Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mercure Rennes Cesson 4 stars

40 Rue Du Bignon, 35510 Cesson-Sévigné, France

#4 of 13 hotels in Cesson-Sévigné

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 383 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed which wasn’t stated when I originally booked and the air con wasn’t working, the windows were not safe to leave open all night with a two year old.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant open at weekend . Rooms were advertised as having baths and didn’t . Small paper cups supplied instead . Air conditioning ineffective . Difficult to find .

    Good connecting room facility

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A great on-route hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had not been told that the restaurant would be closed on the day we arrived Sunday.

    The position was great for an on-route hotel. The room and bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A one night during which I could rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really nothing - the only little point (of which I was aware) was that the restaurant was closed and therefore I had to go out to get dinner

    - the nice standing of the Mercure Hotel- it is always safe to go in this chain - the quiteness - the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    We always look forward to our stopover at the Mecure Rennes
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our 4th stay at this hotel and we will be back next Spring. It was excellent as always. Staff very friendly and efficient, parking safe and easy, ideal position just off motorway to break our journey south. Great area for those early morning and late evening walks with our dog. First class all round.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, good rooms,great staff and very good breakfast, excellant value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sign posts to hotel could of been bigger,but it was late at night,so most likely easier to see in daylight.

    Arrived late at night,receptionist dealt with the check in with ease ,no hassle all done in 5 minutes,excellant service.Room was very comfortable and bed was good. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, Everything was very clean .Staff were very helpful,would definitely stay again when traveling down France and would definitely recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Everything was fine, anyone can expect a quality rest in this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is very important when you are travelling to new place to be sure that you get exactly what is declared by the property. Everything was fine, anyone can expect a quality rest in this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Friendly & helpful reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful location, industrial estate with 4 lane motorway outside the front door. Attached restaurant, food OK but waiter unhelpful and noncomunicative, no effort to listen to my schoolboy French.

    Friendly & helpful reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    A great and relaxing stay as always.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything excellent.

    Hotel in great location for breaking our journey south. We have stayed several times and never been disappointed. The service is always excellent, staff very friendly and a very nice breakfast. Safe and convenient parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    4.6
    Very, very poor location, tired rooms and weak facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is only metres from the autoroute. Access is through 1km of unrelieved industrial estate with workers all around. Knowing it was a national holiday we chose the hotel because it advertised a restaurant that was always open on Mondays. On arrival we were told that as it was a national holiday the restaurant was closed. Due to the location the nearest restaurant was a 4 km drive to the centre. When we realised that the hotel (and our rooms) were 20m from the autoroute we asked to change them to the quiet side the receptionist, Mylene, was most accommodating but it was only possible because very few people were staying. Tired decor and a short shower head slider fitted over the bath are not what we expect from Mercure.

    A helpful receptionist who changed our rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Friendly and efficient staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was available for breakfast was excellent. However, although breakfast goes on until noon on Sundays, when we arrived at 9.30 some items had already run out. Lesson learned, we'll get up earlier next time.

    Friendly and efficient staff. Large airy rooms. Excellent overnight stop for travellers on the motorway. Our second stay and we will certainly return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    An excellent en-route stop, but with limited facilities at the W/E.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor, with limited availability compared to previous stays. The restaurant was closed over the W/E, which we knew, however no briefing on available facilities was given or offered.

    Facilities were excellent, staff very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.5
    Very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive for its location. The restaurant associated with the hotel is really expensive and the food only ok.

    Very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Very kind and helpful personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind and helpful personnel. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Sports available on TV at no extra charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room

    Sports available on TV at no extra charge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent food and presentation and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and presentation and service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    It is good for star traveling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Hotel is for business travelers.Located on the external ring. Free parking, Easy road access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Good and easy stop overnight on the way elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in the industrial part of Rennes-Cesson the position is not great. Nothing around.

    The room was clean and had a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location for the price and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant was not open the whole stay. Staff did apologise.

    Value for money and right by motorway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel chain
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to PPV films would be nice.

    The hotel was good value and clean. Easy access to the metro. Great for parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    It had free car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located away from city of Rennes

    It had free car parking. Close to Alma shopping centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Even the one man band restaurant manager offered a good meal and service very good wine choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bed , very nice room ,good price happy guest . Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The height of the shower was too short. Ok for someone 5ft tall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Good quality hotel ideal for on route stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote and no place to eat late night

    Good quality hotel ideal for on route stopover

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location for stopover on the way to Spain.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Brilliant for our purpose, overnight stay before onward travel on nearby motorway.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing Excellent staff. Excellent facilities in room.

    Everything.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    6.7
    Staff and breakfast were pleasant enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and noise - hotel is between a dual carriageway (which you really can hear) and a main road on the other side, which you can hear,too. The excellent restaurant doesn't belong to the hotel, which might mean billing complications for some. Hotel rather personality-less, with a very small bar.

    Staff and breakfast were pleasant enough. Easy to find and convenient for nearby industrial estate. Clean. Excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    7.1
    Close from motorway - easy access
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mercure s breakfast Buffet use to be bigger and nicer

    Close from motorway - easy access Late Check in - i got opportunity to order dessertS from restaurant Fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.6
    handy for an overnight stay, all clean & tidy staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant only open monday to thursday so on friday evening when we stayed we had to go out & find somewhere to eat

    handy for an overnight stay, all clean & tidy staff very helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    Our accomodation was conveniently situated for our family of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our accomodation was conveniently situated for our family of two adults and 8year old twins for an overnight stay. It was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was buffet style, with sufficient choice to please us all, in simple surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    Melissa the receptionist greeted us in fluent English which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Melissa the receptionist greeted us in fluent English which made it easier to converse as we are not very good in french at all. She also sorted the bar for everyone and looked after our dog with a welcome bowl of water. We would def recommend staying here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    9.6
    Very clean and excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was closed at weekend and no local facilities.

    Very clean and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Melissa at reception was extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Melissa at reception was extremely friendly. Short distance to central Rennes. Just perfect.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    9.6
    Secure parking, Attached restaurant, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor lighting for reading and badly tuned television which could not be fixed by the staff.

    Secure parking, Attached restaurant, very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.3
    Rooms were spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location not great. No family or adjoining rooms even though we were able to book a family room online.

    Rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    The friendly and brilliant English speaking assistant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The friendly and brilliant English speaking assistant

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.2
    Good for 1night in transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good for 1night in transit.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    10
    We had lovely room we had plenty of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had lovely room we had plenty of space.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    Personnel très agréable et aidant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect - Very convenient location -

    Personnel très agréable et aidant

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: