Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Caen Cote De Nacre 4 stars

2 Place Boston, 14200 Hérouville-Saint-Clair, France

#1 of 5 hotels in Hérouville-Saint-Clair

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good for stop over , around 20 minutes from ferry. Lovely lounge/bar area, Breakfast a little expensive, but if you are on holiday it doesn't really matter. would stay here again,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    located outside of the city. Our first impression was doubtful, but the room exceeded our expectations. Great stay for passing through and business affairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested a twin bedded room with easy access for my disabled husband but the first one shown to me was a LONG walk from reception. We settled on the second choice of a room with one bed and a normal shower which was only a short walk from reception. WHY are disabled rooms not close to reception?

    Breakfast is always very good, with lots of choices,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid 3 rooms at departure. Hotel charged me one week later again the 3 rooms. Tried to get this refunded, hotel refuses. Escalated this to Booking.com, but hotel still refuses. In the end I paid twice!. Unacceptable!

    Food was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid 3 rooms at departure, the hotel charged me 1 week later the same 3 rooms again on my creditcard. They are not willing to refund even after escalation to Booking.com.

    Good food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    The room was very spacious, the room facilities couldn't of been better for the stopover. Had a goodnights sleep as the location was very quiet. The breakfast was value for money and the restaurant staff were brilliant so helpful, no fussing just excellent service. Not forgetting the front desk staff they made everything very clear making check in so simple and they were always very happy to help. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have proper decaf coffee from the bar in the evening, but only instant decaf at breakfast. Why?

    Perfect location for coming off ferry from UK. Easy to find, great parking, large rooms, lovely bathroom, comfy bar and comfy beds. Breakfast buffet was brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not cheap (around 15 euros pp) and is not particularly inspiring.

    The hotel is conveniently located as a stopover from the ferry port. The hotel is comfortable, the staff are friendly, helpful and competent, and parking is ample.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    The large free car park is a definite bonus, together with its very quiet location. Very helpful and pleasant reception staff welcome you upon arrival. Rooms in the hotel are generally on the large side, and the beds are always very comfortable. A two minute walk to Bvd Henri Becquerel and the Twisto tram will whisk you into Caen city centre in 15-20 minutes (Citis, Route A). The extensive buffet breakfast in the morning is amazing catering for all possible tastes. There is a Carrefour hypermarché only a five minute drive away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not impressed with the restaurant. Quality of evening meals not impressive and poor value for money.

    Breakfast buffet super. Wide and varied spread, something for every taste. Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great reall helpful. Close to motorway. Trams into Caen central were good way of getting around without the need for the car . Will certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are excellent, so helpful and so friendly. We have stayed here many times and always the stay has been excellent. The breakfast choice is superb.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature was too low

    Parking free and safe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    all good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several large groups. Lots of noise in the morning...

    Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, location was a bit out but bus in was easy. Taxi VERY expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi access did not work in our room at all.

    All employees were friendly. Parking is easy to access.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a strong humidity smell.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weak WiFi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was first rate, the choices were really good, and it was all freash. No complaints from me or my partner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean room and bathroom Signs of bad airconditioning and dripping wet window on the inside in the morning Smell of smoking in the hallway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice quiet location. Easy secure parking. Very comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi reception

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little smelly on our arrival.

    The staff on reception were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant and those close by closed on Monday

    The view of the river and town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety on menu, but I'm being picky.

    Comfy bar area. Fabulous staff who made us all (including our dog) really welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to the university we were working at and also close to the tram going into the city centre

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    No Fridge in the room No one helped for the suitcase .....

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvets on the bed must have been winter ones as they were boiling.

    very helpful and pleasant reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Preparation of the room inadequate

    Wonderful, kind reception staff: Victoria, Marc and Rajasweri Exceptional breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Never had any issues over the several years that we had stayed here.

    Quiet location, very helpful and pleasant reception staff (Jean-Pierre), comfortable room, excellent buffet breakfast and large (free) car park. Some might consider location to be somewhat remote and to be a disadvantage, but with the excellent Twisto tram service, I consider it to be a bonus. Travel time of 15 mins into Caen centre with reliable and frequent service is an asset. We stay here all the time en route from Calais to Normandy/Brittany as a stop over. Carrefour hypermaché is only minutes away for any holiday essentials/shopping as well as for cheap fuel.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything went well until daylight when we discovered ants firstly in the bathroom and then the bedroom. I'd left my rucksack on the floor by the bed and when I put it on the bed ants appeared on the bed covers, the ants were on the carpet but you couldn't see them in the dark. Told receptionist but got no reduction in cost.

    Bed was really comfy.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Great for going into town on the tram and lovely modern hotel room with upgraded bathroom. Staff at reception very helpful with tram map and details. Drinks were pricey but I guess it's geared up for the tour buses

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was terribly outdated and in the middle of nowhere. It was almost a hour to get to Utah and Omaha beaches. The bed was uncomfortable and the curtains falling off the rods. No lift for the bags. Had dinner at the restaurant - we were the only 2 people there- and it was disappointing and bland.

    Great wifi and the staff was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1) A week after booking the full amount for the room was taken from my card. A week later it was taken again! It was refunded, but if I hadn't checked? 2) Receptionist very unfriendly on arrival. 3) Allocated room stank of stale cigarette smoke - it was labelled non-smoking. 4) Receptionist reluctantly moved us to another room - no apology.

    Convenient for tram into Caen.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for a quiet room which was perfect except the WiFi signal didn't reach the end of the long corridor

    Convenient location and large shopping mall close by but you have to remember that everything closes on Sunday. Our evening meal in the Restaurant was very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Access out of the carpark with a right hand drive car is difficult (the barrier does not remain open to allow time to leave car, press ebtry code and return to driver seat).

    Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ther is freezer to keep m y things on it

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We most like the staff

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free wifi was ridiculously slow and was not anywhere up to standard for a four star hotel with their room rates.

    Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mattress in not good conditions.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: