Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Otero by Happyculture 4 stars

58 Rue Hérold, 06000 Nice, France

#50 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 749 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for towels to be changed as we missed cleaner for a couple of days due to being in and out to beach

    Beautiful hotel, modern and quirky with friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Fab value for money, loved the everflowing coffee! Great transport links (bus/trains/trams)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay for the price we paid would def return! It's not the most grandest of hotel but its a hidden gem in a very busy and popular place

    Staff were very attentive There is complimentary tea/coffee/cakes served throughout the day as they call it 'a yummy station' Hotel is very close to train station and airport bus 99 drops right outside, we used to get the tram 3 stops towards the sea front each day Great value for money for Nice, rooms are compact yet very clean and tastefully decorated. I'd read mixed reviews before my stay and can't understand why people would pick apart this gem, if you're staying for a couple night and want value for money this is your place Great stop for a city break

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.8
    The photos of the hotel look incredibly glossy on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos of the hotel look incredibly glossy on the website but don’t meet the expectations in reality; the hotel isn’t well renovated and looks a bit old actually, no eye for detail that one would expect from a boutique hotel (obscure products in the bathroom and very basic breakfast). Most of all, the room smelled...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 102 which is a twin room based on the pictures we thought we were getting a shower but when we arrived the bath tub was filthy with marks and it had no shower stand what so ever only a bath tub with a shower that you had to hold in your hand, this was very uncomfortable. I complained at reception when I arrived but they didn’t accommodate us at all they just sad sorry we can’t do anything we are fully booked.When the cleaners came to clean the only thing they did was set the bed, they only changed the bathroom floor towel once throughout a 5 night trip,,, all the pictures online are very deceiving,,, I think some rooms are nice for pictures but the room we stayed in was very underwhelming for a 4 star

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit away from city centre 10mins but nothings around the hotel We can have breakfast but they dont seem they have restaurant Ppl were having breakfast at the reception

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Fun styling and comfortable, terrace didn’t have a view but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren’t soundproofed very well, slight damp smell in bathroom

    Fun styling and comfortable, terrace didn’t have a view but was nice to have anyway, fairly conveniently located for Nice city. Very close to train station so perfect location for anyone wishing to explore coast by train. Comfy beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite small

    Very nice hotel, breakfast and coffee were very good, staff was very helpful and friendly. It’s a 15 minutes walk to downtown Nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Less than 5 minuets walk to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it would be greater if the hotel can improve its drainage system.

    Less than 5 minuets walk to the train station. Reception lobby with fancy decorations and good free drinks. The hosts are welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Very sweet and beautiful hotel in the center of Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit difficult, but parking in whole France is quiet difficult.

    The hotel is very sweet and beautiful. The rooms with fitted in old french colonial time furniture. The service is good and the employees are very friendly. The rooms are very nice and clean. 5 min walk to central station and 15 min walk to the beach and city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel experience in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and general decor were very good. The hotel was very close to the train station, very good for our onward travel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    The design was very nice, the staff very helpful and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel presents itself as having a parking, but actually the parking is not owned by the hotel, is a public one and when i arrived (around 10 pm) there was no free slot.

    The design was very nice, the staff very helpful and the area very quiet and safe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More than ten minutes from the plage

    Less than ten minutes from the station, it’s convenient. The staff are friendly and smiling, coffee free, very good The decoration is modern, independent toilets

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pretty room, just spacious enough for two people. SImple bathroom but I don't need more. Nothing, however, for some people the walking distance could be a problem. I like to walk through a city and don't mind to walk 15 mins to get to the the beach or the main shopping street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice cute place .. but small problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, at a start the fridge wasn’t working and was asked for a fix and they said they will send someone to look at it but no one came to check for the 4 days we were staying. The bathtub doesn’t hold the water and the valve to control is broken, so we never had the chance to fill the tub.

    The staff is really friendly and always smiling, we came afternoon and the room was ready .. we asked for a phone charger and they gave us one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    We will not return!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms,no room for baggage, no parking except public parking with long walk - 150 euros for 5 days too much, noisy road with aircon noise from opposite building.

    Staff great, breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Great, clean hotel which is 15mins away from port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not in the center but only 15 mins walking time to port.

    Receptionist Aamir was the best front desk employee ever seen.Fluent and clear English, tried to help in every case.Thanks again to him. Room was big enough and very clear. Breakfast is worth the money.Baby crip is free of charge. Local car park is very close and 22€/day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff was extremely helpful and patient with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and the room was not very large. Space is limited but everything else was great!

    The staff was extremely helpful and patient with everything. They were extremely friendly which added to the fun we had while staying at Villa Otero. The hotel is very cute and decorated like a typical European boutique hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous staff, especially the Spanish lady who in charge of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor sound insulation. A little far from the city centre and sea. Need to use the key to lock or open the door, which makes it inconvenient for customers.

    Fabulous staff, especially the Spanish lady who in charge of the breakfast service. Feel like at home. The 24 hour warm service is excellent and make us satisfied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Extremely friendly and welcoming Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be more clean and a few things in our room were broken.

    Extremely friendly and welcoming Staff. Beautiful interior and comfortable stay. Breakfast was good and Lobby invited to hang around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, but bathroom need maintenance
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy building across the road. Shower door leaked considerably and flush button on the loo was coming off the wall as you push it. However they do have form to tick items those need repair (so either noone raised that before or they are not reacting quickly).

    Nicely decorated room and hotel in general. Great friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice French feeling and very nice room!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not in the city centre, but the rest makes up for that!

    Staff are amazing! The room was small, but had everything you could need. Very French decor. Very nice to be. Breakfast was great too. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Lovely find !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 if us visited for my daughters 21st birthday celebrations. The hotel knew this and upgraded her room to 308 which was a very thoughtful and lovely touch. I shared a room with my sis in law room 304 was small but everything you need is there. Decor in the rooms were very kitch and but very tasteful. Beds were super comfy and air conditioning was an added bonus. The location is perfect and just around the corner from the train station which was handy for our trip to Monte Carlo and Monaco. Without a doubt the staff are wonderful. So friendly and happy and did everything they could to assist in any way they could. A fabulous first trip to Nice made all the better by the staff and experience at the Vila Otero thank you Karon x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Jonathan was very friendly upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower in the evening & morning. Parking not included although it looks like it is when booking online.

    Jonathan was very friendly upon arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel staff were nice but nothing was done when we mentioned these small faults. shame!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Radiator was leaking first day we mentioned it nothing was done, nothing to hang the shower head on mentioned it nothing was done. The hot water taps missing the top section? We had two rooms the second room had net curtains hanging of their rail mentioned but nothing done about it, main light was not working. Bed sheets had holes and torn.

    Room was basic but clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money. There was a lot broken in the smelly room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were old and broken. Bathroom was smelly. Minibar empty? A lot was broken! All in all I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone. Also to pricy for what you get.

    The staff was friendly, design is nice but old/worn

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    The room was beautifully decorated, bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately during our stay there was a permanent ugly smell in the bathroom, I assume it was coming through the ventilation. Probably a temporary issue or the installations need to be revised. This spoiled the comfort, but the room was otherwise clean. No facilities for tea in the room, just for coffee.

    The room was beautifully decorated, bed comfortable. Location close to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We asked twice the reception staff about our shower head, as it was stuck very low. We never got any feedback on this topic and nothing was done about it. The room was very noisy (you could hear everything from the street) as the balcony door did not close completely. Cleaning stuff did their job very poorly. Bathroom was not that clean when we arrived and after second day we didnt even get new hand towels. We ran out of toilet paper TWICE during one week (has never happened before, so I dont think we use it more than other people...) and on last day one of the toilet paper rolls was just put on the heater to dry, as apparently cleaning staff had dropped it to the toilet/water bucket. Never seen anything like this. It is not a 4 star hotel (no restaurant, no minibar etc)

    Our first impression was very good, the hotel is easy to reach from Nice airport by the bus 99, reception staff was friendly and the hotel decoration is as in the pictures. Breakfast included in the room price was simple, but tasty. Location is also good if you are planning to travel a lot with train, as the train station is near. Old city and most bus connections are quite far away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.6
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super tiny, loud & only had the room made up once & that was just the bed made. Had to take out our own rubbish. It was quite disappointing. Not the place for holiday lie-ins either. Crashing & banging from 8am onwards. Real shame.

    Balcony was nice to have.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Very nice location, just 3 mins far from the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location, just 3 mins far from the train station and about 10 mins on foot till the sea (ingles promenade). The personal is soo kind, smiley and helpful. We booked a cute room with a balcony, everything was clean and new. Hope one day will back to this nice place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    The Staff really cares
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My shower hot water

    I saw all guests testimonials saying really good things about the staff, and I confess: they're all right. The hotel staff really cares, knows your apartment, your special requires and they keep your smile. The decoration is pretty. The hotel is near to Tram, Train Station and some Bus Stops I really appreciate my time at Villa Otero.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Hidden gem, quirky decor really lovely staff- breakfast typical French ok 4 vegetarians
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was on the edge of town not such a pretty part (residential but a bit shabby) and 40 mins walk to the other side of harbour. But there is a good range of public transport.

    Clean room, quirky decor, comfy bed, friendly staff. 5 mins from train station, 10 mins to beach. breakfast served 7.30-10.30. Happy hour with free cappuccino, hot chocolate all afternoon. Helpful staff with good local knowledge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    The nice female receptionist who greeted us at the start and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not at the usual 4 star hotel caliber. The reception is small and the breakfast is not as great. The room is relatively small and there was a kettle but no milk or black tea.

    The nice female receptionist who greeted us at the start and was very helpful. Also the hotel is within walking distance from everywhere and the bus stop where we took our bus from the airport. However an Uber costed the same as the bus tickets for 2 people . Free hot drinks all day!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    I would come back as it was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish newly renovated room and bathroom, big comfy bed (not too soft nor hard and not worn out at all, size at least 180cm in triple room). Breakfast simple, but tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all.

    This was the best stay during our trip to France! All the staff at the reception were very helpful and friendly. The room was cozy and fully equipped with a tiny balcony. Breakfast was pretty good too (loved the fresh croissant there!) Will definitely stay here again if we ever visit Nice in the future!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Great stuff, design, but far from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to close the window properly. There were some technical problems with it. Room needs some renovations (wallpaper, ceiling). About location. If you need a train station, it is great location! But if you need the beach and old city - it is better to find something closer to the promenade des Angles.

    Room design is great! Room is comfortable, table, chair, wardrobe. There are a teapot, tea, coffee, water. Room is clean. They let us leave our suitcase in their luggage storage 2 days before check-in! Thanks them very much!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast with tasty pancake.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small, also the view from terrace is not that good as I imagined.

    Nice breakfast with tasty pancake. Staffs are really kind, they will answer all your questions with patience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door of my bathroom shower was broken.

    Beautiful place overall, very close to everything. Igor to walk to the main shopping street and got to the Promenade and le Château very easily. Great staff willing to help with anything. One of them actually helped us book a tour to Eze, Monaco and Monte Carlo. Just excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Lovely vacations in a beatiful and charming hotel with an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location, beautiful and charming hotel, staff were really, really nice! Very friendly and willing to help. On the first day there was a shower drainage issue in the bathroom that was immediately fixed. Well done to all the team.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel close to train station and great night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are getting a little tired - wallpaper/paint peeling and curtains a little shabby - these are small issues however, in an otherwise very sweet and comfortable hotel. Also, for the exceptionally cheap nightly rate, we absolutely couldn't complain at all - and would definitely use again.

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff made this a very pleasant and easy stay. Very comfortable bed and lovely linens, great shower too. Good location from which to explore Nice and really handy for train to Cannes etc. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    A nice day in nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms are clean and comfortable with nice design, the hosputality and services was really fine everybody was friendly. The breakfast is delicious. We loved!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    quirky, old fashioned and modern gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we didnt have time to notify the staff, but our room was quite cold. i think the window is not sealed proparly or the AC is not effective. however a minor flaw as i like to sleep cold.

    asked for early check in, no problem. we had the superior room (302) without balcony, it was clean, big and decorated so nice. it alsp had good space for putting clothes as well as toilettries in the bathroom. Gaïr in reception was always ready to answer questions, small things that matters a lot. we didnt have breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Vintage Classic
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been a bit bigger as the balcony occupied the space. Also the breakfast spread should have been more, as they had a limited spread.

    We had a great stay with Happy culture. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The room was very elegantly decorated as in the pictures. The bed was big and comfortable as we had an infant with us. Totally recommended to family tourists as the commute to public transport is a stones throw.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Romantic place to stay in Nice but not close to the esplanade!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were here in december it was very cold in the room! The air-con did not work on heat :(

    Very clean and stylish, even romantic place to stay in Nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.6
    It is not a 4 stars hotel, maybe 2 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not a 4 stars hotel, maybe 2 stars. No 4 stars facilities (no restaurant, no gym, no room service, no mini bar, no pool...) The room was old and in very poor condition. Breakfast buffet was very limited.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Simply perfect (staff, room, breakfast, location .
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi from airport to hotel is too expensive (40 Euros one way!). Take bus number 99 from the airport to train station @ city center. It is fast, and costs you only 7 Euro!

    Simply perfect (staff, room, breakfast, location ...)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Love the wallpapers! Hippster hotel
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No early check in possible.

    Alain can tell u everything about this hotel. So if you see him at the reception desk dont hesitate to ask him for food recommandations. Happy time was very nive and tasty!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Awesome staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't notice any negative experience for one night stay.

    Best staff, good room, better breakfast compared to other properties (cheese & bacons are stored in a mini bar is a good detail for health ).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Cosy hotel with excellent Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff was excellent and very friendly. We loved the decor of the room and it was very clean, and comfy. The parking is walking distance and the hotel offers discount for the night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not rated appropriately. Should be 3 star hotel. terrible smell through vents entire 4 days there. area around the hotel not very nice. hotel old in side. Walls very thin, can hear everything next door and above and below. Very tiny shower and bathroom.

    close to train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    All in all we had a pleasant stay but in my view this hotel is clearly overrated. Not more than 3 *.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room was smaller than I expected. Fortunately, we had a balcony that saved our life. Likewise, there was a double bed in the room but we had two single mattresses that made sleeping somewhat inconvenient.

    I liked the location in the centre of the city. Front desk staff were welcoming, polite and very helpful. Thank you Dorra and Alain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Hotel is a wonderful mix of original Art Deco features and all mod cons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- loved everything and it made our holiday!

    Staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed, especially the Night Porter with the pony-tail & the Manager also with a ponytail! (sorry have forgotten their names) Room very comfortable & chambermaid did a fantastic job of making the bed - it was like she’d ironed it! Ensuite facilities very nice - clean & modern.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service staff woman was rude when she found us in our room at 12h pm the hour of check-out. I found her reaction inconvenient. But otherwise everything was very good.

    The happy time where they offer coffee and deserts. The smiley face of guest receptionists. The architecture of the building and interior design of room. We had the opportunity to check-in before 3 p.m because the room was ready and to have a room with a balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Lovely property, good value, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Our second stay in two weeks. Both were excellent! Staff remembered us from the first visit and offered an upgrade at no additional cost. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Room was spotless, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and provided good variety. Great location. Very short walk to airport bus and/or tram.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.4
    I don’t see how this hotel is worth 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor, only boiled egg and one type of meat and cheese, fruit salat and jam- nothing more than that.the staff didn’t care to fill up the food on the breakfast buffet,when it got empty, so it was literally nothing to choose from to eat for the breakfast. Very disappointing. There was no towels in our room on the day of our arrival. The neighborhood is not the best as well...

    The guy that worked in reception was very helpful and professional

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    great location near to train and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    house keeping didnt renew anything in the room like shampoo, tea for 3 days. We just asked them from reception ourselves.

    Close to train station where you can reach other cities easily. Close to center by short walk. Great reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Enjoy the sunshine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my husband 30' birthday celebration weekend trip which mentioned in th booking, we took really early flight to nice about 6am from London. I understand they might be no room for us to refresh. But nothing special as well. When we came back from the sea side around 3pm, Lady in the reception ask us for a seat when we are waiting and she forgot us. I have to ask my husband to ask her how long we will need to wait after half and hour. We were very very tired. There is no kettle in the room, how surprised. Breakfast is very easy nothing French. In general, it's a good location hotel but nothing special.

    Location ia great, easy to go to the sea side and connected to airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Lovely property, excellent staff, great value for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a stay of only one night. I can not think of anything they could have done better.

    Great location. Very quick walk from Train station. All the staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Room was spotless and well equipped. Breakfast was delicious with a good variety of options. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    A charming experience!
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A breakfast ending strictly at 10h, during a relaxed summer holiday in the south - where nights are meant to be long...can be named 'inconvenience' :)

    The very well thought colourful Art Deco interior (rooms and common spaces) combined with a very kind and helpful personnel, made our stay as cozy and cheerful as we needed it to be.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    The staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a good bit away from the Old Town and there's not much to do around where it's situated. The room was quite small with very little space if you have a lot of luggage. The shower leaked all over the floor no matter what we did to try stop this and the holder for the shower head came loose and we couldn't fix it. All the above are small complaints but my biggest complaint was the noise from the doors of other guests' rooms closing from late at night then early in the morning. The doors are heavy so it's difficult but not impossible to close them without them banging very loudly. Couldn't sleep well at all so wouldn't stay here again. The cleaners arrived outside every morning before 9am and started banging doors and hovering

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The decor of the room was lovely. Proximity to train station was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    Poor maid service and the smell put my off the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room had a bad smell, as though there was a problem with the sewage system. The maid did not give us enough towels and didn't leave shampoo every day, one day we had one small towel between us. There was no soap in the dispenser on the first day, this was not replaced until the third day when I left the dispenser on top of the bin We had a coffee machine in the room, but they only gave you coffee on the first day in the room. We did not have a phone charger with us and was told we could use the one in the reception area, but this did not work.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was small but clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Lovely staff, good location and great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and provided lots of good information, particularly in relation to Happy Culture. The hotel was also well situated and we'd definitely stay there again if we ever choose to return to Nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic - we were made to feel totally welcome, comfortable and at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wifi connection was a bit variable - sometimes we had to reconnect a few times to make it work, or the signal seemed a bit weak in the evenings.

    The staff were exceptional. Extremely friendly and welcoming, always helpful with suggestions, and were keen to solve any small issues that we had. All the staff were great, but in particular we were really impressed by Alain and Dorra. We loved the colours and decor too. The atmosphere and style of the hotel were really warm and welcoming somehow - friendliness seems to be hard-wired into the whole hotel. We loved the way they offered guests little pastries in the afternoons, as well as hot drinks 24-7.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    The staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny as well as the bathroom.

    The staff was really nice. The breakfast was good, though very limited. They have a coffee and espresso machines, so that was great, if you like to start your day with a cup of good coffee. Also it is very close to the train station which is very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    free coffee, tea and snacks at "happy hours"
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the first two days the wifi had some issues, but they fix it afterwards

    free coffee, tea and snacks at "happy hours" nice and helpful stuff, although some speak poor English

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    4.6
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super tiny, the curtains were broken (falling off, not able to pull across). The ac barely cooled our room to a tolerable level. There were complimentary cakes and coffee in the lounge, however there were flies all over them.

    The decor was nice and the staff was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for improvements: -Bathroom was so tiny, can't fit two at the same time -For a four star hotel I was expecting room slippers or a minibar/ fridge to store cold water - Walls not soundproof, could hear neighbor talking on the phone wifi not always working

    Good points: -Friendly staff! Alain was particularly so nice! -Modern deco, free coffee in the lobby, the happy hour in sister hotels is a great idea though - I went for fruits in sister hotel next door, they were all gone 30 minutes later -I appreciate the room amenities (Nuxe products) which are of good quality

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Very personalised reception and attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly the staff! Location and decor were good but the highlight was Alain at the reception. At first we thought he was the owner given his attention to detail and to customers. Management was accommodating of our particular needs as well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice design hotel, good location, friendly staff - but dirty bathtub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub was very dirty. Specifically asked for room with bathtub so I could use it. But I didn't dare to as it is very dirty. Amenities very limited and only something with honey fragrance - which for sure I and not everyone likes. Floor was sticky as well.

    Only 5-10 mins walk to Nice Ville station. Friendly staff - especially Allain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.3
    Rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shoe box room, no facilities, charged €17 for a bowl of cornflakes and cup of tea. Absolute disgrace a complete rip off.these people need to take a trip to Ireland and see how it's done!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    3.3
    Maybe ok for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cons: 1. Requested for a quiet room but was given a street-facing room instead. When asked for a room at the back we were told that it would be an extra Euro 20/night. 2. Housekeeping only cleans the room. For other requests, we had to go downstairs and get it ourselves. Not the kind of service you would expect from a 4-star hotel 3. Lack of basic toiletries. They did not keep shampoo or conditioner. Just a general soap gel. Again, not expected from a 4-star hotel. 4. Too expensive for the type of service received. 5. Very thin walls. Could hear the TV & conversation from next door so unable to get proper rest. In conclusion: We got the impression that this was a pretty 3-star B&B that was being marketed as a 4-star hotel. But for the price we paid to stay here did not receive much service. We feel that they offer complementary items (coffee, tea or pastry) to compensate for the lack of basic amenities (shampoo, conditioner, housekeeping bringing you things). I would rather save the calories and be able to wash my hair properly. We recommend staying here for 1 night or a short stay. But our stay was longer so some of the characteristics we wouldn't normally notice were very obvious.

    Pros: 1. Well decorated interiors

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    OK hotel but will not go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would not consider this hotel fits for 4 stars grade and don't understand why it received high score from the other reviews. 1. The wall and ceiling are paper thin and literally you can hear neighbours' every activities. Had one night with a lady next door on phone call loudly in the midnight and I had to call the reception to stop her. 2. I really don't understand why the toilet has no cover. Doesn't the management know that the swirl of air when toilet is flashed can bring massive bacteria out? 3. Breakfast supply was not in time. For several days I had not seen the orange juice and cold milk were replanished at least during 30min. 4. Room service quality varied. One day had a pinch of hair on the replaced towel (definitively not from us). Tea bags had been replenished only once during 6 days and never happend for the shower gel. In a summary I only consider it is a mid range 3 star hotel according to my experience in France.

    Receptionists were very kind and helpful. Location is very close to the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with friendly staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was working but not properly on the first night. As we had checked-in late, it was too for a technician to fix this. This was fixed the very next day and the hotel offered us free breakfast for the inconvenience - which was a nice gesture.

    I was impressed with the interior design of the hotel in particular. A gorgeous and particularly clean hotel which was located walking distance from the sea front and had many local amenities nearby. The staff were very friendly. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    4 days, 3 nights in Nice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard rooms are quite small, not really a place to a big suitcase and the bathroom toiletries limited i.e. no small shampoo or cotton buds. Wifi dropped in and out.

    Cute boutique hotel, a stone throw away from the main train station and main shopping street with plenty of restaurant choices nearby. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff - we travelled with our two dogs (big dog + handbag sized dog) and they were very welcoming of them also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating! They had coffee and treats available all day long, which we loved! It was very close to the train station, location was great. We highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. Unlimited tea and coffee nespresso machine in room. Happy hour with little cakes in afternoon. No bar which suited us. Fridge in room and safe. Nothing was too much trouble. Would go again. Very near to railway station and buses from which would recommend stopping at monte carlo and little villages on way. Plus cannes in other direction.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: