Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Mathis Elysées 4 stars

3, rue de Ponthieu, 8th arr., 75008 Paris, France

#294 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 751 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so amazing and friendly! This hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was very nice and cool with great air conditioning, which is not common in Europe. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were quite large based on euro standards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has few facilities. There is no lounge, no bar and no food or room service other than breakfast. The room was a bit uncomfortable with little space around the bed and nowhere really to sit comfortably. The "view" from my room, over an "inner courtyard" was in fact into a very ugly fire-escape space that nobody would wish to look at. The room was also quite noisy with little insulation from the corridor or the room above.

    The location is great. Close to 2 metro stations and handy for many restaurants and sights. Free soft drinks from the mini-bar was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did request a family room with a shower but had the room with the bath and hand held shower attachment which wasn’t ideal.

    Location is amazing. Staff were super helpful and advised us on restaurants nearby - all of which were excellent. We are out for breakfast so didn’t take advantage of the facilities of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird decoration, fixed menu breakfast with extra charge for hot breakfast. The shower nozzle was missing from the shower.

    Excellent location just of Champs Elysees, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked on the basis of a review in The Telegraph which praised the restaurant and the bar. There is no restaurant and therefore the breakfast choice was very limited. When we arrived back to hotel shortly after 10 in the evening and hoping for a drink we were told the bar was closed. The room was lacking space to put things, especially in the bathroom and by the bed. There was an underlying smell of possibly stale tobacco.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a negative but it would be good to have tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.

    Great central location in a quirky deco style hotel. Really friendly and helpful staff. Comfy bed and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small but a good compromise for the location and cleanliness/stylish decor

    Staff were brilliant - attentive but not over facing. Location was amazing and decor was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator too small and broke down during the whole weekend. Bathtub shield not long enough to prevent water splashing on floor.

    Nice location in 8err and off Montaigne. Room is trendily désigned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed at the hotel to run the paris marathon, on race day, I left the room in a hurry and unfortunately I left about 5 euros in coins at the room, those weren't there when I came back! I don't blame the hotel, it's primarily my fault, but it would be have been nice if it hadn't happened.

    The staff at hotel Mathis were brilliant, especially "Delphine" (not sure if I spelled that right) She was amazing since the day I arrived, also the hotel managed to provide me with pick up and drop off service from the hotel (the driver was great too very helpful and extremely nice) The location is superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at Hotel Mathis two non-consecutive nights on this trip - our first and last nights in France. The staff is extraordinary and the room décor modern/stylish. I recommend the hotel for just one night or for a much longer stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the third time I've stayed at Hotel Mathis. Their staff is superb - just the right combination of professional and friendly. And the location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    i didn't like that the AC couldn't be adjusted to be cold since it was technically winter so the room had to be refreshed through the windows there was no mugs available to drink the tea or the coffee just tiny shot glasses and normal glasses the room was a bit too dark, not enough lights

    i loved that the interiors were new and it felt like newly refreshed room. the location is great, near all the hot spots. i loved the fact that they upgraded me to a slightly bigger room the window in the bed room is huge and overlooked the side street. i liked the fact that it was a room separate to the bathroom and the toilet so it actually felt big the design of the room was very nice the wifi was working and very good all staff were very friendly location was very easy to find the bathroom also felt like it was new the big was large and comfy and they had little chocolates on the bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Antic elevator where even me, being S size, could hardly turn around. But this is inevitable in old buildings. The layout of rooms is a little strange. Narrow corridor, small toilet. Strangely there were ants happily living near door to the toilet. At breakfast oranges for fresh juice were not nice, had to ask to remake juice. Cappuccino was served before omelette. Unusual.

    I appreciated kind attitude of reception. They tried to help with any little issue (like programming tricky safe deposit box).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building work at the back of the hotel didn’t really bother us as we’re early risers and they have to do the repairs sometime, however it would have been nice to be warned as our bathroom backed onto the scaffold they were working from which could have been awkward 😂

    For first timers in Paris the location was excellent for getting about & discovering new places and the bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing dislike, oh maybe the old style of lift may surprise some of the guests

    Location is absolutely the best, walkable distance to both Musee du Louvre and Eiffel Tower (about 20min of wall). Staff is very nice and really know every guest of the hotel. It is small hotel so it really makes the best atmosphere like family. Hotel facilities are good, not like the old ones, which I was quite concerned before arrival, but actually it is quite new, especially the towers, very soft and clean, even better than the ones of international 5-star hotel chain. It is small but cozy, located at the best place but very quiet, will definitely come back if visit Paris next time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing that comes to mind

    We had a perfect weekend stay, staff were very friendly and attentive, room size was bigger than all our previous stays in Paris and the location is ideal for site seeing. We loved the old lift which we were told was built over 80 years ago and still going strong.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double beds were two singles merged and slid around the laminate floor. No bar or any other facilities. Night staff wasn’t friendly and didnt tell us anything about the hotel. Just provided key and took ID. Day staff more friendly and helpful.

    Good location and central to tourist spots and near metro

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic ! The only issue was there was a leak in the bathroom (very minor) we think caused by a window not being properly sealed but all in all amazing.

    Location is amazing, room is stunning and staff are extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small clunky lift but it worked

    Superb location within 20 minutes walk of many must see sights and attractions. Lots of good restaurants and cafes nearby. Comfortable bed and nice room and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, renovations were taking place, so didn't get the chance to sample the restaurant for dinner or cocktails.

    Excellent, friendly, professional staff, particularly at reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was a little challenging but quirky in a good way! The restaurant was being refurbished (hopefully!) so out of action when we were there but breakfast was perfectly comfortable served in the bar. Unfortunately the bar was not open either in the evening which was a shame as we didn't always feel like going out even though there were plenty of others bars/restaurants within spitting distance.

    The staff were lovely, location excellent, room was spacious & well equipped (loved the toiletries, free soft drinks & slippers!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think they should include breakfast in room rate- its quite expensive at 18 euros each and there's a lovely baker just over the road! We only wanted coffee and croissant so weren't going to pay 18 euros.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Room small but everything you need. Location excellent! I was unfortunately unwell for a day of our stay and couldn't leave room. Staff were very caring and did everything they could to help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were three people. Booked in for a room and requested an extra bed. As a result, we have to book another single room which was doubled our budget. We were too tiredso accept the situation but i wouldnt consider it for that price here!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows aren't very soundproof, festival type event was going on close by and having the windows open/closed you could hear that going on.

    Room was stunning, the view was even better, bed was extremely comfy! Staff were very helpful and attentive - opening doors and keeping hold of mine and my partners bags before we were able to check in. Facilities are excellent! Minibar in room with free soft drinks was a lovely touch too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the hallway in front of our door. They have old 'key' locks and it was hard to see.

    The Bed was very Comfy! The hotel was a 'Boutique' type hotel. Built in 1900 and renovated. The lift was installed in 1905 it was a 3 person lift, adorable! We were told, every room is decorated differently. It was quite spacious for European standards, with a writing desk, closet and small fridge. Ours had french doors that opened to a balcony with a little table and chairs. It was just perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite gloomy especially the lobby. Also the closure of the hotel bar sent a bit of a signal about the place, giving it an air of being on the decline. The breakfast was also a little uninspiring and charging full price for my 7-year old son seems a little mean.

    Not quite the boutique hotel experience we had hoped for but decent enough. Excellent location, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed that the bar has closed permanently. That was a surprise.

    My family of 7 stayed at the hotel - 3 rooms - and found it delightful! We wanted a quaint, boutique, Parisian hotel - with great location and got it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was no storage for clothes in drawers; only limited room in a closet to accommodate clothes you might hang up. This would be "OK" for a one night stay, but no longer. We had to live out of our suitcases. Also, the shower consisted of a hand held fixture attached to the bath tub which one had to hold up over their head to wash off the soap, etc. There was no shower curtain or any way to keep from splashing water on to the floor.

    There was an "extra room" as part of the facilities, as part of a room called a Junior suite. Our granddaughter loved having the privacy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was excellent, very helpful and really made us feel welcome and at home! They accommodated us with all our needs, the hotel was clean,cute, everything you would want for a authentic Parisian experience! Would recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!

    Lovely staff, helpful and friendly. Great room, comfy bed with lovely crisp bed linen, quiet and air conditioned. Good area, 10 minute walk to arc de triomphe and lots of other sights nearby. Lots of bars and restaraunts right on the doorstep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar that was advertised was never open and breakfast was poor for the money. The waiter poured us one cup of coffee but never appeared again to offer a second and when we left I noticed he was in the back room texting on his mobile.

    Location was very good and the room was quite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small but you are in a big city that is just the way it is.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. Very welcoming. The rooms very fresh and updated, linens and towels fresh and fluffy. A/c perfect since it was 94 outside the entire stay. The location could not have been more perfect. Near subway, bus, and walking to most major sights. Plenty of places all around to eat. We had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar has been closed for two months, but there were plenty of nearby places. It was just fine for us, family of 4 included two 14 year old grandchildren. We felt safe there.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, clean, comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fancy cocktail bar wasn't open which ws a pity as it looked great on the website very traditional 1920's style

    Very good room, clean and good standard of fictires and fittings. Despite overlooking the street the room was very quiet. In fact whole hotel was very quite. A very stylish and well run hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a fantastic hotel! The manager went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and we loved our room and the location of the hotel. Highly recommend staying here!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff Excellent location I read lots of bad reviews about the original elevator, but in reality it was a piece of art, very original and it fit all of us (3 adults and a child) Didnt git the baby stroller but it wasnt a problem as the staff store it down and hand it to us before leaving which was better for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault but the people next door came back at 4am and were really really loud. Felt like they were drunkenly partying in our room.

    Super friendly staff. Loved the decor and fun quirks to the room. They made good use of limited central city space. Also really appreciated the nice amenities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to mention

    Perfect location, easy access to public transportation, proximity to bars, restaurants, shops, etc. Very good, professional staff. Will definitely consider staying at Hotel Mathis once more while visiting Paris.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was just perfect, and moreover, the cost effectiveness of this hotel is amazingly high, rooms are comparatively larger than other nearby hotels, the staffs are friendly. In fact, the staff quality is the highlight, I've been served by a gentleman who's name is Léon, his occupational quality is definitely 5 star level, we had such a enjoyable stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing...

    The hotel is centrally located. easy to reach everywhere. Leon is a perfect person at the reception. He informed us on every way. The rooms are very clean, complete. My son was very happy with the small gifts and the authentic elevator. If I come to Paris again, I will stay at the same hotel again... Thanks for everything...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small elevator quite difficult to get in with big luggages. Mirror is very important to all ladies but here too less and small mirrors.

    Best bed ever sleep so tight every night. Location is good close to important tourist attractions Eiffel, Champs elysee and Musee du Louvre and shopping center. Helpful staffs with smile. Safe place to stay. Close to taxi stand and metro Franklin D.Roosevelt. I called hotel the day before I arrive to pick me up at the airport. They sent a very polite and nice driver only 75 euro (3ppl with 3 Big luggages) to pick up. It s so convenience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided not to have the 18€ breakfast upon looking at it. There was a few cheese options, rolled up ham and yogurt. There is a fantastic bakery a block away for a better value. The shower was terrible as we couldn't figure out how to turn on rainshower, at one point I left it on as I couldn't turn it off. The noise at night is very loud, with the windows closed you can't hear a thing HOWEVER the room was stifling hot with no fan or AC. When we asked how to cool room down in the morning we weren't given a solution or straight answer and we are fluent in French. Also, if you are facing the street, do not open the bathroom window, you will be greeted by a flurry of pigeons not to mention a very disturbing sight.

    The location was very close to Champs Élysées and nice restaurants. The gifts were a nice touch and the soft drinks were included. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linens and bed very comfortable. Room(s) extremely clean. Quiet. Front desk was terrific with dinner reservations, transportation arrangements and local suggestions. Service was excellent. Loved that elevator!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    External noise from bars and restaurants in street below. Ok if you keep windows shut and use ac otherwise definitely a problem. No parking on site despite it saying so on Booking.com. You have to use 3rd party parking at euro 35-40 for 24 hours. Very small feel to the hotel almost as if you are entering an apartment block and not an hotel. Very poor that restaurant was shut for dinner without prior notification (and because the Telegraph had recommended it so highly!) . It is tiny however, and the food would have to be really good to make up for the lack of space. Breakfast looked like a buffet a good b&b would serve up. Rather disappointing experience given rooms are average in terms of decor etc. and nothing really exceeds your expectations and you hope for nothing going wrong.

    Booked this hotel on the strength of booking.com reviews and (for English customers) more particularly on the strength of the overly gushing reviews in the Daily Telegraph travel article of the 'most romantic Paris hotels' dated December 2016). DO not book here on the strength of that review as it is over sold. First of all the hotel is in an excellent location, just off the Champs Elysee. It is in a narrow side street. It has a nice frontage, but very small foyer, which can be a problem if several guests arrive at thew same time. The feel is quite nice and the ambience relatively quirky particularly when you take the old lift! Room were well appointed with good linens and furnishings. Our room (43) had a very small balcony (almost too small to actually use other than to step out on), but added to the ambience of what was quite a small space. Hard flooring did not lend itself to luxury. Bathroom and (separate) toilet were ok, but nothing special and the toilet would be too small for very large people. The reception service and assistance was good as was the cocktail bar with extremely nice drinks. Expensive though. All in all a good stay, in a hotel missing the mark as an altogether quirky boutique stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating didn't work so it was cold at night The water didn't heat up enough so I had a lukewarm shower . The room was an hour late in getting ready for us.

    Location was great convenient. The room and hotel were pleasant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning and restocking of the mini bar could have been slightly better - we weren't provided with clean glasses the next day and drinks weren't fully replaced.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting a much more biggger hotel. Website totallly misleading on the size of the rooms and hotel. The website is overpromising, is not a bad hotel but misinterpreted.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby, furniture, left, carpet and the layout of room

    The furniture should be change as well as should open the restaurant area with lobby and serves coffee and deserts

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    elevator waz very old and the key of the room must to leave it at Recepion

    the bed waz very comfortable and helpful and friendly staff the location is most likely

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a gatden room but when we arrived we had been upgraded. This upgrade meant our room was right above the nightclub. The music was very loud which didn't stop until well after 3am. Not a great nights sleep when you are up at 5am to get to the airport.

    The little welcome pack from sephora with facemask, body cream etc was a nice touch especially after a long journey. Day staff were very helpful. Very cute hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a kettle in room! The staff said if only we told them they would have sorted it so couldn't be happier.

    Bed was lovely staff were the best! Would highly recommend a beautiful French hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed apparently for renovations but was open for breakfast. The tiny lift didn't work to well coming down but was OK going up.

    Very close to the Champs Elysees which was what we wanted and lovely little cafes and restaurants nearby. Staff were very friendly and most helpful especially when we had issues with the elevator. A lovely traditional French hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice charismatic small hotel. The English (and French of course) speaking staff is tremendously friendly and helpful. The rooms is nice and cosy. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free Wi-Fi cannot access to the room (low signal and sometimes off).

    Location. Mathis near Avenue Montaigne and Franklin D. Roosevelt Metro station. Avenue Montaigne boasts numerous high fashion and accessories stores, such as Chanel, LV, Celine, Dior, Gucci, etc. Lots of café around the hotel, so you can find food easily. They open at 8am. I like the antique elevator in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Watch out for the comically small, rickety old lift at this hotel. Got stuck in it when it broke down between floors. No apology from staff. Came back to my room after a few hours to find the combination on the lock of my suitcase had been tried, which was very unnerving. Rooms were poky and extremely hot, even in December.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    club below played loud music until 3am, made it impossible to sleep. when going out the staff take your key off you. They gave our key incorrectly to other guests who were asleep when we returned so they had to let us back in our room so we had no key and staff member was rather rude about the problem

    One staff member went out of his way to assist us as much as possible.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely NOT a quiet street. Traffic right through the night. Over weekend worse with a nightclub around the corner.

    Location perfect in respect of everything we wanted. Just off the Champs Elysees. Very near to Metro and Bus stop. Very friendly and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could hear people walking around in the room upstairs. This went on for most of one of the nights, causing me to lose a lot of sleep. Unacceptable given the cost of the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the elavator is so small

    the location is excellent and it's close to subway and easy to get anywhere and room is very clean and service is quite good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was small like grave! Its only 50cm wide!! My sister was not able to get access to her room on the fifth floor!! And the manager was rude and he didnt help us! After we mad and come angry he offers us a room in first floor! The Corridor leading to the rooms tightness, lobby also very very small

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very friendly staff. Complimentary room upgrade. Bed was very comfortable and lots of little nice touches in the room such as sweets and free soft drinks from the mini bar. Lovely cocktail bar also with very friendly staff. Short walk to tourist attractions and metro. Hard to fault this hotel and would love to return if we travel to Paris again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except perhaps a lounge to sit in as bar was shut in the day.

    Really friendly staff, very clean and fantastically good location. Really well equipped room for a small hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the view from our room, it was inside the building view. so we didn't have the sun and view.

    the room was clean, and modern style. Nice location 1 minute from champs Elysee and avenue montagne. next to the hotel there is a lot of places to eat. 15 minutes walk and you are in louvre

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment condition on booking .com was no deposit but they deducted the one night cost when I made a booking. I asked them to check the situation and asked to pay-back but They just answered it's strange and did not do anything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower curtain.

    Comfortable rooms. Polite and friendly staff. I had accidentally booked twice and did not realise this until I arrived. Nothing could be done about it so I payed two rooms instead of one, but we were generously given a free breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No storage for your stuff. Couldn't unpack. No place for toiletries. Constantly having to put suitcases on bed to get stuff out.

    Really comfy bed and linens.Wonderful staff.Yan was gracious and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should think about people with food intolerancies. I asked for fried eggs assuming it won't include dairy. I received omletts with cheese..

    We've been upgraded as our room wasn't ready. I never been upgraded before, it made me well happy. The stuff was really nice and the room was beautiful and clean. Locationwise it's awsome!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    This is perfect, very well run hotel in great location. Very quiet despite being close to Champs Elysees.The desk gentleman are exceedingly polite and willing to help in any possible way. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full body mirror in the hotel room. The elevator is very small.

    Location is good, can reach anywhere easily. The staff is friendly and the room is clean and tidy. Wifi is good too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing at all that we did not like.

    From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt comfortable and welcomed. The staff could not have been more helpful. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and the beds were really comfy. The decor of the entrance and reception was the icing on the cake.The location was just off the mid point of the Champs Elysee with cafes and restaurants to suit most pockets close by. We would, without a doubt, go back, given the chance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it was a suite it was quite small, and also there was no shower, just a tub with a hand held shower head!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee/tea facilities. Breakfast room was dark and dreary, needs renovating. The lift was super small making it impossible to take your luggage up in one go, 2 trips were needed.

    Close walk to Champs Elysees. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is sparate from the bathroom. The lift is too small. Noisy floor.

    Good location. Freindly and helpful staff. The room is spacious. Drinks are refilled daily.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel with friendly staff and an amazing bar. We have stayed in the same room twice now and the one we had was decorated in great style. Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No complaints at all.

    Staff was super helpful with room, directions, tourist suggestions, etc, It was our first trip to Paris and the Hotel Mathis is centrally located to all the famous sites in the Champs-Elysees area, so we could walk almost everywhere. Reasonable rate for high-season. We would definitely book there again!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel Mathis Elysées traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: