Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux-Arts 4 stars

73-75 Rue du Président Edouard Herriot, 2nd arr., 69002 Lyon, France

#11 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2116 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    The location was great The hotel itself overall was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups and plastic glasses The breakfast and coffee was a bit expensive

    The location was great The hotel itself overall was very good value Would happily recommend it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast area. It was nice and we liked it but difficult if you have a stroller.

    Great location. Loved the balcony. Vey helpful staff. Would stay there again if we ever return to Lyon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay. Cant say enough about Sophie. She is great. Hotel is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the moment we entered the door, we were greeted by Sophie who was fantastic. Sophie explained everything to us including showing us a map of Lyon and showing us how to get to places we were interested in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Mediocre value for money but excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room (the smallest I've ever had in 4 star hotel in Lyon), mediocre sound insulation (I could hear people talking in the corridor just as well as if they were in my room). Very basic equipment. Not so comfortable bed. Just one small elevator... Not a great experience

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was excellent and the room very comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall no addition to give "luxury" feeling (e.g. only one shower gel for body and hair instead of separate products) and only one, very slow, elevator.

    Location was excellent and the room very comfortable and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size could have been a tad bigger - bit of a squeeze to get round the bed.

    Pretty much what I'd expect from a modern corporate hotel. Clean. Bright. Good view from our room overlooking the street and Place des Jacobins. Great city centre location. Good wardrobe space. Friendly staff. Wi-fi worked!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel for business and leisure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the ironing board. O please guys, spend 10 Euros more for a real ironing board. these cheap micro-boards are destroying my shirts. Filed a complained with the ACCOR group about this. This is the biggest reason for me to not coming back, I am throwing away 100 Euro shirts because you want to save 10.

    Great location, large rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good for a romantic weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room is tiny, more or less ok for 1 pax, definatelly too small for 2

    Nice location, all attractions are close by, good shopping, great infrastructure , very nice view from 5th floor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location. Quality hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was adequate but had a limited flow.

    Very warm welcome from reception staff especially Pauline who was really efficient and knowledgeable. The location of the hotel was good for most things but a little distance from the old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location, that's about it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except the location and the facade of the building, it feels more like a 3 stars hotel. Rooms were cold, rather small. The bed did not particularly convince me and pillows are plain bad. Amenities were limited no brush or razor! 1 bottle of water for 2. You don't expect this at that price!

    Great location. Staff was accomodative

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, well located and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I had no view I really appreciated the lovely quiet room - and I also appreciated that I was asked what type of room I wanted when I checked in. I also was very happy with the service from the staff who were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed stay in Lyon - great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the staff was not very friendly - said nothing when we walked in, barely looked at us when checking out. The room was difficult to get temperature regulated - had to open window to make it not so hot.

    Room and facilities were great. Bed was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Will definitely stay again but would have to upgrade to a room with a larger shower room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower room was very small!

    The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Location excellent for a short city break.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice besides my incident with the reception on March 12 evening.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a disgusting issue on March 12 evening when I wanted to pay the bill in order to leave the hotel the morning before to my business meeting. However the gentleman at the reception was not interested in attending my petition and told me just "no, tomorrow morning". I did not aim to start an argument but definitely you do not expect that. I am really upset about that.

    The cleanliness of the rooms was excellent. The breakfast and attentions of the staff there excellent as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Lyon has lots to do, fabulous food and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location is superb for all the major sights, for restaurants, bars and shops. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent quality and value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Your perfect stay in Lyon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom design is a little old and lacks some hangers. There are no drawers in the room.

    Everything was perfect. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is excellent. The privilege room is spacious, clean and well-lit with large windows. The location can't be better. It is located in the heart of the Presque Ile and 5 min walk from Vieux Lyon. All the attractions of the city are within walking distance. Public transport can be easily reached from Cordeliers or Bellecours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    We thought this was the perfect place to stay in Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small (standard double room). We didn't have the breakfast buffet because it sounded very expensive, at 18.90 euros per person.

    The room was very quiet, comfortable and clean and the location couldn't have been better. It is within a few minutes' walk of a metro station, shops and restaurants, and the old town is about 10 minutes away. Off the square in front of the hotel is a useful supermarket. Reception staff were very helpful, and spoke good English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Affordable Welcoming Hotel in Central Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Hotel. with helpful, friendly staff, comfortable bed/very good room in an excellent location to easily move around Central Lyon. Despite the rain - thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay (couples on a Rugby trip). Would 100% return to the Beaux-Arts and Lyon - perhaps with a bit of Sun :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a stylish hotel in the centre of Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could be more opulent given the price and category of the hotel.

    Charming hotel in the centre of Lyon, with very stylish common areas and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is good in general, but not for those who travel with babies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average breakfast. No parking. No mini-bar. No snacks or food delivery available on site.

    Perfect location in the city centre. Very good choice for the shopers and those who love sightseeing and walking by foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location, unfortunately we would not come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was impossible to sleep, you can hear every step in the corridor, or from the rooms above, or next by. Sometimes we had the feeling someone was in the room or using our toilet how noisy it was. pillows too flat.

    Great location, easy accessible by foot to all main attractions. Good restaurants and bars very close to the hotel. Great room view. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    A boutique hotel wasted via Mercure Hotel Group’s greed and contemptablecustomer attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic cups in bathroom and bedroom, extremely small floor area in my room, “cheap and nasty” discretionary extras like the coffee, the plastic tumblers, the shampoo dispenser and lack of “quality” extras on offer from Mercure to oits “valued” guests.....the wall mounted shampoo dispenser....just like my local cpuncil swimming baths.......not for me at over £100 per night.

    Staff were all most helpful and with a good customer service attitude. Having paid over £100/day for such a small room, I did not expect to face plastic glasses and instant coffee. To lose my future business on account of a drinking glass and some enjoyable coffee and milk.....well you do your research so you clearly are not attempting to attract guests like me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous room exceeding our expectations in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large & very stylish room. Although on a busy street & on first floor we did not hear the traffic. Staff were friendly & helpful. Nespresso machine the room for tea or coffee. Location was central & in nice area. Comfy & large bed. Large bathroom with bath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Best location of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best location, near the stores and main touristic sights. Great room, with amazing view from the street and historical buildings. Friendly staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was too small and unless you got there by 9 it was hard to get a table

    Grsat location only 5 minutes walk into old Lyon. The rooms were small but very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and made bookings for us at some good restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel in the heart of Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Many channels of TV went bad on the second day of our stay. This was fixed the next day however. Lighting in the room was quite poor.

    Basically everything. Starting from the welcoming reception staff. Very quirkily decorated and cosy room. Excellent breakfast. Croissants were particularly commendable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Spacious rooms; helpful staff; excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a privilege room which was very spacious with separate toilet & lots of cupboard space - definitely worth the extra money. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our trip was completely spoiled by fact that taxi for ‘don’t worry, its only 15 mins journey so you’ve plenty of time’ ride to station took 40 mins to arrive. We missed our train to Paris and therefore our Eurostar to UK. Cost of returning to UK was greater than cost of entire booked trip. Staff were perfectly friendly but perhaps hotel shld have better taxi contact - and ensure that guests allow even more time (certainly until extensive construction work round Part Dieu is completed). A mother & daughter special treat ruined .......

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was especially friendly and helpful. The location is exemplary - close to restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and the Christmas market. And not too far away from the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location but a hassle to arrive by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no parking at the hotel and stopping to unload was a hassle. You have to stop in a bus lane on a busy narrow street, unload fast, then drive a further 500m to a public garage. If you drive there it’s best to avoid Friday evening rush hour! The breakfast was expensive and the breakfast room was too small and cramped with no windows to the outside.

    Location, friendly staff, dog friendly, and location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant. Locality helped our sbolity to access our interests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was an issue and related to that inability to leave windows open due to mosquitos

    We were extremely happy with the location and helpful advice from staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Lyon is a lovely city and the Mercure was in a great location to enjoy it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't know about the free breakfast for seniors (and it wasn't offered), otherwise we had no complaints.

    It was comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Superb! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It couldn't have been better!

    I asked for a nice view and was given a room at the front with a small balcony which was fabulous and very much appreciated. There was a small bottle of massage oil provided and it was delightful. The staff were all so friendly especially Fascal on reception. Fabulous location. Easy to get to from Lyon Part Dieu train station and a short walk to the Old Town and other sights. Perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Relatively expensive stay but worth it because of the excellent location. We would
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room is too small in every way; not enough seating and not enough room to circulate round the buffet which is ok but at 10 cents off 19 euros, it could be better - rubbery scrambled eggs on both mornings. No parking with this hôtel but you can unload your luggage and the reception gives you a map to get to the nearby public parking which came over 50 euros for two nights ....

    The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right in the middle of the city and about 10 minutes at the most from places of interest - Muséum of Beaux Arts, le Vieux Lyon over the footbridge, Place Bellecour and many many shops! Bed very comfortable and no noise from outside because of double windows. Large shower in small bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    The rooms were attractive and quiet, facilities were fine, and location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was fairly pricey, and the breakfast room was crowded. We found it easier and more economical to go to one of the coffee shops/bakeries nearby for delicious pastries and coffee.

    The location is excellent, with easy access to all of the places we wanted to go. We walked all over the central part of the city from this hotel. The shops around the hotel are great, and the restaurants are wonderful (as they are all over the city).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    An excellent experience of our first time in Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside was the temperature in the rooms - it was far too hot. We did ask for a fan to be delivered to the room which helped but we would have preferred the overall temperature to be cooler.

    We found the hotel very comfortable, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location was excellent, we would certainly stay there again and would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    we had just come off our Vikking boat tour, we were pretty tired, room was quite & confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only drawback was the long commute to the airport , about 40 minutes, also charge was 75 euros and that was with the cheaper taxi . But taxi driver and his car were excellent!

    very nice hotel pretty lobby, great location , near a square, and a short walk to old town, hotel was very clean and had a large bedroom and bathroom The lady at the desk was very helpful, she printed our plane tickets also gave us hot crossiants to see us off to the airport and called a nice taxi driver to take us there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Perfect start for citytrip. Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was a little hard for my personal taste.

    Hotel is located in the fashion district of Lyon, between the Bellecour and Cordeliers metro station. The most important sightseeing spots are 10-20 minutes walking in every direction. Even if it's a mercure the lobby has a distinct style thanks to the glamourous art deco entrance. You hardly feel in a chain hotel. Staff is super friendly, our receptionist Sophie even gave us advice for a walking tour of the old district and the most interesting exhibitions. Rooms are recently furbished, comfortable and classy thanks to high ceilings and big windows. Bathrooms are pristine. If you have the option, take the breakfast, you'll have enough choice to get you going until early afternoon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Close to Basilica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is only 2 blocks from an underground parking garage and 2 blocks from the Saone River just on the other side from the Basilica Notre-Dame Our Lady of Fourviere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the middle of Lyon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central AC was turned off while the weather was transitioning and felt too hot. Had to open the window and the hotel provided a fan. Not really an issue except for the street noise on the weekend and cigarette smoke coming in sometimes.

    Very friendly, courteous snd accommodating staff. I initially did not like the interior room I had and they immediately changed me to a side room. The room was kept very clean throughout my stay, thanks. The hotel location is excellent near metro, commercial area and Vieux Lyon. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Location was fantastic for shopping, walking to the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small (twin); no wood floors(carpets). Hallways a bit outdated.

    Location was fantastic for shopping, walking to the old town and restaurants. Breakfast good. Good walk in shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    I would recommend for the location. We had a great corner room looking out on the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dressers, shelves or any other piece of furniture to put clothes!

    Great location. Casual- but good staff and reception. Nice morning breakfast. Parking in the nearby lot is very expensive. Next time I would not rent a car. You don't need it in Lyon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Stayed three nights in Lyon and found plenty to do starting with the On/ Off bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Only had to walk one block to find restaurants of a wide variety of foods, costs and standards. Lyon is famous for its food and it doesn't disappoint...lively and interesting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast expensive, but easy to find a nearby cafe as an alternative.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, and had a small balcony overlooking the square. Great location to reach restaurants, the rivers, and museums.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel in handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good but if pushed I would have liked more comfortable pillows and a real china mug for making drinks not a paper cup!

    Great location within walking distance of all the main sights and shopping

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Would recommend this hotel to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parts of the hotel are a little dated ( the hallways). Everything is well maintained and clean.

    Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Easy walk from the hotel to the "Vieux Lyon" (the historic old city). Lots of shops and boutiques around the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. No drawers to keep clothes.

    Location was very good at Lyon city center. Quiet and convenient. Public parking was close to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Stay here!!! A really fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really couldn't fault the hotel! A little cramped in room & breakfast area but would happily put up with this. Way more pluses!!

    From the minute I arrived I knew I was going to be happy with my stay here. The receptionist was extremely friendly, I was early & it was absolutely no problem getting my room & I was even given a choice of room view. She also asked if I'd prefer to speak in English or French - ultra-professional! The room was perfect (a little compact but had everything you needed) - cool (air-conditioning spot on)with fantastic view of Place de Jacobins from the balcony. The shower was amazing! Breakfast had lots of choice & was yummy! You can't beat the location either. Perfect for going out with plenty of lively bars & restaurants nearby. No problem walking across to Old Lyon & the open top bus stops right outside in the Square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly, but did not have good recommendations for bars and restaurants around the city center - they've sent us to the crappy touristic joint in the harbor when we asked for a fancy wine bar

    The hotel is well located in the city center and thus easy to use it as a starting point for exploring the city. It is clean and comfortable, but not over the top.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Beauty everywhere, in the streets, by the rivers, in the food hall, on our plates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning (at least there was some) was not up to our freezing-while-sleeping American standards, but that's France.

    Great location close to the old city, surrounded by beautiful plazas, upscale shopping and great restaurants. The staff spoke excellent English (a relief after 8 days of trying to understand/be understood). Lyon is GORGEOUS with excellent public art and spaces, great architecture, 2 rivers, Roman ruins, great food and very walkable. great place to wander and explore, and a good home base for touring Beaujolais and Cote de Rhone. I'd return in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard No gym

    Breakfast room was friendly Fantastic to be able to squeeze fresh orange juice Great location Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location for the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room so small we had to go elsewhere for breakfast and the cost was extremely high for the fare on offer.

    Location is excellent for the old town and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike, everything was great.

    Staff was very pleasant and room was very nicely furnished. Hotel was extremely clean and in a great location. We were very happy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are used to a hotel providing shampoo, conditioner and lotion so their absence was disappointing.

    The bed was very firm which I liked but my husband did not. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. Excellent location. Within walking distance of train station. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    City center with plaza balcony view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We knew it when booking that no hotel parking available at site: only street or garage parking. Nearest garage parking was 3 to 4 blocks walking. Stopped in street to load luggage.

    Requested and paid for upper floor room with balcony type window and had great view of plaza at corner of hotel. Nice breakfast. Elevator/lift for upper floor room. A few blocks walk to nearest metro station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything that I didn't like about this. Did I mention the staff is really friendly? :) They will guide to the best bouchons, boulangeries and patisseries around the center of the city.

    Loved everything. Clean room, quiet, friendly staff, nice bathroom, nice view towards Place des Jacobins, great location for visiting Presque'Ile, Vieux Lyon, Croix Rousse and the district East over the Rhone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location short walk to old town. Amazing staff. We had a couple old problems and they were resolved quickly and professionally. Recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Great location in Lyon City Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plastic tumblers and paper cups for hot drinks were disappointing. The breakfast was expensive with no apparent distinction between 'continental' and 'full' breakfast .

    The bed was very comfortable and considering the location in City Centre, it was very quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Lyon by foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely NOTHING

    Extremely well located Hotel to visit restaurants and the top locations. Try to make a reservation by Geremy Galvan or the Cafe du Jura (Bouchon). Extraordinaire!!! Extremely nice staff in the Hotel. Being in Lyon we allways pick this hotel. We know why!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved as some of the items were not fresh.

    Large room with excellent facilities. Excellent location within walking distance to everything you need to see or do in Lyon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    A lovely friendly hotel .We will remember our time there for a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room could help by being bigger. There is a big pillar in the middle of the room where 2 people couldn't pass safely on either side One morning the room was full and we had to wait in reception until a table was ready. The breakfast was fine.

    The room was lovely and we were thrilled by the little extras that were in the room for our 40th wedding celebrations. The staff were very helpful and friendly and gave us a warm welcome when we arrived.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Not worthy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking provided by the hotel. The decoration are cheap, everything like a 2-3 star hotel. Very bad breakfast. Almost nothing to eat.

    The bed is big and comfortable. The room is quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice view, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my first hotel in France where I didn't find croissants at breakfast

    Great location, privilege room is comfortable, big enough and provide a beautiful view of Place des Jacobins.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Middling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a twin room instead of a double, although the hotel did make the two beds up as a double the following day. Door between the main room door and the bedroom jammed shut which felt very dangerous. Standard rooms are very small and don't live up the advertising.

    Location is extremely central. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are smaller than is standard for a four-star hotel and the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner.

    The hotel is super central but not noisy. Room was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel with wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame there was no view.

    The ladies at the front desk were very welcoming and most helpful. Great location within walking distance to main tourist attractions, restaurants. Sunday fresh produce market was fantastic. Lyon is a beautiful city with great public transport to and from the airport, considering the distance from the airport to central Lyon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location in the heart of downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were overall very pleased with this place. If I have to come up with something, it would have been nice to be further away from the very touristy things (think Señor Frog type of locations), but that is a part of being in the heart of downtown.

    We were on our honeymoon, and this site was kind enough to leave us a congratulatory note in our room. It was a simple gesture that really brightened our day! Also the view from our room was AMAZING! We had a top floor room overlooking a square below with a fountain. It was really lovely. We walked around the neighborhood to a nearby street reserved for pedestrians that has a lot of restaurants. The hotel staff recommended that street for a restaurant. We really liked the food, but quickly realized the area was very touristy. It's not the area to find the more authentic restaurants. A short walk across the river gets to a quieter neighborhood where we wished we had eaten instead. There was a fabulous bakery nearby, called Le Pain des Jacobins. We also enjoyed the walk up to La Basilique Notre Dame and there was a great street market on the way there (Thursday).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel in the center of the city for a decent price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfortable, we had a very quiet room, no view however. The breakfast was expensive at $18.00 per person and we chose to eat elsewhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    A pleasant stay in stylish Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same as in almost every hotel. A double room for 2 people and you only ever get 1 chair. You should not have to sit on the bed having an afternoon tea. It's uncomfortable. Hotels should supply 2 chairs for 2 people.

    We didn't have breakfast. We never eat breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    The location was brilliant, central between the rivers, old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was cramped and felt chaotic at busy times (despite the good staff).

    The location was brilliant, central between the rivers, old town and station. Also in-between museums etc to the north and south. 2 minutes from a vibrant street full of restaurants and bars, but the hotel itself perfectly quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the room was lovely the shower water temperature would go between hot and cold while taking a shower. The pillows were flat. Given the style of the hotel we would have expected fluffy pillows. Still a great place to stay.

    Comfy bed. Beautiful vie of the square. Fantastic breakfast. Wonderful ambiance. Very central to Old Lyon. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Central and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very little storage space in the bedroom - just a narrow wardrobe.

    Excellent location. Friendly and helpful staff. We only took breakfast in the hotel on the first morning. It was good but there were many cheaper alternatives nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Very nice modern and comfortable choice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. We loved the decor, enjoyed our room and liked having the toilet in a separate room. The breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Yes breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is very small and you have to wait a long time. Jean Bapiste was very good and made our stay all the more memorable.

    Yes breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: