Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Inn Design Laon (Ex: Ibis Budget) 2 stars

Avenue Georges Pompidou, 02000 Laon, France

#10 of 13 hotels in Laon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 727 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worried about security-looked as though staff left the premises st night. No restaurant on site information suggested there was.

    Perfect stop over enroute to Calais. Clean and tidy. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and corridor smelt of cigarette. The walls are so thin you can hear everything and unfortunately on our evening, some of the guests decided to stay up and shout in the corridors until the early hours of the morning. The cot hadn’t been put up safely.

    It was a really convenient place to stop over on a long journey. The breakfast was good value and nice. The staff were nice. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hoped for a evening meal and was told I could use nearby Ibis. Not so. I was turned away as I was not one of their guests.

    Adequate for overnight stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water , problem the night before, asked for refund in breakfast was not able to refund in card . Wanted my card details which I was not happy to leave . Will contact there head office when home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not available the night I was there - but nearby options were.

    Cheap and clean. Good location but NOT in historic centre. Carrefour complex 200m away for food and shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get the access codes for our rooms - we arrived at 1am. Only one English speaking person who wasn’t always there.

    Very clean and comfortable. Close enough to the main road to the Alps

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a till pricey for what you get. Sink in room by the window? Should be by the toilet!!!

    Good size room & shower. Very helpful staff. Good parking. Nice & clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains as well as black out blinds would have improved the ambience.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Good value for money overall and even catered for vegetarians. Evening meals, and wine were tasty and very reasonably priced. Dining room is a pleasant environment. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a travel cot for our 1 year old. When we arrived there was a travel cot but with no base! There was no way our baby could sleep on it. Essentially the same as an adult sleeping on the slats of the bed with no mattress. When we enquired we were given a shrug of the shoulders. I had to rush out to the local supermarket to buy a travel cot for our very tired baby. There was no offer to discount the room or to help with the cost of the travel cot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cleaner. A pillowcase had not been changed and there were existing skid marks down the loo

    Only passable as a quick late booked stop over. Used by work men.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The staff were very helpful. We arrived very late but they emailed details of how to access our room. When we met the staff in the morning they were very kind and helpful. We have stayed at this hotel before but it was run by a different company. It was much better this time than last.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the morning, problem for the whole hotel. Manageress very apologetic and not her fault she dealt with it very well. Clean and tidy breakfast bar.

    Clean,tidy budget hotel we were en route to Switzerland.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy one night - woken at 4o'clock in the morning; however the group seemed friendly.

    The hotel was a suitable stopping place for a couple of nights,; the staff were friendly and helpful and arranged a taxi for my early start on the day I left. Food in the restaurant good. Laon itself interesting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room. Barely enough room to slide down one the side of the bed. Shower miniscule with curtain.

    Evening meal ok, & reasonably priced. Nice & friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ex ibis budget and bathroom very tired but functional. Inn difficult to find in the ZAC.

    Basic comfort and reasonable location for driving into town - on a drier day we might have cycled but old Laon is a fortress on a hilltop and roads are pretty steep. We parked for free just outside the walls then walked around the town. Cathedral is lovely outside with marble cattle and other animals carved and standing on the towers. Very interesting town with explanatory placques at points of interest. Breakfast was cheap and good. We visited some of the fortified churches on the plain enroute to the tunnel and UK. Accommodation convenient for shops including Carrefour. Dinner in the hotel was an option which we didn't use but was a three course meal with two choices each course - didn't see price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I disliked the microscopic fibreglass combined toilet/wash basin/shower room cubicle, which was like something you might find in a cheap cabin in a ship. The shower curtain was dirty and there wasn't enough room to avoid making contact with it. They ought to wash these after every guest but this one looked as if it hadn't been washed for many stays. Tiny room, but adequate for a one night stop. My least favourite hotel during this tour of France.

    Friendly receptionists, both evening and morning. Very easy to find (right next to the peage off the autoroute). A decent restaurant nearby with 10% discount if you're staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at the price

    For £40 for an overnight stop en route to Calais, it represented excellent value for money. The room and shower were small but clean and functional. There was hot water in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check desk is only staffed after 4pm. So you can't leave your bags if you arrive early.

    Perfect for the price, nice standard continental breakfast. Clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to really slam the door to close it which could wake up people late at night or early morning.

    Good croissants and tasty hot coffee with hot milk which was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant was not open. The top single bunk bed for our 5 year old said it was unsuitable for a child under 6! No air conditioning despite advertising that the rooms did have air conditioning.

    Inexpensive and good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Burnt Croissants at breakfast. Could hear traffic as windows not soundproof. Young girls at reception had a rather poor grasp of English (I know its France, but the webpage does say French & English speaking staff), but they were polite and nice.

    The room was cheap, great just for a night stopover, and fine if you are not expecting too much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited food and drink, just a slot machine outside breakfast hours. Traffic noise in some rooms.

    Budget hotel on the outskirts of Laon just off the main ring-road. Good showers, comfortable beds, unrestricted access to rooms. Helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, noisy road with window open (stuffy when closed), small shower cubicle, breakfast a bit expensive (for UK travelers!). OK for one night stopover, but not for longer.

    Conveniently placed en route to the East. Adequate facilities, with Carrefour and McDonalds just down the road. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's easier to ask what I did like & the answer would be absolutely nothing.

    If you want to know how comfortable the bed was, why not ask the 2 people who were in it when I arrived!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite parking was good and the receptionist was very helpful and stayed late for me. The room was basic but ok. It felt a little unsafe as there were constantly people walking the stairways making phone calls. Bit weird. My night was fine and I'd use them again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very convenient for those going to/from Calais ferry as it is only 3 hours away. a very good stop off point. helpful staff. they now do simple meals in the evening which is very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower drain was stuck

    I loved the location: very convenient next to auto route and next to supermarket. The value for the room was good, but it could have been better with a flat tv, same size, and newer, built in usb electric sockets .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom; It had an ineffectual shower curtain, the shower head wouldn't stay in place, it was very tiny and the water took an age to drain. Also, the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall.

    Friendly helpful staff and a fair price for a small but comfortable room. Close enough to the main road to make it easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of space, no way of making coffee or tea in room. Awful coffee from vending machine.

    Not a lot! Room was very small as was the bathroom. Will not be staying at one of these hotels again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was advertised as having air conditioning which is why we booked it but it didn't have any. Hence with temperatures in the 30's we had to leave the window open then we had a lot of traffic noise from the busy main road. I felt the outside of the hotel looked untidy, the grass needed cutting etc.

    Notning outstanding

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom door did not lock. Staff were not interested and said it could not be fixed and as they were full they could not give us an alternative room. We had to put all out belongings in our daughters room and sleep with the door unlocked which was not ideal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their card machine didn't work. We had to go and get cash and come back. Lucky the reception was open when we arrived or we wouldn't have been able to get in.

    It's an ibis so you know what you're getting

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is fine for a budget hotel .

    The Hotel is inexpensive and represents good value for money. Everything works and there is an added bonus of a small restaurant offering hot snacks. There is an IBIS next door with a good brasserie. It's close to the auto route. Good hotel for a Stop Over... Rooms are a bit small for a longer stay. I use this hotel regularly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    An extra pillow......

    The hotel was good value for money for an overnight stopover. No nonsense, simple, clean accommodation. Vending machines handy for the extra bottle of water or late night cuppa....

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few decent eating places. Electric plug in room unsafe. Generally tired and lacking attention. Bath towels could have been used to sand paper the paintwork!

    Quiet. Close to medieval town centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My Vehicle is 2.4 Metres High and the OUTWARD ROUTE was RESTRICTEDto a 2.0Metre ROADWAY, so I was oblidged to BREAK the LAW and Travel the WRONG way up a ONE WAY ROAD>

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor especially when compared with Ibis Budget Colmar. The check in receptionist did not speak English. Check in receptionist was on the telephone for 5 minutes before acknowledging my presents.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small for a family with a travel cot. They offer 1 bigger family room which you have to book by phone.

    Staff very friendly, location good (quiet in the night), breakfast good value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelling by foot this hotel was a little out of our way but the facilities made up for it. Spotlessly clean and perfect for an overnight rest before walking on the next day.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower smelt bad, draino required! This Budget Room (2 Star) cost €55 with breakfast yet Ibis Styles (4 Star) cost me €67 the night before - why?

    PIN instead of keys.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a bit far from town centre. Bars etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, the pillow was lumpy, and very was no electricity for most of the night (that was not the hotels fault)

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short drive to old city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Staff, and better than expected breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, clean, simple and would recommend for a stop over

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable.

    Great for a 1 night stop over

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing as they used sterilised milk. The filter coffee was cool rather than hot

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet absolutely stunk of smoke and because we arrived late there was no opportunity to swap it.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy other guests, walls too thin

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels are rather old and thin. Bathroom needs renovating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly bigger dining room

    Beds comfy showers good breakfast good choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain and noisey

    Position and value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access times. No one at the desk the only time we could check in.

    Location for business trip to Laon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too basic

    Easy to find

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin pillows. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work.

    The city of Laon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are a bit too small but quite fair for the price. Still good for a night.

    The breakfast and good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants & breakfast bakery things were burnt. No cot for the baby. Mattress very thin. No English speaking staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The Restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bang for the buck, very efficiënt, bed is good, bathroom basic, hotel meets at least the same level an ibis budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room a bit small. no kettle in room.

    convenient location for drive from alps to channel tunnel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast

    not much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic

    Air conditioning, staff spoke some english

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located basic hotel, good continental breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, cheap, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms smelling cigarettes Public sanitary with bad smells

    Good quality vs price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money, not much to complain about.

    Excellent formula for quick overnight stopover – clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was fine

    I liked the pleasant and helpful staff, the private car park and the Ibis next door with a good bar and Brasserie.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff

    convient location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bedding smelt of heavy smoke (Cigarettes) it was very uncomfortable. The whole building smelt of cigarette smoke

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, comfortable bed, needs extra pillows

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed

    Convenience

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very simply equipped

    The cost of stay and cleaness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather a long walk (uphill) into town.

    Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: