Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Le Havre Centre Bassin Du Commerce 4 stars

Chaussée Georges Pompidou, 76600 Le Havre, France

#28 of 46 hotels in Le Havre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 646 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was wonderful. Location is really good - in the center of the city and at the same time 15 minutes walk from the sea and from railway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only dispenser soap in shower/sink. Only 1 black tea bag in the room-you get more tea bags staying in cheaper places! No ceramic or plastic cups provided-just 2 paper cups that get soaked quickly when filled. No bottled water in room.

    Room was large, mattress comfy and nice duvets. Free parking on sunday outside the hotel and nearby pay by machine but cheap

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated in a walking distance from the town centre and near water basin, with beautiful illumination in the evening. They kindly upgraded my room so that I and my son could have comfortably stay in a suite room. While there was a maintenance work everyday in the lobby during my stay, it was calm during the night. The room was clean and modern and staff was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although secure parking, very difficult to find entrance (signage), no direct entry to hotel from parking, almost impossible to carry suitcase up a spiral concrete staircase. Eaten in many Mercure hotel restaurants this was the worst and most e.xpensive. The hotel is under a major refurbishment, don't know if this affected the kitchens.

    Nice big room with large comfy bed. tea/coffee making facility in room. secure underground parking. Breakfast choices quite good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room Large Double Bed with Sofa Bed (2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was construction in the hotel lobby and it was an inconvenience there is no complimentary water for free

    very kind stuff and close to the shopping mall and the sea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I forgot that I should bring my own face cloth when travelling in Europe. It didn't have separate soap for hair or cream rinse or face/hand creme. Minor details, really.

    It was a great place to stay. The staff were very friendly and spoke fluent English and French. The room was excellent. I like a place that is handy and if you do too, you should stay here. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station and within walking distance of the harbour, lots of wonderful restaurants, a main street with bus system to get around and is near the information centre and The Volcan (an attraction).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room Large Double Bed with Sofa Bed (3 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no pool , breakfast was 16 eruos ! & saw trays left on stairways for over 24hours ? . Also on one of our evenings we wasn't able to eat in the hotel as it had a function?

    Room was clean &large and perfect for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at this hotel are wonderful and obliging. I stayed at the Mercure several times during recent weeks and each time they did their best to link my stays and minimise any disruption to me so that I didn't have to move more times than was necessary. At the weekend they upgraded me whenever possible. I left my luggage there on numerous occasions, and nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryers in the bath did not work in the bath. U had to use it in the room - something wrong with the power delivery in the bathroom socket.

    Located a little bit off the streets were the shops and resturants are, but still walking distance. And old hotel which seems to be newly renowated. We had a nice view from our room to the basin and the city. Good value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was until 11 on Sunday but at 10:30 there was not one single croissant or pain au chocolat left :-(

    Excellent location. Central for all attractions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sunday dinner "snacking menu" could be bettered by robots, this is referring to beef carpaccio offered, micro thin beef slices were stuck to the plate and no flavour.

    Room was quiet and clean. City centre location. Good staff. Breakfast starts early and was good with cold and hot buffet and coffee machine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar prices were high Room decor didn't meet 4* expectations Towels in bathroom were thin and small

    Excellent breakfast Great location and view from rooms at front Nice bar area Staff very friendly and hospitable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We experienced a little noise children running about but it was half term holidays.

    Sorry did not have breakfast. We liked the atmosphere at the bar in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit out of the central area so not many restaurants/bars.

    Booked this hotel for the view of the bridge over Bassin Vauban but unfortunately it was covered for repairs! Disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was too old and look dusty and it didn't match AT ALL the pictures you have in the website. I felt it was a scam.

    The location was great and the beds looked clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with safety mat in bath , when showering , coffee / milk in room need addressing !

    Breakfast good , room good , starting coming this hotel 25 years ago ! Standard still very good .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For this price, you can find an accommodation of a better quality. Furniture and all decoration was old-fashioned. Reception desk was not particularly helpful while we asked a help for the restaurant.

    We had a room on the last floor of the building (7th) and the view was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com had this flagged up as a 'luxury' choice. It definitely wasn't - only in the small print did it mention that my children (aged 14 and 11 - boy and girl) would be sleeping in a pull out double sofa bed. Having read the 'luxury, 4 adult status' I didn't feel the need to read the small print but realise now how wrong I was! The staff did sort it by putting another sofa bed in the room so all was OK in the end. I had hoped for something a little more luxurious though having been sold the spin.

    Staff very friendly and accommodating. Very conveniently located - restaurant called 'a deux pas d'ici' within walking distance and very nice menu/reasonably priced!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not free but our car was secure and close in their on-site car park

    The room was a good size with a nice view over the harbour. Breakfast was really good. All staff were friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small window. Good location.

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con could not be changed. And was too hot at night. Had trouble sleeping

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room Large Double Bed with Sofa Bed (2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO AC

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being refurbished, once finilized will be great I guess

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View small window

    Breakfast Wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airconditioning did not function properly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable rooms. Clean and a lot of space. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room Large Double Bed with Sofa Bed (3 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect over night stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had such an amazing view as shown in my picture

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a overpriced 4 stars hotel. I wouldn't give more than 2 stars.

    Location and nothing else!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. Couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    Excellent breakfast and a very comfortable hotel near to city centre and docks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad smells in the room, poor and very irregular warm water supply , floor needs new carpets.

    central location, kind staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Location for business and local restaurants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious with enough space for our lugguage and bags. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comy bed. cooked breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit soulless

    Location, secure parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park not well connected with the hotel

    Good bed and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not a 4 star hotel Towels were very very old

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room ( 4 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely, it was in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible windows - very noisy due to traffic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is certainly not like any 4 star Hotel. Even 3 star hotels are way better than this one. Room had no view.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff hopeless under manned. Waiting times too long.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noisy schoolkids without supervision as guests in the hotel

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room Large Double Bed with Sofa Bed (2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    All good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much really. A small gym might be nice but I can't think of anything else.

    Comfortable bed. Good range of breakfast choices. Tasty simple evening menu. Courteous, helpful and friendly staff. Also free and quick WiFi

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    That I had to leave too soon. :/

    A very cozy cute Mecure Hotel. I loved it and it faces the canal, a wonderful view close to all shopping areas of the city centre. The staff reamins pur gold in my mind's eye.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Secure parking difficult to locate from the road (no sign). The garage height too low for vehicles with bikes and or roof boxes - poor for a ferry port hotel.

    Our room smelled of stale smoke and we were transferred immediately without fuss.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location only minutes from Car Ferry Terminal. Very safe parking underneath although access narrow. Worth paying extra as otherwise car on street with restrictions. Restaurant surprisingly good and breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far to be a 4 stars hotel: rooms and furnitures are old, frigobar absolutely empty, nothing in the bathroom (jus one small soap). The breackfast is quite expensive (16,80€). No gym. For a small dog (a 7kg yorkshire) you have to pay 13€/day...

    hte king size bed is confrotable

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They say aircomditioned not true the room was very hot and if you open the window seagirls will wake you up early morrning one or the other the car park not conacted to the hotel that means you have to carry your luggage long way

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only down fall of the Hotel is that it only had 2 English TV Channels... One News and another of movies that took me a very long time to find. The breakfast was so-so... needs to have a better selection.. but I guess that the French prefer more Fatty Carbs than Fruits.

    I reserved this hotel on a last minutes notice as I was tired and didn't know the city very well. I'm very happy I stayed here because the Rooms was a nice size, the Internet was very fast and the Restaurant had an incredible menu.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking access and egress very tight, could not get around one corner in the underground car park, crazy! Hotel very tired, air-con poor, food choice limited and small portions, evening receptionist could not be bothered.

    Location good and Christophe , waiter/barman was excellent, parking ok

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Skeleton staff (only 2-3) on duty on the Sunday we arrived . . . quite a difference in standard of service to that when we arrived mid-week earlier in the month. 1 person doing bar coverage, meal preparation (NO kitchen staff) and covering Room Service. 2. Parking has no lift and is accessible only after a hike around the outside of the hotel to the parking entrance. The spiral staircase is quite an obstacle if heavy luggage has to be carried. When booking, ensure that directions to the car-park are obtained else you will go around the block a couple of times till you find it ;-((

    Its location, on the edge of the city but still close enough to easily walk in. A 'standard' Mercure-chain hotel with all the modern touches and graces. Rooms, beds large and comfortable with clean linen etc. Excellent, professional, polite, friendly and helpful staff. Serves a first-class breakfast and during the week (not Sundays) quite a decent and varied evening menu. Excellent, secure, underground parking, but see Dislike #2.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    1. It is a self-service hotel. You have to pull out your own bed. 2. Towels and Linen set for 2 persons even if the booking is for 4 regardless of number of nights. 3. You have to collect the additional towels and linen to your room everyday. 4. Cramped space. 5. Wouldn't recommend for families with older children. 6. Pull out bed too small for older children

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not clear parking rules, it seems to be free outside and 11 euro a day underground. People take 2 parking spots with their cars. Very annoying.

    Nice inerrier, fast free internet. Good breakfast for 15 euro.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing it met expectations fully

    Provides all you need. well positioned for exploring le havre which is very interesting. Underground parking is safe and not too difficult to negotiate. Rooms are typical mercure, clean and comfortable with tea and coffee. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Relatively poor bar-service And ended up paying 144 € for 1 night, which usually gets me better value for money.

    Was conveniently close to the client I was visiting

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not find their parking entrance despite 2 drives around the block ended up parking on road .as no sign at all. Hotel located in business area so very little around restaurant wise.

    Hotel was clean

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no pressing available outside normal hours, staff couldn't solve it. parking at the basement has no direct entry to the building

    good location, clean , modern room, good wifi , early leave handled professionally

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room aircon totally ineffective

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was not ready on arrival. Carpet in the room not clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The Breakfast. Convenient for the Ferry Port. And restaurants

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms could do with updating, wifi poor and shower had only Luke warm water.

    Tha bed was good, breakfast reasonable for the money, staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole ambiance was old and outdated.

    Breakfast is really good!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and the bed was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was very tired

    Free wifi and good location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They didn't tell us we had breakfast included until we were checking out and it had finished !!!

    Nice beds and smart rooms

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower needs updating

    Good location for getting around or for stopover for car ferry to or from France

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no free parking (but can easily park cheapely on the street). breakfast is very expensive

    size and cleanliness of room

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Downtown is a rather dead place, at least on a weekend.

    The location is close to downtown, yet easy to get too.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The windows in our room on the forth floor could be opened wide. This is dangerous with small children.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking lot.

    Bed

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like

    The staff were very happy & helpful. The room clean & comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NOTHING BAD TO REPORT

    LOCATION STAYED THERE MANY TIMES.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like

    A very comfortable hotel close to restaurants and the ferry terminal

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: