great. Everyone in Orange was really polite and pleasant. There was a lovely feeling of community due to the local Christmas activities and decorations.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    Very comfortable beds, interesting old building, extremely helpful and friendly owner. Breakfast was excellent. Central position in the town, near to interesting sights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We received a warm welcome from Nathalie and her daughter upon arrival to Orange. The hotel is in a great location and having parking nearby is a great plus. The rooms are comfortable and spotless. Breakfast is delicious with plenty of choices. Nathalie's homemade croissants melt in your mouth. We stayed two nights. One day we did the loop visiting the villages of the Cotes du Rhone - experienced the market day on Tuesday in Vaison-la-Romaine - great fun! Hiked up to the ruins in Seguret. The Roman Theater in Orange is amazing to see. As a special treat we had a delicious dinner at the Au Petit Patio in Orange one evening.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps notification that we were arriving on a market day -- Thursday -- and that off-loading baggage would be difficult. I would also drop the restaurant A la Maison from L'Herbier's recommendations: having been a professional critic for decades, I can say that it doesn't deserve the custom it gets.

    Excellent hostess. Fine breakfast. Brilliant position. Big, well-lit room. Modern but not chi-chi old-fashioned French, which so many small hotels fall into the bad habit of being. This is a great place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is probably impossible due to the historic state of the building, an elevator would have been good.

    Friendly staff, authentic hotel, amazing location. Value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning in one room but not the other. No onsite parking but public parking very close.

    lovely welcome, great staff and a fantastic location. Good choice of restaurants but some are over priced and the amphitheatre is amazing. Close to everything you need and quiet at night despite being right in the centre

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot park at the hotel, not even to unload. The street is too narrow. So one just blocks the sparse traffic while quickly unloading stuff to the lobby. Then one drives the car to an underground garage where parking for 5 Euros a day has been arranged. Our room was abit small, but totally adequate. One needs to be able to walk up stairs.

    The location in the old town is superb, almost adjacent to the antique Roman theatre. The owners are super friendly and helpful, the breakfast good, air conditioning and internet work, the view from the room into an inner courtyard garden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The small 'boutique' hotel is located on a small square in the old town, very close to the antique theatre. It has a sitting area at the front to take breakfast or coffee. The room was very spacious and light. Comfortable, good value, and lovely friendly managers.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the shower and bathroom don't reach all the way to the ceiling which is awful - you have no privacy in the shower or bathroom, very noisy in the room when someone else takes a shower or flushes, and if you turn the light on in the shower/bathroom - it lights the room. Also bad tv reception - Was impossible to watch some channels.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom might be a little bigger, but anyhow still good value for money.

    Extremely friendly owners. Location. Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. No English news channels on TV

    Good bed large room , eager staff. Great location. Great coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet location easily accessed by car. Very clean and comfortable and the owners were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location, quite and comfortable. Though 8mins walking from the parking, a discount is provided from the hotel (5 eur for one night).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ikea-themed furnishings in room

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Helpful staff. Able to park a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the small room upstairs

    Very beautiful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor coffee.

    Fresh, clean, great locale.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just basic of everything and of course just small cost of accomadation you get what you pay for

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful desk staff. Good dinner suggestions. Immaculate room and bath.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ----

    Friendly staff. Atmosphere of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower room was small, the shower cubicle was very small and neither of us are fat !

    The bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was adequate but not spacious.

    Very attentive friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very well placed in the centre of town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and the entrance to the room was tricky/awkward.

    Central location, pleasant garden area, helpful staff. We will return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room very cramped and inadequate.

    Excellent location very helpful owner Breakfast good value at 9 euros each

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet room despite very central location Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window needs a screen so that mosquitos don't come in

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel in the heart of orange with plentiful breakfast and a lively host !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged full price for breakfast that was not available. Car parking to far away.

    Staff were so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Close to all the places of interest. Very friendly and helpful staff. Traditional Saturday morning market was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I'd loved it all

    I have 3 criteria location ambiance and price this hotel scored high on all three a charming hotel right in the centre of Orange Foran excellent price best value for money in 3 months in France

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast unimaginative and no decaf coffee Hard to find hotel in labyrinth of town centre one way system

    Central location Friendly and helpful staff Lovely room

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If visiting with a car, be prepared for some inconvenience, due to the one-way system and the secure public car parking is 5 minutes walk away.

    Great location in terms of proximity to Tourist Office, restaurants and the Roman theatre. The breakfast room is also very pleasant, bright and well organised.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is fantastic. Within a block of the theatre. Lots of good restaurants near. Reception was very helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Getting to the hotel can be a bit difficult on the narrow streets, that sometimes are closed to cars. Suggest parking in nearby lot (a couple of blocks) and walking. Stairs could be an issue for some guests. No elevators.

    Comfortable and in the heart of town near everything. Great value for the price, especially for families.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had only booked for 2 nights .... very convenient location so would stay longer another time

    Our host, Natalie, was very welcoming and friendly. The location was excellent, though tricky to find the first time. Great to have the public car park close by so that we didn't have to negotiate the narrow streets. The room was spacious for the three of us and we had a very pleasant stay. Breakfast in the little square outside was a real treat.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The night we stayed there, there was a outdoor concert in the square. The staff warned us and provided earplugs. (the band suck, by the way) It was unseasonably hot while we were there, so the comfort of airconditioning was missed - especially since this meant we needed to leave the window open for fresh air (and that the band sucked). One couple in our party had a room that looked straight at a brick wall, and our bathroom had only partition walls that did not go to the ceiling. Awkward.

    This hotel was smack in the middle of where you want to be. Great place to find restaurants, or wander around sightseeing. Old structures - Arc de Triumphe, Roman Theatre - are minutes away by foot. We did not move the car once during our stay, but it also was a couple of blocks away in a city car parking lot.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic location in the centre of the old city, extremely friendly owners, helpful and smart, bautiful room, comfortable, breakfast in the private garden

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible restroom!!! you will find roach! I do not know how the hotel reception can keep arguing and refusing to admit this! please do not forget to take a photo for debating when you find roach or others. it is a nightmare!

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    manca un posto dedicato allo scarico delle valigie dall'auto

    la posizione centrale dell'albergo, l'arredo della camera era piacevole in tono con la Provenza

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience, however, the bathroom in room 12 was a little cramped.

    Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is centrally located with access to secure public parking, located 3 mins walk away. Premises are spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are excellent value for money, compared to the norm, and the owners put their own personal touch with hot crepes.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room felt a little bit run down and could do with a small renovation / upgrade to meet current standards.

    Very friendly reception, location right in the heart of the old town and spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower is quite small. Would be nice bonus to have a coffee station or fridge facility to keep at least cold water.

    Pleasant smell, modern colours, cleanliness, effective air-condition to cool down in hot weather and friendly staff. Style full serving of breakfast. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loading and unloading luggage is a challenge if you are use to more pavement and wider streets, otherwise locals understand and patiently wait. Bathroom was a little tight for two people.

    A stone throw from the Roman ruins,museum, good restaurants and fun tourist shops. The owner is energetic, extremely helpful and offered a delicious breakfast with crepes. We got the last room which was quiet and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Standard double room was a little basic with cold tile floor which could have been a little warmer with carpeting or rugs. Otherwise all very convenient and comfortable.

    Helpful manager who took the time to sought out car rental problem.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful owners, ask them where to eat! Contact them before you arrive & they will reserve a parking space at a nearby car park.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The hotel also arranged discounted parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is perfect, walking distance for everything important what you could see

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable beds, lady at desk very friendly and professional.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location very near the Roman Amphitheatre. Lovely couple run the hotel, very helpful. Excellent room, very clean, quirky hotel, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location Friendly welcome Helpful staff Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old fashioned rooms

    Position in town is great

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location at a terrific price

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was in a great location central to the amphitheatre.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Feel it needs a renovation!

    Excellent hotel staff & location.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, welcoming & attentive hosts. Thanks for the tip on where to jog in the local area complete with magnificent views over the Theatre!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel in a great location and super friendly owners who made us feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simply fantastic.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: