Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais du Silence Les Vignes de la Chapelle 4 stars

5, rue de La Manne, 17740 Sainte-Marie-de-Ré, France

#11 of 17 hotels in Sainte-Marie-de-Ré

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 120 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Rather disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Garden Side 1-2 People
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom window looked straight into the car park. Tired looking accommodation. Uncomfortable dining chairs that were garden furniture and belonged outside. Very close proximity to neighbours and a lack of privacy.

    Staff friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Longe and breakfast area were attractive. Nice pool. Peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing area, great swimming pool and a good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Garden Side 1-2 People
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration of the living room and bathroom was not classy and outdated. The couch in the living room was not comfortable and it did not look clean. The cabinets in the kitchen area were closed with a key, I asked the reception for the key who informed me you needed to pay a supplement to use the cupboards - I find this unacceptable in a Relais du Silence and would change that policy.

    The bed was comfortable, clean, the swimming pool was great, plus it was really calm, very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.6
    Ambiguous experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft 2 People
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception and breakfast service close to being ignorant Breakfast was closed without prior notice No noticeable interest in guest‘s well-being Less than one-star service for four-star price

    Cleaning staff friendly and professional Silent surrounding

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Pretentious and over-rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were basic and dated. Minimal comfort. No added extras. Atmosphere was pretentious and made you feel like you had to walk around whispering to each other.

    As a family of five we were expecting to sit together however we were told on the first morning that this would not be possible as the management preferred the tables of two or four and tables could not be put together!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and peaceful weekend in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic room 1-2 People
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no air con and it was very hot. Not really practical to have the doors open as it was on the ground floor

    The location was superb, surrounded by vines. Pool area was lovely, plenty of shade and sun beds and really lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Very fine stay but nothing to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic room 1-2 People
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out is 11am and there is 60 euros charge for late check out The Jacuzzi closes at 8pm The room equipment is quite cheap The shower doesn't have much water pressure

    There is a Jacuzzi, a hammam and sauna The breakfast is simple but very good The place is quiet There is a parking The staff is very nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Spacious and lovely terrace, very clean, well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Cote Mer 1-2 Personnes
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They charge you for every extra, onsite parking, to use the kitchenette in your room, breakfast, the bike hire was twice that of local rates. I don't mind paying for extras but it is not a cheap hotel, charging to use a kitchenette seemed a little steep.

    Spacious and lovely terrace, very clean, well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    2.5
    Never again! Not a 4* hotel. Totally overprized!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft 4 People
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed 6 nights. Drastically over-prized. Is not a 4* hotel at all. Cheap construction and low quality materials, I have never seen anything similar in another 4* hotel. Unfriendly staff (never smiling). Standard answer is: No, we do not ... WLAN is weak. Standard breakfast. No cappucchino or scrambled eggs available. No lunch or dinner available. "Restaurant", breakfast room and lobby are located in one single room. Small rooms. Cleaning means to water the floor, not more. And so on ...

    Situated in a quiet environment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Garden Side 1-2 People
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and spoke English when required

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice eco friendly hotel adjoining acres of vineyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic room 1-2 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with Wc directly off room

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice swimming pool and pretty garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful location for a week’s tour of Isle de Re.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Garden Side 1-2 People
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Welcoming members of staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Tranquil setting with very nice staff. Not for family with kids IMO.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodge Garden Side 1-2 People
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic room 1-2 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    ...overlooking the wine yards and very close to the beach. Great pool facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge Garden Side 3-4 People
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People their wanted peace and tranquility - understandably this doesn't mix well with kids

    Nice vibe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Good standard- very clean. Good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charges for tea and coffee

    Lovely Kong size bed v comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    A fantastic retreat on the idyllic Ile de Re
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft (5 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi connection in our room

    The location and view from the terrace is lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    5.8
    Very disappointed swimming poor extremely small unable to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No food except microwaveable ready meals. Pool unable to cater for guests . Sunbeds unable to cater for guests. Breakfast basic. No english TV channel many other languages available. No bar no restuarant. Did not feel like a hotel. Unable to get a taxi on first night so my husband had no dinner because it was raining and we had no coats to cycle to local Restuarant. ( he does not eat microwaveable meals)

    Very disappointed swimming poor extremely small unable to access it because other families using it. No english TV channel, every other language. No food available rxcept microwaveable ready meals, basic breakfast not good value for money. What did we like 2 seats outside our room in small garden. O and bikes to cycle for breakfast in local village.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.5
    Difficult, if not impossible, to use the wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Difficult, if not impossible, to use the wifi. We needed to go the the public lounge to download mail, etc. the 2 people in our group who needed to work found that very confining

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.8
    The room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were given a leaflet in French not English and had not been advised when the cleaners would be attending - it turns out it was 9am! If we had been given a leaflet in English or this had been pointed out we could have worked around it (even though this is very early for a holiday!). We also asked for breakfast for one day but, perhaps due to language barriers, this was logged as the full week which meant we were woken up early the next day (as well as by the cleaners). However these issues were remedied straightaway very professionally and the rest of our short stay was very pleasant. The room did seem cheap but as the parking was added on top (perhaps to make the rooms appear cheaper) and with the city tax and breakfast it did not turn out to be as cheap as anticipated. The gardener was very noisy (used a chainsaw rather than a hedge cutter to cut a small hedge and very early in the morning) but apart from this the hotel was generally quiet.

    The room; the bed; the bathroom; the staff; cleanliness; the quietness (except for a few issues as explained)

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No aircon

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable clean self-contained accommodation with hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Comfortable clean self-contained accommodation with hotel facilities at hand to use as much as you wish. Good spot with views over vineyards to sea.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: