Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel d'Arromanches Pappagall 2 stars

2, Rue Du Colonel René Michel, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France

#6 of 6 hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only had skylight; no window.

    The owners were so very nice and helpful. The restaurant was very good but also inexpensive. My food was much better than what I ate at one of the more expensive plsces.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What an unexpected treasure the hotel is! Our room was lovely - and spacious. The proprietor was so friendly and cheerful; he made us feel right at home. Breakfast was superb (yummy omelet with bacon), and we even had wonderful dinners there the two evenings of our stay. The hotel is excellently located as a base to see the Normandy D-day sights. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Exceptional in every respect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of living is rising rapidly, so despite cheap hotel rates, everything else costs !!

    Friendly people with a relaxed, helpful attitude. Great value for money in a perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is quite a long snagging list for the room I stayed in but in my view this is not applicable for a 2* hotel and the reasonable €68.80 for the room. However, there was a slight musty smell in the upper floor and in my room which should be addressed. It should be noted that the upper floor is reached via a vertical spiral staircase which is very narrow and a little rickety

    Good location on the main street with the restaurants and bars. Classic older style hotel. The room was clean, everything worked and the water was hot. Bed was comfortable. Solid double glazing keeps out much of the noise from the street below. Bathroom was a good size. I didn't have breakfast as I left very early but for €10 I would say it may be worth having in view of the prices in local restaurants. I would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything

    The manager and staff were all friendly and helpful. The location was great as we're there to do the D Day touring.the food was excellent. We would go back there again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From Bayeux it was kinda hard to get to. I took a cab there from the train station. Wasn't really that far but it was 22 euros. Pretty much the whole town closes about 9 so I couldn't get anything. Tried to go to the pub down the street. The door was locked so they had to come let me in. Seemed like no matter how nice I tried to be, Smile be polite, try my best to speak their language, the locals didn't really like me so I just got a water and left the bar. When I left The hotel in the morning I tried to get a cab to the American cemeteries, again wasn't far but the cab took a huge detour. Finally after 32euros and obviously driving in a big circle I made him stop and drop me off in the middle of nowhere. Was so mad. Walked a long way back to the train station. So just be aware of these things. I wanted to visit the place my grandfather liberated years ago but it wasn't easy.

    Very charming hotel. It was a cute little room. Clean and well made. The shower was literally amazing! Best part! Best shower I've had in Europe!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cold during the night and the heating was not working (early April).

    Center location, good food at affordable prices offered in their restaurant. Fast Wi-Fi. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked clean dry towels each day as the towels were not changed in the 3 days we were there and it was difficult to find places to hang them to dry. The street was noisy around 5:00 a.m. due to garbage pick up. Very heavy trucks and slamming of doors!!

    Lovely breakfast. Also the location of the hotel is very convenient for all the points of interest and parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although atmosphere good, some things need a bit updating. Couldn't get TV to work for example

    Staff very friendly and location excellent. Atmosphere of room was very French which I liked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an idiosyncratic French building with odd shaped corners etc. Getting into our room involved me in getting on all fours to negotiate a tight corner. But it is things like that that make a holiday

    Couldn't be bettered for location with sea view and right by the square. Staff were helpful and the breakfasts very good although a bit expensive. We were there for the fireworks on 14th July which were great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy in early morning (garbage collectors right outside our window). Parking in the area was very long limited. Breakfast not available until 730-8am...too late due to early Normandy Beach tour.

    Nice hotel, right in the center of town. Room was clean, very affordable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very warm welcome .excellent reastaurant.bar and location .highly recommended !!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff , near to good parking and the beaches in this historical WW11 town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners went out of there way to be helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Qualityofbeds

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staircase spiral and narrow and all rooms up these stairs.A little difficult with cases etc.

    Clean convenient friendly.What more do you need?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but smelled of smoking.

    Very nice staff. Location great. Breakfast looked great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow difficult stairs , width in corridor and low headroom

    Closeness to the beach and musuem

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service

    Location and friendliness of owner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oud need verniewing up to date!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room no AC bed not made. They did offer to change but I was tired and just wanted to sleep

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down Restaurant was over priced very poor quality food, the meal was expensive and I was left feeling like I had been robbed

    Nice bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Roms where not heated so we were cold all night. The covers where very thin and used. The extra bed fell apart as soon as you sat on it. Very badly isolated, you could hear your neighbors and the street below very well. Extremely narrow and steep stairs.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner was excellent. He allowed us to store our bikes and even let us clean them after our rides. He was very friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay again.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Check in was difficult with a girl that had little or no English. I gave her my booking references print out and she still looked at me as if I had ten heads. After getting the key to the room I had to ask her how to get to the room or even show me the way. When I asked about breakfast it was €10 for a cup of tea/coffee and a ham and cheese sandwich and told that’s all we serve for breakfast. We returned to the hotel at 10.50pm on a Saturday night and the women behind the bar refused to serve us even as I told her we were residents she just walked away. This made me feel like a child I called her back to explain why I was not to be served and she just went into the back office. This was an absolutely appalling way to treat a customer. Upon check out the same women seen me standing at the desk and would not come out to me. I ended up handing the key to a waitress and leaving. If anyone is thinking of staying here think again.

    It’s a fantastic location to explore the area of Normandy, Plenty of restaurants and walks in the area to do with access to a museum and a car park close by to park in.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing terrible, but would really have loved a kettle or coffee pot in our room as breakfast was an extra 10 euros and we didn't really want that. Also be warned - very very tiny stairs and corridors!

    Lovely multi-lingual owners we so kind and friendly. Bathroom nice and modern, comfy bed. Quite small room but we managed ok. View of the sea and main street from our room was fun too.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking can be difficulty, rooms up narrow passages difficult for those with walking difficulties.

    Close to the beaches and town centre. Fod served in the bar area

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strange window in the top of the ceiling: There was no window in the room where you could look out! it has given me the feeling that I am in a box... There was a window only in the top of the ceiling, in around 4-5 m height, which you could open only with a remove control. In my booking confirmation there was that we booked a double room with 23qm. The room was no more then 12-14qm (together with the bathroom...), very small!

    Very near to the beach and museum. Offical parking of the city is less then 50m, to be paid only from 9am to 7pm. Actually if you leave before 9am you don't have to pay even if you entered the parking area 2 days ago as the gates are opened till 9. I realized it only after i have paid the parking ticket!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the 'freshest' of accomadation, but adequate. A 'thank you' would have been nice when I paid the bill

    Location, in centre of vile just yards from the beach and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The accommodation was just as we had expected. No dislikes!

    The hotel was well placed close to the beach and Museum. Fairly quiet time of year with not many about. The hotel was small and had great character. It served our needs extremely well. The owners were very friendly and we would definitely stay again. Thank you!!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the center of Arromanches, prime location, nice staff and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    STRUGLED ON STAIRS

    GOOD LOCATION , COMFORTABLE BED.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    more varied menu plat du jour same each day

    Bedroom good but stairs very difficult

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice people, great locale, good food, very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of places to eat.

    Location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Central location so noisy at night

    Very handy for WW2 and D Day history

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no internet , poor breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from the room above, rooms a little tired.

    Easy check in, hotel in a great location, good value. Very comfy bed and pillows. Nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proprietor was great! He was very gracious and helpful. The room was light and airy and well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Central, friendly, convenient in the town.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food was great, owners very welcoming, exactly what we needed

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, nice room

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome & personal requests complied with.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: