Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Macchi 4 stars

94 Chemin De L'Etringa, 74390 Châtel, France

#1 of 36 hotels in Châtel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Personal attention & comfort hard to beat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The personal attention (we arrived late and the staff made up a supper plate for us which we really appreciated. The room was really comfortable and clean. The breakfast was exceptional. It felt more like we had stayed with friends. I have travelled a lot and haven’t found a welcome to match it anywhere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is great with all the comfort you could ask for,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great with all the comfort you could ask for, in a cozy and modern decor. The staff and the food are amazing the pool and fitness center calm and very clean and everything is walking distance from the hotel! Will come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    We highly recommend and will definitely go back again.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool table needs an update (I had to think hard for this one)

    Rooms are lovely, warm & large. Lovely cotton bedding. Lots of room to hang clothes. So we could unpack our suitcases... YES ! Lots of spaces to chill, have fun & hang out. Bar & games room. Felt like a home from home. Staff were super friendly and would do anything to help make your stay perfect. Spa & Pool were fab / Massage was super. We all loved every day of our weeks stay, kids inc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay, would certainly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was a little unstable so i kept having to reenter the code every time i used the internet on my phone. Otherwise no complaints at all, really enjoyed our stay here

    Beautiful hotel situated in center of town run by lovely staff. Comfortable room, nice wellness area downstairs with pool, sauna and steam. Ski hire shop on site. Everyone very helpful. Would certainly stay here again when visiting Chatel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    An excellent family run hotel with good food and welcoming ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom temperature at night seemed too hot - but with the sliding window slightly ajar it helped.

    Staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is family run with care and attention to detail. Restaurant is very good and the breakfasts excellent. The pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room are all most welcome after a day skiing, etc. My wife says the spa massage is one of the best she's had!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Really nice place where we would be happy to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too high and too firm. But that’s really not what we will remember. Reall

    The staff in Hotel Macchi is amazing. Everyone there is very competent and super nice. The facilities are great. The breakfast is really nice, they choose mainly local products.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Thank you to Michele and the team for making our stay so easy and enjoyable. Such a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic welcome. Michele was extremely helpful - even booking an emergency dental appointment for us. Lovely room with a fantastic view. Delicious breakfast. Cannot fault this hotel - will definitely be back...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Stop over in Chatel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was superb. The host was a joy. His French was easy to understand and he was energetic, welcoming and our stay was even better because of him. The bar was cosy and a pleasure to relax in after our long drive and for a night cap after dinner. The beds were comfortable and the showers were great, plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Charm and comfort in a cozy chalet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection is rather poor.

    This chalet hotel has a wonderful atmosphere, cozy and charming. The breakfast was great and the crepes for children in the afternoons were a pleasant surprise too. The jacuzzi and pool are nice and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay in a wonderful friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were comfy Staff super friendly - went out of their way to help. Really good Homely feel Well located. Fabulous breakfasts. Spa! Peaceful / tranquility (we went at the very beginning of the ski season) Pancakes! We will definitely be going back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    A good hotel in a village with both summer and winter activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit expensive in the bar and I'm still thinking about the role the pond on the terrace had.

    Hotel Macchi is a really good hotel but it has not been updated in some areas. The hotel has great staff, great food and a lovely breakfast with a breakfast chef and electric juicer. The restaurant has a lovely terrace overlooking the valley. A special thanks to Anais for a fantastic check in and Valentina to the rescue of an evening in the dinning area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great staff, comfort, great breakfast, atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Great staff, comfort, great breakfast, atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Calm & relaxing and totally looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Amazing staff. Incredible breakfast and wonderful atmosphere. Excellent plus best massage ever

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and best wine list in town imho
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great wine list and restaurant. Nice cosy games room and bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    The wifi was not good, kept cutting out and very poor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was not good, kept cutting out and very poor connection

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Will be staying again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too warm at nght.

    Friendly staff, nice food and great wine list.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi, didn’t want to work but struggled to check weather reports etc

    Very comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff reserved ski lesson for my daughter. That's quite help full

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel, Attentive Staff, Charming Village, Family Friendly Ski Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We traveled with a toddler and every time we asked the hotel for something they always said yes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    A well thought out hotel with friendly staff. They have everything covered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pancakes at 4pm was a nice touch. The hot tub was a godsend after a days skiing. The kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was always "fine dining" and expensive, sometimes just a good portion 3 or 4 course would have been better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    it's close to the village and free travel to ski station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's close to the village and free travel to ski station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant for out of season
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were good - nice pool and sauna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great 24 hours break !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the warm welcome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Superb hotel - excellent location, facilities and very helpful and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about the hotel was superb from the staff to the facilities and the location - the hotel Ski hotel we have ever stayed in!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Very adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The ski hire was far too expensive, but I should have checked this before hiring.

    Hotel was as advertised, staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Absolutely Fabulous Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing

    Everything great food great service, wonderful staff homely feel. Ski shop, spa and all facilities on the premises.... lovely lovely stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Perfect short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received a room upgrade with beautiful balcony views, food excellent and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Gréât place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful . Excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    We love everything about this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!

    We love everything about this hotel! This was our third visit and it certainly won't be our last. We have stayed at numerous ski resorts over the past 30 years and have to say that this is our favourite resort and our favourite hotel. Cannot fault anything about our stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    We had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Macchi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Macchi. Everything about the hotel was great- the location close to the town and ski bus stop, the bar and restaurant serving a wide selection of drinks and amazing food, the staff were so helpful and friendly, the rooms perfectly clean and nicely decorated, the breakfast was plentiful with a huge selection of hot and cold and the spa facilities were a real bonus after a day on the slopes! Well done Hotel Macchi, we will be back!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Amazing family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing family hotel. The staff is extremely helpful and makes you feel at home. Nice chalet feel with a modern twist, rooms and spa are spotless. Very nice breakfast with local products and fresh juices.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful friendly and accommodating staff incl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cosy room is way too small but we had no choice as hotel was fully booked.

    Very helpful friendly and accommodating staff incl. shuttle bus driver. Free shuttle to pistes. The most fabulous spa. Cosy bar area (afternoon crepes) and lounge.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable rooms. Hotel is very charming with attention to the smallest details. Spa very nice and ayurvedic massage was incredibly relaxing. Sitting areas were very cozy by the fire and restaurant was delicious. Breakfast was great with natural fruit juices a highlight. Great location in town.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.6
    great service and very friendly, good facilities and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    great service and very friendly, good facilities and good ski hire shop on site plus a lovely man dropping us and picking us up from the ski lift in the mini bus.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    9.2
    The hotel was very clean, well equipped and the staff looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool area was really clean and smart, although the jacuzzi could have been warmer. Extra charge for breakfast - although it was worth it.

    The hotel was very clean, well equipped and the staff looked after us really well. The food was amazing, no need to look elsewhere. Chauffeur driven to ski lifts was a real treat. Ski hire from hotel saved time and hassle.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Good breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good breakfast and dinner. Excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.1
    One of these comfy family-run hotels in the Alpes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were dark, superior room with view on a parking lot...

    One of these comfy family-run hotels in the Alpes...

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.8
    Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet Connection

    Staff!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.1
    Good facilities and friendly staff, nice surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds/mattresses are really uncomfortable! Bit too expensive.

    Good facilities and friendly staff, nice surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.6
    Everything it was a lovely relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water temperature in spa and pool was a little cool

    Everything it was a lovely relaxing break

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    Everything about this hotel is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Everything about this hotel is great

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    Helpfulness of the staff
    • Solo traveller

    Helpfulness of the staff Breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    A fabulous and very inviting hotel with superb facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fabulous and very inviting hotel with superb facilities. The staff were warm and very professional. A great place to stay and romantic too.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    Excellent food, drinks and service in the dining room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food, drinks and service in the dining room and bar.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    8.8
    Nice bar and lounge for relaxing in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a bit too soft for me

    Nice bar and lounge for relaxing in

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.6
    The Macchi was a delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Macchi was a delight. Staff were friendly, the facilities were great.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.6
    Great food, staff and facilities , everybody looking for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spotty wifi service

    Great food, staff and facilities , everybody looking for a way to improve our stay

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    8.8
    The staff and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The twin bed was half-under a shelf and so not so comfortable for a third adult. The wifi connection was hit and miss.

    The staff and amenities.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: