Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Masqhotel 4 stars

17 Rue de L'ouvrage à Cornes, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#6 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1561 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel with excellent champagne breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was superb - champagne and blinis with salmon rillettes for me and a wide range of hot and cold options. Our room was spacious,light, airy and the bed very comfortable. The station, aquarium and old port were within an easy walk and there are many bars and restaurants nearby - meant we didn't have to go to the very busy areas of the old port and centre of town for our evening meal. Post office/cash point next door! Staff were excellent - friendly, helpfuland efficient. Well done to all concerned! We shall recommend this hotel to family and friends and hope to return the next time we stay in La Rochelle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful and La Rochelle is a fantastic location. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast had such a wide choice. It was also useful to have parking on site

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely experience and great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring rather short I just managed to save myself from bad fall getting out of bath even though I was holding on to rail. The drop was too steep for my legs, and it was before I went out so completely sober!

    Very well designed room, comfy bed and stylish bathroom. Excellent location for getting into main centre. Didn’t eat in hotel as wanted to experience the local cafes and restaurants. Loved La Rochelle - lively and friendly resort, will definitely return and stay longer next time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast at 10 (finished at 10:30) but would recommend going earlier as not everything/choice was available.

    One of the initial reasons for choosing this hotel was car parking (underneath the hotel). The location, in a quiet street just a few minutes walk to the port area, was an ideal location. The staff were very welcoming and helped with our budding French! Our room was extremely clean and access to outside space via a little balcony was a bonus. La Rochelle is a great place to explore and would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Engineering quality still lacking. Breakfast needs to focus more on the high UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy door closer cover on room door fell off, falling onto my head & shoulder. Reported. All 6 room cards to both rooms, carpark & lift failed and had to be reprogrammed by reception. Why. Very inconvenient.

    Breakfast staff in black uniform (tall blonde hair) was under extreme pressure as she was alone due to ? although she went out of her way to cook me 2 fried eggs as the large easter egg size egg fryer had a fault as it scalded me the morning before. Rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location and a good hotel but room for improvement in small ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room which would have helped and underground parking tricky - rather small spaces.

    Breakfast was very good and the staff were very professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Good quality hotel in a lovely resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, friendly welcoming reception staff who spoke good English. Lovely bright room with excellent bathroom. Secure car park on site. Short walk to town centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Great personnel being really friendly and supportive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit too expensive.

    Great personnel being really friendly and supportive. Hotel is what you can expect from a 4 stars from a big company like BW. Parking is also very convenient even though I would not go there with a massive car as it’s pretty narrow. Breakfast is expensive but AMAZING!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent relaxing weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you require food,other than breakfast, there is only microwaved meals available.

    The staff were excellent. The secure parking was a bonus. The location is great as we could walk to the harbour area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Short Stay in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of Wardrobe or drawers. The height of the bath edge was too high and as the shower was over bath it was quite dangerous getting out due to slippiness Overall not what we would regard as a 4* Hotel rather a good 3*

    The facility of UK TV Channels was excellent BBC1, BBC2, ITV etc. One of only a few in Europe offering this facility rather than only BBC World News or CNBC money channel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel would definitely stay here again, staff are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no bath, only a shower.

    The beds are very comfortable and big, the rooms are clean. Can’t comment on the breakfast as we didn’t try it but the staff at reception were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a super hotel with excellent staff. If we return to La Rochelle we'll book into the same hotel. The secure parking was a bonus and something we specifically needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish that all the big chains wouldn't have switched to comforters on beds. I'm too hot under a comforter. I carry a sheet when I travel, so I have options.

    Great check in. Secure, underground parking. We could easily walk to most port side locations. Room was clean and reasonably sized. Breakfast not inexpensive, but lots of choices and satisfying.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing, we would stay there again

    Lovely clean room modern room with air conditioning and dark blackout curtains, we slept for hours feeling refreshed. The location is good as it is only 10 to 15 minutes walk to the old harbour and town in La Rochelle but far enough away not to be noisy. Its also only a 5 minute walk from the train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, but poor mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a couple of gripes about this hotel - one minor and one major, The minor gripe is that there was no fridge in the room; most hotels of this calibre have one. My major complaint however was the mattress. It was one of the worst I have slept (or not slept as the case may be) on in years. It sagged towards the middle and they had put a topper on top in an attempt to rejuvenate it. Both my wife and I had a terrible couple of nights sleep.

    The location was excellent, close to the new port and only a five minute walk to the old port. The hotel has excellent underground parking and parking can be a problem in La Rochelle. The hotel is bright and modern and the staff friendly. We have stayed at this hotel before and might do so again - but read the comments below.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Perfect value for money: nice hotel, nicely located in a nice city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing that we disliked. Everything was great.

    The hotel is perfectly located (5 minutes walk from the train station), 15 minutes walk from the beach, 10 minutes walk from the old port and the historical city center. Very friendly staff always willing to help. Very nice, comfortable room with laconic, yet creative furniture. Very convenient bathroom. Excellent breakfast with something that really amazed - oysters and cooled wine at a buffet table every morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very difficult to dislike anything. Food was great, cleanliness was outstanding.

    Everything you could ask for of a modern hotel in a great location. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Nothing was to much trouble for them. Parking was excellent and on site. Great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in the receptionist asked for credit card details for security and I specifically asked that no money was to be taken from this account as I wanted to pay in cash. I was assured no money would be taken. When I came to check out, I was informed that the bill had been settled by the credit card. This was not what I wanted as I had set aside money to pay in cash. Basically the receptionist ignored my request to pay cash. NOT HAPPY.

    Apart from the issue of paying for the stay, the hotel was what we had expected from using Best Western.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi not good and parking costed extra

    Very good position only minutes walk from the port. Hotel clean and modern and very good breakfast selection, friendly staff. Car parking is extra charge. Winfi not very good in room kept going off.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, convenient and dependable. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing; all good.

    We used this as a stopover hotel, having stayed here previously. It is a "generic" hotel, very much in the mould of, say, Premier Inn, but a very good one. A good sized room which was well appointed and clean, with everything in a good state of repair. Underground car-parking is safe, secure and plentiful with direct access to the hotel from a lift. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    A great three day stay in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is an exceptional hotel in a great location , the staff were friendly and helpful . The room was large and very comfortable as was the bed . I must mention the breakfast it was superb ! We would definitely stay here again .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast €15 but champagne and oysters and a great spread,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other members of staff not very helpful. To the point arrived at 14.15 was told we had to wait until 15.00 but check started at 14.00 then given wrong room this took 1hr 30 mins to short

    Breakfast €15 but champagne and oysters and a great spread, One member of staff very helpful over room problem

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area was a bit sterile and more expensive than the port area. WiFi is a pain as you have to log in each time even if you click remember me. One device per email address! Rooms aren’t soundproofed.

    Reception staff are friendly & helpful, with excellent English. Rooms are spotless and are serviced daily. Comfortable bed, lovely to have a kettle and a good quality hair dryer. 5 minute walk to the port. Underground parking is secure and very reasonable. Menus and buffet breakfast looked great but we prefer to eat at the port. We’d stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic service, breakfast and location. We had a wonderful stay at Masqhotel and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was slightly sporadic at times during the evening - we stayed during a warm weekend and it didn't seem to be working very well at times.

    Fantastic service, breakfast and location. We had a wonderful stay at Masqhotel and would recommend it to anyone looking to visit La Rochelle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Highly recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Give it 5 stars only minor was the bath itself was slippy and the bathroom floor did flood on having a shower. Noise coming early morning from a hotel across road being renevated. But that could not be avoided.

    Easy check in, Staff, position, cleanliness, comfort, size of room, tea coffee making facilities in room, a few English tv channels, secure parking (10€ per night) worth it. Would highly recommend and will return . Well done Best Western

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly exceeded expectations and would definitely choose to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view of the port although only a 5 minute walk to get there.

    The buffet breakfast was exceptional! A wonderful range of food on offer including oysters.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, cool and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tea and coffee supplies in the room.

    The bed was very comfy and the air conditioning was excellent. The breakfast was a little expensive but very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location and have the breakfast it's excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking facilities were very small especially as most people had large cars.

    The room was a decent size but with not much of a view. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    It is a comfortable modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a comfortable modern hotel. The bedroom and bathroom are comfortable and well designed. The breakfast buffet is excellent. We would recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    It was fine but felt more business orientated than tourist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tendance Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the reception area was functional it lacked character and was consequently under used which was a shame. The room cards were temperamental, my husband had to have his renewed at least once a day. But it was dealt with very well. WiFi was slow.

    Bedroom was spacious. Bed very comfy and linen good. Bathroom good though I prefer walk in shower rather than over bath. Good supply of instant hot water. Breakfast was excellent, very good choice and very fresh. Parking was good. The area in which it is located is quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, we would definitely recommend and return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet paper should be of better quality.

    The cleanliness was exceptional. Pleasant, friendly staff, very helpful. The location was perfect for bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    A hotel that would be very average but for good quality staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no fridge in the room which for the price of the room (£120 per night) was a bit out of order.

    Staff were exceptionally kind doing their best to have our room ready even although we checked in early. After a small error they were gracious hosts offering us refreshing drinks on the house while we waited.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Modern hotel in quiet street on the Velo Odyssey cycle path.
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our key didn’t work at least twice. The safe in our room wasn’t working. All resolved promptly by the staff.

    Good storage for bicycles , modern and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Our favourite place to stay in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Conditioning

    I have stayed here numerous times. It is our favourite hotel in LaRochelle. The location is excellent. The breakfast is AMAZING. I would stay just for the bread! It's an easy walk into town, but far enough away to be calm. Onsite parking is very convenient and reasonably priced. Walking distance from the train station. We stay several times a year and will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    A fantastic place to stay out of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a short walk from the town in an office area and there was nothing overly special about it, it was a high standard chain hotel which is what you expect so not necessarily bad, but quite different to the rest of the town. There was no mirror in the main room.

    The breakfast was incredible, so much choice including champagne and oysters. The hotel and the rooms where of a high standard, it was very clean and the staff were absolutely excellent - air conditioning worked well and quickly. The bathroom was huge with a great bath and shower and plenty of hot water. Underground parking was reasonable but not great for big cars!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Super hotel, great beds, location and exceptional breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Electronic keys kept failing. Noticed this was also happening to other guests. Always speedily resolved by the very pleasant and efficient staff. .I'm probably being a bit fussy here but it is a nuisance when you have to keep going back to reception. By no means would this put me off the hotel but it is a niggle that should be easily capable of being resolved.

    Super choice for breakfast and served later than normal which is great for a leisure break. comfy beds and large rooms. At first we were concerned with location but it was actually just 5 minutes from harbour and the gare.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location in La Rochelle, with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a short walk from the train station and easy walking to the harbour and sights of La Rochelle. The hotel staff were very helpful , with suggestions for restaurants and organising transport. The room was very large and comfortable, with a separate lounge area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Really comfortable stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, very good standard of accommodation and excellent breakfast..... so much choice. The staff are professional and very helpful. The location is central to the historic old port, the station and restaurants. Really enjoyed our stay and will most definitely recommend it to others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice little hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Wi-Fi. Portals where you have to manually connect every time you want to use internet, and share your email. Also, you can't use 2 devices at once. Speed not great either.

    Location, cleanliness, both reception and housekeeping staff very good. Would recommend. Would come back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    The area is being re developed but did not interfere with our stay will be back when it is all fini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little over priced as hot food not great .

    Very friendly helpful staff. Hotel a short pleasant walk from all areas of interest and restaurants. Safe secure parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Great rooms and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift not working for three days Bar area poor and rarely had staff working there Breakfast policy misleading. Suppose to have express breakfast service before and after main breakfast but had to ask and got puzzled looks. Great staff member fixed it though...

    Rooms were amazing. Spatial, well fitted with great facilities Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    V nice large room with bath in new hotel near railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi seemed a bit unstable and dropped every so often. Apart from that, no complaints

    V nice large room with bath in new hotel near railway station, which I got at a very reasonable rate for a 4*. No restaurant in hotel, but receptionist pointed me to a very good one nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Second visit did not disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent, especially the freshly made pastries. Staff are very friendly and helpful . Secure parking on site and great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is modern, rooms are spacious and the breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was sometimes very slow.

    The hotel is modern, rooms are spacious and the breakfast was great with the fresh pastry and oysters. It is 5 minutes walk from the city centre, very close to the railway station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved this place, lovely staff and very comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Managed to change the date of my stay saving me a lot of stress and cost. Really loved the hotel, very quirky. Rooms very comfortable and the bathroom was fab

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, clean, good and reliable facilities and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The height of the bath was a bit of an issue when climbing in out of the shower.....a problem if your getting on in age

    Really appreciated the kettle/tea/coffee in room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Superb from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    Everything was faultless. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and very comfortable and the breakfast was superb. Especially the pastries freshly baked on site. Will certainly stay again and was only wishing I could have stayed for more than 1 night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Ideal base for a few days in La Rochelle particularly for those travelling with a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private gated parking at the hotel with lift directly to bedroom floors. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast, slightly pricey compared to some hotels but worth it! Not too far to walk into La Rochelle Old Town and yacht basins. Very comfortable bed and good bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only little grumble we had was with the tea and coffee making facility. On a few occasions, our tea bags were not replaced, another time it was the water and also the milk.

    Everything was really comfortable and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Lovely comfy chairs in the bar/reception areas. The hotel was in a really good location, not very far to walk to the harbour, and in a quiet road. We noticed that the train station was also very close, so another visit to La Rochelle, we might choose to travel by train knowing how close this really nice hotel is situated. The breakfast was really very good with such a lot of choice, so the walk to the harbour afterwards, was very welcome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Smart, clean, comfortable- perfect for a short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast, noisy people delivering outside our window before sunrise,

    The room temperature control, the reception area, the stafff were excellent,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken up at 5.30am by a delivery lorry outside our bedroom window (we were in the 1st floor) absolutely deafening noise of the lorry tailgate being dropped to the floor, the delivery men shouting at each other and the rumbling of the trolleys delivering goods to the hotel.

    Excellent gluten free rolls, served warm for breakfast. The best I've ever had. The choice of breakfast available was excellent. Bed extremely comfortable. The staff are all fantastic. Incredibly helpful, friendly and good English spoken. Nothing too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No permanent bar staff had to ask a reception for a drink, breakfast service very slow although food choices were good we had to wait a nearly every point for food to be topped up what should have been a 30 min breakfast turned into 90 minutes

    Modern hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    A very pleasant but frustrated stay - particularly the evening meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The fact that they didn't have a restaurant for an evening meal considering it is a four star hotel.

    The fact that everything was done professionally.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant comfortable stay would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested secure parking when booking , this was a number of weeks ago , on arrival I was told none available and that no request had been received .

    Great breakfast and good reception staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel booked a Taxi for a five minute fare for which the driver asked for 30 euros which was outrageous - the following night the hotel booked another taxi firm which charged a very reasonable 7 euros for the same trip Thought the shower over the bath was OK but the high bath was difficult to get out from - also a non slip bath mat would have been useful

    Very friendly staff - very clean and great parking underground - very comfortable bed and good air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast in bed was very disappointing, and food options limited outside breakfast time.

    Great, helpful staff, close to the SNCF station and a short walk to the Vieux-port.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay not spoilt by parking difficulties
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find and driving instructions from La Rochelle airport would have been helpful. Car park full and local parking difficult. Bar not always staffed at night so not easy to get an after dinner drink.

    Clean room, comfy bed, excellent breakfast, helpful English speaking reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Good selection for breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tendance Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wardrobe and minimum storage making it difficult to unpack everything. Parking was often difficult.

    Good selection for breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Helpful, friendly staff, quiet rooms, convenient location 5 minute walk to old port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit dated, carpet tired etc; parking v convenient & secure but ridiculously tight spaces (one night we had last narrowest space & literally could not get out of the car once it was finally in the space).

    Breakfast better than expected (finally somethng not bread-based!) though not cheap at €13 odd. Staff lovely with our toddler and always very helpful & friendly. Rooms very quiet for good nights sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    The staff were exceptionally professional, friendly, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi wasn't reliable - only worked intermittently. Wasn't available at all in the evenings.

    The staff were exceptionally professional, friendly, and helpful. In particular, we dealt with two of the female receptionists who helped us with directions and taxis, recommended tourist sites and restaurants, and were so friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Very special hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    All,the staff very good. Whole concept was wonderful, tapas for evening meal included and so nice, breakfast again very good. So all wonderfully

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely clean, modern hotel in a good location-with parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was clean and modern, as were the rooms, which were spacious with comfy beds. Staff were friendly and helpful - and spoke good English. Secure car parking under the hotel so we could get lift directly from car park to our room was a bonus. We did not eat in the hotel but walked the short distance to the many restaurants around the harbour for both dinner and breakfast. We stayed one night en route to Spain from the UK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and ideally situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room. No chocolate sachet added to the drinks tray. Very small issues so as you can see it is hard to find fault.

    Room very spacious. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast catered for all tastes. Overall excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location and the room was big enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was suppose to be coffee and tee in the room, but there always wasn´t. The staff didn´t speak Englis good enough.

    Good location and the room was big enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Great base in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room gets quite crowded as not very big.

    Well appointed room. Very clean. Good bathroom. At last a hairdryer that actually blows a good jet of air!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most modern hotels have the same room layout so there was no surprise element. The room and bathroom were beautifully clean though.

    The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning most welcome.It is vey well located for the old town and for the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Spot on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very fresh modern French artistic decor. Staff on reception extremely welcoming at all times! We came in late every night and left early every morning! Breakfast had a great selection for a buffet. Cooked, fresh fruit, cereals, crepes, oysters, salmon...and all for 10 Euro!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    + Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Slight odour of smoke in the hallways and the room at the arrival - Bathtub bit high, could be dangerous

    + Friendly and helpful staff + Great location, just 5 minute walk from the port. Few steps from the train station + Window could be fully opened

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel for experiencing La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice from the street leaks into the room. The street is calm and quiet so this was not a big issue for us but loud conversations outside woke me up a couple of times. Also, i could hear other guests snoring in adjacent rooms. No loud noices though.

    Central location, easy to reach by car and within short walking distance of the main sights and restaurant areas. Fast and efficient check-in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, sparkly clean lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, excellent hotel will definitely use this one again on next visit to La Rochelle. It is a little pricey but all of La Rochelle is pricey

    Perfect location, a couple of hundred yards away from the noise so close enough. Secure underground car park excellent but I did scratch my hatchback on the low ceiling so take care. The room was larger than excepted for La Rochelle and everything worked perfectly including the air con.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Good but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors badly need automatic lighting It's the norm now. Bar cold and unwelcoming

    Well equipped rooms Friendly staff Good location but not a great area at night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice Hotel . Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything.

    Lovely room comfortable bed and tasteful bathroom. All spotlessly clean. Staff were a delight and all spoke very good English, Only 5-10 minute walk from harbourside with cafes restaurants etc. naughty little jars of sweets on the lobby table and fresh apples too. Coffee and tea making facilities in the room. Also complimentary bottle of water each day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Room was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bath in a very strange position - therefore not easy to have a shower I found it difficult to step out of the bath onto the floor - quite a high sided bath & my little legs didn't easily reach the floor. The bottom of the bath was slippy - a bathmat would be helpful. An older person would not have managed the bath/shower situation easily and safely

    Room was very comfortable Breakfast - quality and choice very good Staff very friendly, professional and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Good parking, good location walking distance from the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good parking, good location walking distance from the center of La Rochelle. The breakfast was very good. Possibility to press your own orange juice. Plenty of choices for the bread.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay for a week in La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Design
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A map to help find the hotel first time by car was not provided.

    Very good croissents - not too big and very fresh. Smoked salmon (and oysters) and champagne for breakfast is a must!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: