Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Hôtel Massena Nice 4 stars

58, rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France

#43 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4181 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel needs major remodeling. The bathroom is very inconvenient since the toilet is separate from the bathroom.

    Excellent location, Great staff, Very good Breakfast, clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was happy with everything except the shower screen on the bath wasn't wide enough.

    For a small but smart city hotel it was tremendous value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There seemed to be some work going on and it was a bit noisy at times.

    Staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel pre-authorized our payment long before the free cancellation dates expired. When checking out they draw down the money once again saying that we will get back the pre authorized amount soon. In our case it takes 2-3 weeks. So be ready.

    We had a superior room with terrace, which was very nice and quite spacious with two sun beds and a coffee table. The view from terrace was wonderful. Location of the hotel is also great, close to old city, Massena square, Galeries Lafayette and pedestrian commercial streets. Inside the rooms are modernly styled. Reception staff speaks Russian, which was a pleasant surprise for us. Nice hotel for business and personal trips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told the wrong time for breakfast so were barely able to eat anything before our taxi to the airport arrived. General decor and standards lacking but it is centrally located. One member of staff was helpful but others were quite rude and seemed oblivious.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet being separated from bathroom was very uncomfortable. The major part of payment was freezed from account despite the booking of refundable rate which should be paid at the property. At the check out the full amount was deducted again. Was forced to contact bank to clarify when the money will be returned.

    Breakfast was very good and the personnel in the dining area was simply brilliant. Paula at the reception was the true star helping enourmously with all our requests and providing a great recommendations arpund the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cannot tell - don't like, but the WC ( ok to be separate to the bathroom ), though it's very small, like staying in a small wardrobe, without any window or fan, just weird.

    The location is perfect. Very close to the old town and to the pub's and restaurants area and also very close to the Promenade des Anglais. The staff is very friendly , the room was very nice as we have had a small balcony , so it was perfect for a smoker :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning needs to work a bit harder for hotter months! We went in May and we opened the windows which was our only fix!

    The location is excellent for all that Nice has to offer- also great connections to the airport and station and tram

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a little weird to keep signing on to the Hotel Internet connection, but became easier each day!

    We would definitely stay here again! The Staff was most helpful directing us to one of the best meals I had for this month long trip, as well as, coordinate two wonderful Tours that quickly became the highlight of this portion of our trip. One was on my "Bucket List" - A Vespa Martini in the Casino Monte Carlo! Shaken - not stirred! Yes! The location was perfect to get any form of transportation, plus many local sights to see within walking distance! They get an "A"! Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are staying here over a weekend make sure you DONT get a room towards the street Rue Chauvain. There is a Nightclub across the street = VERY noisy and screaming people from 01.00-05.00. It´s impossible to sleep.

    Very nice beds. The location was perfect. Nice breakfast and kompetent staff. Very helpfull. If you don´t stay towards the street Rue Chauvain on an Weekend this is a perfect place to stay. Clean and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of some of staff was below expectation ;not reactive enouhg , not smiling I got upgrade for for first two days this staff wanted to degrade my room Wife found a small towel in the kettle

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfortable Air conditioning worked nicely. Clean floor and rooms Nice to be able to make your own café lattes and as many as you want .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Competent and customer oriented hotel personel, speaking many languagues (incl. Russian). We had the health issues during our stay, and we have been bery much supported by receptionist Marc (called the doctor, helped with finding pharmacy in the morning). Breakfasts exceeding the standard quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wifi was variable at times - it seemed to drop out. There is only one small elevator to get to the upper floors.

    The staff were very helpful, the breakfast had a good selection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -King sized double bed was in reality two singles pushed together, this was quite noticeable and could be solved with some new top mattresses! -Breakfast was charged at 17 euro per person and definitely not worth paying extra for in the room fee! Avoid! On my last day, my stomach actually started aching and signs of food poisoning appeared some 3 hours after breakfast. Threw up in the hotel and this pretty much ruined the day. -Aged building means poor sound isolation from noises in the street and from other neighboring guests!

    -Upgraded from double delux to triple delux room which was very sizable and kept clean! -Location was close to everything, near perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was poorly laid out and not very attractive. Wifi was painful as you had to keep logging in and were often disconnected from the internet.

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff was helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too noisy out side hotel, bin wagons in early hours , people shouting and screaming until 4am Fri Sat. Street sweepers start at 6am .

    comfortable beds, helpful staff, good rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom layout was appalling: it was a struggle to get in and out of the bath/shower as access had not been thought through. It was a clear indication that a refurbishment was long overdue. The bar where breakfast was served had no natural light and was overcrowded. The staff were too keen to promote their "offers": breakfast, taxi deals and loyalty programme.

    Size of the room was impressive but the decor and layout was tired and jaded. The breakfast was good and the "deal" reasonable. The staff were amenable when not overworked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cupboard is expected bigger than it is ... however it is not a big deal ... others covers everything

    Will definitely stay at the same hotel for the next holiday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room faced the street, Friday and Saturday night were extremely noisy. Room was meant to be Dulux - it was more like standard.

    The location was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the reception was very unflexible when we kindly asked if we could check out 12:30 in stead of 12:00. We paid for a superior double room, but even at this level the rooms are small. The air condition did not function in room 625.

    The hotel was well located in walking distance of the sea, the old Nice, the flower market, the theater etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Earlier check-in than 3pm would be appreciated, but it was not a big deal anyway.

    Fantastic terrase on 6th floor with wonderfull view over the city! Spacious bathroom with a window. Special thanks to the hotel for fullfilling all our requests regarding room standard!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy so didn’t sleep very well . Couldn’t get a sandwich from room service only do a snack menu on a Sunday. There was nothing on the menu that resembled a snack disappointing

    Size of room was very good and great last location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the toilet is ridiculously small, may be the other rooms are better, no sound insulation between the rooms, you hear your neighbours as they are in the room

    great location, close to everything you need in Nice, clean room, comfortable bed, polite stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very resentful that the hotel runs a policy of running a check on Visa cards used on booking.com bookings. Because I wanted to use a visa debit top up card for my trip to Nice, they ran a check for 202 euros on my card on our arrival at reception WITHOUT WARNING me. It meant that around £200 of my budgeted money was frozen in my account and I could not access all my money. One week later, the £200 is still frozen / pending and I do not have access to my money. I would much rather have paid on arrival and not end up short of 200.

    Excellent central location, so long as you don't mind being by a road with a little street traffic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small and toilet and shower room separate with awkward doors hitting off eachother.

    Location was close enough to old town and easy walk to prominade

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me personally the mattress was on the firm side

    All staff were excellent,nothing was a problem,room was tidied and cleaned every day and fresh towels each day too ,breakfast was good too only wish you had English banger sausages and good back bacon , location is central to everything , enjoyable small walks too everything you will need to see and do ,will definitely go back to this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit small, but had everything including Coffee pot, refrigerator.

    The location was perfect. Tram, bus stop, shopping, market, restaurant, sightseeing including Massena place were all near! And they were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small, looking more like a single. There are some traces of usage. The breakfast was the same every single day.

    The bed was comfortable, the clean room and bathroom, the cleaning personnel, perfect location, good indications from the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t make negative comments on this site if I have not previously raised issues with the staff, which they have then not addressed. However, in this case the problems are not related to the staff as they are design faults with the room, which the staff would be unable to rectify. The layout of the toilet and shower in this Executive room afforded no privacy. The toilet area was built in the bedroom with glass brick walls and a glass sliding door a couple of feet from the bed. The shower screen was not big enough to prevent water getting onto the floor in the sink area despite aiming the shower rose into the corner, which made comfortable showering difficult, and the water still overspilled. For an Executive room it was too small, with inadequate space for hanging towels after use

    Cleanliness and room servicing. Then Sun Terrace was great. There was a comfortable supersize bed. The location, central to the Vieux Villa and Promenade des Anglais was brilliant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great choice for breakfast ( in France it is not common;-). Location location location - perfect, the price of the hotel very attractive. But rooms are not to big, the beds are short...:-( but comfortable, pillows great as well:-) location great for visiting, dinning and winning. but also there are clubs on the street, so if you want to sleep with an open windows just be ready for noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unpolite frontdesk. Rude answers even when we had quite simple questions, not interested in looking up the train timetables for us and talking bad about us in french, believing we could not understand.

    Central location. Both for the beach/promenade and the old town. Big and comfortable bed. Quiet rooms French balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet in bedroom was separate to bathroom, and toilet area could have been a bit bigger. Given a twin room instead of a double. Only English TV channels CNN News, BBC1,BBC 2 & Ceebeebies.

    Good size bedroom, well laid out on the whole. Great choice of breakfast, cooked, cereal, croissants,, fruit, breads.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Daily papers were supplied in French (obviously) and the New York Times; I would have liked and English paper but this is really nit picking - the facilities were excellent value for money.

    The staff seemed to be striving to make our stay pleasant all the time. On occasions there were no breakfast spaces available they immediately came to assist us by clearing and cleaning suitable areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could not get the credit card machine to work on checkout so I had to pay cash. They couldn’t print a receipt. When I got home they had charged to full amount to my credit card. Is it a scam? I hope not

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - More options could be proposed for breakfast (choice of fruits, eggs preparation, etc.) - Small toilet room - little default choice in room's bar

    - Nice staff and service, efficient and kids friendly - Comfortable rooms and beds, clean - Nice room service (and dishes) - Perfect location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room size is too small and the building needs a renovation. Otherwise, it doesn't meet the standard s of a 4-star hotel which is what it advertised.

    Location is great, and the value is fair.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was connected with other room sa we could easily hear voices from another room.

    Breakfast was really good, wide choice of french food, coffee and fruit. Localization was awesome just next to main monuments and seaside - promenade and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room control was set too high, so had to have the window open to keep the room cool.

    friendly efficient staff on front desk, in breakfast room and those cleaning the rooms. We were lucky in that we had one of the larger, quieter rooms ( 423)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. WIFI is bit slow and not stable in the room 2. There is no facilities like swimming pool or work out amenties

    눇cozy and clean 1. The location is very good. It is easy to go to beach and shopping area 2. Breakfast is very nice. Usually, we don't need lunch after rich breakfast. 3. The staff is very kind and friendly 4. The single room is spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets in hotel break regularly. Quiet rooms are corner rooms (don't request them). Breakfast area is small and overcrowded. Staff said parking was free, but we were charged 25 Euro per day at checkout. Free tea on arrival, but customer service goes downhill very quickly after that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard room was extremely small (not bigger than the bed) , the "double bed " consisted in 2 single beds . The pictures on their presentation have nothing to do to the reality. You can hear everything from the other rooms, so it is difficult to sleep. The Bathroom is so small that is impossible to use Basic breakfast, but I've seen worst If you need wifi, avoid this hotel, in fact , they have a ,miserable connexion Staff is ok

    perfect location, close to shopping area , close to the sea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better (I'm comparing to German hotels of the similar or even lower rate). Cleanliness is not very good - the cleaning staff failed to remove breadcrumbs by the bedside on the carpet (which were left by previous visitor[s]) for 2 nights we were staying there (room #115). Also the toilet bowl was not cleaned up completely from the previous visitors (sorry for such unpleasant details). But the main disappointment is the bath - it has quite a modern equipment (though, no bidet), but it's very hard to use it, as the glass blind (which should be opening and closing) is hardly attached to the bath itself - so one should get into the bath first, and then turn on the shower.

    Location is perfect! 2 steps to Galleries Lafayet and Place Massena. The staff is welcoming and willing to help. The room is quite large, has several wardrobes and very cosy beds. TV is huge! (for those who like to watch it)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, location and great breakfast, and cordial staff members. The location is really great, just behind galleries lafayette and 2 min walk from the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room was dated and when advertised it didn't show carpet in the pictures which is misleading. Breakfast was okay but eggs, bacon and sausages was slimey due to being left in the steamer trays.

    The staff was very helpful, location was great and the hotel was clean. I would definitely come back to stay here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was kept very hot by default to the point that we started to sweat after five minutes wearing only t-shirts. Hopefully, a quick call at the reception helped us fix the problem. Despite the windows offered an excellent noise isolation from the street below, I suggest to the most sensitive people to bring earplugs. The bathroom had no ventilation, that resulted in the mirror covered with mist and a lot of humidity. The bathroom door couldn't be closed properly despite our efforts. We found only one electricity socket near the bed, so was impossible to charge and hold two phones near the bed at the same time. The night staff that handled our problems (a man in his 40's I would say) was very helpful, I don't know your name but thank you! Meanwhile, the lady that did my check-in informed me that I made a mistake and I booked for one and not for two. I actually made a mistake in the booking, and I apologized. Since my fiancée was at the reception with me a bit of touch and finesse would have been excellent to handle the situation. She instead quickly proposed me alternatives to fix the problem with a condescending attitude of patronizing superiority, and naming prices of the extras I had to pay out loud, making sure both of us clearly understood. This is a big no-no, especially since she didn't give me time to look at my booking and realized I made a mistake. I looked like a fool and a small bit of touch could have avoided that. It's a small thing but I believe a bit of empathy from the staff is required even in the most basic of hotels.

    Breakfast was excellent, bed was very comfortable. Perfect location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * Room was a touch pokey. If its only ever meant for one person mgmt might look at the possibility of putting in a slightly smaller bed. * A/c simply didn't work because it was the winter (according to rcpt?) and the room was extremely warm especially at night. That meant I had to open the balcony doors to let in cold air but the noise from the street could then disrupt my sleep particularly on the weekend and I got bitten once or twice by mosquitoes. * Feel mgmt should offer something else in terms of facilities to differentiate themselves a bit more from competition...maybe a gym or common area on the top floor?

    Breakfast was good, appreciated the style and movie theme of the hotel, free newspapers was great, found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and communicative. Excellent location and value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest adding rugs to the toilet because the floor is a bit cold. I was given the family room - the one that has the door which you can use to get to the nearby room (if you're staying with family for instance and need two rooms and you can go between them without going to the hall), although the staff immediately came to lock it after my request, it still felt a bit uncomfortable.

    Friendly and helpful staff, clean room with renovated bathroom and toilet, exceptional view of the hills on the top floor, very quiet and calm, stable internet, 50x70cm and a set of more squarey pillows, I was provided with toothbrush and toothpaste at no additional charge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness, location - right in the center of the Massena Square, very nice and friendly staff (we have got a room where guest before smoked a cigarette and it wasn't a problem to get a new room), helpful, good breakfast (a large selection of dishes), the hotel is situated in a quiet place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price but poor quality. Small bathroom with a wood door; The reception told us the breakfast was included when we checked in but still charged us when we checked out. Upset.

    Good location, in the center of the city. A few minutes away the beach, convenient to shopping

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is not included in the price of the room and is expensive (30 euro per day. The closest public parking is slightly cheaper). Breakfast is standard (continental), served only until 10:30, and very expensive.

    The hotel is very conveniently located, close to the ancient city and the sea promenade.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only a small bar which was not manned in the Hotel. You had to ask the reception staff if you wanted a drink. There are bars nearby but the weather wasn't always good.

    I enjoyed the experience with exception of weather and flight delay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room, on the 5th floor, faced on Rue Chauvain where there is a night club, thus, on closing time (at 4 a.m. ca.), we have been awakened by the customers' voices.

    The location of the hotel is nearby the old city, the Promenade des Anglais and the beach. In spite of this, the comfort and quiet offered are very high.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive parking (as most of tourist´s cities in Europe - but more then average).

    Great location, near restaurants + stores + everything else you may need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    10 or so more square feet in the room would have been great. (I'm older and over 6' tall.)

    The woman who helped me at the desk did several little things to make my stay easy. It made a huge difference. (I don't remember her name, but she worked for awhile in New York City.)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Business center very old computers and very old printer I can't depend on it at all The rooms wasn't ready at all We have to wait 30 min until is being ready

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think the only thing I didn't like was the view....I hated opening my curtains and looking out onto the back of the hotel. Next time I'll ask for a better view.

    In general, staying at Hotel Massena was an excellent experience. I loved the location...we literally walked out the door and we were in the center of everything. The beach was a two minute walk from the hotel as was the Old Town. There was also plenty of shopping nearby and some nice places to eat. The hotel staff were polite and helpful and were able to provide information on a variety of questions. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the waitresses at breakfast were extra friendly...always smiling. The rooms were very clean and the beds and bedquilts were perfect...nice and cozy after a tiring day of being tourists.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff at reception. Especially the person in charge of valet parking was very helpful and very friendly. Clean spacious room. Central location. Although in the middle of the busy side of town, the room was quiet during the night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small, with no place to hang on our used towels after shower. It was clean but seemed a bit old. The voiturier works from 7 am to 11 pm, which I hadn't been told upon arrival. Parking spaces are very very narrow between two walls and it was really tricky to park the rental car myself (a car I wasn't used to).

    The hotel is located in the center, a 5-minutes walk from the old town and also close to the sea (Promenade des Anglais). We were in the 18 m2 room, small but that's what we paid for and everything was clean and beds were comfortable. The room, though on the street, was quiet. Staff was kind and helpful. Parking is expensive (25 euros / day) but includes a voiturier. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WC with no sink, hand soap should have been fluid, maid left the door open after making the room (on one occasion). Empty orange juice at breakfast twice.

    Good breakfast, very good coffee, nice staff. Very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very good. The croissants were excellent, but the vegetables were not fresh and the cheeses weren't quite good.

    The location is excellent! The location is the best part of this hotel. Also, the price was very fair and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Upon arrival, the desk clerk demanded our card ending in 0218. Finally figured she was looking for a card with that expiration date. The card we had booked with had a different expiration date as we had gotten a new card. She insisted that she had to see that card even though we showed her that it was the same card number. She thought someone else could have the same card number with that other expiration date. Insisted on charging our card again for guarantee. We asked her to put our Best Western number on our reservation. She refused. We have always been able to add our loyalty numbers to our rooms in the past. According to the map of rooms, we got the smallest room in the hotel, I guess because we booked with booking.com.

    Nice location. Easy walk to shopping streets and old town. Breakfast was the same everyday but there was a large selection. Several types of bread and hard rolls. Ham, sliced turkey, salami and soft and hard cheeses. Scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage. Several fresh fruits, yogurt and jams.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was plentiful but wasn't the best. No slippers, iron or sufficient wash gel supplementaries. The back part of the hotel overlooks a dated backdrop of buildings. Toilets cubicles are separate in very small room.

    Stayed here for two nights and the staff were very helpful. Location to shops and restaurants is ideally situated. You're pretty much in the Massena Square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm, there was no temperature control The design of the bathroom was awful. The bathroom was big enough but there was no storage or shelf around the sink. Even the hotel free toiletries were crammed on to the back of the sink leaving no room for ones personal soap, shaving cream and razor, body lotions, hair brushes. In bedroom bedside shelves were minuscule.

    Room comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Same set of breakfast menu for all the 3 days that we stayed there. Hope they introduce some nice local French breakfast cuisines in the future.

    Fantastic location. Just walking distance to the Promenande. The front-desk staffs are very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of room for me as one person on the business trip was extremely small. Taking shower was difficult when you couldn't have had enough space to move inside of it.

    Location of the property is great and in the middle. Shopping and visiting main Nice sites are in walking distance as well as many different types of eatry and brasserie.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are separate bath & toilet rooms. So the toilet is too small.

    We took upgraded room. It was very compfortable & big. Good location, we got by bus from the airport and walked about 5 minutes. The buses to Sant Paul de Vence & to Mattese museum are also in 5 minutes . Very good breakfast, liked fresh ananas & other fruits. Staff was polite & helpfuil, gave us timetable for the buses .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor insulation (you could hear what the neighbours were discussing) and no extra blanket in the room.As elsewhere in Nice,the toilet sits on a tiny,separate room,not a four star facility feature,in my opinion.Not particularly impressed with the staff,either.The breakfast room is also way too small.

    excellent location,for sure.Common areas such as the lobby,stairs and corridors are welcoming and well kept too.Also,the room was bigger than in many other properties of the same city,which is definitely a plus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit smaller than looks in the presentation pictures. Also the bed felt a bit shorter than a normal one, but very comfortable. The toilet even if is located in your own room, is located in a separate small room, without a sink, so after using the toilet you need to go to the actual bathroom, where you have the bath and the sink. Sink had a problem with the drainage.

    Great location. Room comfortable. Great view from the balcony. Loved the smell of the croissants early in the morning that we smelled in out room I guess from the kitchen. Great selection of TV channels. Room was warm. We arrived from the airport with 52 bus (only 1.5 EUR/person) with only a 150m walk from the station to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would love to see pancakes or waffles in the breakfast. But the breakfast was overall good.

    The staff were very very friendly and their response so fast. And the locations was near everything I wanted as a tourist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was really old and poorly furnished. Though it was a "superior" double room, the furniture consisted of two chairs and a tiny desk only. On my arrival the shower was broken. Extremely poor lighting.

    Location. The Promenade des Anglais and the old town are nearby, many cafes and restaurants are around. Easy to get a bus to/from the Nice airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Satisfactory, open buffet breakfast Friendly and helpful staff Comfort of the bed Location: only 5 minutes walk to the old town and shopping street

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My concern is about the breakfast : very noisy with dishes (particularly plates) ingoing to the dash machine outgoing to the dash machine all the time etc. The room is too small and the staff if too speed which is counter productive . Taken together, your quiet wake up is transforming on nervous breakdown . No snack or bar to eat something simple in case at any time as expected for a 4 stars Hotel.

    ideally located, pricing is correct , confortable , staff is nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Privilege Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hook or stool or horizontal surface in the bathroom to hang or put things on. The towel rail was high up on a wall and not particularly easy to access unless you are tall. Also the separate toilet had no window and should have an extractor fan.

    The breakfasts were excellent - great choice of food and staff ever watchful to replace items as they became empty. It was a very busy hotel and the staff were particularly helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extremely noisy!!! Saturday night some guests came back at 5 am SHOUTING in the corridor for half an hour (very heavy door not soundproof), the same noise clearly audible from the street. Double- glazed windows do absolutely nothing...

    location, comfortable bed, friendly staff, good choice for breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: