Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Logis Auberge Des Moissons 3 stars

8, Route Nationale Rd3, 51510 Matougues, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Matougues

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 713 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have never liked the breakfast here, it costs 11 euros and is a shame as its a crush and very uninspiring ....we normally drive for an hour and then stop for really good coffee and croissants..... shame as everything else is perfection. If you are lucky enough to stay in the other property/chateau, the breakfast is calm and wonderful with great fresh coffee.

    The dinner experience here is "superb" some of the most unpretentious delicious food we have ever eaten and Champagne at amazing prices, served without nonsense, just sheer class. Our waitress ( who has served us before) is delightful, and is a joy to watch as she is a professional and just attentive enough....will will return. Thank you The star of the show is Honey...the truffle dog, she makes my heart sing XX

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was airless. No means of drying towels in the bathroom. No individual lists of items eaten in the dining room to agree on the night. No check on taking breakfast so final bill difficult to check and overcharging very easy.

    Swimming pool great. Several individual areas with seating to have a drink al fresco. Good parking with gate locked at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 116. Whilst very big, the shower was not very powerful given the size of the shower room. Bigger towels would have also been nice. No air con either but a fan was available which helped.

    Great place to stopover. Good location, near to the motorway but not noisy at all. Rooms are very big and comfortable - if you don’t have a dog the suite is extremely good value. There is a lovely swimming pool to enjoy and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good too. A great find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms had no hot beverage facilities so we had to ask at the bar for coffee and tea, which was inconvenient. The restaurant in the hotel was the only place to eat locally therefore, whilst the food quality was reasonable, the menu was not extensive and, in our opinion, was rather expensive due to the fact that the owners traded on their other business of truffles.

    The hotel is easy to find from the motorway and is quite satisfactory for an overnight stay whilst travelling. The breakfast was good. The bedroom was well appointed with a comfortable bed. The hotel in general was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was a disappointment, the steaks were of poor quality and over cooked. The restaurant was trying to be something it’s clearly not!

    We were located in the annexe which was very nice. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast choice was above average.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suggestions.

    This was our third visit. It is ideal for our frequent trips to visit family in Geneva. We wouldn’t consider anywhere else. The dinner is superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely big room, comfortAble and large bed, giving onto a well maintained closed courtyard. The restaurant was outstanding and very fairly priced: superb crab and mango first course, perfect sweetbreads, beautiful lightly cooked veal, good cheeses. And a very well chosen short wine list, at affordable prices. In a part of France where really good hotels are, oddly given the appeal of Reims, hard to find. We shall certainly return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy access from the motorway. An amazingly clean bathroom. I thought the bed was very comfy, my companion thought it was too hard, different tastes. Nice breakfast and a good restaurant attached. Open on a Monday too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea making facilities and the total Sunday evening shutdown

    Friendly staff, well organised auberge. Great rural location for exploring the region.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in room brochure showed 3 English TV programmes but they were not there channel 60 advertised as BBC 1 was in Chinese!

    Lovely room - comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of the meal was a little pricey - as was the breakfast.

    The bed was really comfortable and the bedroom was clean and welcoming. The staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food and service in the restaurant is good, but not gourmet. We'd describe it as 'fine', so not for 'foodies'. But the daily menu of 4 courses for 28€ is good and afterall you get what you pay for, so good value

    it is a short drive off the A26 so easy to find and not far off our route to the Alps. Clean rooms set around a little garden, so ideal if you have young children or dogs . It is off the main road, but very quiet. Convenient to have the champange & truffle shop on site too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything immaculate. Large bedroom & large, very comfortable bed with superior quality sheet, duvet cover. Very easy to reach direct from the autoroute + 1 mile..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard room was a bit cold and clinical . We did not like the saloon doors to the bathroom. Otherwise our room was good with a comfortable bed and adequate facilities.

    Friendly staff, with very good restaurant and good facilities. The hotel is easy to reach from the A26 and makes an excellent stopover. Parking was easy and safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annex next to railway with odd sound barrier. Tea and coffee facilities in lounge but none in room.

    Location near motorway and Epernay. Annex secluded and well appointed. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase in family room can be a bit steep for little ones. No inside lock in bedrooms.

    As always, a very pleasant and convenient hotel to stay for a stopover during our family holiday. Perfect with little or big kids due to large family rooms, very good restaurant, lovely breakfast, great champagne purchases, very friendly staff, efficient WiFi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You always get a great welcome. The room is great for the family - duplex with them in their own room. Lovely reception and bar. Great customer service and GREAT restaurant. Really can't recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic family rooms, lovely hotel very close to main route through France. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful when friends had car trouble. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more fresh fruit/vegetables on offer with the evening meal would be very nice.

    Relaxed yet attentive staff who were efficient without being fussy. Good wine list. comfortable rooms. Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fire (even fake) in the entrance area in the amazing fireplace would make a very welcoming addition, and present as a much friendlier area.

    We liked the way the menu in the restaurant was set out and the drinks menu, with a glass of wine to match each course followed by a delicious coffee to end the meal. Breakfast was wonderful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for dogs with somewhere to walk them and with rooms close to the car and garden. It is close enough to visit Epernay for dinner if the restaurant is fully booked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner !! We had the top menu and it was awful compared to all the other years we visited this hotel. Maybe they have a different Chef now. Charged for two breakfasts automatically without them asking, and we only had one for my husband. OK my fault for not checking the bill carefully. They often do this in France and probably make a lot of money from people not realising !

    A good stop over hotel and the rooms had been recently redecorated. We have visited this hotel many times and is good value for money. However, we now book hotels in a different class and are a little disenchanted. Still highly recommend if you are on a tight budget, it is a friendly hospitable clean and nice place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meals & wines expensive & no other options nearby. Swing doors between sleeping & shower room not a good idea if sharers are not very good friends

    Breakfast selection of fresh fruit, breads, preserves etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is very pleasant, clean accommodation, with a very nice atmosphere. The helpful staff made it a welcoming place for me to stop, and along with friends, we had a most pleasant evening eating in the dining room and drinking champagne (of course!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike!

    We stay here when we are in the area, helpful staff, good value and wonderful food in the restaurant, sublime maigre with bulgar wheat risotto.... And we love the presentation and choice of cheese on the cheese trolley, served with lightly dresses leaves and crushed walnuts, wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swing doors from the bedroom to the shower room do not give enough privacy for travelers who are not very good friends or perhaps older & more modest

    At breakfast there was a very good selection of fresh foods such as fruit, breads & preserves. The main dining room has a lovely farm house theme, using old tools & items from the family's home

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to motorway; easy parking; friendly & welcoming staff (good English); large motel style rooms around landscaped courtyard; comfortable 6 feet bed; good breakfast 11euro; very good restaurant, logis menu 28euro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice on the children's menu as limited to 1 choice.

    Fantastic family room, loved the separate upstairs room for children. The restaurant is great with a good menu, delicious food. Lovely breakfast with a good range of choice. As you would expect from the area an extensive choice of champagne and a good wine list. The hotel is easy to reach from the motorway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?? A kettle and a tea bag in the bedroom for when one arrives, but this is very English!

    Eveything, and that is why we come back year after year. ( the friendly staff, the swimming pool, being able to sit outside the room in the garden before supper, the walks with our dog, and the fact they are happy to keep a few things in the fridge and freezer for us over night.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking forward to using the pool after a long drive. The weather wasn't fantastic but it was pleasantly warm, yet the pool was closed.

    The restaurant was excellent - we had a superb dinner, though we hadn't realised we would have to book on a weekday, and had to be served - as did another family - in the breakfast room - not that this mattered. There was a very friendly truffle-hunting chocolate Labrador wandering about, and a nice little courtyard garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location near the motorway. Rooms very spacious and clean, beds very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking for trailer and car secure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit miserly with shower wash in the bathroom and no towel rails to dry towels should you feel the need to shower a couple of times on an overnight stay.

    Easy access from the motorway; good car parking area around the buildings. Good size reception area with comfortable seating and a bar. Clean, good sized, rooms around a planted courtyard with some outside seating. Well run hotel with attentive staff. Good food. Very popular venue in August ; for locals, as well as motorway travellers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults found!

    Great family room, children sleep separately upstairs, might not suit families with younger children. Evening meal excellent, choice of menus. Lots of variety at breakfast. 5 minutes off the motorway. Our 3rd visit, and great stopover on the way back to Blighty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, rather than great. Wifi needed a LAN cable in the rooms, which isn't much use to an iPhone user, also wifi worked well in main hotel. This is definitely a place for a short overnight on the way to somewhere else, but it is a comfortable, clean, good value short stay, and we'd certainly stay again.

    This is an excellent place for a short stay. The dinner is excellent (they offer a range of a la carte menus at four different price points). The breakfast is also good. The location is pleasant, and has a lovely little garden in the modern courtyard which we really enjoyed. It has BBC1 and 2 which was an unexpected plus, and so welcome to English travelers who had been away from home for a long time. Staff also spoke much better English than we spoke French!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and close to the motorway (few minutes drive). The on site restaurant is very good. The breakfast choice was excellent. The hotel is dog friendly (note: pets are not allowed in the restaurant or breakfast room).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like our stay at all, it has been the worst ever, here are the reasons: The toilet didn't work properly from the moment we arrived in the room, even after 4 times that we reported it during the day and evening, the staff would say it was fixed and when checking it again, the water was always running and it finally stopped working at 11pm when there was no longer anyone at the lobby to help out! So we called an emergency number and they didn't solve our problem either, so I couldn't sleep all night worrying about the fact of having to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night without it working (at the time I was with a condition where I have to go several times during the night); I had to use the bathroom during the night and making it run by using a trash can full of water to flush it!! Those are no conditions to sleep in, specially if you have to pay for the night 125euros. The shower top came off several times, it smelled bad in the shower and the water didn't flow well when having a shower, it was disgusting. The day after we talked again to the person at the reception (there's no one with a higher rank in charge or available to solve the customers' problems) and asked for a discount on the rate or something for our troubles, but he wasn't able to offer anything but an apology which we think wasn't enough to cover for the bad night we had. We will definitely never return. Pool: it was too cold for young kids and there was no service of food or drink there since it's a separate area from the hotel, and you can't bring your own food or drinks, not comfortable at all.

    The food at the restaurant was very good, nice presentation, very good cheese cart!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air con but it was very hot this time. Sometimes can be noisy - with people sitting and talking outside the rooms.

    Very good restaurant - a handy stop over on way south and return. We have stayed here often and menu changes regularly. Rooms are large and comfortable. Good value for money. Handy bar too. Breakfasts have improved and now have a very good choice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in very compact square with little sound proofing. Optional breakfast expensive.

    Good location for overnight stopover, close to both nearby motorways. Nice restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner, always before excellent, but meat on our main course was tough and inedible. However, this was addressed very readily after informing the owner, and a much better piece of steak was presented.

    Easy access to autoroute. Good parking. Comfy large bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a stale smell in the upstairs bedroom of our duplex room. Due to that my son was not happy to sleep there so we had to share the master bed.

    Good location. Lots of attention to details. Very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle in the room. But staff were obliging with giving me jugs of hot water when I asked.

    Great location for travelling down south. Perfect stop off point

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We used hotel as stop over point in journey home and facilities were excellent for that. Enjoyed a quiet morning around the pool before continuing our journey. Location seemed to be in the middle of no where but we didn't really have time to explore much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar facilities on a Sunday evening. Perhaps some way of obtaining a simple beer?

    Room facilities very good, Breakfast very good. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the room was weak and I wish the room had an air-conditioner, because it was too hot to sleep.

    Very cozy and calm environment; great staff. Very convenient location, perfect for exploring Champagne. Dinner at a hotel restaurant is absolutely worth a try.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We very much enjoyed our short stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the room, one of the exterior suites, was very spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was a state of the art modern design. The food in the hotel was excellent and reasonably priced. We also enjoyed the small pool. We would definitely stay there again. It was definitely excellent value for the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better air-con, but to be fair it was extremely hot at the time of our visit.

    Everything. Good value for money. Clean modern accommodation. Friendly staff. Restaurant food exquisite and well presented. Nice beer too!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was stuffy during the night as aircon seemed to go off. Reception area though lovely had a bit of a smell of drains.

    Great restaurant. Room was comfortable though air on seemed to switch itself if making it quite warm at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to go. Lovely hotel. Great staff. Nice grounds with a patio and small swimming pool and long chairs. Great breakfast with lots of options. Nice spacious and comfortable room. Separated toilets. Large bathroom with good shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient for the autoroute. The pool was most welcome after a long drive. Bedroom was cool in very hot weather and we were pleased that a fan was also provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website promises that a 'superior' room (which we booked for) is on the ground floor and the entire unit is wheelchair accessible, which usually means sensible, broad spaces. However, the suite (which we were allocated) is not wheelchair accessible because of its narrow corridors and tiny lavatory space. We do not actually need wheelchair access, but if you do then the suite would not be appropriate. The bedroom was good, but our stay was completely ruined by having a large painting on the bedroom wall that clearly (although slightly abstracted) depicted a murder scene: a naked female torso heavily splashed with blood, partially covered with bedclothes, and a man's face peering and leering from the side. I mentioned this to the check-out person next morning, but he seemed to think it was just 'an artwork'. The psycho-pathology of the artist needs to be investigated before a real murder is committed (if it has not already). A repulsive 'artwork' that could alarm anyone staying there - in an unfamiliar room and location. How could the proprietor have chosen it?

    Located in a small, quiet village, very convenient for stop-over from motorway. We booked a 'superior room' but were allocated a suite. It had a lounge, bedroom (very big bed), bathroom and lavatory. The lounge was gloomy. The bathroom was large. The evening meal was OK: very nice starters and desserts but main course was uninspired duck and potato.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location for a stopover end route to the south. Everything on ground floor therefore easy to bring in luggage.Impressive restaurant with very good interesting food. Spacious and well equipped bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms had a slightly bleak feel, and the attention to quality in the restaurant was poor.

    Room was a little cheerless but had everything we needed, including BBC TV. The restaurant offered a choice of fixed-price menus, and should have been great, but we found the main course and sweet disappointing after a promising starter - I think the plates had been kept ready for too long and got very 'tired'. This is a handy stop less than 3 hours from Calais.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very pleasant Logis. However, because we were staying on a Sunday night, the restaurant, bar and pool weren't open after 4.30. The hotel is not near any other restaurants as it is situated in a hamlet between Chalons en Champagne and Epernay. We had to drive to find a meal. (It did mention this on booking.com but I had missed that bit.) If we had been able to experience the bar, restaurant and pool I think this would have been a perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable and the shower stall had a complicated system for achieving a hot/cold mix, so that we risked getting burnt and gave up, using the bath shower instead which had no shower curtain or shield so the floor was pretty flooded. A decorative "drawer under the washbasin fell off and was heavy and could have hurt feet if we hadn't skipped aside smartly.

    Convenient location, beautiful setting and flowers, efficient and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bearing in mind the enjoyment my wife and I had here, it annoys me so much to mention features which could quite easily be rectified, which if done, would make a stay perfection. While there is little that could be done about the neighbours chickens and roosters located next to the bedroom areas [did you require an early morning call sir?] there was no excuse for the amount of activity in and around the quadrangle during the hours of darkness and the loud voices and raucous laughter well into the night where patrons are sleeping, or trying to. Surprisingly, smoking appears to be allowed in the immediate area of the quadrangle rooms. In addition, some of the rooms are located next to the card-operated 'night-entrance' which all patrons use after the front desk has closed. This together with the 'dead-awakening' sounds of suitcase wheels on the paver-bricked paths makes the entire environment beyond say 10pm, very unfortunate.

    This location is known for its cuisine [one of the reasons we chose it] and a good telling point is the number of locals who frequent it. The restaurant [when we visited it] was serving 3 set evening meals [with individual variations within each] plus a Carte option. Menus were available in ones own language, if desired. Parking facilities were fine and I personally managed to find a space directly in front of the hotel which made unloading the car very simple.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second visit to this Auberge because it was so comfortable, but Unfortunately this time wash basin in the bathroom was jammed which we could not use.

    The warm and welcoming atmosphere. Comfortable beds and clean accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a family room with an additional mezzanine bedroom. This room had no windows and the air conditioning worked poorly and was noisy.

    Evening meal in the restaurant very good as was breakfast the following morning

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the TGV can be quite loud in the new Annex.

    The rooms in the new Annex are lovely, and having a great restaurant onsite is excellent. If you've got a Tesla, they have a bank of superchargers!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little too warm but a minor niggle.

    Friendly. Efficient. Comfortable. Wonderful service. Great breakfast. Comfy beds. Spacious room. Loads of parking. Near motorway. Very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water pressure not great No tray/shelf for soap, shampoo, etc.... in shower despite plenty of space Towels too small

    Good evening menu Pleasant helpful staff Large shower room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom doors were not very private - saloon style. Not great with teens.

    Lots of space in the family room with a separate upstairs room. Comfortable rooms, good wifi. Great stop off location en route to the Alps. Good French breakfast. Good system for late night arrivals.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked more menu choice with perhaps some lighter dishes -

    The bed was really comfortable - bedroom just the right temperature but a bit bland -loved the electronic shutters - food excellent but too much! beautifully prepared and presented. Loved the character of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal was of very poor quality The "Aberdeen Angus steaks were full of grizzle. That stale bread was replaced on request. It is such a shame that they can't provide a simple meal of quality.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had 'wild west saloon' style swing doors which I found rather annoying after a while. For a winter stay the uncarpeted floor in our room was a little chilly on bare feet. However, these are very minor details when compared to our overall pleasant experience staying here.

    A great deal of thought and care has gone into designing and setting up this auberge. Everything is attractive, clean, and well maintained. Although it is located on a main road there is no noise from the passing traffic to be heard in the bedroom. Neither can you hear the trains from the nearby railway line. For dog owners there is a rear gate that leads out onto a quiet lane through the village and within a minute you can be walking in fields beside the river Marne. The auberge has its own restaurant which serves very good food. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of any way to improve this place.

    Pet friendly. The location, good car park, the staff are excellent, if you get chance to stay, make sure you try the restaurant, it is superb! People travel to use the restaurant. Oh and the rooms are very good, with oversized beds and nice shower. If you have 25 mins to spare, take a walk around the village, very pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Easy to find from autoroute. Large rooms with extra large comfortable beds. All rooms on ground floor set around a courtyard garden. Excellent restaurant on premises. Good breakfast. Hotel shop selling local produce ideal for presents.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent and convenient location. We stayed in newly renovated house away from main hotel and apart from initial difficulty getting into the room the whole experience was splendid. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite toilet smelt strongly of cigarettes.

    Great location for visiting Champagne region, and just over two hours from Calais. Hotel is well known for its truffles too. Accommodation is good and rooms are on the plain side, but spacious enough, with reasonable bathroom/shower ensuite. The restaurant is outstanding, serving gourmet French cuisine at its best, and is almost always full - make sure you book a table. Breakfast is good but not quite up to the same standard. We've staying in this hotel twice now and it's been good both times. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant think of anything , we will be staing again next year

    This was our 4th stopover, the room was very clean. Bed was very comfortable, the breakfast has improved since we last visited, with hot dishes available, just a short drive from the autoroute and plenty of parking, plus a swimming pool this is well worth a very reasonabl b&b rate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitress at the restaurant was a bit over-enthusiastic and keen, making comments we felt we didn't need.

    The accommodation was very comfortable and spacious and the courtyard by the rooms was delightful. The restaurant food was also excellent. I will definitely recommend the logis and hope to go there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the country on a main road not near any town . Most of the rooms are based around a ground floor courtyard. The rooms and beds are comfortable.The hotel also cultivates truffles and it is possible to go on a truffle hunt. We were told that the restaurant would be closed ( we stayed on a Sunday evening) I have no problem with that, but in the event given the location, we wouldn't stay again on a Sunday night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant meal was mediocre. We had the seasonal Autumn menu but it did not impress. Dining room was rather bright in the section we were placed in.

    Bedrooms were large and comfortable. Wifi was good. Attached Truffle exhibition eas very interesting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not get WiFi to connect

    Large comfy room. Excellent restaurant. Convenient to the autoroute. Good value for money. This was our second visit this year and will be returning. Very happy to recomend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was disappointing. We stayed once before and found the dinner to be very good. This time the service was very slow (I think the kitchen rather than the waiting staff) and the food was quite poor on the whole.

    Reception was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really can`t fault it!

    I have stayed a number of times in the past, for an overnight stay, it is still a truly outstanding hotel. The location is very convenient to find. The restaurant is exceptional (evening meal and breakfast)and worth a visit just for the sake of it! The staff are very helpful and welcoming. Vey comfortable and well appointed room.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: