Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mas des Carassins 3 stars

1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, France

#6 of 19 hotels in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay in a beautiful part of France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very comfortable and friendly hotel. Walking distance to St.-Rémy, which is great as parking in town can be difficult. The included dinner is a wonderful option. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    We could have stayed a week!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed 2 nights.

    This place was beyond wonderful. Everything from the room, the ground, the food and the proximity to town ( I thought we were out in the country but it was a 10 minute walk to the center of St. Remy). We stayed 2 nights and ate dinner here both evenings because the food was so good and all around the prices were amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall we had an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little soups served before the main meals. The quality of food lovely, but a little too fussy and try hard. This property also seemed to attract a retirement age group, no middle age to younger clientele. The garden area seemed little unmaintained.

    The room was adequate space wise for two. The outdoor private garden was lovely, allowing a private peaceful retreat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    4.2
    The hotel is shabby. Not at all like the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible room for the price. Hot water pipes in the floor kept the room steamy hot even with air conditioning running all night on low.

    Dinner and restaurant is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of bees while enjoying dinner outside although the food was great.

    Great hospitality!! The pool was nice and relaxing. The room was very cozy. Definitely want to come back again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    A delightful place to stay within easy walking distance of lovely St Remy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was compact but well appointed. Might ask for a larger one with a terrace or balcony next time...... but at a price, I expect.

    Lovely gardens, 2 sizeable swimming pools and plenty of space for sunbathing. Drinks brought to you in the garden. V obliging staff. There only appeared to be children around at the weekend, so the pools were peaceful. We were there outside school holiday time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    We had a wonderful two day stay at Mas des Carasssins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We had a wonderful two day stay at Mas des Carasssins. We originally planned to have dinner only the first night but it was so good that we went back the second night. And it was even better. The staff were very very helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Memorable anniversary stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was, for us, quite a walk from the centre of town though out of season it is easy to drive into the centre and park. The main course in the evening was a little dry ( pork mignon laqué ) but the flavours were very good. Starter and dessert excellent.

    Beautiful grounds and tasteful decoration in hotel. Relaxing atmosphere and open air swimming pool which unfortunately we didn't get time to sample!! Had the inclusive package with evening meal which was very good. Wine was available in 50cl and 25cl carafes but poured from the bottle so you could see what was being served and choose what you wanted - very good idea as it allowed us to order a different wine for each course. Breakfast was very good with everything one could want . As our stay was a special treat for our wedding anniversary the staff were very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    The hosts are wonderful and pay attention to the little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts are wonderful and pay attention to the little details to make the most of your stay. The bed was extremely comfortable! Beautiful setting and well restored and updated rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Too bad a couple of snobby staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the staff was terrific, half very snobby. To bad we remember the snobby ones

    Beautiful property, great value, lovely breakfast and evening dining perfect location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel with good food but small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room (even though it was a level above the lowest cost room). Dinner music noise reached our room when we were ready to sleep. Had to repeatedly sign into wi-fi.

    Exquisite dinner, beautiful grounds, attentive staff, good buffet breakfast, about a 10-15 minute walk to the center of St Rémy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    7.5
    Family of 3 pleased with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was difficult to connect to, although we were pleased it was free.

    Mas des Carrassins serves an appetizing dinner with special attention to the dietary needs (eg., non-meat eaters and children), and they had an excellent selection of wines.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Excellent Hotel priced right
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They offer a lovely breakfast which is included. The gardens are beautiful and relaxing. Lots of fun fountains and private courtyards. Two lovely pools. Dinner is available and is excellent and fairly priced. Very close to St Remy and lots of interesting sites such as the Roman Ruin Glanum. Room felt very private.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving after only two nights!

    We have stayed here before and this time instead of booking a standard room on the ground floor we paid a bit extra and much preferred our room. We loved dinner in the garden and being so close to St Remy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable accommodations paired with exceptional restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m frequently unhappy with bathroom lighting, particularly for shaving. Not unique to this resort.

    Very elegant spaces and grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful respite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited dinner menu

    Restaurant, service and gardens were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous Mas des Carassins.....less than 1 km to walk to St Remy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on bed a little too firm for me.

    Fabulous room with tranquil setting and views of the Alpilles ....Not one but two large swimming pools!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good overall, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could improve by providing fresh and homemade products (e.g. Eggs, baked bread, yoghurt, jam).

    Very good restaurant and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    A delightful stay in all respects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinners were superb. Delicious and great presentation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    A very relaxing break Ina beautiful small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could be a little slow

    The food was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    great stay in a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool could be heated.

    Very comfortable, extremely good value - punches above its weight. Great food, ambience and great staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful inn in wonderful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi good but had to sign in everytime

    Great bed and linens. Very welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Very nice and confortable room (upgrade free of charge)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and confortable room (upgrade free of charge)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    We had a fabulous time at this very lovely inn and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room was fine but wished it had been larger

    Excellent staff; lovely gardens; delicious, delicate and creative dinners

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could do with refreshing.

    Almost everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Stay in luxurious surroundings and enjoy the best food in france
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were outstanding. Grounds to the hotel were awesome. Dinner at the hotel was the very best we had during our stay in France

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    This is the place!!! Don't look any further!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place... i want to come back!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    This hotel is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is great. Friendly staff very clean comfortable bed lovely gardens & fantastic food in their restaurant. We hope to return again soon.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.3
    Great dinner and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are comfortable but not charming. Showers didn't hang on wall requiring just a quick one.

    Great dinner and nice breakfast. Charming gardens around property.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    Hotel and restaurant staff were excellent, the setting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was wonderful.

    Hotel and restaurant staff were excellent, the setting beautiful, the room and bath extremely comfortable. Good value, a real treat. Beautiful gardens, pool and statuary.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    The hotel is situated in a very quiet area of Saint-Remy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is situated in a very quiet area of Saint-Remy within walking distance to the village centre. The garden around the hotel is simply "magnifique" with its fountains, several possibilities to sit and the two swimming pools. We absolutely need to come back once the weather gets warmer to enjoy all of this! Dinner and breakfast were great in a comfortable atmosphere with very nice staff who gave us a warm welcome. The bedroom was also very nice and clean with a super comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    A beautiful property with nice gardens and pools, outdoor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I wish we would have stayed an extra day or two

    A beautiful property with nice gardens and pools, outdoor spaces attached to our rooms, and a great location. An easy walk to the center of town.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.2
    Wonderfully comfortable room with everything you could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was downstairs in the main building and we could hear noise from the rooms above us on some of the evenings.

    Wonderfully comfortable room with everything you could possibly want. They now do offer soap in the bathrooms. Our room had a private outdoor seating area and fountain. Big bath towels and nice cotton robes provided. Two pools were open even in mid October. An easy downhill walk to town. Don't miss the Wednesday morning market. Dinner was excellent and breakfast more than ample.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.6
    The food was beautiful and delicious, as usual.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The food was beautiful and delicious, as usual. The grounds were spectacular and they keep adding wonderful pieces to the lawn, making it more inviting each visit.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    If u go during nice weather u will enjoy the marvelous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was plain, small, and the drain in shower was very slow. There is one small common space that is taken over by the restaurant at night. The gentleman who checked us in was very helpful but some others on staff perfunctory.

    If u go during nice weather u will enjoy the marvelous gardens, pools, and outside spaces. The restaurant was elegant and a bargain for a gourmet meal. Breakfast was also lovely

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.9
    Liked the room with the veranda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service was a little too slow Left one night before dessert came as we waited for over 30 min but never came

    Liked the room with the veranda Great location to travel to other small towns and come back to a lovely 4 course dinner

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Property is beautiful and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One minor problem was an intermittant sewage odor that sometimes emanated from the bathroom.

    Property is beautiful and well located. Food at the restaurant is excellent. Proprietors are extremely helpful, nice and welcoming. A fabulous experience.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Very beautiful hotel, grounds, and dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a little too firm for our liking. Also, I couldn't plug my curling iron into only plug in the bathroom, so had to go with some bad hair days.

    Very beautiful hotel, grounds, and dinners.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, varied and good quality and lovely atmosphere for dinner eating under the trees with music and plenty of space

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    The food was excellent (especially the sausages at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We cannot think of anything we did not like

    The food was excellent (especially the sausages at breakfast) the beautiful grounds and choice of swimming pools, especially the quiet pool area. Another nice touch was the small, private seating area (including water feature) outside each room.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful setting with excellent dinners and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Beautiful setting with excellent dinners and wonderful staff. We had great dinners every night of our stay with local wines, that were delicious. Rooms were spacious with great bathrooms and very clean. Everything was first class and the staff was so helpful..

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    We loved everything about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about this place. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The gardens are absolutely beautiful. The dinner was the best we had in France and well worth the money as it is not included in the price. The breakfast which is included is also awesome. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They have a huge parking lot which is free and the walk to town is easy. This is our favorite place we stayed in France while traveling around for 2 weeks. The price is well worth it. We hope to come back one day. The owner was very helpful and gave us perfect directions to get to the train station in Avignon.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    Outdoor dining in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was slow and erratic.

    Outdoor dining in beautiful surroundings. Wonderful evening meals which were an excellent value. Personal attention by staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    10
    The rain shower was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Our wifi was a bit slow - we were on the top floor of the building, so perhaps that is why.

    The rain shower was fantastic. The room was spacious and comfortable and the heating/AC unit worked really well. The room and grounds were tastefully designed. Private, gated parking lot for guests.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.2
    Only 10 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only 10 min. walk to the centre of St. Remy. Set in large grounds with plenty of outside seating. Our ground floor room had a private terrace. Room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There was also a small fridge. Breakfast included with plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Excellent evening meals and good breakfast,good location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Excellent evening meals and good breakfast,good location and nice grounds.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    Lovely kind helpful staff, beautiful gardens, relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely kind helpful staff, beautiful gardens, relaxing location, nice breakfast buffet, romantic dinners, good base to explore area in car.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    Hotel, staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel, staff and food.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    The gardens are great, restaurant food first class, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather was rubbish - C'est la vie.

    The gardens are great, restaurant food first class, but above all else just professional hospitality!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    Excellent dinner, very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent dinner, very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    Lovely pool .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely pool . Helpful friendly staff. Excellent food . Relaxed atmosphere . Loved it .

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Gorgeous villa with beautiful garden, 2 swimming pools,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gorgeous villa with beautiful garden, 2 swimming pools, beautiful patio furniture, excellent cook, exquisite dinner menu, etc.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Fabulous dinners in a beautiful garden setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous dinners in a beautiful garden setting. Easy walking distance to the beautiful town of St Remy.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Relaxed easy-going atmosphere and quietly attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed easy-going atmosphere and quietly attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Beautiful place, excellent restaurant and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place, excellent restaurant and staff. Rooms with private patios and lovely garden features. Short walk from town.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    Dangerous beam in bedroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dangerous beam in bedroom!

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    Ambience, location, relaxing, quiet, excellent dinner, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was recently redone, so smelled a bit of paint, etc.

    Ambience, location, relaxing, quiet, excellent dinner, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Peacefulness, location, service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed very firm.

    Peacefulness, location, service and food. Having our own courtyard to relax outside. Great location for traveling over a large area.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    10
    The location was excellent, the accommodations and dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was excellent, the accommodations and dining were too.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: