Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lune Etoile 2 stars

89 Boulevard Gustave Flaubert, 63000 Clermont-Ferrand, France

#14 of 37 hotels in Clermont-Ferrand

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 717 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Overnight stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a door adjoining the next room and we could hear through. Which usually wouldn't matter but we had someone in the next room who thought loud phone calls till 2am was acceptable.

    The hotel is very conveniently placed for hopping off and on to the motorway but far enough away not to hear it. The hotel is ideally located amongst several well known restaurant chains within easy walking distance. The rooms are serviceable and clean and have all you need for an overnight stay. The staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Good choice for Clermont Ferrand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is really tiny.

    Great value for money. Comfortable bed, air conditioning, good sized TV. Breakfast more than adequate, Staff pleasant and helpful. The hotel is close to shops/restaurants and easy access to motorway and the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too far from town to walk, although the train station is about 15 minutes away. Although it has an air conditioning, it is locked below a certain temperature so the room was uncomfortably hot at night and the staff said their was no way to change it.

    Small, but comfortable and clean room. Good value for the money. Pretty good American-style grill restaurant right next door, and 10% for guests at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    A very basic but nice place for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a bit of traffic noise since it is on a main street. I chose this location because of the free and convenient parking. It is not walking distance to any sites.

    The front desk clerks were helpful and friendly. The room was basic but well kept.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money and you get more than you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular comes to mind

    Great value for money and you get more than you pay for. Fantastic friendly and helpful staff. Recommended if you are looking for an overnight stop for sure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Good overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another pillow might have been good. And tea or coffee facilities.

    Comfortable room and restaurants next door. Easy secure parking. Location just off motorway. Friendly welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location and stopover place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging for a cot extra is a bit unfair. Never had that anywhere in 8 years of having kids needing one.

    Great location to explore locally by car. Not far to a supermarket, restaurant, car wash etc which we needed. 10 min drive to the centre which is easy to navigate and explore. Perfect for a stop over for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Convenient for a one night stopover but not a pleasant smell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell! We stayed in the same room on our way down to Spain and on the way back (pre-booked otherwise we wouldn't have stayed twice!). The room smelled VERY musty - like an old attic! It was slightly better on the way back because the carpet had been replaced by cushion floor but still not nice. Also the room was very noisy. All rooms have strong reactions on the doors so doors are banging from around 6.30am!

    The location is the best thing about this hotel. We used it at as stopover on route from England to Spain.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    OK for a short night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and smelled a little because of the carpet. The building had no elevator.

    For a short night it was good for that price. All the necessary was there: private bathroom, bed, desk, airco and wifi + clean enough for the short stay we had. Also close to the main road was a bonus for us. Will probably book it again if it's for a short night and the same price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Overnight in Clermont-Ferrand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose Lune Etoile because of price and reviews. It was as reviewed. Small room, bathroom/shower small, bed good, clean. The guy at reception when we arrived was very friendly and helpful. We got a 10% discount at the brasserie nearbye. Overall, I'd happily stay again and would recommend to anyone staying in CF for a day or so.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Short stop on the way home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of good restaurants in the area

    The staff were very friendly and helpful both in the reception and at breakfast. Good choice of food for the buffet breakfast. Clean, modern rooms with good wifi. Ideal stopping off place as it is just off of the motorway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    basic but good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a big clump of hair in the drain of the shower- apart from that the bathroom was really clean so not sure if the cleaner missed it!

    Room was adeaquate, everything you needed, clean, and good amount of space we had a family room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    One night in Michelin city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small for two twin beds probably okay with a double. Not much choice of restaurants within walking distance. Two chain restaurants, Leon and Buffalo Grill, and a couple of Brasseries about 5 minutes walk, the one a went to was okay, a bit pricey and not particularly friendly

    Easy access from the motorway, plenty of parking, very helpful staff, discounts at local restaurants. The hotel smelt new, might be new carpets but it was clean and comfortable. Good shower and good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Great simple accommodation
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee making facilities

    Staff very helpful. Rooms clean. Internet adequately fast. Plenty of parking. Close to restaurants and the tram direct to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location close to the motorway (for staying one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets in the rooms (should be forbidden in a hotel)

    Convenient location close to the motorway (for staying one night during a road trip). Excellent relation between quality and price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stopover in Clermont Ferrand
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a ground floor room near the main door and we heard noise from people entering the building and bedroom doors slamming. In general the soundproofing did not seem great. That said, it quietened down later on and we both slept very well. The bathroom was rather compact but clean and adequate.

    The Hotel Lune Etoile was perfect for a one night stopover. It was easy to access from the motorway and there were a couple of nearby restaurants to choose from. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we were given extra pillows when we asked. There was no security gate to the car park but the parking was located at the rear of the building and felt safe enough.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Ideal one stop over hotel, very clean rooms and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea/coffee makin

    Ideal one stop over hotel, very clean rooms and staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect doorreis hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect doorreis hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very pleasant stay,a good size room with big beds and good local restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Perfect for an overnight stay after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for an overnight stay after a long drive. Connecting rooms are great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    it was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The limunation was poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    convenient for overnight stay, good value breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    convenient for overnight stay, good value breakfast. choice of restaurants in short walking distance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    Good for a stop during trip down south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is way to small and dirty old...

    Near highway. Good for a stop over. Many fast food restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly stuff! Good location and clean rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Perfect comfort after a long days drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of room. Shower was perfect. TV in room. Breakfast was delish. Location perfect for a night stop off

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Great sleep, good restaurant nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dim lighting on stairwell

    Nice bed, great shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Overnight stay.... just ticks the box. Clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accessibility to the motorway.

    We didn't use the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Kindness of staf

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Modern clean efficient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Room cleaned and tidied every day. Good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable and we spent a quiet night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor of the room matched the outside appearance of the hotel- gloomy. The corridors are badly lit and the whole place is quite depressing. We were recommended the Buffalo Grill almost next door. It was the worst meal we have had in a long time. Cold and limp.

    Bed was comfortable and we spent a quiet night

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    This was an emergency stop on a long drive between Paris and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception staff got a bit shirty when I took some breakfast out of the restaurant (my son and husband were still sleeping and I wanted to make sure they didn't miss out) Other than that there were no problems with staff. Shower/bathroom is a bit on the small side but clean and functional

    This was an emergency stop on a long drive between Paris and the south of France. Plenty of places to eat near the hotel and we got an amazing price on the hotel considering we needed to book two rooms - amazing value for money. Rooms were clean and pretty spacious too.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.7
    Staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Water was freezing cold. So we had cold showers. However after we informed reception they did come and fix, but by then we had already got ready.

    Staff were helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.8
    room was clean and location is quite good if you have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    don't stay here if you don't have a car Staff is quite rude and doesn't speak English, especially the guy. The lady at first pretended she didn't understand us even though she saw we didn't speak French, but then she magically started speaking some english

    room was clean and location is quite good if you have a car

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    Easy to find - great for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No fault of owners but we had an alarm go off very early in the morning by mistake. Shower really small space

    Easy to find - great for a one night stay

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.1
    Staff was helpful with directions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small, opening the window for fresh air let the smokers air in.

    Staff was helpful with directions. Proximity to Tram and Buffalo Grill good.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    5.4
    Price was good and we only wanted a short stopover to break...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed uncomfortable, tiny room and shower room and location on an industrial estate

    Price was good and we only wanted a short stopover to break the journey down to Spain but would not recommend as a base for exploring or spending any time due to the location. Reception were friendly and had free wifi and we did only pay 43 euros for a room

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good value for money. Close to motorway and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    9.2
    excellent value for money a great one night stop off for...
    • Couple

    excellent value for money a great one night stop off for those in transit

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast included ham and cheese
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast included ham and cheese

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    So far we have been charged twice for the room and this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    So far we have been charged twice for the room and this situation still has not been resolved

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    For the money it was good value, and location was good, lots...
    • Couple

    For the money it was good value, and location was good, lots of places to eat nearby

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.5
    Staff friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff friendly & helpful. Free Wifi was good.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.3
    clean - practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only 1 power plug far from town center reception desk closes at 9p30

    clean - practical

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.5
    Great for just sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location was not central. Air conditioning was very poor.

    Great for just sleep.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    Easy access, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Teeny tiny room, looks like a converted boxroom!

    Easy access, friendly staff. A really good paraplegic bathroom

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location for break on way to Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location for break on way to Spain

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.5
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could of benefited from tea and coffee facility in the room

    Great staff Good food nearby Easy to find

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.8
    Near many restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You can't connect more than one device to the wifi

    Near many restaurants

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Good facilities. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    7.5
    restaurants nearby
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    Verry welcoming staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Verry welcoming staff. Perfect ratio quality-prise.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: