Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Résidence Pierre & Vacances Centre 3 stars

14, quai de Marans, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#27 of 53 Holiday rentals in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 655 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have no issues with this property, we would stay here again without question.

    We were really please with this property and its location. The reception staff were very helpful and the key code entry on the side of the building made it easy for returning back late in the evening. Although we didn't use the swimming pool it did look inviting. Our room was equipped with sufficient kitchen equipment to knock together a simple pasta dish, but the two ring hot plate wouldn't allow you to do much more. There is a Carrefour supermarket just at the end of the road and an excellent family run patisserie called Les Petits Pains. The underground parking at this property was a bonus, but you do need to find a temporary place to park on arrival and departure in order to collect and drop off the garage token.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very basic. The double bed was actually a pull out sofa bed that was very squeaky and lopsided. Balcony dirty and too small. Feel it was very expensive for what it was, esp if I compare to other accommodation in the same area. Gave up trying to use the wifi as very slow and kept disconnecting. Disappointed with it all.

    Very centrally located and a 5 minute walk from the old port, shops and many restaurants. Kid's bunkbed was small but mattress and pillows clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Working extractor fan would have enabled us to cook meals. As kitchen area was in bedroom area we did not want to sleep with cooking smells

    Plenty of lights and sockets also the heating available was good. Lovely swimming pool. And helpful staff good quality white goods

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to purchase own toilet paper. TV did not work. Needed to pay daily fee to use safe in room. Bunk beds were uncomfortable. Room much smaller than the photos on website made it look.

    Located close to train station and city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to buy replacement toilet rolls was a bit odd. Around the hotel there were a couple of places that were frequented by street livers with large dogs which could be a bit intimidating at times.

    Great having the ability to pre order assorted bakery goods for the morning. Kitchenette in the room was a bit small but adequate for breakfast. Good location only about 10 minutes walk to the central market which is surrounded by a number of really good restaurants that are frequented by locals rather than tourists, unlike the majority of those surrounding the old harbour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very comfortable. Good facilities including underground car park which was very secure and ideal if travelling by motorbike (as I was)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appartement a bit cramped but ok for us as we were out all day. I've stayed with Pierre et Vac twice before and I'm sure there was more space. Balcony cramped also, walls not cleaned, plenty of cobwebs. It's a pity the adjoining building is now derelict so looks unkempt. All in all average accommodation if out sightseeing all day or just back for lunch.

    Location, very near port/town centre, not far to beach and restaurants. La Rochelle is a beautiful town, lots to discover. Kitchen facilities good, we did not cook but everything needed is there in a compact area. Did not use the pool this time but looks good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Reception closes for 2 hours in the middle of the day which caused a minor issue with leaving our luggage. The safe didn't work in the room but otherwise all good.

    Decent location, good sized apartment although would be a squeeze with two children.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The room was offered for 4 adults, but it is even tiny for 2 adults with small children. The balcony just had space enough for 2 persons if none of them moves. No change of linnen or towels after one week. I booked inside parking for the whole visit via booking.com but the Residence only accepts direct booking of extras.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the room was clean, the furnishing was showing a lot of wear and tear. We have used this hotel twice before and were a bit disappointed with the state of the furnishings. It was a really hot day when we arrived and had to park the car in the far end of the car park, quite a distance from the lift only to find there were no luggage trolleys to offload our baggage on to, as there had been in previous years. We asked reception about the trolleys and they said they didn't know where they had gone. As our room was at the end of a long corridor, at opposite end from the lift, this made it quite exhausting to unload and load the car. We noticed that there were a number of elderly guests in the hotel who would have appreciated the use of trolleys in the car park.

    The location and the underground car parking. We chose it because it was self catering and you had the option of eating in or out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small down side for us was the room didn't have any toilet paper. We were touring in the car and staying in hotels on route to suit, therefore we did not envisage having to supply our own. Very close to the accommodation is a small super market (towards the port) were we purchased are suppliers from.

    The location is really good, only a short walk to the old port. The car park is secure and covenient. The staff were very welcoming and helpful..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This residence does not deserve 3 stars. So much to complain about: service, cleanness,...To make a long story short: AVOID TO GO THERE!

    The residence is located in the center in a safe place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn't to bothered to make the beds up just put linen in room , room very small double bed was sofa bed,can't get on balcony if another person was there. Very expensive , awful coffee

    Near to old port

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    rooms are tiny - I mean tiny, for adults with children, I have no idea how they cope! Not climatisee - had requested a fan if available on the hottest evenings- not followed thru on. While clean, the rooms are looking shabby now and in need of refurbishment. The sofa-bed was reasonably comfortable, the alternative being bunk-beds. Nice crisp sheets/ towels, but no option to change them out during the week (yikes!) The desk is manned only periodically during the day and really no effort is made for a foreigner to be made welcome. Love the location, but we'd plan elsewhere next time.

    Proximity to all the terrific action and activities at vieux port. My wife liked the pool; I enjoyed having a small galley kitchen to rustle up dinner; nice folks, courteous...that's as much as I can praise

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very kind and understanding even though some of my fellow countrymen (Irish football supporters) were loud and drunk a few nights. They handled the situation very fairly. Great location close to town and the train station, would definately stay again!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What I didn't like was that the man on reception had no manners and was quite possibly the worst host I've ever had. He demanded we pay €35 for a missing key despite the fact the key was never given to us in the first place. I would never stay in that excuse for a hotel again. I'd rather sleep rough on the streets of La Rochelle than give those people any more money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    stayed for 10 days and the first time we had a housekeeping visit was on the eighth day. The doors to the outside of the pool area did not have handles on the outside so it was easy to find oneself locked out.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 10min away from the center (port) Quite place, very easy to access. The studio was well equipped

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the pool changing facilities

    It was ok no complaints

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good wifi

    Very good bed, clean linen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outstanding location right in the city center and huge indoor swimming pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool warmer. More towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    RAS

    Situation super

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty getting access after hours. Friendly guests helped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BREAKFAST EXCELLENT. SWIMMING POOL VERY GOOD. STAFF POLITE. LOCATION GREAT. VERY PRIVATE . EXCELLENT VALUE.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and fuctional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location for the boat show was ideal - I walked the Grand Pavois in under 30 minutes and the weather was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to port and restos

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for 4 people was too small even for 2.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, very good swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    terrible accomodation, terrible excuse for a bed which was a fold out camp bed. Will never stay there again

    not alot other than location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    still no invoice availabl, hotel does not issue and booking.com is not performing, despite requests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the view

    the location was excellent and convenient to access the centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available, no sheets on one bed upon arrival, poor view, weird smell in the bathroom

    Great pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette in room, swimming pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool is all one height 1.6m so not ideal for children or poor swimmers who want to cool down.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the room was fine but nobody at reception when we arrived no information for us to get our keys

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and basic couldn't see 4 people staying in the room. Very loud on the street at nighttime

    Extremely clean and in a good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (4 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    some drunk people who made very so loud and kick their doors made a big mess in the corridor (through up). The management acted next morning.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was closed for maintenance the week we were there but no indication at time of booking.

    Modern clean rooms. Extremely friendly staff. Close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People smoking above or in rooms ajacent to us. Had to close the window. More consideration should be given to people who don't smoke.

    Everything, the location,and everything mentioned in the above rating scheme.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The duvet was dirty and unusable. The decor is in need of some work.

    Friendly, helpful staff in a well equipped apartment. Quiet location with private entrance. Very convenient for the railway station and the marina and centre.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought the cost for the dogs was a little excessive and we also had to pay extra for wifi!

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when we left behind two jackets! Carol and Sylvie were extremely helpful and posted our items back very quickly - excellent customer service!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The location was great, quiet, yet just minutes from the harbour and centre. The staff were really helpful throughout our stay. Due to the time of our flights we arrived five hours before our check in time, we went to the hotel to ask if we could leave our luggage there until we could check in and the receptionist checked straight away if our room was ready and as it was, allowed us to check in straight away. We also found we only had a tiny little table on our balcony and asked if it would be possible to have a table to enable us to eat on the balcony and by the end of the day it was there. Tho the bed was a bed settee it was really large and comfortable. We will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked the location in relation to how close it was to La Rochelle main port, close enough to walk to, not too close to be noisey all the time. Room was clean, and serviced everyday. Nice little balcony to sit on, VERY big bed that was a delight to sleep on. Great shower and bathroom in general. Staff were helpful and spoke English enough to get us through. Pool was clean and heated, perhaps needs more space on the terrace but otherwise fine.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Closeness to port and cafes/restaurants. Could take a 5 minute stroll and get a better breakfast than at P&V Centre for 2 euros less. (Saving 4 euros a day x 13 it begins to add up)

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived and couldnt get in. It closes between certain times. Pleased we had the car so we could go for a drive, wouldnt have liked dragging cases round for an hour. The room had crumbs on the floor and under the microwave. It just needed a good spring clean. The corridor leading to the rooms was drab & dark. It could all do with a fresh coat of paint to brighten everything up and make it more welcoming. Disappointed we had to start making our bed from a sofa bed when we arrived. I expected a proper bed and not a sofa bed, which was grubby & full of bits when we pulled it out. To be honest, I really wasnt happy about sleeping on it. We had bunk beds in our room which was of no use to us because it was just the two of us. (There were rooms available without the bunk beds which were more spacious and had a real bed but they were full). Not enough space for cases and clothes. It would be a joke to have a family of four stay there. You would not have room to hang any clothes or store bags etc. We kept our clothes in our case. Not worth the money paid, would prefer a hotel It could be nice if money was spent to do it up.

    The lady on reception spoke excellent english, was very friendly & helpful I was pleased the bedding was sealed in a plastic bag. At least I new it was clean. The location was good with parking and we had a balcony.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the only bad thing was in the street in la rochell was a skateboarder punched me in the back ! Guess he didn't like all the tourists!!

    close to the area we wanted to explore and quite good parking (paid) good clean room every thing in the kitchen you needed pool lovely

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just a couple of minor concerns,no cutlery drawer,sharp knives in cabinet,had to be put in top presses out of reach for small children. Folding bed mattress quite hard. No bus or train info at reception.

    Ideal spot to explore the town on foot.Clean well equipped apartment,great indoor pool,Carrefour City store nearby,restaurants etc.Near train station and bus stops. Spent 3 nights, delighted with our stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking difficult, I thought I had reserved but was told I should have phoned to book. Limited on-street parking but cheaper than on-site.

    Excellent location. Clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff with excellent spoken English.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We did not have a hairdryer but were immediately given one when we complained. We didn't use the safe because it had an extra cost. We had been expecting to pay for the hotel car park but it was full and to be honest, it worked out cheaper to park in the street - easy to find a space and that way we only paid overnight as we were out in the car most days. Fire alarm went off at 4.45 one morning and nobody knew what to do. All the guests ended up at the front entrance for half an hour. No sign of anyone from the reception or the fire brigade!

    Position, kitchen, balcony, TV, comfortable sofa-bed. The apartment was nicely decorated and had everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    ras

    la situation de l etablissement piscine

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Emplacement Service

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room size, arrangement.

    The location and access for stroler.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to male my bed and on a double sofa, it is quite a chore mostly the quilt had to be recovered also.

    Quite agreeable space.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's nothing not to like

    Location was great. Staff were very helpful and friendly rooms were clean and roomy

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Studio for 4 is way too small

    Large swimming pool Possibility of late check out

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The absent of wifi , it is not free. Could not find a place to park my car. Poor breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic position, staff very helpful, great base for exploring

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was really uncomfortable

    The location was excellent, and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    before we put are suitcases down we were told to pay a visitors tax of 34 euro which we were not informed

    not mutch to say

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small apartment

    swimming pool nice, and location of hotel good

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It smells the cigarette in the studio, particularly in the toilette area.

    The location is not far from the port and old town.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to make a bed from the couch

    The swimming pool and location

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    pool was bit cold for the kids

    Value for money, location, room space convenient, friendly staff

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: