Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of A L'ancienne Poste 2 stars

82, Rue Principale, 68390 Battenheim, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Battenheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Great value, convenient location, relaxing place for overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for our overnight stop on the way from Italy to the ferry port in Ijmuden. Room was clean and comfortable, bathroom spotless with a big bath. Restaurant on site was great, had a very tasty dinner, staff were welcoming and friendly, plenty of parking in the hotel car park. We thought it was excellent value for money and made for a relaxing, easy overnight stay at a location easy to access, being not far from the motorway but in a quiet village setting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful church opposite has a clock ...... which chimes every 15 minutes and on the hour. If you are a light sleeper and in one of the church-facing rooms this could be an issue. For use it was no problem as the excellent double glazing takes the edge off and tiredness did the rest!

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. We arrived by motorbike and all hard-standing parking was taken, so they went out of their way to find suitable parking that turned out to be undercover as well! After a long day in the saddle this was much appreciated. We loved the church opposite - Look out for the nest at the top of the spire and resident stork!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Cute place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is quite expensive and not proportional to the dinner prices.

    It is a lovely little hotel off the main track but worth to go to. Close to the A35 motorway. Superb restaurant, Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Good place to rest while traveling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, we had a good diner and a good night rest.

    Perfect to stay a night from/to Italy, very friendly hosts, clean rooms, good wifi and the restaurant at the hotel is very nice too, serving typical french food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    A good quality hotel at a very competitive price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we only stayed one night, we cannot think of anything negative to say about l'ancienne Poste.

    Staff were really helpful and the cost per night only £45 (approx). The menu did not have a vast choice but the food was was well cooked from high quality ingredients. The room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The hotel was easy to find and access to the autoroute was simple.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Wonderful - highly recommend - easy for wheelchairs too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely inn in a charming town, impeccable condition, excellent for wheelchair access, free parking on site, delicious dinner (very large portions!), beautiful outdoor terrace, nice and helpful people, storks in a nest on top of the church directly across the street, midway between Basel & Strasbourg. We didn't have time for breakfast, sadly. We had booked 2 rooms for 3 of us, but when we arrived we were given a triple and a double so we asked if we could just use the triple - we didn't insist, she let us decide, so we just used the triple and it ended up being a very affordable stay as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A charming little hotel with the added bonus of excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Helpful staff and excellent al fresco evening meal at the hotel's unpretentious restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very welcoming with great hosts, friendly locals and superb food.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rustic charm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    arrived via motorcycle and welcomed by owner and staff. Food cooking at 4 pm smelled great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hepful staff, good evening meal, continental breadkfast (no egg) but good quality food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    No English channels on TV, not even a news channel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English channels on TV, not even a news channel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all good..

    excellent hotel, very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Fments after a long driveulfilled our rerquire
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included, dated decoration

    Bed was comfy, large room, pets welcome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Dinner and breakfast were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner and breakfast were excellent. A very convenient, quiet location for a stop over.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    perfect doorreishotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect doorreishotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel with lots of flowers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picturesque and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.0
    Perfect stopover on our way to Italy with our grandsons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect stopover on our way to Italy with our grandsons.Lovely meal in restaurant and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    Great little stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot

    Super friendly staff Beautiful property in lovely village Great food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    7.5
    fine location for our trip to Italy, good meal and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fine location for our trip to Italy, good meal and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location, nearby market etc.
    • Family with older children

    Wifi only one device at a time (with the code)... That could be improved!

    Excellent location, nearby market etc. Perfect for a night stay on the road. Excellent location near the french/german/swiss border. Very nice owners in a charming Alsace house. I would stay again :) by the way excellent shower and bath.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.3
    We have stayed there on 3 or 4 previous occasions and have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed there on 3 or 4 previous occasions and have been happy to return having found it to be great value for money and ideally located for our purpose.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    6.3
    Nice warm rooms as freezing outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Average for the money

    Nice warm rooms as freezing outside

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    Nice accomodation and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice accomodation and helpful staff. Asked if I could just have bowl of soup for supper. No probs and delicious. Beyond delicious in fact.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.9
    Stayed here 4 or 5 times previously so like the familiarity...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed here 4 or 5 times previously so like the familiarity and convenience of location en route to Italy. Feels homely rather than corporate.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    excellent hotel used it several times on the way to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    excellent hotel used it several times on the way to Italy

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.6
    Excellent food , very quite hotel , feel home immediately.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food , very quite hotel , feel home immediately.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly staff Excellent food Clean Excellent location Beautiful at Christmas

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse A L'ancienne Poste traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: