Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Lyon Métropole 4 stars

85 quai Joseph Gillet, 4th arr., 69004 Lyon, France

#24 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2320 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing 😎 comforts 😇🕊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t walk 🔴🔴back from the center especially at night Use a bus 🚌 or car during night the bus stop are very close just 100 m from the hotel Location in remote area but the restaurant is delicious 😋 and satisfying

    Every thing The pool The room are big The stuf spike English very good Very nice must comeback when ever go to lyon I am traveling with family 3 kids

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    We would stay in this hotel if we visited Lyon again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel. Location is excellent for seeing the sights of Lyon without being in the city centre. It's riverside aspect was an added benefit. The leisure facilities were very nice and open at appropriate times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Get away from it all & Soak if all away...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ! A swimsuit spinner could be a nice addition to the spa.

    Always a good choice for some efficient relaxation. Well-managed, stylish hotel with fantastic spa and water leisure space. The parking space is abundant. The bar is nice and comfy, the cocktails well done. Family friendly, nice for couples, works for exercise-minded singles too. A success.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel for families, quiet suburban location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a good distance from city centre, at least 45 minutes at a good walking pace. Would be great if bicycle hire was available at or near the hotel.

    Children enjoyed the swimming pools, both the 50 outdoor and the indoor. Even managed an hour of indoor tennis. View from our room onto the Saone river was charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Good for a rest by the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the way and there were no other eating places nearby

    The outdoor pool area. The food in the restaurant but make sure you book early. We couldn’t get in on our second night and had to resort to room service. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The entire hotel was clean and well presented reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barmen used left overs to top up drinks or replenish wine bottles, you know it goes on but you don’t want to see it in full view

    The entire hotel was clean and well presented reception staff were well trained and could answer any questions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff's friendliness, the extreme cleanliness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could have been a little bit better for 20 euros but that's ok.

    The staff's friendliness, the extreme cleanliness of the rooms, the pools, spacious rooms, kids club

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    All the facilities we needed and a great staff team made our stay a pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    We have stayed at this hotel twice before, so we knew what to expect. One of the main attractions for us are the spa facilities, which we really enjoyed. We stayed two nights in a prestige room with a balcony overlooking the main pool, which is definitely worth having. The staff were all excellent, with special thanks to those involved in tracking down my husband's sunglasses, which he left in his spa robe pocket and they had to be retrieved from the laundry pile! Overall, a great visit and we'll definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    We had a good stay , nice and relaxed and staff were top notch. Shame about five star prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drink prices were very high. We understood that pool is seasonal and not yet ready, however we would have liked to sit poolside and enjoy the sun. A long way out it Lyon city centre. 15-20 euros each way via taxi.

    Staff were superb. Rooms a decent size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    In general, it is a nice lux hotel with nice spa, located on...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms have to be renovated. If it was a 3* hotel I wouldn't have complained, but for a 4* hotel, I expected a bit more from the room. However, the bed was excellent, and the size of the room big enough.

    In general, it is a nice lux hotel with nice spa, located on the river. Free parking, nice view, even Tesla car chargers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Great Restaurant - Good quality produce, good choice, good...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were square shaped, not at all comfortable

    Great Restaurant - Good quality produce, good choice, good price Very impressive Spa, good facilities , everything very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable, great views in the river, excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not realise that the hotel was split into different buildings although it is all right next to one another.

    Excellent staff, family and child friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Comfy bed and nice view overlooking the river, free parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical 90's business hotel, not much soul, but you can expect it looking at the pictures. The whole hotel, rooms etc could however use a refresh touch, it's a bit lived in for the price. Spa/swimmingpool/fitness are open to public, which means more people than usual in a hotel facility = for me less relaxing. The fee for the breakfast is 20E, way above measure.

    Comfy bed and nice view overlooking the river, free parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.8
    Good location, professional staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating did not work properly, so they had to bring a small electric heater. In general, average room facilities which would not exceed a 3star hotel standard. Very overpriced room rate based on what you get in return.

    Good location, professional staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    À very nice hotel and spa for a family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the residence so we had to go outside in order to access the spa/pool area. Disappointed there wasn't an acccess from inside as we were not very comfortable walking in and out in our robes and slippers. The changing room indoor for the residence wasn't convenient as it was upstairs and far away from the pool area.

    Family apartment was very big and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice food and overall it was alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and sink were old and chipped, heating wasn't really working, the cleaners accessed the room twice without permission while we were sleeping, the arrogance of the lady at the front desk was unpleasent

    The hammam, the restaurant and the bed which was really comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No running water in first room we checked into, however this was rectified very quickly and professionally as we were offered an alternative room

    Great value, fab breakfast and the spa is incredible, especially the thermal outdoor spa pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    The river side setting was beautiful and the stroll into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar service was slow and on the first day quite rude. Though the rest of the staff were lovely.

    The river side setting was beautiful and the stroll into town is recommended. The food in the restaurant was off a high standard, especially if like me, you love your seafood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Very spacious accommodation, lovely pools, spa and fitness/well-being facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had rooms facing the road this time and although the soundproofing is good, I had to sleep with the window open as the room was too hot. The noise from the main road is loud and persistent even during the night, though of course less than during the day. I telephoned reception and asked them if they could cool the room down remotely, but they were unable to oblige as the air-conditioning is switched off at the end of September. I asked for a fan, they did not have one either. The duvet on the bed is sufficient for arctic weather, totally over the top as the weather in mid-October was very pleasant, about 22°.

    Fabulous outdoor hot spa area and indoor and outdoor swimming polls. We have stayed at the Metropole before and it is like being in the Mediterranean sitting around the giant outdoor pool. However the pool is closed from October until the summer. We stayed in rooms in the hotel described as ‘apartments’ which have little kitchen area which is very handy, with a job, microwave, fridge and all the utensils.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Apartment was very nice, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very far from the city center. Staff was not professional at all. They asked my credit card just for a guarantee and they promissed do not block my card as i didnt want it (payment in cash was possible). Next day i realized that i cant pay for another things, because hotel blocked 300 eu on my card. I found this situation absolutelly not professional! Only after my call reception unlocked my credit card. I was very dissapointed.

    Apartment was very nice, comfortable and clean. Nice pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Not really close to much but within walking distances if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really close to much but within walking distances if you need to. Nice big room and bathroom. Kettle, microwave and stove top available. Staff were great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    This hotel is not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Said that parking was free but this was only if you could find a space in the yard area. Garage parking was 15 euros a night. Drink prices are extortionate. Breakfast price is totally ridiculous. Meal price was OK because we fortunately liked all on the set menue otherwise it would have been a fortune. This hotel is definitively NOT value for money.

    Good range of facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Great stay at wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't really like was the decor. Quite dated but that is just my own personal opinion. Can't fault the facilities or staff.

    Pool and pool area are fantastic. Food in restaurant was delicious, highly recommend. We went in August so nice and quiet. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Pool, views and room were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn't use the pool before you checked in or after you checked out. We were going to lie by the pool while our room was been prepared but they would not allow us to the pool.

    Pool, views and room were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of choice on food for dinner and the price was a bit steep for the portion sizes.

    Room size was nice and it's underestimated how nice it was to have a kettle in our room 👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Superb indoor and outdoor swimming pools and relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Living area in 1 bedroom apartment on small side with sofa bed opened up. Expensive to eat in hotel.

    Superb indoor and outdoor swimming pools and relaxing hydromassage pools. Stayed in 1 bedroom apartment with views over river Saone. Apartment modern and clean. Good choice for breakfast. 10 minute bus ride to old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful Hotel, quiet location, expensive area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having previously stayed in Troyes we found Lyon extremely expensive in comparison. The Hotel was a little too far away from the town. Parking near the town centre proved very difficult and the local buses are very unreliable. We booked 2 rooms to accommodate the family and although both were cleaned on a daily basis there were no set times, so almost every day either in the morning, afternoon or early evening, we had to leave the rooms in the middle of getting ready for them to be cleaned. Also, if you are a tea or coffee lover you'll need to take along your own milk as two tiny pots of cream were all that were left every day. We did ask for more but the language barrier was a bit of a problem and the cleaners didn't understand. The lunchtime menu was a bit limited and expensive.

    We stayed for a week in August and overall our holiday was great. It didn't matter that we had the occasional shower as the hotel facilities were fantastic. The restaurant food was lovely and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Exceptional hotel with fantastic facilities. Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged a lot to stay after check out. Didn't like cost of food, €20 per person for breakfast too expensive. Drinks and other food around hotel very expensive also. Asked a member of staff about local patisseries and supermarkets and were told there weren't any nearby. Found out 2 days before leaving there was one pretty much next door (we hadn't walked that way). A wonderful little patisserie with lovely staff.

    Level of comfort and cleanliness. Large amount of very good facilities. Spa and pool were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    we were not impressed with the evening meal we had in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were not impressed with the evening meal we had in the hotel, but everything else very good. As you are in Lyon finding good food in the old town was very easy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel with great facilities close to the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't overly helpful, could have been more friendly in the leisure parts of the hotel.

    Facilities were very good, good cleaning service every day and hotel was very clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Had an amazing time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks could be cheaper, need to review the fact that you have a captured audience who will buy more instead of looking for alternatives. Matradee is a bit pompous. Noticed a few residents choosing the cafe down the road for breakfast. Also no need to charge for parking underground there is a free option but parking seems ample so just an additional charge. Advertising the Metro as an option for getting into Lyon isn't correct, it's too far away. The bus wasn't a great option. I would recommend hiring a small car to get in and out of the old town for evenings out. It's a straight road in and out and plenty of reasonable parking near the old town.

    Very clean, quiet and comfortable. Amazing facilities. Staff very friendly. Location has plus and minus, you're not near any noise or hassle. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Great stop-over spot for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stopped here on our way to the south of France. Staff was very friendly to accommodate our early arrival. Facilities are good for a day relaxing and playing by the pool(s). Family rooms were great with separate bedroom for the kids. I also forgot our kids' swim shirts by the pool which were sent down to our holiday spot for FREE!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hôtel, with a fantastic outdoor pool.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool opens only at 9AM. For those coming for work it is late. I was told there is also an indoor pool. But in summer, you want to enjoy being outside.

    Most amazing outdoor pool! Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Very warm welcome upon arrival and we were accompanied to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children's ice creams were very expensive!

    Very warm welcome upon arrival and we were accompanied to our room by a friendly member of staff, who explained the hotel's amenities to us on our way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food & drink were expensive in restaurant & bar area.

    Staff were very helpful & friendly. Bathrobes & towels for the pool were fabulous

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice pool and spa the rest was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms old and tired looking.. Did not feel 4 star. The cleaning staff were kind and friendly. Help on front desk was good and the spa receptionist she was almost rude and it was a shame.

    Spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable but ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you hire a studio you are supposed to have breakfast with the other studio guests which often means four to five families. Pretty noisy. But you can ask to have breakfast in the main hotel. Wi-Fi is unreliable.

    The spa facilities are good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent choice of hotel with a great swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that air conditioning couldn't be switched on/off in the studio. We had to request it to reception and it is centrally done, which is rather weird for a building from 2011. There was a heat wave during our stay and even with the air-conditioning off the temperature in the Studio was good. No refill of toiletries during a 3 night-stay? Poor! Pool bar prices high for what was in the menu. But food served was good.

    The Studio was a great choice because it was spacious and overlooking the river, very nice. It saved us from booking breakfast in a cheap looking breakfast room. Certainly not worth paying 20 EUR a head for that. Kitchenette was well-equipped, bathroom could be improved. A lot of empty space and hardly any to put your toiletries on. Great swimming pool and many sunbeds available on a busy weekend. Weather was too good to try SPA and indoor facilities but they looked great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was Ok and expensive. Not allowed to eat outside. Hotel is very far outside city. Limited transport. Have to take taxi approx 10 euro. If you book room only they automatically charge you for breakfast €20 per person. You have to tell them if u don't have it then they will deduct it.

    Nice pool area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.0
    It's not poor service, it is very poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, this is not the level of a 3 star in Dubai in terms of service, it's abso not the same as Metropole Geneve. Staff is not really polite and attentive to its guests, unless I was discriminated at some level. My son had a fever in the night, and I was trying to see if they have a doctor if not a doctor some first aid kit. No doctor, no first aid kit either. To call emergency doctor, I was advised to wait at least 3 hours. No other options were recommended. Not really speaking English. Even though I spoke about my son of 3 y.o. they would always refer to him as my husband:)) I don't know why. Due to a situation with my son, I asked for a late check out as we had to cancel our activities and stay in the room. I was said that we may stay at extra charge of EUR 65. We came for a weekend only and wanted to have a dinner at the hotel, as it turned out it was fully booked and we were offered a room service with extra charge. When I asked the reception why we were not advised about reservation requirement for the restaurant at the check in, she advised that it was written at my booking. I double checked, in fact it was not, but the reception decided to triple check maybe because I coul lie, to realize that there is no single note about it. Well, communication with the reception was always a challenge and of course there is no guest relations rep. The receptionist was in fact the guest relation,front manager and I didn't ask if she was a back up office manager as well. To enter the pool is done almost as if you are trying to get on the board of the airplane...

    I liked the swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Great Hotel Resort in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the indoor pool was out of commission . It was a long walk from changing facilities to sauna and steam rooms .

    spacious room,very comfy bed . Pleasant lounge /bar area with seating around pool if required. Restaurant was excellent. All staff very friendly and efficient. We only stayed one night so did not venture from the hotel but would return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is located somewhat on the outskirts of the city,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located somewhat on the outskirts of the city, but in a quiet and pleasant area. The spa at which tourists have free access is superb: large pool with very good water, spacious sauna, jacuzzi, outdoor Olympic pool...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Conveniant location with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If considering a stay at this hotel and you want a very quiet, relaxing property we noted that the hotel seems to host a lot of conferences, both small and large. Whilst the hotel has spacious lounge and restaurant facilities it can become very busy and noisy when conference delegates are networking in the early evening also the service drops off as the staff seem to be "stretched". The hotel has an enormous swimming pool and judging by the number of sun lounges around the. pool it is probably a hotel to avoid in peak summer periods

    The room was very spacious and clean. Like most hotels in Europe the shower was over the bath and there was no shower screen/curtain, but this was not a real problem as there were plenty of towels and bath mats to keep the floor dry. It was extremely warm during our stay however the air conditioning kept our room to the desired comfort level. The reception staff were helpful and very efficient and multi lingual. The bar, restaurant and terrace by the pool were very spacious with ample seating to allow for relaxation whilst enjoying a quiet drink or meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.6
    Never again!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Kids could only play in the playroom when a family member would go in fitness or in the swimming area. Children over 7Years aren't allowed. The Football place is on the roof with a fence of max 1m. ;-)and over the jaquzzi. So, the hotel crew told me that my children couldn't play with a ball, on it. The swimming area inside is for the whole family members and jaquzzi for children over 14Y. No other Area to play, for the children in the hotel. (No Billiard, No Game Room, No Playroom) Thats the reason why the swimmingpool is overfilled with kids in each age. The Hotelroom inside is from the 60s. The Food is very expensive but good. 100Euro deposit tax per night!!!!

    The Food in the Restaurant and on Breakfast was really good and the staff very kind. Pets allowed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having decafinated coffee in the room would be nice. Advanced notice of our holiday starting on a French bank holiday would have been useful.

    The location and the spa swimming facilities were excellent, staff were very helpful and friendly. The free laundry facilities were a bonus

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Exellent pools and SPA facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no minibar or refrigerator in the room. The addition deposit for the stay was too large.

    Outdoor pool with whirlpools within the park area was exellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Great for families that want to enjoy the pool and have nice size rooms with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service options, location and restaurant, shopping, entertaining around the hotel

    The size of the rooms, the spa, the pool and the day care for kids

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    Love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Well, we don't ever really eat at the hotel restaurant because it is a bit pricey.

    As a family with children under the age of 10 (who love swimming pools) we travel 2 hours by car to stay here for long weekends (3-4 times a year for the last 4-5 years). With the free parking, spa options, tennis courts, comfortable/spacious rooms and very satisfying breakfast, we really look forward to it. The walks along the river are also very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    5.8
    It was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you have a family you can only stay in the residence (our kids are too small to get two separste rooms) which means you haveto go outside to get to the spa. The cleaning ladies came only when we asked them to so the rooms were not kept well until the afternoon when we called them to come clean. The room service was not as good as it should be considering yhe price paid

    The spa was nice and it was great that kids were really welcomed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    great hotel with great friendly professional staff & wonderful facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    free internet but not very strong till my floor

    i definitely enjoyed the service & the facilities in summer it must be even better the bed was comfortable &the room spacious very friendly welcoming & helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is rather basic, although one can also come prepared (we stayed in an apartment, so theoretically could have eaten in our room, but were too lazy).

    When looking for a place to stay in Lyon, I decided to go for the "cool" option, with the swimming pool - so Metropol was where we stayed. And I must say, it was worth it. We really enjoyed using the facilities (although part of them is not accessible for kids under 14, for no good reason). There is also a busy gym and even tennis courts! The staff were nice and helped us with the luggage despite the late hour of arrival.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a great breakfast selection, the cooked items were pretty poor for a hotel of this standard

    The spa was really good, rooms were good, staff were great, clean, good value

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Revitalize on the way to wintersport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a little hard, but seriously not that bad and slept really well!

    Staff incredibly nice, late checkout at no extra cost, divine wellness facilities !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    4.2
    dissapointed and not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My review of this hotel is based on the room prestige, I was expecting something much better but not, the room was dark, quiet old, I got the impression that the room was not clean and the hit did not work very well. I woulnd come back to this hotel. Very expensive for what it is the room.The toilet very small not clean. Hotel B&b or Ibis is much clean that this hotel 4 star? Very dissapointed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent hotel and spa, just outside old town of Lyon.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too far from the city to walk, but staff very helpful about bus into town - 8 minutes!

    Loved the huge outdoor jacuzzi pools. Food was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Spa was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were very expensive

    Spa was excellent. However could not sit outside as the big pool was closed, shame as the weather was lovely. Restaurant was very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Deffo stay here...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only downside its location is just a bit too far from town... but some lovely eateries close by... need longer next time.

    This place was amazing and for a good size hotel the staff are amazing... room was fantastic the pool is to die for wish I had stayed longer.... 10 stars. oh its very superstar...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel Great for fitness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had no hooks or towel racks or shelves. The towels and robes are very generous but there is no place to put them or wet bathing suits.

    The outdoor pool is amazing! And plenty of all kinds of chairs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Stay from sep 10 to 11
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the stay was great the staff was not up to the required level. 2 examples: left my charger in the restaurant during dinner, the next morning asked to check weather it was found (it should have been found BTW) - no response from personnel, not even sorry we didn't find it. After we left I have discovered that I also left a book in the room. Called them the same day twice, promises to get back - no response!!! Wrote them an e-mail next day - but eventually no response!!! On the 3rd day after departure had to call them again and only after that recieved a response that the book was not found. However I'm 100% certain it was left on a table. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    What an excellent hotel.... We will revisit again and again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just as an extra service, it would have been nice to have towels by the pool ( or at least extra ones for little people who forget theirs!)

    Bed extra comfy, staff extra friendly and swimming pool extra large. After a long journey, we had such a refreshing and relaxing evening. Also it's one of the few hotels that caters for all 4 people in the room and not just toiletries, slippers and gown for the adults. Thank you it really was an excellent stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.9
    It's all about the pool for us (which is spectacular) -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food is average and very overpriced for what it is.

    It's all about the pool for us (which is spectacular) - otherwise we'd probably stay somewhere else. Special mention though for Gerrard, who looked after us brilliantly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    Great hotel if you want peace and relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-out day, we left the hotel room by 11am and wanted to use the pool for a couple of hours as our train back to the UK left late afternoon, we were told we would need to pay 25 euros each which I thought was rather excessive, given the fact we had stayed a week and spent a not insignificant amount on meals & drinks etc during the break.

    Peaceful location and plenty of room around the pool so no worries about getting a sun lounger. Snacks and drinks available pool side along with a lunch menu. The old town is about 10mins in a cab and has plenty of restaurants to choose from and it's beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.8
    This hotel is really lovely, the staff are very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was disappointing and we didn't really eat very much. The breakfast room is on the second floor and the tables and chairs was a bit canteen like. It would have been nice to have had breakfast in the restaurant or terrace which overlooked the pool and was light and airy.

    This hotel is really lovely, the staff are very helpful and professional and nothing is too much trouble. The room was great with a good view of the gorgeous very large pool. The food was also good. Wish we had stayed longer to make use of the spa which looked great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    I would be back in a heart beat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the prices of the food and drink once in the hotel were pricy, however we had dinner and it was one of the best meals I have had

    The bed was amazing, the whole spa area was incredible, we had the best balcony with sun loungers

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    A good overnighter with an amazing pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked adjoining rooms and also to be able to interconnect them

    The pool is huge and amazing. Location looked good, next to the river. Nice late checkout of 12 noon

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.1
    Basic and roomy but improvements needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two receptions was a bit strange for check in and the sofa bed want very comfortable. Was just electronic shutters so couldn't black out the room perfectly... there were also a lot of electronic lights in the room (TVs light switches etc) which were bright at night. The big pool was pretty cold and inside not that warm.... not ideal for young kids. Great for the adults though Also, my 30min massage lasted about 20mins which was a big rip off.

    Had everything you need for a short stay. Kitchen probably over the top for one night but needed the family room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to sit outside after having dinner and every section is closed off.Found food and drink in the hotel vet expensive and not that great.

    Outside pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Would recommend and go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Stunning hotel .... Was suprisingly shocked with the lovely Olympic size outdoor pool and sun bathing area, the indoor pool, the indoor spa, gym, lovely spacious and well equipped bedrooms. Would give 5* however the only downfall is the expensive price of food and drinks and limited menu choice (for kids especially) Around pool, drinks like cola and kids Apple juice were 6 euros each, bottle of water 5 euros, a burger at lunchtime 18 euros .... But I guess that's what you get when you are staying at such a posh beautiful hotel. Luckily there is a small shop 5 mins Walk up the rd and we bought baguette ham cheese and crisps for our lunches and ate in the room (there's equipped kitchen and dining table In family rooms) so that helped a lot.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice treat after long drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .. Everything was awesome

    Staff were amazing .. Helped me with any small issue I had.. From helping me with the induction plate in my room to meeting my special dietary needs at dinner.. Room and bed were very comfy .. Bath was big .. Plenty of tv channels..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    All the facilities (except for the wifi reach), the beds,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been in the hotel twice and each time the pull-out couch in the family room I reserved was not prepared and only towels etc. for two persons were foreseen. The most recent time we also had to move rooms after my children had already opened their suitcases and were in the spa. I could thus spent less time with them in the spa because I had to pack again all the suitcases and move to another room where they did prepare a pull-out couch. In addition, when I arrived, I asked for a room with a view on the pool so that I could supervise my children but was told there was no such family room available on that side of the hotel but in the end I they made me move to this side of the building. The person in charge at the reception on the evening of 28/07 was demanding and not flexible. It would have been a little effort for the hotel to prepare the pull-out couch while we were in the spa (in fact this was what the doorman initially suggested). The wifi code we were given did not work. We then received another code which only worked when one was standing close to the room door.

    All the facilities (except for the wifi reach), the beds, the breakfast and the staff in general (with one exception).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.6
    Great outside and inside pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be great if there was a direct, covered connection between the new building and the pool area to use in case it rains.

    Great outside and inside pools. The spa is perfect to relax after a long car trip. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious (we stayed in the new annex building, family room with two bedrooms). There are bathrobes and slippers available. Staff is friendly and helpful. There are sufficient parking options, both free and paid. This was the second time we booked this hotel for one night on our way to the south of France, and will certainly do so again on a next occasion. According to the kids, this is the best hotel ever because of the olympic size pool :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Really confortable hotel accessible to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to dislike

    Easy location offering everything we required

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Clean, modern hotel with attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was large group in hotel for conference

    Pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities where short on numbers compared to the amount of guests coming through

    The staff where excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: