Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mas des Herbes Blanches Hôtel & Spa – Relais & Châteaux 5 stars

Route de Murs, 84220 Joucas, France

#3 of 4 hotels in Joucas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 262 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff! Unbelievably arrogant and superior and with absolutely no justification. Never once felt appreciated or valued as a customer

    Fantastic location and views. Very new and modern but a little “soulless”

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are nice but some are not very well positionned. Better to ask for a room with a view.

    Very clean and friendly staff. Beautiful view from the restaurant bar area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very pricy with not so much choice

    Beautiful property in amazing location. Just 2mn away from the center of Joucas and 10mn away from Gordes. The superior room with private terrasse is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were more young families than I was expecting so the pool was quite full and a bit noisy but it was holiday time. Several times I had to ask for something at table that had been forgotten.

    Bed was very comfortable. Staff were very kind and helpful always ready to be of assistance. Beautiful house and position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Extremely weak wi-fi. It's important matter when 99% of customers are googling routes and planing their day trips. 2. Breakfast not included - strange for an upscale place with absolutely no alternative around. Or maybe I've missed an option "with brealfast". 3. Unstable temperature of water in the shower - that's rather for management to fix rather than fedback for the rest 4. Dinner - nothing special at all

    Overall - fantastic place, fascinating views, great attention to details, friendly personnel. Well-built and well thought-through buildings. Allis fresh and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bistro wasn't open all the time which is a pity as one needs a casual option from fine dining. The whiskey selection in the bar was very limited. One of our bath towels had a large hole in it !

    The view from the dining terrace was sensational ! All the staff were very helpful and pleasant , and our meals on the terrace were very good . Our room was lovely with a nice outdoor terrace and we enjoyed having a fridge in which to keep our water etc cold.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -The restaurant. The first dishes were nice but the second were not as good, the meat was hard. -The service at the restaurant was very poor. 5 star hotel restaurant and staff did not speak English at all, only French! - not acceptable. - Breakfast service very poor, lots of young waiters but 0 efficiency. Asked for eggs, after 40 minute wait and asking a few times, they arrived when we didn't want them anymore.

    -Very nice rooms , decor and location. -The views from the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was inefficient, very sweet but most of them useless, from the bar waitress who didn't know how to serve drinks (pour a beer or do a Perrier citron) to the reception/concierge who took a day to order a taxi outrageously expensive to go to Marseille. We ended up finding one on our own, by calling Avignong taxis, for half the cost in a very comfortable BMW. The staff seemed very much inexperienced even if very polite. Given it is a lost location it would prove useful to have a vehicle available or at least bikes available to borrow to explore the surroundings. At the very minimum taxis that are affordable. Also we were not able to eat at the hotel having not reserved a table, both restaurants were fully booked. Not great for a 5 stars hotel in a secluded location.

    The location is out of this world, truly beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is absurd and the place is really not worth it. First things first: the bathroom was (and remained) dirty during my stay. It took us almost an hour to check in, even though we called TWO HOURS in advance saying that we were on our way. I also don't feel like paying over 500 euros for a meal to see the staff cleaning everything and naking us feel like we should leave the restaurant. Really not worth your time, not worth your money and not worth the effort to drive to Joucas.

    Good view, but nothing really special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the above. Also after I complained to a member of staff at this so called five star hotel, I was shown to the dining room to book a table for the evening. I turned around as I was aware of somebody behind me, there he was making extremely rude gesticulations behind my back. Not professional and very upsetting. So we were told we had to stay in room 326 for the night then we could be moved. However after the staff incident, nothing would have made me feel comfortable after that. Dinner was very ordinary and very expensive. My husband was so distressed by the whole experience that he agreed to pay a cancellation penalty of two nights in order to be able to leave this hotel . Hence we. moved early next morning and were very happy with the new hotel. Du Cote des Olivades. Lovely hotel and proper staff. We had friends coming to join us at Mas des Herbes Blanches, they cancelled and we all had a very happy time at Du Cotes des Olivades.

    Our room number 326 was full of mosquitos and a spider or two. The view was supposed to be glorious, but from our room we looked into a mass of dead pine trees, with an air conditioning unit in it. Hence the room was dark and absolutely no view unless you went onto the terrace and peered to the right where you could see the beautiful hills beyond. Why on earth these trees are not cut down, I can't believe anyone would want to sleep in this room. The pool area was small and people squashed in like sardines. This is supposed to be the section of what I did like, only one thing and that was the lovely porter!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one occasion we returned to our room at 1.00 pm to find our beds unmade. We were told the maids had until 5.00 pm to make up the rooms! Not satisfactory for residents. The hotel was lovely. We had a lovely room and there is s lovely swimming pool and terrace area but we thought the management was a bit slack. The staff were friendly .

    We had dinner in the restaurant one evening. My starter consisted of three asparagus spears and a load of lettuce. Very disappointing and very expensive. The whole meal was not memorable but very overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure was poor & the tv reception unreliable.

    The staff were friendly & efficient. The room was very nice & the views outstanding. The restaurant was also very good & the welcome glass of champagne a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food offering was poor. not very family friendly, especially when you have a young family. service was a let down. no help around the pool. breakfast service needs improvement. had to pay extra for eggs!

    beautifully designed hotel in a wonderful location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was a little pretentious for us, we don't particularly feel the need to have our food introduced, saying that I know we were in France! And the food was incredible if not rather expensive £120 for 2, no wine in the main restaurant. service was exemplary. Sometimes though you just want a quick bite!

    Beautiful place, very calm, quiet nice atmosphere. Loved the pool area. The room was large, airy lovely & quiet with some funny interior touches that we liked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with great service, excellend food and facilities. The view from the rooms and villa's is fantastic. I can recommend this hotel to everyone who appreciates to be spoiled!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    We liked everything about this Hotel especially as our pets were welcome also. Normally when travelling with pets your room standard is compromised but not on this occasion.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was good but you have to login so frequently that it gets annoying.the gym facilities are very limited.

    Beds & pillows were extremely comfortable, soft and luxurious. Breakfast was varied with table service for freshly made eggs and bacon. Swimming pool was fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed during the soft opening and as such are aware that there may be a few small inconvenients but actually there were none. Only at breakfast the staff seemed a bit confused & umorganised.

    The hotel is located in a magnificent setting and is gorgeous. Everything from the room to the pool and dinner are excellent. Staff, especially at reception, are professional & welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resturant was very high end and pricey which would be ok if there was a more casual option for lunch or a light dinner.

    Wonderful vistas from our room balcony, wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service for breakfast needs better organisation. It's worth having but very slow service. After a very long drive down we were told we couldn't eat anywhere other than our room - very disappointing. The hotel has an amazing veranda and you should be offered that as the other option to the restaurant - especially when they can't offer you a table in there for dinner. The hotel is very isolated so you can even walk out to get food elsewhere. I'm sure they'll get there, it's only just reopened after two years as the staff are of the right calibre.

    The views over the valley were beautiful and the quiet location was also great. The room we had was decorated well, tastefully done. In time, the gardens will mature and look great too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very frustrating to pay 317 euros per night not even including breakfast to realize: 1/ That the pictures on the website do not represent the reality: the indoor pool is still under construction with workers on site (when it is advertised as operational on the web), the view from window overlook the pool but however right behind was a field of mood looking like a construction work field (see attached pics). 2/ No flexibility whatsoever on any kind of need. As an example, on arrival we were informed that we cannot have dinner at the hotel because it was fully booked-This was the only reason we booked the hotel because they advertised such nice pictures of the restaurant. They would not even suggest an alternative for us. How can customers who pay so much for a room be refused for dinner?? 3/ The hotel stay was not a relaxing moment as the staff was constantly under stress (most likely under staffed). As I have a few food intolerances, I rather bring my own cereal and bread so not to be a nuisance. So after requesting for a bowl and some milk, we waited 30mins until we received it while we watched all the waitresses stressed. As I made my cereal, the waitress randomly returned to place a cup filled with salt... 4/ All staff (except the pool boy-nice to see a genuine smile) were very impersonal, not taking time to care about their guests and when they welcomed us, it sounded like everything was read in a fake way, off a script - it is the worst thing when you hear the staff saying the same intro to each new guest coming in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel opened too soon there was still smell of paint in our room! Wifi restricted to only 3 connections and often was poor signal. Staff needed more training and were not especially friendly. Car park is too small and you have to park on overflow it's ok for faults but when you have kids not convenient. They missed my booking for dinner when I booked months ago

    Clean good sized bed private terrace facilities good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work in progress, need some small improvements like more shelves in bathroom and shower room. More available towels in the pool, better cleaning service.

    Magical restaurant, pool, terrace, reception staff, views. Thank you Flovent and David for your incredible helpful advice and suggestions.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noizy air conditioner in the coridor of the room, the safe and telephone wasn't working, no info about the hotel and the surroundings in the room, no mini bar. The dinner food was terrible, the worst that we had in two weeks of our vacation, staff is confused. New design of reception and restaurant!!! What a mess! Who was the designer? Are we in Provance? The design is just for 3 star hotel. I had visited this hotel couple of times earlier and it was much much better. It's a pitty that I will never come back to this place again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall a very good hotel with charming staff. We did find the bathrooms rather cramped with little space to put things.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were not trained. No restaurant to enjoy in the evenings, no heated outside pools.

    Poor selection TBH

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coldness of staff, breakfast is far from a luxury hotel

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    Great place to stay, lovely view, Very nice and caring staff, great Diner and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having facitlity to ex aha he money or withdraw cash

    Amazing views Very good food at the restaurant Very good service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaraunt,

    Bed and terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely little boutique hotel that seems to be newly renovated. It is very charming and quite family friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general building was beautiful and scenery

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, modern

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    la resrauration

    les chambres

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Fantastic views. Staff, cuisine and location all wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Total lack of service...simply unbelievable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never ever experienced such poor service

    Its clean!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool area is disappointingly too small and doesn't make use of the views.

    The view from the terrace restaurant was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not a huge amount of space for toiletries in the bathroom and the cupboard space for clothes is small

    The beds were wonderful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was magnificent

    The bedroom were spacious modern and super clean. Wonderful

    Stayed in June 2016

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: