Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Logis L'Orée de Chartres - Barjouville 3 stars

39-41 Rue Des Pierres Missigault, 28630 Chartres, France

#6 of 19 hotels in Chartres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1029 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water in the bathroom was a little erratic, and was only tepid on arrival. It was better the following morning.

    The property was easy to find and the rooms were comfortable, the restaurant was also very good, breakfast has a large amount of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in standard rooms

    Very friendly staff and extra helpful Excellent choices for breakfast Very convenient for motorway access A LeClerc fuel station very close by

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast fruit could be fresher

    close to lots of amenities, supermarkets bars and restaurants. Staff very friendly and happy to help out in English when my French fails me. beds are comfortable. superior rooms are worth the extra money for a better bathroom and more space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    New bed took up a lot of space and it was difficult to site at the desk but not that bad. Did not deter main use of room.

    Very comfy bed. Bathroom had all you needed. Was Sunday when we arrived but plenty of eating establishments nearby. Easy to find and close to a shopping centre and fuel station,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was good with a lot of choice rooms very clean and comfortable staff were extremely helpful and cheerful we did not try the restaurant as our party decided to try the others in such close proximity to the hotel all in all a very nice and comfortable stay will definitely be staying here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room

    Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff were very obliging and helpful. Free on site parking . Excellent buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a great location for a nights stop over on our way down to the Dordogne from England.The staff are friendly and always helpful. This journey we had an expensive bike and Paul on reception made certain we were able to store it safely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small. Also we are vegetarian and there was no choice for dinner. Nevertheless, this is very normal in France and therefore was not unexpected. There were enough places around us to find something to eat for dinner.

    Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. Excellent and very reasonably priced cocktails!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiter was a little frosty but hey we all have off days. Everyone else was friendly.

    Very clean, very comfortable, congenial, dogs welcome at €8 per dog, some grass outside for the dogs to walk on. A decent restaurant and bar. Great place to stop if travelling and don’t have time to go into beautiful Chartres or just want somewhere easy for dogs and have everything on site. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lighting in room very dim. Wife had difficulty moving round the room as she cannot see very well. Restaurant was closed so had to drive out to get something to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although non smoking there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke, as other customers obviously smoked in their rooms. There are no tea/ coffee making facilities in the rooms, but as we have stayed here before we came prepared.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms are on the small side

    Clean, comfortable and a great breakfast choice. The location was great with lots of place to eat and shop. We use this hotel for our trips to the le mans MotoGP every year!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all good

    We have stayed at this hotel many times, it is modern with a lift & has free parking: accepts pets: helpful friendly staff: rooms are nice & are an adequate size for an overnight stay, the hotel is warm, it does have a restaurant, but as yet we haven't eaten there: 2 mins walk are fare priced restaurants serving good food. I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate at hotel restaurant, which maybe because of way their cooking? Our roasted duck was raw and we couldn’t eat it at all. So we have to go next door restaurant to have another meal. If you don’t like raw food maybe this restaurant not the place to have nice meal.

    Restaurant near by hotel has good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was compact..no facility for tea making...shower in bath was Ok but an elderly person might struggle getting out. Restaurant prices seemed high. Why not present dog owners with a snack biscuit and pooperbag to encourage use? Car park seems full of people not attending the hotel but nearby eateries.

    Pet friendly...comfortable room...Easy access to several restaurants...Easy to locate using satnav. Booked dogs in advance .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL GOOD

    Situation suits us coming from Calais as overnight stop. The hotel offers free parking, accepts dogs, is modern with a bar and restaurant although we haven't eaten in the restaurant as it has been closed on the occasions we have stayed - this isn't a problem there is a Buffalo Grill & other restaurant within 5 mins walk away. The room is small but adequate with decent size bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dog barking in room opposite woke us up in early hours of the morning. Mentioned it to receptionist next morning but with little response.

    The hotel was very clean and the staff were helpful on arrival.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price in the restaurant for evening meal and 12e breakfast!

    Easy to find..dog friendly..good cleanliness standard.well maintained and close to restaurants and shopping complex.ideal for visiting the city too...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet for breakfast could be better. Quality of meat was not fantastic one slice too tough to eat. At €12, breakfast not good value. There is no kettle or coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    The hotel is easy to get to and in the middle of an estate with a range of shops and restaurants which can be reached on foot. The room was very clean, and the bed very comfortable .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very, very small. Too small for 2 people. The restaurant was nice but the steak I had was firstly not cooked as requested and of poor quality. Very disappointed as the prices were quite high. 3.5 euros for a small bottle of water. We would not use again.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was clean but needed updating. Handy for the motorway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for our first overnight stop from central England enroute to the Algarve. There's a all you can eat Chinese/European buffet restaurant very close by which was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find on travel. Other eating places on site plus very large E'Leclerc for getting shopping if needed. Food very good, did not have breakfast. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very limited, particularly as the hotel is in close proximity to a number of restaurants, a retail park and other hotels. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Very comfortable room and super comfortable bed. Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other room was adequate but didn't even have a kettle thus they were unable to make hot drink and it was quite small.

    The room provided for the disabled was excellent in every respect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the pillow choice very limited, though didn't ask for alternatives - two per bed would have been much better.

    Friendly staff, clean and tidy environs, inside and out and the ease with which the dog was accommodated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can not think of any negative points about this hotel

    A very busy hotel with a good restaurant in a retail park with a number of other restaurants close by. The room was a good size which was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel because we wanted en-site parking, so we did know that it is located approx. 5 kilometers out of Chartres centre. There are plenty of alternative hotels in the city centre, but they are often without en-site parking.

    The bed was very comfortable and there was a good bathroom, which included a bath with a shower over. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the restaurant was excellent, with great food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Large comfortable room & bed on ground floor-as requested.Huge bathroom & big shower. Did not book to eat at the restaurant, so unable to comment. Good wifi. Very close to huge shopping complex

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking

    It was a little difficult to find - head for the Buffalo Grill in the first instance. Parking was difficult as it was very busy although some spaces appeared later at night. the breakfast was very good although a little over priced it set you up well for the day. it suited our needs well as a one night stopover.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great to have coffee and tea making facilities in the room but some form of milk would be good, even some of that awful coffee whitener! Breakfast at 12 euros seems a bit expensive but we didn't have it (because of the price) and it may well be good value for money.

    Fresh, modern, smoke-free hotel with an on-site restaurant. Conveniently located not far from the motorway and a very short drive from the centre of Chartres. Plenty of on-site free, customer parking (though not secure) and more available on the roads surrounding if car park is full. Good wifi without the hassle of having to register or have a password (though you do need to reconnect each time).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com was misleading. We specifically booked a room with a bath but were told on arrival that we needed to pay extra for a different room with bath, that we couldn't have the room we'd booked with our baby, despite having both specified her on the booking.com search and having asked for a cot (which they did offer). We also couldn't then cancel the room either as whilst I thought I was booking a room with free cancellation it turned out that we couldn't and would be charged in full. In the end the stay cost more than expected, but the hotel was helpful, did try to email before arrival to flag up the issues, and eventually didn't charge us the 10 euros for the 'upgrade' to the room with bath, but the dog added 8 euros, and tax, cot, etc all added a few more. The issues were really with booking.com info not matching what they actually offered, leaving us surprised at a larger bill and wondering if we should have picked a different option. Beware booking.com info is not always correct and can underestimate prices and the 'free cancellation' is not always a reality.

    Big and comfortable bed, bathroom with bath, very dog and baby friendly, and supper in the restaurant was really excellent if a little pricey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The adjoining door between the next room was opened by others and we had to get a hotel employee to lock this, we found the room was quite cold and the climate control didn't work, we also requested a bath but got a shower - at this point we were too tired to complain and we were only staying one night. The booking was made as a refundable booking so that this could be paid with the cash Euros we had, however, on checking out we discovered that this had been processed by the hotel as non refundable booking so my credit card was debited incurring additional unplanned costs.

    Comfy Bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty good place for a short stay, booked in the last minute while driving, close to midnight, and had a proper rest; 24hr-open check-in, clean and good-sized room/bathroom, easy parking, wi-fi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a very relaxing stay here after 8 hours of driving with the family - the room was comfortable, the bath was a very welcome site, although a little small for adults. The hotel staff helped us with all our needs and i can highly recommend the wine! a great hotel for children and adults alike.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money. Perfect for a stopover whilst travelling through France. Plenty of restaurant options nearby. Very dog friendly. Great helpful staff. Cannot fault.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all clean and comfortable, with a good dinner in the restaurant, an excellent breakfast in the morning and all the staff we came in contact with were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small thing - We arrived after 9pm, in the dark, after a long drive north. Our satnav announced we had arrived at our destination but we couldn't actually see the hotel ..... an employee of the Chinese restaurant, literally next door, kindly directed us. Of course, it's very clear in daylight but perhaps an extra sign or two might be useful for customers.

    The room was clean and well equipped for an overnight stay. Friendly and helpful staff. We didn't try the restaurant as we were late arriving but there are a number of places to eat within a short walk for quick snack. Good parking available immediately outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Great location from the stopover driving up through France, lots of options for eating and shopping all within easy walking distance. Nice little restaurant and bar in the hotel also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Great value for money and a good stop over place. Very helpful staff and great food (albeit not cheap). We liked it so much that we booked another stay for our return journey. Very pet friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain is needed, breakfast not good value,

    Lovely pool area, short walk to the centre where there are numerous restaurants, and lovely old church.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of tea / coffee making facilities in room

    Excellent location, choice of rooms types/ sizes / facilities...depending on price one wishes to pay ! Staff very helpful and polite. Buffet breakfast is of a good standard but number of choices have been reduced over the years.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no coffee machine in the hotel if we would have chosen to have a drink

    Staff efficient & friendly Hotel clean Restaurants in hotel and outside We liked the basic approach: no kettle...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good

    Extra pillows available in the room, good breakfast, near to several dining options for evening meal and a supermarket for decently priced fuel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small , we had a problem getting around each other and we had a large dog with us , but we managed! The carpet on entering the room looked very dirty ! But we really liked the hotel , the receptionist was very helpful and very nice, the food was very nice , and it's a good place to stop easy to find off the main route to Calais or going in the opposite direction. All in all a good stop over on our way home .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very easy to park right in front you can have luggage trolley for luggage ,lift to all floors rooms smallish, medium sized bathroom,good quality, it takes dogs in. Very good restaurant ,excellent food, very good breakfast.Located in a light commercial area with other restaurants macdonalds,thia,chinese etc not far away .very quite excellent stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    especially helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was great

    On arrival at the hotel we were offered the use of two electric bikes to use to visit the centre of town. Mme Laurence was especially helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet in the room we had was a little too close to the wall because my knees were very close.

    Hotels restaurant better than average hotel restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not really the hotels fault but it does shade our experience...There was a drunk guy on the terrace of the restaurant that is just next to the entrance to the hotel and my daughter was terrified to enter the hotel, was afraid that the man was going to try to come in our room. He was out there, sitting next to the door for a while and I saw him making a scene involving patrons at the restaurant and the waiter was trying to get him to leave, after a while finally his wife came of her room and got him to come inside.

    very comfortable room and bed, excellent breakfast, in an area where there are many restaurants within walking distance. The man at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit lumpy.

    Easy and convenient location just off the motorway. Very pet friendly. Good sized room; I upgraded from a standard in order to have AC which was a bit old and creaky but just about did the job. Restaurant is very good - not a cheap option but excellent food and service, and there are other places like Buffalo Grill etc within 2 mins walk if you don't want to eat in the hotel. Didn't have breakfast but they also put out free coffee / tea, orange juice and mini pastries by the lounge area which I thought was great. Generally a much better class of hotel than I usually end up with for a travel stopover, and at a very good price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything

    The staff were excellent, the room was comfortable and there was enough parking, we didn't have the opportunity to use the restaurant but the menu looked good. A good choice for an overnight stop

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have appreciated coffee and tea-making facilities in the room. For a 3-star hotel we were rather surprised that there was no air-conditioning and no ventilation in the toilet.

    The bed was particularly comfortable. The room was quiet. The additional facilites (guests' lounge, billiards, etc.) were good. The restaurant food and the service were refined and discreet. Overall there was an air of quality and refinement. The staff were courteous and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only down side was the location in the middle of fast food outlets

    the staff were very helpful & friendly, food in the restaurant was excellent, & beds comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only accesible by car ou taxi. A taxi will cost you 20 euros from city town. No public transport at night and on sundays. Room quite noisy from the road.

    Nice tub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner disappointed. Service great. Veal beautiful but beans overcooked, wet and tasteless. Raspberry tartlette with meringue was like a curd tart with chantilly. Neither a meringue nor real raspberry to be seen.

    Breakfast excellent. Room perfectly adequate though might be rather airless in hot summer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds in the twin room should not be described as beds they were so narrow it was difficult not to fall out terrible nights sleep,it was as if the beds were designed to fit a room too small simply too advertise as a twin room,

    It was sited ok for one night only,staff were great very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor and very expensive with little choice and some items had run out and had not been replaced

    Comfortable bed, large room, friendly staff.brea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money in an excellent location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant was excellent. We have stayed in this hotel before and will no doubt do so again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    The hotel was smart and modern and situated on a 'complex' offering 2 restaurants a bar and close by a petrol station and McDonalds so all tastes catered for. The hotel does have a full restaurant onsite but for us it was a little pricy and the restaurant next-door offered a less formal buffet style dining at a set menu price. Comfy beds after a hard days drive. I would definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower would have been preferreded over bath/shower combination. Dinner was ok. Dessert was lively. Breakfast was well overpriced for what was available. Half the amount charged would have been adequate.

    Bed very comfortable. Would have liked just a shower in the bathroom instead of bath/shower combination. Evening main meal was ok, dessert was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a simple economic, stop-over point, there is nothing to dislike - it 'is what it says on the tin'!!

    We have stopped here at various times as a stop-over between holiday destinations and Calais. It suits the purpose very well. A clean, basic room (this time we were up-graded so slightly larger room and bathroom). Very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House owner not very helpful with English and breakfast all at same table with other guests could be awkward for some

    My motorcycle was stored in the hall of the house-very secure. Advice given on local restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con but windows open wide. Would definitely stay again no major faults

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent english. Laurence and eva were staff on reception and both went out of their way to help. Room very nice. Really liked that they had luggage trolleys too. Plenty of eateries within walking distance. The town is a lively place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I visited the hotel on 2 occasions and on the second, the evening meal starter was rather disappointing as the eggs were runny and not cooked. At breakfast time, despite there being a further 45 minutes left for it, the egg boiler was cold, the scrambled egg was barely warm !!!!!!!!

    The staff were very helpful, especially with regard to the security of my motor cycle. All staff at both reception and in the restaurant were pleasant and helpful and would help with their English when necessary.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing we didn't like was that we only had one night there.

    we liked everything about the place, Pascal and Martine made us very welcome, it was a lovely experience being in their company, we shall definitely go back. The location is in the woods, very quiet and tranquil.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing everything good

    Great location - great free parking. Hotel is within easy reach of the euro tunnel, 4 hours approx: We have stayed here several times and each time found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The standard rooms are adequate small but comfortable for our overnight stays. We haven't as yet tried restaurant although the menu looked good - I wasn't too good so didn't feel up to eating a big meal. We also leave early for travelling and although the breakfast looks great - too early for us to eat. We travel with our dog - and hotel accepts dogs 10eu extra which is very fair.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We have stayed here previously, and were happy to return. Hotel is nicely furnished and modern, The staff are most pleasant & helpful. The only reason I gave a lower score on facilities is the restaurant was closed until following week -still early season. but lovely food nearby. parking right outside hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, whilst adequate, was overpriced for what it was and the staff had to be reminded to refill the buffet. The reception was a little abrupt and off-hand. Shower was barely adequate lacking power and volume.

    Most of the staff friendly apart from reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Restaurant was shut as Sunday, had a terrible meal in the Belgian chain nearby, maybe just got unlucky...

    Good value, modern, clean, staff very helpful. Good for overnight.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good

    For us ideal location for overnight stop then onto Calais Tunnel. Reception staff helpful & friendly, Hotel very nice restaurant wifi bar, sitting area, room was ideal small but comfortable. Wish we had evening meal there - instead we went next door to Buffalo Grill which normally good - but wasn't . Next morning left early - so did not have breakfast- for approx £11 p.p.- would not if been good value as I would of only had coffee. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a dislike - but be aware the location, although quiet, is a bit out of the way.

    Couln't fault anything - it was clean, comfortable, freindly and good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. As mentioned, location did not lend itself to sight seeing although Chatres itself was only a short drive away.

    Convenient location on our route down to Spain. Clean but basic accommodation situated on a retail/business park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long journey we arrived late 10.15pm to find the restaurant closed at 10pm. A bit far out to walk into Chartres.

    Very comfortable and clean hotel. Plenty of restaurants nearby, although most were closed as we arrived late. Large shopping mall within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too warm so we needed to open the window. Unfortunately, there was a wedding reception that kept going until 3 in the morning. It was very noisy and a fight broke out. Why put non-wedding guests above the reception when the hotel was big enough to put us over the other side of the building away from the noise. We were not happy and far from impressed. Very little sleep was had by any of us.

    The facilities and general ambience were good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water when we visited but we were given a free breakfast.

    Good breakfast, quiet hotel, convenient for motorways but still easy to drive into Chartres (5 mins). Accomodated 5 of us in one room which was perfect for an overnight stay on a long journey south.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gave this hotel a near rave review last year as a perfect stopover hotel.This year, however, we got no sleep until after 3.30 am because of a wedding. Despite the double glazing, the bass notes from the disco, which even caused a rattle in the bathroom, made sleep impossible. 4 hours sleep is not recommended for a 12 hour day in the car! Sleep is the most basic requirement of a hotel. The food also appeared to have suffered because of the demands of the wedding party.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Logis L'Orée de Chartres - Barjouville traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: