Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3 stars

4 Rue De Vaugirard, 6th arr., 75006 Paris, France

#890 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location at a reasonable cost for Paris and close to the Jardins du Luxembourg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No free tea/coffee available plus no fridge in rooms. lift very small buit it worked well.

    The hotel was located close to shops, restaurants and interesting places. Quiet and comfortable rooms with different configurations. Basic facilities in rooms, but very clean and staff very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building’s Entrance doors are not working properly Very difficult to get in the room double doors hard to open, no help for the luggage Food smell in the room when you open the window Old furniture and carpets

    Location location location House keeping very good Staff tried their best

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark, only lit by lamps rather than a main light; Wifi patchy; Room could have done with a shower curtain

    Great location; staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The space of my room (single) was enough for just me, however there was no space to my luggage. The door of the bathroom was extremely heavy due to the hinges and it was a challenge every time that I was trying to open and close it as well.

    The room decoration was gorgeous!, the bed was very comfortable. I wished to spend more time on my room because it was really cozy, clean and beautiful. This hotel is perfect for a solo and couple travelers. Great and safe location. The two guys on front desk were very kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location , friendly staff , make sure air conditioning is working during the Summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please ensure you ask for a room that has an outside window and that the air conditioning is working , also standard rooms are very small , we moved to a larger room . Need to refurbish the material in the lift , this gave a bad first impression

    The location was perfect , easy walking distance to main attractions . Reception staff during the day were excellent and did all possible to try and assist with our concerns . Good value for money .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mirror in the room would be nice. There arw two mirrors in the bathroom, but there is no ventilation in there. So after a shower it gets very hot and steamy so not able to use the mirrors.

    The location is great. Close to two metro stations, walking didtance from Notre Dame and next to Jardin de Luxembourg. The staff were nice. Rooms were clean and good decor throughout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Wouldn't choose it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The old 1930s carpet, chipped wall paint, broken and torn furniture, missing bathroom soap shelf, burned out hair dryer, and exposed electrical wiring to the towel warming control panel. The room smelled like the previous occupant was a cigarette smoker. It was one of the ugliest decorated rooms I've ever been in: red/black floral carpet against a green/gray wall with a thick black trim around a mural of Greek gods and mis-matched pink/black bed covering. And don't let the pictures on the site fool you. Our room was so small we had to move a desk and chair just to open our suitcases.

    The only thing that gives this hotel a rating other than poor is the staff. They are very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    nice small hotel in very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit too small and, worse, very dark.

    the location of hotel is perfect - 5min from Lux gardens, metro and trains. Entrance and reception were nice. Bathroom was small, but ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    I liked that there was an elevator considering we were on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi wasn't working the whole weekend that we were there. It was a big inconvenience considering we relay on our phones when we travel and our phone don't roam.. At checkout we requested a refund for the inconvenience and the clerk said that they have to charge the full amount and ask for the refund through the owner via email. hope we get this refund and that they are right.

    I liked that there was an elevator considering we were on the 3rd floor. I liked that it was reasonably spacious considering you're in city center. The free filtered water was good and their was a small shoppette right across the street for any thing we needed. It was perfect for a semi romantic get away hotel in city center. The heater worked well also!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall good experience and would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was ridiculously small. There was a strong pungent odour from the entry of the lift. Lack of mirror in the room and the housekeeping will pop in if ‘do not disturb’ sign is not hanging outside. Refilling of toiletries was lacking and requesting for small but important things like cotton buds is a bit embarrassing. Since there is no parking at the hotel they should offer some discount at the nearby parking.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. It had two big french windows adjacent to each other which meant good ventilation. Electronic heater was provided to warm up the room. Huge study table, big wardrobe and two sofa chairs with coffee table added to the ambience and comfort. Carpet was rightly cushioned creating a soft feel for the soles to walk on. Bathroom was decently spacious too. Loved its location...near to Notre Dame, Louvre and city centre. For Eiffel Tower one may need to take a cab or can use the local bus which is really good. Champs-Elysee is probably a 15-20 min drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Good but not the best value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no shower curtains (I stayed in 2 rooms..neither had) water gets absolutely everywhere and makes a mess..they need to invest in shower curtains..

    Very friendly staff..cozy room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was cold. the heating not working. the shower room ceiling needed painting. the most annoying being no in room mini bar or facilites to make a drink

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    There was no place for us to hang up clothes, and we even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no place for us to hang up clothes, and we even burnt two items since they fell into the lamp in the room. Also, we paid extra to get a bigger room, since we had our 3 year old son with us (the biggest available room was 16 Sqm), and then when my parents came two days later, they got a room twice the size of ours although we paid extra for a bigger room and they didn't!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.0
    Many other better hotels in Paris, don’t waste your money on this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff. Ps. Don’t remove the water bottles in the room, the hotel will charge you 15€ for it, even though they say it is free water. It does not say anywhere that you are only allowed to have the water bottle in the room, so they charged us. I’m convinced the guy at the hotel tricked us and took the money, how chargers 15€ for water and say it’s free. Family of 8 and we are not coming back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Friendly desk staff and GREAT location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Major, MAJOR dislike. No shower, though NO notification of such. Desk staff was helpful --shower curtain woud be installed but management (?) declined. Shower hose and wall clamp there. Shower by 6ft5in tall in bathtub not fun-without flooding the bathroom. Room lighting dim. Not good enough for reading or shaving (make-up) in bathroom. We removed all shades just to see around the two rooms. Room size OK for price.

    great location near St Germain and Saint Michaels. Seine very close and within walking distance to major Paris attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    2.5
    Very bad room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually

    Nothing actually , The room is very very small size and you can not open your laggege on it . Also, The ventilation is very poor and you can breath easy . The A/C was not working on the room , when we contact the reciption they said thats it we can not do anythning .But , the issue was they have taken the money of the first day while we didnt sleep at that day and we leave the room at mid night and until now we didnt refund the second night . The hotel manager was very aggressive and not helpfull

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    Bathroom condition let down room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt musty had paint peeling and black mould in Shower. Very off putting as let down whole room even though rest of room was nice. Some basic maintenance would go a long way.

    Location, decent room size. Easy train from airport and main station to Luxembourg stop then to hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel, rooms small, normal for Paris, but extremely clean and comfortable. Excellent location, staff very friendly and breakfast was great. Absolutely great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Had a very pleasant stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    They could improve the lighting in the room, especially at night. The lamps shades were opaque and did not help to illuminate the room. Changing out the lampshades would improve things significally.

    The location was fantastic. One block from the Luxembourg Garden, and near the metro. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a safe in the room (always a good thing). The breakfast buffet provided a nice assortment of food. Also nice that they had a bowl of apples out in the lobby, a late night snack on the way to the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Itable experienceInteresting decor and hotel history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Itable experienceInteresting decor and hotel history. Great location. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast although at additional cost. Beautifully remodeled and bright bathroom but poor lighting in bedroom and hallway. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.3
    A place to stay near Jardins Luxembourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub rather than shower in bathroom. Lamp next to bed not working, asked for it to be repaired, nothing done. Hair dryer in bathroom burnt out and not working. Hotel tired looking. Broken furniture in lobby, unrepaired scrapes on walls.

    Staff were friendly especially in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Average to poor hotel ruined by rude staff and poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude especially when checking out on reception, on his phone didn't even ask how are stay was. Just waved rude hand gestures. Very poor customer service. shower broken Small room No hot water in the morning No tea and coffee facility's Room smelt slightly of smoke Lift very small No help with are bags when checking in

    Bed was okay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cab driver misses the hotel and it cost me more euro to go around again to get to it!

    My room was an unexpected upgrade, location great . Had the little courtyard outside my room to myself. Staff were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    This is a superb hotel: a lovely location and convenient for...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coming home!

    This is a superb hotel: a lovely location and convenient for the city. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished with great bathroom facilities. The over décor is wonderful. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful suggests for visits and help with your French language skills. I cannot praise the hotel or the staff highly enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    A very picturesque building near the Luxembourg Gardens, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very dim lights in the room, very limited closet space (even when taking into account the space limitations in old Parisian buildings). No shower curtain, and the bathtub is quite high (may be difficult to climb into for some people). No electric kettle in the room.

    A very picturesque building near the Luxembourg Gardens, a good Cafe just down the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location, accommodating staff, about what you'd expect for price. A couple small problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While one staff member was very welcoming about the use of the refrigerator, another one reprimanded us for it - not a pleasant experience. Also, when we came in the middle of the day for some time of rest, they would not let us enter either of our rooms because of cleaning. We had a man in a wheelchair in our group for whom it was very important to periodically lie down, so the waiting was not good. They said they'd be finished in 15 minutes, but it really took almost 45 minutes. The property is nice, but these were not good experiences.

    The staff was very accommodating with our needs. They communicated with us well when we had questions coming up to the stay. They let us use the refrigerator in the basement for our picnic supplies. The location is excellent - about a block away is the Luxembourg Gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, slightly quirky hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, slightly quirky hotel in a great location. Comfy beds, good sized bedroom and good sized clean and modern bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location, but small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was a bit stand-offish. The room was cramped. Tiny elevator required multiple trips to bring up luggage.

    Great location. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive for quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The elevator is too small (around 0.6 square meter) and certainly not for claustrophobics. Stairs are narrow. The mattress and the pillows were too soft. The duvet was too much for summer. Bathroom counters were rusty. Rooms were dusty. The knob of the door between our communicating rooms was broken. Shower tiles were black stained.

    It is close to Luxembourg metro station where there is direct communication with the CDG airport. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Charming Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very tiny elevator, but we could go in it one at a time with one luggage. Being on the 4th floor made it a challenge for a family of 6.

    We liked the that the desk was willing to help us book a taxi for the ride to the airport. Also, the complimentary yummy green apples and how the manager helped us unlock our safe without being annoyed with us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coming from the US, the rooms were much smaller than what we are use to. The room needs more/brighter lighting. The elevator as VERY small... only fits two people at a time. Once again... probably typical for Paris/Europe. The only thing I did NOT like was that you need a key to lock the door from the inside the room which means that you need a key to get out. Not ideal should you need to leave the room in a hurry.

    Great location, friendly staff and nice clean rooms. The rooms were small but I had two connecting rooms which made it a little roomier.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    A very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast. No shower door or curtain.

    The staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly. Hotel clean tastefully decorated. Convenient for exploring Paris and local restuarants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Pretty good value in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a little small (typical for Paris) no outdoor views/windows, and bathroom needed some work (water damage, etc). Staff could have been more friendly/helpful, they weren't rude but didn't make any effort.

    Location was convenient, nice large comfortable bed, good decor, and some nice extras like good toiletries, bathrobes, etc. Overall a good deal for Paris.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    3.3
    Very bad small and dark rooms with no lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small and dark room with no lights & poor WIFI signal. The dressing mirrors are fixed inside bathroom and reception staff can hardly speak English.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    location nice, but bad insonorisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Badly isolated rooms - we could hear our neighbors - so they could hear us, and noise of the street in the morning of cars made our mornings not as expected. - Very little and narrow elevator - for 2 persons maximum.

    Nice location, just next to the parc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    The hotel's location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room cleaning was not satisfactory. I found my lost blouse on the second day under the bed. this mean the house keeper did not clean on the floor. The wifi in the fourth floor was very very poor.

    The hotel's location was perfect. The staff was ready to assist you at any time. The toilet was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location and room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The room was amazing! It was the perfect choice for us. I've been to Paris 3 times and this is by far the best location I stayed at. Right by the Jardim de Luxembourg, right by Saint Germain street. The room was just amazing and spacious! We had a tub and a robe. The shower was great (not so easy to find in France)! Everything in the room looked new and fancy and it smelled so nice! No noise also and a great flat screen tv!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Italian section of Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard, no dresser, very small elevator

    The bed was large, the bathroom was a good size, very cute lounge, most employees were English-speaking, security was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    4.6
    Awful Customer Service!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Customer service is below 0!!! I booked the hotel on the 9th and arrived on the 10th. Nobody told me anything the payment when I checked in. I thought as per usual I will pay when I check out. I come back on the last day with cash and the lady at the reception says We have already charged your card!! I have £ bank account so when I pay in EU I get charged extra. They could have asked me when I checked in How I would actually like to make a payment. (Just a tip for future on how to deal with customers) She was keep saying that my booking was Non-Refundable thats why they charged my card. After 15 mins of dicussions she finally realised that I booked it just a day before I arrived, so I had no intentions of cancelling it. In addition, plastic covers on beds make it uncomfortable. Bed throws are very thin, I was freezing the first night. Bed blanket is very dusty, its better not to have it at all.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.5
    Semi Paris 2017 weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service needs to be improved. We tried ordering room service and it was not available. We needed wine bottle opener and we couldn't get it...ended up not enjoying our wine.

    The coffee was delicious and the hotel is cozy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    Quaint hotel/perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting is terrible. No outlet in bathroom or mirror &outlet near the window, so freshening up face and hair was impossible. In fact, doing anything that required a mirror and lighting was impossible. Also, no tea or coffee in lobby or in the large sitting area next to lobby. It would be a nice touch after a long travel.

    300+yr old historic building, winding staircase, nice sized room, large window with Juliet balcony, concierge gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations. Bathroom amenities-body wash, etc, are very nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, Not as nice as the photos... But, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls of our room were damaged, and the paint was peeling off in certain areas... The curtains were literally ripped. From the pictures of the hotel, this was a surprise. Everything else is fine, but I think the hotel needs to do a better job in keeping up appearances. Two coat hangers was also a little stingy. ;)

    The location is fantastic. Easy to walk to most tourist areas, and convenient for the metro. Overall, the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.5
    Great location but be a sound sleeper
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise - I could hear the neighbour visiting the toilet in the middle of the night. I could listen to the discussion as if it was happening in my room. Better sound proofing please!

    The location was easy to find and easy to return home to after a day of walking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.5
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first evening we came back and were going to have a shower before bed to warm up. However the hot water wasn't working, we rang reception and they said nothing could be done until the morning. Meaning we went to bed feeling very cold. There is in room heating however it is quite noisy when it is on.

    Good locations, close to bars and restaurants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air on / heater was making a buzzing sound and turned it off but it got really cold in the night. But not such a big deal. Otherwise really great!

    Great location, friendly staff and lovely rooms !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    For a first visit to Paris it was good but in the future I would search with another perspective.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not as comfortable bed as I expected. In the pictures the room looks bigger than reality. The heating system was noisy. The room was separated from the next only with a door. I could very well here the neighbor's snoring.

    The location was nicely quiet. Staff tried to be cosy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    New year in the heart of Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor light - impossible to read in bed in most of the rooms

    Excellent location - 1 minute to Jardin de Luxembourg or Blvd San Michel, walking distance from Seine, Notre Dame, Cite! Excellent point for expolring Paris, many cafes nearby. Very quiet street (maybe due to the holiday season - school across the hotel is closed). Express food shop across the entrance - extremely convenient

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    A nice hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit shabby (paint peeling off walls, curtains had been torn in places) TV only had 2 English speaking channels (both news). No room service available even though it was advertised. Not enough wardrobe space and never enough clothes hangers! Bathroom had shower but no shower curtain or door so the whole bathroom got drenched. A long walk to tourist attractions.

    Very friendly staff and knowledgable.Good sized room, comfortable beds. Complimentary toiletries and bath robes. Would recommend for a short stay. A short walk to a bustling high street, with shops and restaurants. Plenty of metro stations about - get a map and work out your routes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Great stay for an affordable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location! Close to bars, restaurants, cafe's, and the metro which will take you to the very heart of paris. e.g. arc de triomphe, Eiffel tower, louvre muse. Staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.2
    5 days in Latin Quarter surrounded by good food , gardens & interesting places to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in room could have been brighter .

    Short walk from station if arriving from C de G and so many good bars , cafes & restaurants close by . 10mins walk to river and Notre Dame. Staff helpful .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Charming near St Germain, Odeon and Luxembourg garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not stay here if I was disabled. I have no problems taking the stairs or using the elevator, so I will come back.

    I have stayed here three times. First time 18 years ago. Still same ambiance, not to big, "familiy run" type hotel. Quiet area near the Luxembourg park. Rooms are much bigger than first time, but still the smallest elevator. Will stay again! Breakfast staff went out and bought extra fresh croissants and pain au chocolat, and served us all. Could not refuse, even though I had already eaten one. Very helpful and smiling staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    An Absolute Gem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing...

    OK, the hotel is quirky, but it was perfect. We read alot of negative review prior to arriving, but you get what you pay for essentially. We LOVED it, it was value for money, it was clean, the location was great and most of all, the bed was comfortable after a day exploring the beautiful city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.1
    Stay in Paris the 'relaxed' way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water during our long weekend stay and the additional price for breakfast is too expensive

    Excellent location for making sightseeing trips and to explore the city, within walking distance of Notre Dame, Centre Pompidou, Parc de Vosges with many nice restaurants in the area etc. Attractive decorated rooms, clean and excellent WiFi. When you are looking for a good, comfortable, safe and un-traditional hotel, this is one of them

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Great value and location for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom faucet was loose and moved around every time the faucet was put on.

    We loved that our room was ready when we arrived at noon. Also, we had requested a quiet room and they gave us a room at the end of the hall completely separate from all the other rooms on that floor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No downside really. I was worried because after I booked, I read reviews that said it was under construction -- it's all done!

    Ok, big, would be an overstatement, because it's Paris. But, roomy for sure. The bathroom was roomy, too. Twin beds were perfect, because it was my daughter and I. The extremely friendly staff spoke excellent English. Super clean. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Lovely little hotel with brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms would have been better if they were drink making facilities. The lift is a tad small (can hold 2 people maximum) so if large group or a number of bags it would require multiple trips

    The staff were lovely and pleasant and remembered my message regarding our anniversary. The room was nice, clean and tidy. The location of the hotel is great and easy access from the Metro.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location close to the "quartier latin"...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing all good...maybe a little bit cold in the room but aircon helped to warm it up eventhough noisy.

    Excellent location close to the "quartier latin" and central for visiting paris

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Good boutique hotel near Luxembourg Gardens
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms and little closet space but that is fairly standard for the location

    Modern and spacious bathroom which is unusual in central Paris. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful Central Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had only a positive experience. We stayed at the Marriott our first night. I prefer this type of boutique hotel experience.

    Loved the ambiance of our room, the character of the hotel and the proximity to the Jardin and Palace as well as walking distance to many central sightseeing destinations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.3
    Very nice choice in Paris to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was for limited devices

    The confort and coziness of the hotel is excellent so is the location many good restaurants are in like within100 metres of th hotels specially if you like Asian cusine u have many options nearby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    3.8
    Will not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Huge lamps on end tables so couldn't use as an end table or for reading. Lighting lousy. Bathroom had a shower but no curtain so water goes everywhere. Bathroom dryer not work well. All the plumbing fixtures were loose. No mirror in room except on bathroom door. Bed too large for the room. Noisy construction on street side. Didn't have a room on quiet side.

    The ONLY thing I liked was that it was close to the RER B line so we could get to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    style and position with excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    kettle for tea or coffee in the room was the only thing we missed

    very central very helpful staff nice clean smart room (big for paris!) open 24 hours very nicely decorated and nothing too much trouble very quiet rooms with no noise at all from outside (again good for paris!) great towels, dressing gowns, soaps etc (though we disapprove of all those extras)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Just a walk away from the gardens and 15min walk to the tube
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could be a security thing but the key had to be left at the front desk and have to ask for it and leave it when you get in and out for the day.

    We had a room in the front looking over the street. Loved the amazing headboard backdrop picture, great location just about 15 minutes from the tube. Bathroom was a good size and staff was real friendly. Right across the street is a grocery store which came in handy. The cafe on the corner was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful and the rooms were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately there was scaffold all over the front of the building and some areas were not accessible but I guess this happens sometimes.

    The staff were very helpful and the rooms were comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    6.7
    Nice prices but not so nice of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were so small and the breakfast wasn't included in the price which annoyed us very much. Also it was in a very noisy street we weren't be able to open the window at night. The hotel general is old and small; the corridors, the elevator and the rooms were small.

    The location is great, not that close to the metro stations though it's very close to the RER line that comes directly from the airport. The staff was very kind and nice and they were super helpful. The prices were very affordable especially considering the usual Paris prices

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely, clean small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small and almost no closet space. Thank goodness we can put our suitcases under the bed.

    Staff is very friendly and location is wonderful. Also very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    4.2
    Saturday night in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The darkness, cleanliness and general condition of the room was disappointing. We had to change rooms 3 times to get a room that was acceptable - this was only possible as the hotel was not full. We had no possibility to cancel the reservation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.5
    Unavoidable disappointments but overall very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no prior warning to there being construction work at the hotel. There was scaffolding on the front and men directly outside our bedroom window working. And no bar.

    Nice room and en-suite. Staff were friendly. Complimentary breakfast because of construction work.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    3.8
    Shabby without the chic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are poor. Not even a kettle in the room. You get a bed a shower and a toilet and that's it. The rooms are small and not alone like the picture portrayed on line. I believe they have just renovated, but everything was done on the cheap. A little disappointed to say the least!

    The location is fairly central to most things.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel, great value, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    So good we booked in for a second night a week later coming back through Paris. Fantastic location, great value, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were nice, comfortable and wifi was good. We didn't have breakfast and decided to eat out elsewhere on our travels. Next time we're back in Paris we will certainly be going back here. If you have a vehicle there is secure parking nearby in the Rue d'ecole medicine underground car park for a 24hr fee. It can be booked online on parkingdeparis.com

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.3
    Typical small roomed Paris hotel, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like many hotels in Paris the rooms are small odd shaped affairs, in our case in the attic. The lift is VERY small even for Paris. No warning of the repair work that was in progress apart from in the reviews. But the hotel offered free breakfast as an offset. A nice idea which I think most people appreciated.

    The staff are mostly part time but were all very friendly and helpful. The two full time staff seemed to work all hours and to do their best to keep it all running while the building work is going on. The Breakfast menu was very good, with fruit, yoghurt, bread and patisserie, boiled eggs and good coffee.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    Great location and wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the building was older because my sister and I had awful allergies after being in the rooms. Maybe mold or dust? Not sure but otherwise everything was fantastic!

    Great beds, excellent staff, clean and well attended. The breakfast was delicious! The staff went above and beyond to help with any request.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    good and quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lack of space for luggage lack of choice for breakfast

    peaceful location for Paris

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    An average hotel but the position very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the dark dingy room , very depressing

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great 2-day here! Location was awesome, room was nice, clean and comfortable! Would recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: