Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Massy Palaiseau 4 stars

18-20 Rue Emile Baudot, 91120 Palaiseau, France

#3 of 3 hotels in Palaiseau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.3
    Horrible experience, once was more than enough!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge your credit card for 100€ just in case... It is a pre authorisation, but their justification is, that client does not know about that in France. Well, wake up, in my country, you actually BLOCK the money from being used by this bad behaviour. If I buy something, I will pay for it then. Why the hell would you block 100€ in advance?!! Also: Carpet in my room looked like someone took a ***" on it and then pushed it around quite a few times. Absolutely DISGUSTING. And for the love of god, why don't you have toilet brush in the room? Do you think that a couple staying there together wants to share the sight of **** smudges in the toilet? ONCE WAS MORE THAN ENOUGH!

    Comfortable bed, enough pillows, ok breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Pretty large nice room, I appreciated the presence of a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms needs some maintenance and cleanness should be improved. Unfortunately in Massy there are not enough hotels, for this reason there is no competition and prices are pretty high, I hope new hotels will open pretty soon.

    Pretty large nice room, I appreciated the presence of a boiler and coffee tea bags. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    NOVOTEL pls. understand a working A/C is a vital part of a 4 star rated hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A/C did not work AGAIN first night, had 27C in the room. Second night the hotel stated it worked and indeed there was a bit fresh air coming out of the vent but not enough to cool down the room temp stayed at 25C After 1 year of constant trouble with room temps, freezing in winter, blasting hot in summer I will not come back to the hotel. Novotel is simply ignoring this issue - probably because they have bus loads of tourists coming every day that stay only for two nights and never come back again.

    Good beds, quiet room, new furniture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and quiet place to stay South of paris
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant area was a bit chilly in the evening

    Very quiet hotel, clean and comfortable. It's an old building but has been nicely renovated. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.3
    Worst kitchen staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff of restaurant . A short height lady was pathetic. She says no for everything to us being Indian behaves well with other country guests. Will not choose this chain hotel next time.

    Pathetic staff behaviour. I had booked thinking of Novotel name but staff was very bad. Not cooperative. They dont provide basic things there. Behave us that they dont bother.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Novotels work well for us as they are secure, clean and Funtional for breaking up a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged €5 for parking. I thought this was a bit cheeky as you would only be staying here if you went by car. Most people, like us, were using it as a stopover to break up long car journeys. Parking is free in most other Novotels.

    Good sized family room. Tea and coffe making facilities. Functional for the final leg of our journey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Simple, easy, comfortable and fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited food choices for children who are picky eaters.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Perfect location for us as just off the motorway. Free sweets for the kids, free Xbox to play in reception and a pool to wear them out after a day travelling in the car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Decent hotel with good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although a minor detail, at arrival, our safe was already closed, we had to ask the receptionist to open it again.

    Lots of parking space, decent breakfast, and nice swimming pool!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Ripoff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unmanned bar on a Saturday night 1 bottle of water in "mini bar" in room Entrecôte was very tough Réception charged breakfast (16.50 pp) to our room even though we did not partake in same. They did refund the 33euro to my card when I questioned this. Very overpriced hotel in general. Would not stay here again

    Toiletries in bathroom Excellent burger

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.2
    Too far from Paris downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The second night we found the toilette was not properly cleaned. I did not like the lift too small.

    We booked this hotel to visit Paris. Family of 4. I think it is too far for visiting Paris: 1 hour from the city center. From the nearest train station you have to walk for 800 metres. Not good with luggages. We had a dinner there with excellent service, very good menu, very good food quality. I would say it is a 3+ stars and not 4 stars but in Paris it is difficult to find very good 3 stars at that price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    4.2
    Noisy dinner next to TV football and very poor checkout process
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stair well floor 2 to floor 1 was very dirty. We ate adjacent to the bar and football on TV was blaring out all the time we were having dinner. Air conditioning inadequate. Checkout at 06.10 was terrible. The receptionist could not get the computer to work so and to recover our receipts manually and calculate our bill. Then the credit card machine was unable to accept payment but fortunately we had cash and were able to pay. Checkout process took about 15 minutes therefore and we were the only clients checking out. The receptionist was very apologetic but the hotel clearly does not have good equipment

    Excellent shower. Good check in

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable stop off on way south
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall price for B&B quite high relative to other possibilities in the area

    Good location for motorway south of Paris; well designed bedrooms and good, mid range restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    4.6
    Bad location, down market, sloppy room preparation and poor ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one coffee cup in room! Plastic cups in room. Bad air conditioning - the room was very 'stuffy'. Restaurant comfort i.e would have preferred not looking out at a bar and a wide screen football match. Had booked for Saturday 15 October as well but it was an advance non-refundable booking - we will not be taking up the booking and prefer to sacrifice the money!

    Comfy bed. Excellent Shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.1
    The "play area" for kids indoors is OK but more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "play area" for kids indoors is OK but more geared towards children (maybe 5/12 year old?) than toddlers. They have a PlayStation, - tablet with games, books and some Jenna type thing, but nothing really for 2/4 year olds we had who needed a good play after hours in the car.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.8
    A little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it hard to find, it was very stuffy in the room, with no air con. Drinks at the bar were very expensive. Breakfast adequate, bur nor particularly tasty.

    Lovely staff and a refreshing outdoor pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    Ok hotel but stayed in better for less
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hotel with slamming doors through the night - The hotel construction makes it noisy Expensive breakfast 5 Euros to park car

    Location Reasonable room price prr night

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.8
    Makes a great overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit expensive for what it was

    Staff super friendly to our kids Very convenient for an overnight stop All very straightforward and simple Pool and outside space nice Rooms clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfy beds.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait to get served in bar area. Separate toilet in room to the bathroom.

    Comfy beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cold in the room so i was very happy Go have Ruhe additional additional Hearing

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    Could be excellent if the A/C would do its job
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C simply cannot achieve the temp you want = 22C

    Excellent bed quality, very quiet at night, good restaurant, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.7
    Location is great for my business purposes
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    ideal as a business hotel - the usual good Novotel standard and the pumpkin soup was delicious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra 30€ to pay for early check in

    Staff, breakfast, room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really old and smelly. I arrived around 10pm and it took ages for the reception to open the gate.

    The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Tasty Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi

    Tasty Breakfast Friendly Staff (They've sent my telephone charger which I left im the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    8.3
    Quality and good value stop-off near A10
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging for parking when there was no real alternative

    Patio restaurant, good menu and beer; sizeable room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice outdoor area, games for the kids indoor, friendly staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queensize Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon

    Nice outdoor area, games for the kids indoor, friendly staff. Good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable - if you are at this area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning.

    restaurant by the pool. Comfortable and plenty parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    easy access from highway, easy access to RER to travel to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant could have a larger choice of dishes, but overall it was ok.

    easy access from highway, easy access to RER to travel to Paris. Clean and comfortable; professional staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    8.8
    The staff is amazing and the hotel overall is really nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    While this has absolutely nothing to do with the hotel but it was just impossible to find a cab from the train station to the hotel and since I arrived pretty late, it was really difficult to find the directions to the hotel. I tried several times to call the booking.com helpline number but all invain. I don't understand why you guys provide a helpline number (supposed to be 24h) when there is no point in calling it. Super happy with the hotel but super disappointed with Booking.com after sales services.

    The staff is amazing and the hotel overall is really nice and great value for money, not just the stay but also the food and beverages at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.9
    Location - Close to RER / TGV station which is a plus if...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food - Maybe just personal taste but the food offered in the main resto, which is different to room service, I thought was just OK. Perhaps a touch sub-par to my expectation vs. price. Hotel Overall - Again, comes down to the individual but visiting at the end of January '16 I found the temperature of the hotel and in my room to be very cold at times. Thermostat in the room seemed to do little to help despite being turned up full.

    Location - Close to RER / TGV station which is a plus if coming direct from either Orly or CDG airports. Easy to find with just a short walk. Food - Room service was good (see dislikes) Staff - Excellent all round. Very pleasant, helpful and efficient. Cleanliness - Spotless hotel. Cleaned daily to a very high standard. Room - Excellent quality overall, particularly the bathrooms. Brilliant power shower.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    4.6
    It was close to our office.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    There was no hot water at first day and once i informed hotel reception, there was no change and there is no hot water on second day too. It was terrible.

    It was close to our office.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is placed in surburb of Paris, so it's far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast separately is expensive, but if it's included to the price - great! You need 10 min walk to train station and you can get RER train to Paris.

    The hotel is placed in surburb of Paris, so it's far from Paris (you need the train), but you enjoy big rooms, pool, parking, it's quiet good quality hotel. We liked rabbits in the territory and sweets

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    3.8
    Nice bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Carpet in the floor very old and not looked clean to me for a "Premiere chamber". The worse was the bed, very old and it was a click-clack bed. I stayed two nights I did not sleep well there. Breakfast very expensive 15 euros and you need to pay the parking staying in the hotel.

    Nice bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    6.7
    Restaurant food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV volume eratic

    Restaurant food

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Evening meal was very disappointing and overpriced

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    4.6
    Expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    --

    Expensive

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    6.7
    Room 121 limits to a meeting room, during the night a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room 121 limits to a meeting room, during the night a telephone in that meeting room ringed 4 or 5 times

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    7.5
    Staff are very helpful and nice.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are too small.

    Staff are very helpful and nice.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Great hotel, great staff, stayed multiple times and will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    having to leave :)

    Great hotel, great staff, stayed multiple times and will stay again.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.7
    16.50 for breakfast is too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    16.50 for breakfast is too much

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    3.3
    Good Wifi, parking lot and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad service. No free water & telling a lie. No towel & giving a floor matt instead of towel.

    Good Wifi, parking lot and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    9.6
    When pondering a drink on arrival the Barmen said "you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When pondering a drink on arrival the Barmen said "you are finished for the day, a grand beer!" quite right!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    7.5
    The bed & central heating & shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel staff cold and not professional & elevator broken

    The bed & central heating & shower

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Novotel Massy Palaiseau traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: