Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Saint Christophe 3 stars

Place Notre-Dame, 44500 La Baule, France

#8 of 25 hotels in La Baule

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Character Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with a very welcoming garden, only 2 minutes to the beach. The staff were very friendly (we do speak French) and parking was on the road, but was not a problem right infront of the property. So I am not sure what some of the other reviewers were so agitated about. We also had dinner in the restaurant - which has a modern classic style to it - the food is not cheap, but it is high quality. We got upgraded to a renovated suite in the building across from the main entrance which was spacious and had a nice small balcony we read our books on. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My sister-in-law, who is disabled, had a room on the ground floor (125) but there was a step up into the bathroom which was a little awkward for her. The towel radiator in our bathroom was so hot you could burn yourself on it! The heating unit was a bit noisy (and over-zealous!) so we switched it off at night. The bedside lights were too low-down and weak to be any use! Plus, don't stay in room 132 if you don't like church bells!

    Especially as it was Christmas, we were looking for a hotel with character and atmosphere and the St Christophe had both. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent both for breakfast and dinner, plus they do a great afternoon tea with cake. The location, very near the centre of La Baule is also excellent, a short walk to the beach. The bedrooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Modern well-appointed bathrooms with walk-in showers. My husband and I were in room 132 (which was on the corner of the building across the courtyard) and also had a free-standing bath. There were steps down from the door into the bedroom which wouldn't suit everyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a lift but we realise that with the age and layout of the building that was probably not possible

    Room was snug but had everything to make you most comfortable including a balcony with table and chairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given tea and cake at reception when we arrived and our bags whisked off to room without us knowing it. Dinner was superb if a bit expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are quite thin-walled and one hears people walking up and down the stairs a lot. Luckily not too much from the adjacent bedroom, so that's ok.

    The hotel was the (only) thing worthwhile in La Baule actually. It's really cute and the staff are lovely - contrary to the typical French person around that area... Having said that, La Baule is much nicer than Nantes for example. The breakfast is not cheap but really nice: continental with fantastic bread, brioche and jams, the hotel is really clean. The rooms are nicely furnished, and one has a nice area to sit in the garden or a tiny balcony at each room. Sadly, in my case, the weather made sitting outside uncomfortable if one is not an amphibion...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great hotel with lovely gardens & breakfast very nice. You must have a meal in the restaurant the food was amazing. Make sure you book a table :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall size of the bedroom was small and I did not like having a separate toilet on the opposite side of the room to the shower-room and also there was no wash basin in the loo. No air conditioning.

    Lovely hotel with safe street parking, very close to beach and main street in beautiful La Baule. We stayed 2 nights and took breakfast both days which was superb. There was a vast array of wonderful breads, viennoiserie, sweet cakes, delicious yogurts and preserves, good cheeses and ham, hard boiled eggs, pink grapefruit, apple and orange juices, great coffee, perfect fresh fruit, cereals, creamy rice pudding with cinnamon apple, I could go on... Meals were taken in the exquisite dining room which opens into the gardens where each day many people also ate at the outdoor tables. There were sun loungers and coffee tables in the gardens, equipped with newspapers and books. At night there were beautiful candle-filled lanterns everywhere The bedroom overlooked a quiet and pretty residential side street. There was a separate toilet and a shower room. Free toiletries and good shower. There was a pretty writing desk in the bay window.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu not very child friendly, needs more variety. More clarity on parking would be helpful. There are only 3 or 4 parking spaces available for the entire hotel, so it is very unlikely to find parking at this hotel. Thankfully parking was available nearby.

    Perfect location. Very big room with nice bed. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was on the small side and breakfast a little expensive but it was a very nice stay.

    The bed was comfy and room was very clean. Hotel was in the perfect location with everything around you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bedroom just not at the same standard as the restaurant or the very nice and charming hotel building. Ceiling glass above the bed with no curtains so early wake up... impossible to get right water temperature in the shower. too cold or too hot.

    breakfast and food at the restaurant in general. Also very good price for kids menu ( and v good food)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A change of menu because choice was a bit restricted and we didn't want to go to a town restaurant in the evening although I know people did.

    We loved the whole experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard for us, but otherwise no complaints.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt we had truly picked a rare boutique hotel, lost in the charm of good service, decor and bygone quality. The location is superb, just a few minutes walk from the centre of La Baule and next to the beautiful Church. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast daily, a feast of simple yet fresh local produce.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    screening for our room could be improved so as not to be overlooked by kitchen staff having smoking breaks

    near the sea good restaurants nearby food in hotel was best of our weeks dinners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many of the staff were indifferent to us. Several times we waited at the empty reception desk to collect our key while restaurant staff walked to and fro empty handed and unoccupied. We ate at the restaurant on the second night. Somewhere they forgot about us. I had to ask them to bring the wine and water we had ordered. That was late and then they seemed to suddenly remember they had a meal for us. That came in a rush. They didn't offer me a menu for dessert. They seemed surprised that we should want to receive the desserts together, not for my wife to sit with her dessert in front of her while they went and got my dessert. The service ruined what would otherwise have been a decent meal. We concluded that the attitude to service at dinner was not unrepresentative of the hotel overall. I sent an extensive description of our stay the the hotels and chateaux group feedback form setting out my complaints and they haven't bothered to respond. So, i guess their indifference is widespread. Very disappointing.

    Location in quirky La Baule behind the high rise seafront facade. The local artisan beer in the bar is very nice and unusual.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had a meal in the Restruant on the first night, I was disappointed with my meal and it was very expensive

    Breakfast had a great choice Bed very luxury Staff were all very helpful Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was an expensive disaster. Slow service, wrong order, cold food. Also there are not enough parking spaces so you may need to park in the street. No fridge or drink making facilities in the rooms.

    Great location near shops, eateries and beach. Rooms were recently decorated to a high standard and kept very clean. Beautiful buildings and outdoor seating area for breakfast overlooking the church.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The same menu on following days. Not enough parking places. No safe in the room. Split bookkeeping in restaurant and hotel might give problems.

    Bicycles were available for a low price. Nice ambience in the restaurant. Garden and terras are very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Character Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist who appeared to be in charge was not that bothered about making us feel welcome, we seemed to be a massive inconvenience to her both on check in and check out. We were given a small double room which was clean and adequate for one night but expensive for what it is.

    Most of the other staff were friendly. The place has character.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small ,and would have liked a shower that was usable

    The bed was very comfortable the food was good, the position was good and the staff friendly and efficient

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This nice hotel is almost impossible to find without a satnav and/or large scale map. It's in the middle of a one-way system -- best idea is to head for the nearby church! Very small car park which could be an issue.

    Am always encouraged when shown to my room by the receptionist -- it usually means it is out-of-the-way and therefore quiet -- and it was! Large room with comfortable bed and good-sized bathroom. Breakfast very good - quality products and pleasantly served.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, very basic rooms with no character or style. Notices everywhere... felt like a hostel.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Character Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast. Very quiet but near amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were very good and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome thea is an excellent idea

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting. Close to all amenities. Beautifully decorated and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was super helpful as the car battery drained out on a 31st december!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication of certain members of staff was poor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired room

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty floor in the room. No fridge.

    Lovely area around the hotel. Good bed and lovely bath. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small

    Location and environment- very calm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcoming staff, the comfortable room, the restaurant and the grounds of he hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food is excellent although expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No space for dinner in restaurant as not booked in advance

    Stunning breakfast outside Excellent child's room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Character Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Excellent restaurant with lovely different food. Pleased to find fresh towels and bed linen daily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Great breakfast. Very nice rooms. The staff was very friendly: we forgot something in the room so they offer to send it to us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and ambience was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive limited facilities for UK visitors food average

    Location staff garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent standard of service at all times. We were shown to our room by a very helpful and friendly young lady. The waiting staff were charming as we're all the other staff we met. The restaurant offered a very high standard of cuisine and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly. We have stayed at this hotel a few times and every room has been charming and has had lovely views of la Baule. We had dinner at the hotel a couple of times and it was excellent. The hotel is beautifully decorated and has some lovely pieces of furniture and is full of books.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attic rooms very attractive but somewhat cramped and not disability friendly in the annex.

    Good central quiet location, very pleasant patio & garden seating areas.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location Staff very friendly Traditional French hotel Beautiful period room ,lovely furniture

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds extremely comfortable. Rooms are very nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charme de l'hotel cosy, la situation

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    great decor

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: