Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maison des Algues

147 rue des Algues, 17940 Rivedoux-Plage, France

#1 of 10 hotels in Rivedoux-Plage

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 180 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, very relaxing with everything you need...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salicorne Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely place, very relaxing with everything you need including jacuzzi, heated swimming pool, bicycles, beautiful rooms and amazing breakfast with all organic and fresh food. Lovely host which took care of all our requests including basket for our little dog to put on the bicycle. Close to the centre of the little village and very close to the beach. Really recommended to everyone who wants to enjoy relaxing holidays. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Hidden gem home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wakame Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from occasional noise from the nearby road but that is just picky!

    Everything! Spotlessly clean, comfortable and so relaxing. Bedroom large and bright with everything you need. Made to feel welcome by the owner. Pool and garden a delight. Breakfast on the terrace the perfect start to the day. Bicycles if you feel up to it and beach 2 min walk. What’s there not to like!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb facilities allow you to make the most of an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spiruline Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Off-season, there are no local (within 30 minutes walk) restaurants open on a Tuesday evening. Dinner means driving somewhere.

    All of the little extras - the quality of the bed linen, provision of Crocs and towels for swimming, availability of bicycles (free of charge!!), the free-range boiled egg at breakfast (my wife thought they were superb!!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Very fine !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spiruline Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is fine; some late start of breakfast so not for early birds

    Very nice place with all comfort. Very charming people; great hospitality; great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    3rd time staying here, not the last time! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salicorne Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our 3rd visit here. It's a beautiful place, the rooms are very nice and the beds super comfortable. We didn't use the pool as it was still winter, but did use the jacuzzi every night, nice! The breakfast is excellent and the reception always friendly. It's also in a perfect location to discover the rest of the island. When we go back to Ile de Ré, we hope to stay here again. Room: Salicorne.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    It was short but very pleasant, staff and fellow guests very genial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Saccharine Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.i was

    There was lots of choice for breakfast. My room was very good though I did have aittle problem with the key to the front door BUT the problem was with me not the door!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, clean and smart small apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saccharine Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming hosts, small apartments but very well designed. Fantastic breakfast and during the day you can relax with an endless supply of different leaf teas - How English ! The use of bicycles was a great bonus as the island is very bicycle friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Memorable short break on a lovely island with excellent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saccharine Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm welcome fromJocelyn and Christian. We had a lovely stay. We swam in the pool and the sea, which was just a short walk away. The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed cycling around the Ile de Re. Everything was so good that we hope to return another year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    It was a wonderful location and delightful owners who went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salicorne Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a wonderful location and delightful owners who went out of their way to make it a great stay. My wife is gluten intolerant and they went out of their way to serve her.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Fab-u-lous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wakame Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from bed to bath, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Jocelyn and Nicholas were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. A wonderful relaxing place for the 10 days we stayed. Loved the garden/small holding. Kitchen open day and night for tea/coffee, great selection for breakfast + you had the option to eat your own food there rather than going out every evening. Free bikes to explore the island! Close to the beach too. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Lovely chill out property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saccharine Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better if breakfast could have been a bit earlier, as it started at 9am. Perhaps you could ask. Also pool was covered over at night until after 9am so we didn't get a pre breakfast swim which was a shame.

    Exceptionally comfy bed. Nicely designed room. Included nice extras like Nuxe products and robes, make up remover pads etc. Can make tea or coffee in the kitchen 24 hours a day. Proper coffee machine with beans. Love pool and terrace area. Very friendly owners.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Saccharine Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Everything. The owners mainly. They were so helpful, so nice! They made me the best recommendations where to eat, where to go. And these were definitely the best places, meals... Breakfast is just amazing. You have also possibility to prepare tea and eat some snack during the day or night.))) There are also bicycles free of charge what made my stay more enjoyable. Very quiet, very nice place, good atmosphere, wonderful hosts! Will be definitely back also with my family once. Can recommend that accommodation to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Perfect for a stress free holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saccharine Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Calm, friendly and everything you would need for a perfect, stress free holiday. Everything is included, parking, fridge, cycles (really good ones), excellent breakfast with good quality ingredients. The rooms are spotless, bright and fresh. The photos do not do the hotel justice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely accommodation on the Ile de Re and hope to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly long walk to the centre for restaurants but perfectly do-able, though we could have done with a map.

    Rooms were lovely, nice size and furnished very well. They were cleaned thoroughly every day. They opened out onto decking where we had a table and chairs overlooking the swimming pool. There was a jacuzzi to use and boules to play in the garden. There were bikes available too which were included in the cost. The lady who ran this accommodation was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely and we were able to help ourselves to coffee and left-over muffins/croissants and fruit all day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable and generously run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spiruline Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have had the option of eating breakfast before 9.

    A very comfortable and clean room looking onto a beautiful garden and pool, made this a very enjoyable place to stay. Our breakfast was delicious with the most wonderful selection of French Cheeses, bread and pastries. The hosts were very generous, volunteering much useful information and kindly dropped us back to the local bus stop for our return trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    WE enjoyed this Place very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salicorne Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WE enjoyed this Place very much. Lovely hosts, lovely place decorated with a lot of details and perfect site to discover the whole island. In top of this are the bikes which are included in the service in perfect condition. We for sure will come back. Thank you!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    The location location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Saccharine Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location location is perfect - the street is calm and very close to a beach. The staff were so helpful and attentive without being fussy. The room looked just renovated and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic find, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spiruline Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Harder mattress

    Delightful hosts, gorgeous pool. We will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Warm and friendly welcome from all at the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spiruline Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and friendly welcome from all at the property. Great location. Fantastic breakfast. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The hotel was delightful and the owners were very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kombu Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was delightful and the owners were very helpful and really made our stay an absolute pleasure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, very nice owner, cozy place very close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast, very nice owner, cozy place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    sense for details, acceuil,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wakame Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sense for details, acceuil,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at Maison des Alghes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is beautiful and the owners delightful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    10
    Where to start:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, we just want to go back!

    Where to start: - comfortable rooms (we were in 'Salicorne') - very comfortable bed - very clean - great facilities - free tea and coffee all day long - very friendly service - tasty breakfast - great garden - pool was closed (too cold still :-)) - there was a jacuzzi (we didn't use it, next time!) - great bathroom - good eye for detail!

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    9.6
    A lovely, airy room (one of only 5) in this single story...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite hard to find (we stumbled on the street rather by accident). I suspect the narrow streets of the little towns will be jam-packed in season (we were there in early November)

    A lovely, airy room (one of only 5) in this single story L-shaped house off a very quiet street. A short walk to the sea. Secure free parking and free use of bicycles. V. helpful owner directed us to an excellent sea-food restaurant. Lovely island.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.2
    very friendly and accommodating - a warm welcome, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very friendly and accommodating - a warm welcome, lovely breakfast, everything provided, nice pool and jacuzzi and easy to stay with a small baby - you really feel at home

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    What a lovely place to spend our time on the Isle De Re!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a lovely place to spend our time on the Isle De Re! The room was perfect, the breakfast every morning was delicious and the hospitality/friendliness of our hosts was exceptional. We loved it and wish we could have stayed longer. Merci

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Amazingly warm welcome to the property, fleshing baked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!

    Amazingly warm welcome to the property, fleshing baked pastries for breakfast, ultra clean rooms and communal area. Serving guests was second to none, we were made to feel super comfortable and relaxed during our stay. 10 out of 10!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    We were made to feel so welcome at Maison des Algues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made to feel so welcome at Maison des Algues. Room was lovely and we really enjoyed the breakfasts and jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.3
    Cleanliness was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly owner extremely clean everywhere lovely pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit out of the way

    Very friendly owner extremely clean everywhere lovely pool and seating area

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.6
    The bikes provided were very good made a real difference to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bikes provided were very good made a real difference to the holiday.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: