Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel du Pont Wilson 4 stars

6, rue Mazenod, 3rd arr., 69003 Lyon, France

#36 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2510 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great base for exploration of Lyon & the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi was v weak. Underground parking was a challenge but at least they had some! Room was on the small side but lovely & quiet.

    Location v good. Staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic base for getting out around the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel because when in Lyon we don't really plan to be in our room much as the city has so much to offer and just needed a good basic place to stay. We have booked more expensive places in the city, where on reflection, the standard of the room and value for money were much worse than here. All together I would really recommend this hotel if you want a good base to get out into the city. The staff were also super helpful and gave us help on getting around the city and also a free drink taster at a local brew-pub.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Good overall but hotel smaller than anticipated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor coffee and no vegetables (eg tomatoes and/or peppers) to go with cold meats and cheese at breakfast. Breakfast room too small. Unfortunate burst water pipe that restricted our room access and left us without air-conditioning on one day. Staff kept us informed of progress with repairs but no offer of recompense for disruption/inconvenience.

    Staff really friendly and helpful. Clean, modern bathroom with good shower. Reasonable breakfast considering the small size of the breakfast room. Good location for public transport (tram stop just round the corner) and city centre only a short walk across the bridge over the Rhone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, nice large room, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Good location if you want to be on the Pont Wilson side, clean and the room was large. Nice breakfast, although the breakfast area was small and on occasions crowded. Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Front desk staff not very helpfull, The bedroom had a stale...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff not very helpfull, The bedroom had a stale smell of cigarettes even though I booked a non smoking room. For some reason their was no hot water that night. Their was mosquitos in the room that we had to kill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great, family friendly hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Double bed (2 adults-2 Children) with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and very helpful staff. We had a fantastic few from our room. We are a young family with 2 children and had a suite on the 6th floor. The view was amazing on the basilica and mountain. It is also very close to downtown and a nice walk to the oldtown called vieux Lyon. I will recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely return here when next in Lyon.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisey as people passed by talking loudly late at night.

    Great location, excellent staff. Best breakfast of the 3 locations we stayed at during our trip to Lyon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On Friday night it gets a bit noisy because of the close proximity to a very lively area by the river where people gather to drink and have fun.

    I loved this hotel! Friendly staff, comfortable room, convenient underground parking right next to the hotel entrance and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Great Hotel- wifi needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Double bed (2 adults-2 Children) with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor and the connection dropped out every few minutes. Log in process tedious. Lifts were slow.

    Great room with lots of space and comfort- staff helpful. Great location -easy walk to restaurants etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location and kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast and smell in the entrance. No gym and room in the first day was not good

    Staff are so cooperative and helpfull. Room and view are perfect after we complain in the first day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Double bed (2 adults-2 Children) with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and the bunk bed in its own alcove was very nice for the kids. And it was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Not a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible WiFi Hotel needs some renovation to live up the 4 stars Expensive onsite parking is claustrophobic

    Friendly staff Spacious room Nice location close to local market on the river

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff, friendly, helpful and well informed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is just a suggestion, better light in the bathroom would make a big difference.

    Excellent staff, friendly, helpful and well informed. Perfect location for visiting Lyon. Comfortable bed, good shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Average property that needs refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a 4 star property. Decor was dated and rooms small. Wifi kept shutting off after a short period of non-use Room smelt of smoke. Maybe OK for business travel but any length of time in the room was not so agreeable. Not so many bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable Decent sized bath towels Helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't easy to find in the car, but this was mainly due to the one way systems in Lyon rather than the hotel.

    Centrally located with easy walking access to most of the sites to see in Lyon. The hotel itself was very comfortable and clean with a really cool car park. We stayed just one night, but they were happy for us to leave the car in the car park until 1300. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean room, enough space, river view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late check-in (after 15:00) is a little bit inconvenient, but did not affect us much.

    The staff is very friendly, we had a good laugh. The location is very nice, you can see the river and the beautiful cathedral on the other side of the river. The district is quiet enough, no noise at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    The service at the hotel is very good, friendly working...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet room is seperated from the washing room, so after using the toilet people have to walk to another room to wash hands. It is not exactly negative, just not used to such setup.

    The service at the hotel is very good, friendly working staff plus nice storage saving service. The location is not far from tourist attractions, close to shopping area, and walking distanct to the central train station. The air condition works super good, the rooms are warmed up fast in the snowing weather.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a very good location,5 minutes walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is small

    The hotel is in a very good location,5 minutes walk to the city center,very friendly and helpfully receptionist , fantastic breakfast,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Marion at the front desk was very helpful, thank you again. Quality of the hotel is declining!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Double bed (2 adults-2 Children) with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coming back for the fourth time was a bit of an anti-climax. The hotel quality is declining. Our friends suite seemed to be used as a smoking room for the staff and the whole place definitely no longer deserves four stars. We won't be back, unfortunately.

    Marion at the front desk was very helpful organising parking for us. This is the fourth time we've stayed here and we were very surprised that booking the suite didn't include at least a parking priority.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    Do not stay!! We were robbed inside our own room while sleeping!!! Money and passports taken!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were robbed inside our own room while sleeping!!! Someone opened the door of our room (that cannot be opened from the outside without a key) when we were still sleeping and took our money and, more importantly, our Passports! As a reason of this we had to cancel our whole holiday at a great expense and frustration. The hotel just didn't take any responsibility for the occurrence nor they provided any real support to us after this happened in their premises. The manager never came to speak to us even to apologize!! Really poor management! Extremely shocking and frustrating to see that the hotel cannot provide even a minimum level of security to its guests and you will never know if you will find your belongings when you are back to your room. We regret greatly have chosen this hotel and don't recommend as it's not safe!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    it's a large room with 2 stories bed that my daughter liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Double bed (2 adults-2 Children) with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast on Christmas morning was not good because of short of eggs.

    Large room! The parking of the hotel was very cool like a secret base for the spy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Only Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and parking are very expensive. We chose to have breakfast in the nearby locations.

    Very good location, within a walking distance of the most important sightseeing of Lyon. The hotel is not relly 4 stars, but the bed is comfortable and the room is spacious enough and functional. There are coffe and tea facilities in the room. I recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable stay in the heart of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Double bed (2 adults-2 Children) with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was too expensive (16€ per person). But there are many cafes at a walking distance from the hotel where breakfast is served. Also, the lobby was too small. Apart from that, everything else was fine.

    The location was super convenient and our family room was very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    5.8
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought hotel rather expensive given there were minimal facilities for relaxation. Absence of lounge or bar area.

    Convenient location. Free WiFi. Pleasant staff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Cheap, basic and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    OK, it’s not in luxury class. But considering the per night price, it’s not fair to criticize the hotel, as everything worked, was clean etc.

    Good value for money. Close to the river, which is the nicest part of Lyon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was expensive for single person and there was nowhere to hang any clothes! not even a hanger!

    Location was central; staff excellent and helpful; continental breakfast was very good, hot options were very average

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    Great view shame about the bunk bed and the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Double bed (2 adults-2 Children) with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult for our 2 kids of 10 and 13 years old to fit in the bunk bed.

    I liked the size of room with a view of the Basilica and a balcony. It was a good thing that there’s parking because it was difficult to find one on the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    An Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little scary getting our car parked but the staff were wonderful and helped us with it!

    We loved this hotel! We have been travelling in France for 5 weeks and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in! The staff were wonderful! David on the front desk is a star! The breakfast was very good. The bed and pillows were AWESOME! It is in a great location. Easy to walk to sites. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.0
    Very average for best western
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could not find my booking when i got there. I had to provide proof of my booking through booking.com. No hot water at 11pm for a shower or a hot bath after a very long day at work. Its not on am afraid...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay, perfectly situated twixt station and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing....oh the odd mosquito bite (7).... in mid Oct!

    sumptuous , all you can eat breakfasts, king size bed,bathroom almost as big as Formule 1 double room, oh, and did I mention the breakfast, and the location was superb , especially if arriving into Lyon by TGV, 20 min walk in almost straight line.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for breakfast was exorbitant - so we went to a nearby tearoom.

    Comfortable and convenient location. We had a meeting at the prefecture and it was just a 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.0
    Staff was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs an urgent update, hygiene was not OK especially bathroom, lot of mold and parts and corners not clean. Not a nice atmosphere. Breakfast was moderate

    Staff was friendly Location is very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable Hotel, Great Breakfast, Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A couple of small things: (1) there were no drawers at all in the room or in the en-suite; clothes etc. were restricted to a floor to ceiling cupboard with 4 shelves, situated in the entrance hallway, or in another cupboard with some hangers. Lack of drawers was very irritating over our 5 day stay; (2) only one hanger in the bathroom to dry large towels, which was insufficient, which eventually meant requesting fresh towels each day.

    This Hotel is situated on the left bank of the Rhone (Part-Dieu area) in a small side street not far from the main road fronting the river. It has easy access from Lyon Part-Dieu Railway Station (the taxi fare was 15 euros). The Hotel frontage has a rather sombre appearance, but once inside. my sister and I received a warm welcome from the receptionist. Our Standard Room on the 3rd floor, was of good dimensions with a full length French window providing lots of light, with comfortable twin beds, small en-suite providing lots of hot water for shower or bath. Breakfast is served in a small room on the ground floor and it was simply excellent. There were fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereals, muesli, meats and cheese, croissants, pastries, breads, coffee of all kinds from an excellent machine, hot water on tap for tea, eggs to boil, and a choice of hot food. There were too many other things to list, but all I can say is that it was the best choice of breakfast I have ever had in France. In the reception area there is a free choice of newspapers in different languages and the receptionists are very helpful. The hotel is well situated for a bus/tram services both from Rue Servient which runs behind the hotel and from Quai Victor Augagneur beside the river. The bus from Quai Victor Augagneur goes over the Guilloterie bridge direct to Place Bellecour on Presque’ile where are the shops and restaurants. To walk to Place Bellecour would be about three-quarters of a mile and take about 15 minutes, but it was helpful to us (elderly but active) to have this choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Very freindly staff, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi signal in our room, the internet was continousely disconnecting, and we need to re-connect several times.

    Very freindly staff, good location, a walking distance from the city centre. Big and clean room, availability of refrigerator and electrical kettle is an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location great for a morning run along the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer to have a top sheet instead of just a duvet. Made it difficult to get comfortable when sleeping.

    Staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful, even loaned us wines glasses for the bottle of wine we purchased!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.4
    Lyon was lovely but I would not stay in that hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that a hotel rated as four star did not have a restaurant or a bar.

    The bedrooms were very good and comfortable. The breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    good hotel close to the old city of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    car park (lift) is not suitable fr cars > 1.9 tons. The parking possibilities outside are public parkings around the location the breakfast location is small and crowded if hotel is full the WiFi is not allowing WatsApp communication

    good hotel close to the old city of Lyon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.5
    The hotel is quite well-located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite hot in the room, stagnant air cause there is no air condition or fan. According to the outside temperature, I could just open the window and let air in. It was much better within a couple of minutes. I don't know how it is in summer when it's really hot outside.

    The hotel is quite well-located. Within 20 minutes you can reach the most important places. The stuff was very friendly, the room cosy. You could have tea and coffee in the room, electric kettle, tea bags and instant coffee were available. Unfortunately, there was no fridge in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location, close to the waterfront and walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit run-down and offers basic services.

    Good location, close to the waterfront and walking distance to the old town and main attractions. Confortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Good staty-over for one night in Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy street. Lots of restaurants were closed due to yearly holidays.

    Nice breakfast (Buffet). Short to the city center. Underground parking (with elevator). Friendly staff at reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpeted room. A bit too expensive for what it offers but probably this is central Lyon prices.Too expensive breakfast.

    The location is very good. The parking was free in August but you need to pay the rest of the months. The room was big enough, very clean,good airconditioning but overlooking the street which happened to be loud by drunk tourists at night.I am generally not keen on carpeted rooms. The receptionist was very nice and polite and spoke excellent english. We did not have breakfast there because it was too expensive. Overall, a good basic chain hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Short stay in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a very limited parking possibility around this hotel. The hotel have parking possibilities but must be pre-booked. We had to stay on the street during the night. However, nothing happend and the parking is for free in August :)

    This hotel is a standard Best Western Hotel. However the location is just perfect for a short walk to the old city. The staff was very helpful and gave us some very good suggestion of what to explore and where to have dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not able to check in early (30mins early) after a long trip to the hotel. Breakfast was not great...

    Staff were really friendly - we were very impressed by all of the staff with whom we had interactions. The hotel was clean - despite construction work on the building we were not disturbed at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    I'm sorry to say this, but to be hoestly, I won't come back again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is quite old. They put some air cleaner on the hallway as well as inside of the room, which are really was giving me a headache.

    The staffs were really nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    The receptionists throughout our stay were extremely helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the time of booking we were fully aware that there was building work taking place although this did not bother us as whilst there was scaffolding out side our bedroom window there was not a particularly good view. Our feeling was that this is not really a 4 star hotel. The reception and breakfast areas were very small and not at all satisfactory. It was so small that only a limited range of food could be offered. As a result we only ate in the first morning. There is no bar area or lounge that we were aware of. The location of the hotel however was excellent being quite near the Pont Wilson giving access to the Presque Isle and other central parts of the city However our overall impression of the hotel was poor

    The receptionists throughout our stay were extremely helpful particularly regarding use of the excellent bus services within the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    We would stay here again if we ever come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were pleased with the size of the room and although we were right next to the elevator there was a second door to the room which blocked any noise that may have come from the hall. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was close to public transit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Definitely worth another visit to both Lyon and Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding all around the hotel, not informed work was being carried out at time of stay.

    Great location, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast choice .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    We had a very nice room and the hotel is very near from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very nice room and the hotel is very near from the city center, you need only a few steps to have a great view other the city. It's great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Good hotel at great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was happy with everything. No problems at all.

    The location is great, the tramway stops 50 m from the hotel. You can even walk from Part-Dieu station, it's that close. The room was large and had all comforts, especially appreciated air-cond. Nice that there was even a smaller and softer pillow - I do not like big ones. A kind touch was a free bottle of water - it only costs pennies, but shows goodwill. The bathroom was also large and clean. Lovely breakfast with extras! 50 m to the other direction you reach Rhône quay with some nice bars and restaurants, and a food market (at least Sat & Sun mornings). Warmly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the room, like the bathroom are quite old and should be replaced. Not super sound proof. Not the cleanest hotel room that I've ever been in.

    Close the everything, easy to walk to everything worth seeing. Parking at the hotel. Very friendly, helpful and English speaking staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Useful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too few staff. The company logo on the car park door would have been useful, we didn't have a clue where to park, On a very bust street one of us stayed with the car, the other one went into the hotel to enquire where to park.

    Breakfast very efficent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Loved Lyon and the people we met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi would go out on occasion and you would need to sign back in, however, it was a minor problem. Without a doubt I would stay here again

    Staff was great especially David who was extremely helpful. Location to all we wanted to see and do

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel near the Rhône river and the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Double bed (2 adults-2 Children) with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great hotel near the Rhône river and the city centre. We had a very spacious family suite with a balcony and a good view to the river. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Less than a 1/2 mile walk straight toward the river from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Less than a 1/2 mile walk straight toward the river from the train station. Located a block from the river. Excellent location. High quality linens and pillows. Refrigerator in room. Excellent customer service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean hotel, nice staff, handy location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable quality hotel in good location on quiet street near to the Rhone. Reception staff very helpful, room and hotel generally very clean. A short tram ride from the Gare Part Dieu (tram T1 to Liberte) which in turn is a direct link to the airport via the Rhone Express. Can't comment on food as we didn't eat in the hotel, nor did we need parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Lyon by the Rhone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving by car and being directed by receptionist into lift was weird but very secure parking - left car there for a week whilst on river cruise, no problems. An issue with our safe was quickly resolved when moved into a suite for the inconvenience and what a view of the Rhone! Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Short break in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room far too small. Bad wifi connection. Disappointed we could not upgrade to balcony room.

    Close proximity to river rhone. Quiet location. Good price. Management acted quickly about poor internet connection, cold breakfast and some unavailable tv channels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Staff, Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no place to park. Next time I just would not get a car. Public transportation is right around the corner. Also, the breakfast was too expensive. I can't review how good it was because we chose to just skip it due to the cost.

    The best thing about this hotel was the staff. We arrived early before check in time, and they redirected the housekeepers to our room immediately, gave us free coffee and snacks, and made us comfortable while the room was being prepared. During the stay, every issue that arose (spotty WiFi, needed help with password, needed extra pillows to elevate swollen feet, etc) was cheerfully handled. The room was small but the city view was cool. Excellent restaurants within walking distance. Weekend open air market along the river right in front of the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location for exploring Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location Located beside the river, a short walk to everything you need to see in Lyon Very helpful staff, with very good English A market is held along the river to pick up breakfast on a Sunday morning

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Modern and comfortable hotel close to downtown
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast room is small. No gym facilities in the hotel.

    This is a modern hotel well connected to public transport (a T1 tramway stop just in front of the hotel) and close to downtown. The walking along the river is very nice and there are good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean and reliable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The reception person was helpful. Everything was up to Best Western's good standards. It was only a few metres from the beautiful Rhone river and a short walk from the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Good place to go for a Romantic weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first visit liked it all

    The breakfast catered for all tastes, the rooms were cleaned and tidied everyday fresh towels and linen, tea, coffee sundries refreshed daily, all staff excellent and polite, all those on reception spoke excellent English and could not be more helpful. Lyon railway station 25 minute walk, Metro 10 minute walk! Old Town 10 minute walk. Will be visiting Lyon again soon and probably stay in the same hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV didn't work - not a big deal but they would have liked to have caught up on the bbc news

    I booked the room for my elderly aunt and uncle who were very content here and particularly happy that a bowl of cereal was offered to my uncle despite him being very late for breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Too short stay in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's wifi kept on asking me today login, which was a pain because there was almost no wifi coverage in my room. The toilet kept on flushing which made sleeping tricky.

    The hotel's location is good, a block aways from the river that you can follow to either eat/drink at one of the boat restaurants or walk to the massive public park (well worth a visit). Cross over the river and you're in the shopping district with a number of great restaurants. The staff at the hotel was super friendly and were happy to recommend restaurants that served local cuisine. Overall I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are far from soundproof. You hear a lot noise from other rooms, hallways and the street both, and night. Won't return because of this, unfortunately.

    Comfortable beds. Great service. Closer to three stars than four though. Excellent location, parking 2mins away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Excellent accomodation to enjoy a nice and pleasant stay in Lyon !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the cleanliness and quietness of the room the kindness of staff and the very good location of the hotel at a short walking distance of the city center;

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Everything was good. ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very poor ... But everything else was perfect

    Very friendly staff , the room was very nice, it had a nice sweet smell , warm and a very comfortable bed and pillows ! Good breakfast too , many varieties! Good location .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.2
    great place to stay and from which to explore Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really, although accessing the one lift could be a problem at the busiest times

    excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff and a comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Very good for a short break in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - excellent value

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location. Hotel ticked all the usual boxes for a Best Western Good breakfast. An excellent base for exploring Lyon - very close to public transport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Sooo comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just they should care that some shelves and equipments in the room, which were not used for long time, were dusty.

    All the staff were very helpful and kind, location, room, bed, breakfast all excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    5.8
    Not a very good experience this time... Watch out the unfriendly cleaning lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First time in my life that we got harassed by the cleaning lady... With "no disturbing" sign on the door, the door was knocked at noon and was told by the very aggressive cleaning lady, either we leave the room now or no cleaning service at all...Unbelievable!! Terrible leak from the bath tub, our room was like a swimming pool. While walking in the room, you can literally splash water...

    Great location and helpful reception people

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    6.7
    Easy to raise your voice but difficult to apologize...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soundproofing! You could hear all the noises coming from the street even if being on the 4th floor. The receptionist (on the 15th of January morning) was impolite when we paid for the parking. Not only she gave us back the wrong change, but she also became aggressive and persistent when we tried to explain to her her mistake. It was easy for her to raise her voice but difficult to apologize...

    The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. The city center is close.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    great location, clean and fresh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have a restaurant, but many cafes just over the river.

    Lovely big bed. Everything very comfortable, fresh and clean!! Near the river, 10 min walk to old town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    Well run and functional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi was a bit annoying and kept disconnecting (only of those fiddly hotel systems with password where you have to give a separate e-mail for each device). The location is pretty central (10 minutes on foot to the main square) but some of the neighbouring streets (like Cours Gambetta) don't feel too safe, best to take Pont Wilson to head to the centre.

    Very nice and friendly staff, parking in the building is a big advantage if you can find a space on time, generally a well-run and functional hotel that does the business but also gives out very nice positive vibes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    5.8
    Staff was very friendly and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel/Lobby and rooms somewhat dirty. The Hotel and the rooms had a strange / nasty smell (like cheap perfume or soap). I guess, it was intended and "fragrance" has been shed via the air conditioning system.

    Staff was very friendly and professional. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: