Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Normandie 3 stars

37, Rue Edouard Feray, 27000 Évreux, France

#5 of 16 hotels in Évreux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 687 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and able to reach Calais no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel has been refurbished to a good quality standard. The restaurant serves a superior standard of cuisine in a character dining room. Ideally situated to enjoy the town of Evreux with its town riverside walk and Cathedral .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly fine hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fantastic location - minutes walk to the centre of town. Staff helpful and friendly. Perfect place for a stopover on the way down to the south of France.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    A very nice character hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We turned up on Sunday afternoon but couldn’t access the hotel. All locked. After phoning we were given an access code and instructions on how to collect our room key. Still no staff although checking times state open. It would be good to have this information prior to arriving.

    A very nice character hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    We loved the hotel stay. Made welcome
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise from our room.

    We loved its location. Nice and convenient for bars and restaurants shops. Lovely evening set meal. Welcomed our little dog even had her with us at dinner. Which as dog owners meant a lot to us. Spotless clean. Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay in a quirky hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee provided in the room but no milk sadly. We couldn't access the wifi as there was nobody on duty to ask for the password.

    Lovely family run hotel. A little bit quirky but quite charming. We arrived late so the staff had gone but the keys for our room were left on the desk in reception with a note about breakfast! We were sent a text with the code for the outer door so all quite secure.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    After a run of travel “motels” we managed to book a proper...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a run of travel “motels” we managed to book a proper hotel for the last night of a week long motorcycle tour of France. What a result. Ultra clean, tidy, staff helpful and the restaurant a revelation. Could have done with a little more thought about tea/coffee in the room and breakfast was basic but plentiful. Dinner not cheap a la carte, but set menus available for the more prudent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.0
    Wouldnt go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we’d asked for a ground floor room as my wife has arthritis, but told, quite curtly “impossible!” Our room was up a steep flight of stairs and along 2 corridors. Difficult for carrying the luggage and offered no help to do so. The shower room had no blind or curtain, which made it embarrassing to use with the light on! staff not particularly friendly or helpful. Breakfast ok, but expensive at €10 each.

    Nice man in the garden showed us how to use the exit gates.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Very pleased to have found it - a memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really struggle to think of anything that could be better. If there is a fault, it is that the floors in the bathrooms are slippery. It seems all modern floors are tiled these days and when wet they are risky. Not a real problem - just go carefully!

    The Hotel is extremely well appointed and our room was quiet and comfortable and had everything we needed. We were able to park for 5 Euros in their secure private car park giving peace of mind and of course making it easy to take our overnight luggage into the Hotel. The staff were very friendly and we decided to eat in the restaurant., Our dinner was made all the better by the wonderful waitress who encouraged us to go on and enjoy what turned out to be a superb meal. Breakfast too was a treat. I was suspicious of coffee from a machine, but it could not be faulted. The third cup was just as good as the first...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Good overnight accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea & Coffee but no milk. No lift for mobility users - can't stay with the mother in law Restaurant could be seen as a bit expensive only set menu 26.00€, large beer 7.50€ No separate shower only hair rinser in bath, water goes everywhere.

    Rooms size, comfortable bed, Pleasent staff, location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Overall a pleasant stay in a well appointed hotel with an excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a buffet breakfast offering all of the usual fare which I thought was overpriced at 11euros. There is an excellent patisserie next door which provided croissants etc which were sufficient for our needs at a fraction of the price. The rooms we were allocated were dark and would benefit from freshening up.

    The Hotel Restaurant was very good. We tried the A la Carte on the first night, which was not cheap nor overly expensive and the set menu the second night which was equally good. The hotel is situated in the centre of town and parking was available upon payment. The reception staff and restaurant staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    A Faulty Towers experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long drive we had to wait until the hotel opened at 5pm. UnCcepatable. The breakfast was poor. For 10.40€, I expect fruit salad to be fresh not tinned, apples and oranges to be fresh (they were far from it), croissants to be warmed etc.

    The bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Really liked the hotel. Good value. Would recommend and stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No reading bedtime lights. And some lightbulbs not working. Parking was difficult at location

    Very quiet overlooking the courtyard. Bed very comfortable. Good location. Liked the French quirkiness and atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reserved 2 rooms for 5 people and got in each room a double bed. We had to share a bed with 3 people, which was not comfortable! It would have been acceptable if I hadn't specifically asked for a room that can accommodate 3 people!

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location for visiting the cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was some distance from the bathroom and had no sink to wash hands...hoping cleaning staff wash handles of doors thoroughly!

    Satnav found the hotel with ease.It allows dogs..looks great from the outside and is close to the centre and cathedral..Good shower.Room a lttle small.Restaurant seemed expensive .Why is wifi code not issued on arrival?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel full of charm with very comfortable rooms and an excellent restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our short stay in this lovely centrally located traditional French coaching(?)Inn. Madame is lovely and clearly takes great pride in looking after her guests. Our delightful, large room on the first floor was tastefully decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. A big plus for us was the tray with kettle and coffee and tea provided! The bathroom with its quirky enormous bath was a treat. The facilities are excellent and the main dining room where we had the 34Euro dinner is a fantastic feature of the hotel with its wooden beamed ceiling, magnificent inglenook fireplace and spacious table layout with very comfortable chairs. The linen table cloths and napkins and tables that give one space to stretch out add a touch of class. Our three course meal ordered through Madame was superb. She also recommended the two half bottles of white and red wines that we thoroughly enjoyed. As we had to leave early we were unable to sample the breakfast. We found the hotel incredibly good value and will certainly return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Very lovely and enjoyable and well located in Evreux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    We had a lovely ground floor room with a huge level in walk in shower. It would be well suited for persons with mobility difficulties. Nice people and good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Great stop
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the ground floor room for disabled and it was brand new and fantastic. Huge comfortable bed, super fiittings. Excellent food in restaurant, good parking. Highly recommended. Great stop.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    A nice hotel close to the town centre. Great bed. Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have helped. Parking charge excessive behind the hotel when there is a huge free car park in front!

    Very comfortable bed and a good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    Comfy bed, plenty of breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wallpaper was coming off the walls, bad smell in the bathroom gave my husband an asthma attack. Shower head was broken, mould in shower.

    Comfy bed, plenty of breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Very handy stopover en route. Visited the town but it was too hot to stay out long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in Chambre #1 for one night en route to South. The room is roomy, modern and comfortable. We had 35C outside so lack of air con was a drawback, but that temperature is assumed unusual. Evening drink and meal on the terrace was relaxed, homely and good. Secure parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con or fan and it was very hot. And disappointed that the restaurant was closed which wasn’t advertised on the site

    Great location, comfy bed and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Great little hotel, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in excellent location north west of Paris. We used it as a stop off for the Channel Tunnel having driven up from southern France, and it seemed that some other British people were doing the same. We didn't use the restaurant as it was temporarily closed (reopening 21 August 2018), but there were a number of restaurants/bars nearby in the centre of Evreux, which is a very pretty town. The nearby cathedral is particularly beautiful and worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    More than we expected and very good value for money would...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but did hear the restaurant was closed which would of been an issue had we not wanted to eat out but otherwise nothing bad to say

    More than we expected and very good value for money would definately stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Love the Hotel Normandie
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was record heat that week so we had to keep the windows open and borrowed a fan from the front desk, but there was alot of street noise that took some getting used to. For a very light sleeper this might be an issue.

    Had a terrific stay, the staff were very helpful, the breakfast superb, the room terrific

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    as detailed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above

    The hotel was as detailed, the staff friendly though there was a problem with providing the third bed in one room for our 5 year old grandson. The proprietor blamed Booking.com for this oversight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    We had requested a ground or lower floor room due to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evroux is a very nice Town, unfortunately we timed our visit to coincide with major refurbishments to the town and major sights so will enjoy what it offers more when we return.

    We had requested a ground or lower floor room due to my wife's disability. Our room was on the ground floor with only a few steps to our car, the reception and the restaurant. Thank you so much, it was perfect for us. restaurant food and breakfast excellent. Will come again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Good but for limited dinner menu(first 3 items chosen were not available) & problems of check-out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one at check-out at 7am and were told by contact phone in the lobby that no one would be there until 7.30am. We told the contact we had to leave straight away to get a Eurotunnel booked early return crossing so they were going to take the amount due from the credit card registered with you.We do not know the total taken as we had a meal with drinks and were not given a bill to check and sign.We have still not got a copy by email.I would like you to contact the hotel for them to send me a copy so that I can check the total is correct. SORRY THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN WRITTEN BELOW(DIDN'T LIKES)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stop en route to my cottage in the Allier.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. My second stay and very good yet again. Must come on a day when the restaurant is open though!

    Staff were very helpful. Good rooms with excellent showers. Good place for dogs. Close to the town centr.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Really excellent stopover travelling from Calais to the south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of any importance. If I had to be picky, the free WiFi dropped the connection a little too often (I know, first world problems!)

    The room was of a standard I would have expected in a hotel costing twice as much. The restaurant was very good and excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, friendly and great when travelling with the dogs. What's not to like?
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here before and decided that the Hotel de Normandie would be perfect for our stopover on the way to our holiday destination, as well as the stopover at the end of our trip. The hotel is charming and the parking is a big plus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great character hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful character hotel within short walk of town centre. Good amenities and car parking. We only stopped one night on our way south, but would stay longer on another visit. Beautiful town and lots going on as we were there for Midsummer when France has free open air music festival. A great start to our holiday

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in room, only tea. Expensive breakfast but quality just OK. Telephone in room not working.

    Extremely friendly staff. Lovely evening meal. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was very good with facilities to boil eggs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and there was no air conditioning. We wanted to watch TV but were told that it was broken in our room.

    Breakfast was very good with facilities to boil eggs and make toast. Good variety.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with a good sized room. Handy for the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing shower in the bath so you have to kneel down as no facility to hang the shower head. Parking behind the hotel at 5 euros. Quite bizarre when it's free across the road!!

    Great bed, very comfy and a welcome kettle with tea and coffee kit. Good dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location at a great value price - just right for an overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and the bathroom a little outdated, but we had only selected a standard double. The bed was very comfortable though and all the plumbing worked! It faced the rear of the hotel which probably meant it was quieter (away from the Main Street). We looked into a few of the superior rooms on the morning of our departure - much bigger on the front of the hotel. They had been modernised and had a much more modern decor, which I wasn’t sure about, but they would definitely have been noisier with the traffic. Breakfast was simple with a machine for tea/coffee. I would have preferred freshly made coffee from the kitchen. There was also no milk provided with the tea/coffee in our room.

    We decided to have dinner in the restaurant as the choice in town was not particularly to our liking (Evreux seems to have a large student population and most of the bars/restaurants seemed to be geared up for the young). The food and service at the hotel were excellent. The choice was good and we went for an enormous rib of beef to share, which came with delicious fries and we asked for a green salad too. The restaurant is located in a lovely long room with an old-fashioned feel, which I liked. It would have been wonderful in the winter with the huge fire at one end burning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent room, space and bed very comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really!

    Excellent room, space and bed very comfortable. Evening dinner very good quality. Car parking very convenient. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Will certainly stay again, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great choice at breakfast, but adequate.

    Very quirky hotel but alcoholic drinks rather expensive. Nice touch with tea & coffee in room - unfortunately, you forgot the milk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and modern spacious room with huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was just right for the stopover we needed.

    Fantastic location and modern spacious room with huge bathroom. Simple but sufficient breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed overall, but bedroom is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, breakfast area and restaurant need modernised. The dinner didn't make it up to expectations, their own website writes about a gourmand cuisine! I agree with another of your reviewer who wrote the wine was too expensive.

    Bedroom ( no. 23 )seemed recently modernised large and roomy, large and comfortable bed. Bathroom clean and tidy could have had a shower curtain so you then cold have a stand up shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Good for parking & town location staff always friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were once again right at the end of a long corridor & the room a little tired compared to some of the others we have had

    Good for parking & town location staff always friendly & we will continue to use this Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Nice old style hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Advance information regarding open and closure times and days for the hotel restaurant and some suggestions of nearby alternatives for when the hotel restaurant is going to be closed. It also seemed a long distance from reception to the end of the corridor on the second floor, particularly when the hotel didn't seem to be busy.

    Excellent location near local bars, restaurants, market and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent on everything except the over priced wine list!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pricey wine list. We have travelled and stayed extensively in France & are used to UK wine list prices also but these were unbelievable. This would definitely put us off eating there again though would probably stay there again.

    Smallish room but excellently clean. Extra pillows provided & good ones. Tea / coffee in room was a real bonus (had to ask for milk but happy to provide.) Restaurant was excellent. Parking available at a charge or free in the square opposite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Fitted the purpose of a good stop-over hotel - helped us to relax after a long drive on our way home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay for car park Wine generally on the expensive side - would have preferred a more reasonable selection price-wise

    Good location. Good food Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved it. Changed my view of Evreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the weather, but I'm not sure that the hotel was to blame.

    Lovely stay, lovely staff, parking right outside the door. Great breakfast for the four of us who stayed overnight, and three extras who arrived at 6am!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location, cheap and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. For the price it was a bit of a steal. Being charged for secure parking in this day and age is stretching it a bit but bar that nothing really to grumble about.

    Great location. Nice comfy room with a big bath. Quiet location with secure gated parking. Small but pleasant enough breakfast. Bar was shut when I got back to the hotel at 10 on a Saturday night which was a bit disappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    It was very quiet and confortable.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very quiet and confortable. Old building in Normandy style with great renovated rooms. very spacious and well designed. Stuff very discreet and helpful. We are definitely going to visit again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with a good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to dine at hotel due to a Russian party arriving. No shower head holder so difficult showering standing up.

    Excellent bed in a good sized room. Good breakfast if a little costly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    While a little jaded ( well it was a coaching inn) the hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was slightly tired and a bit jaded if you looked closely but the rooms were clean, warm and had all the usual hotel requirements, ie hairdryer, toiletries, tea coffee facilities and a telephone.

    Something for everyone, would have been nicer if the fruit salad had been fresh rather than tinned but in January this could be difficult and expensive. However this is nit picking as everything else on the breakfast buffet was excellent and good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay in a good location. Thank you.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the second floor and would have appreciated help to carry bags upstairs.

    Lovely large bedroom with good bathroom. Pet was made welcome. Friendly and helpfull staff. We would happily recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    A great stay in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room as usual was spotlessly clean, staff unfailingly cheerful and helpful, and the beds have the best pillows of any hotel we have ever stayed in. We think it's great and it was our fifth stay there and it's always been just as good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Quiet, clean and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Security of room keys poor. When I was waiting for someone to check me in, a gentlemen arrives and reach over the desk, choose his room key and goes up the stairs. Hopefully it was his key. The hotel ask you to leave your key at the desk when leaving. When I left in the morning there where 4-5 keys laying on the front desk and never a person there, I did not want my key to lay there for anyone to grab. The room had not so good odour, the bathroom had even worse smell but big opening windows did help there.

    Location good. Restaurant. Free overnight parking next to hotel. Large room. Bed was good and clean. Nice big shower. Quiet neighbourhood and hotel did not transfer much sound. Restaurants and bars in walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable & clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the shower whilst good was rather slippery worried about falling especially as my husband recently had hips replaced stairs a little steep

    Didn’t have breakfast but was pleased with tea/coffee facilities in the room bed excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Good location, safe parking. Hotel with character
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately one member of staff let it down. I am a woman, not young, on my own. 1 was ignored at reception and service in the dining room by this person, another older woman, was not good. All the other staff were very helpful and very pleasant.

    The hotel has character. Bedroom and bathroom lovely, clean, comfortable with everything you need. Most staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, mattress protector? , caused excessive heat at night. A bit uncomfortable.

    Didn't have breakfast. Liked service, restaurant food was great, facilities good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.2
    disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked four rooms for 5 nights for us - four ladies. There is no lift in the hotel, we had to carry our luggage by ourselves into the second floor. The rooms were tiny, even no possibility to completely open the suitcase! The entire house smelled nauseously of old oil from the kitchen, because the exhaust pipes from the kitchen went all to the couryard where to our rooms had the windows - even when we closed them. It was so awful that we decided to leave next morning. When I carried my suitcase down next morning I glanced into a room in direction to the street which was just cleaned - big, new, nice furniture, big bathroom, good smell, nice wooden floor - why we got so bad rooms even when having booked months before arrival? The reception told us that nevertheless we have to pay for 2 nights - regulations of booking.com (?? or pin money for the hotel owners?) Is that true? We were quite angry and went off as soon as possible. It was the worst hotel on our entire France trip, we were disappointed and upset. Also the Restaurant was - to put it mildly - mediocre and expensive.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Overnight stop en route south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a room on the first floor - to avoid stairs -and got one on the second because they were full. Not really a problem but...

    Good location, easy parking, tea and coffee in rooms, very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed to find bar and restraunt closed when we arrived on Sunday after a long journey hotel and booking .com said they were open .hard to find somewhere to eat close by

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant last couple of days of our holiday before getting the ferry home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a twin room - beds were pushed together with single very large quilt. I would have preferred 2 separate quilts, but this is a very minor quibble.

    nearly everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    We tried to book the hotel for our return journey as we liked it, unfortunately it was fully booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, overall good value for money.

    Room clean and bed comfortable. We travelled with a dog and were made to feel very welcome. Restaurant very good, superb evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    A real French hotel in a great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard room is compact size - worth spending extra on a 'comfort' room which have been refurbished. Some lights didn't work - blown/missing lamps

    Secure off-street parking was reassuring - although the pigeons enjoyed using our bikes as target practice so avoid parking under the tree! Helpful receptionist and the restaurant staff translated their menu into English for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Character Hotel with good location in Evreux, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom allocated to us was very small and had a tiny dated shower room. Thankfully my husband and I are not very big so not too much of an issue. Narrow access to bedrooms via steep stairs. We need help with our suitcase which was readily provided.

    Very traditional building. Obviously properties with character do have their downfalls i.e. small bedrooms. Restaurant food was very good and reasonably priced. Good location easily walkable to all major sights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing of rooms could have been better. No hot water in the late evening of the night we stayed.

    Good breakfast, and unusually, an armchair in the room - very welcome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Ask for a refurbished room. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift available (but the receptionist willingly carried our luggage to the 2nd floor)

    Our room was large with every facility. The bed was huge and the bathroom immaculate. Obviously recently refurbished to a high standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.0
    Poor stay at Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was situated to the front and very noisy on the main road of the town with traffic going up and down all night. Charge for parking in hotel car park was not necessary for customers who had stayed the night.staff in dining room were not interested and when I spoke to them the answer I got on 3 occasions was “I’m sorry”

    The room was clean and tidy with a comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great location. Great value. highly recommended hotel when travelling through France
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't nitpick too much for the value. Excellent

    Excellent location. Set very close to Evreaux town centre. Hotel is a character building. Very good value. Friendly staff. The restaurant wasn't open (Sunday night) but we were given recommendations. We ate at the Thai Restaurant next door which was very good. In room tea and coffee facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took two rooms, one for us and one for our young sons. We had asked via Booking.com if we could have adjoining rooms but unfortunately this message didn't get through so my wife ended up having to spend the night with the boys as they were down the corridor from us. The one room we had was reasonably decorated but the other room was a bit tired and could have done with a refresh but nothing too bad.

    We loved the charm and location of the hotel and the hosts were all really friendly and went out of their way to help. Having parking inside the hotel grounds was a bonus. We were only there for one night so it would be difficult to make further comments.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    An excellent stop in an interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We would happily stay here again.

    Well located old world charm of a coaching inn. Pleasant, quiet room at the side. Excellent dinner and equally good breakfasts with plenty of choice. Helpful, pleasant staff who speak English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    A perfect one-night stop en route south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was really charming. In our attic room there were exposed beams and there were nice rooftop views. The location was very quiet and the bed was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was within the bath and it was hard not to soak the entire bathroom. Lacked a proper bar.

    Off road parking. Very good dinner. Spacious and comfortable bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    a beautiful place to stay in Evreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a lot minor silly things too small to mention.

    restaurant was open till 9pm food was superb as was the service the table for two would have seated 6 in some restaurants so we had loads of room, and was great value. bed large and comfortable and the bathroom beautifully set out. all in all a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Unusual and attractive hotel with excellent cuisine and relaxed, efficient and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning so left window open and shared my room with a few mosquitos who enjoyed the night. I did not. Recommend taking with you (or hotel supplying) a plug-in anti-mosquito device.

    Modernised bedrooms rooms on opposite side of private driveway; separated from the timbered period hotel dining room and bars. Exceptional choice and quality of the cuisine. Secure car parking in driveway behind high locked gate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stop-over en-route to the Channel ports
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    More toiletries could have been available in the bathroom.

    Very comfortable room with very clean and up-to-date bathroom. Very welcoming staff who went out of their way to be helpful - offering to book a table at a local restaurant as the hotel restaurant was closed. Very welcome stop after a long drive. We will definitely return and have recommended this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely traditional French hotel staff with a wonderful welcome from the staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed due to holiday, but look forward to trying it on my next visit.

    We were stopping over on our return trip to aengland. It was a great hotel in a perfect location for our needs. The staff were lovely and really good with dog. Look forward to future visits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent overnight stop on a long journey home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very good but background music in the restaurant would have been enjoyable.

    Hotel in centre of Evreux, excellent position after a long drive, and secure parking. Our room was extremely well furnished with new bathroom and toilet facilities en suite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and really light room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself feels like it could use a refurbish, the hallways smell a bit musty. Wifi didn't work in the whole room, so had to keep to the wall close to the hallway. Our room window was straight to the restaurant downstairs and parking entrance, making it impossible to have it open while using the bathroom or changing in the room, wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't hot and there was no fan.

    Comfortable and really light room. Bed was very comfortable which was what we needed after a whole day driving. Bathroom was clean and had a very good shower. Breakfast was paid apart but good.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de Normandie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: